In fact, let me assure you that you will not get sick or unhappy if you surf the PAP's website. You will be delighted, your spirit will be uplifted and you will see stars if you go surf PAP's website.Originally posted by Rigante:He is our founding father - even if the generation has no respect now we should appreciate what he has done for Singapore.
Else we will still be a developing country and you might not even have the luxury of complaining on sgforums.
Give him some credit lah, I'm sick of reading posts by youngsters on when he is going to die and how rich he can get.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Do you think for politicians to use fear to control, manipulate, is really coward of him or her to do so?
[b]The fear of Lee Kuan Yew is an illusion.
Ladies and Gentlemen,
Almost everyone in Singapore, Lee's first world country, fear retribution if he was criticized.
In truth this fear is to a large extent misplaced. In fact, in the peculiar circumstances of Singapore of today, Lee really cannot do much against political opposition.
One good reason for this view, is its size. A small island. He cannot be a Suharto in Singapore even if he wants to. The repercussions would be unbearable. In the past, about 20 years ago, you recall the arrest of innocent civic conscience citizens, labelling them Marxists and torturing them. There was no real opposition to it then. People did complain, but beyond that they did nothing. But imagine his doing it now. Assuming he went around today and picked up 20 innocent people, branded them Communists in his newspaper and tortured them. Do you think Singaporeans would accept that today? I think not. He dare not do it in 2008 even though there are many in Singapore, especially within the SDP who fit the description of those brave souls branded Marxist conspirators.
It is not that Lee Kuan Yew is unaware of the extensive opposition to him and his policies on the ground starting with his paying himself $3.7 million per year. Oh yes, he is aware of the large numbers of Singaporeans who are openly criticising and deriding him. But you can see that he is not taking any action. He knows now that he in on thin ice. As as time goes on, the ice becomes thinner.
He had once told the Charlie Rose interview on PBS TV that he runs the country entirely on wits. For once he was honest. It is all bravado and hot air. Nothing more than that. If he was prepared to do today, what he did to Lim Chin Seong under the ISA he will be in more trouble than he expects. He knows he cannot today act the way he did then.
Perhaps the Singaporean need not fear so much after all. If only they galvanized in a united front against this tyranny, it is he who will have to give in. No doubt about it.
But up till now he is counting of the people not having the courage to do it. But if they did, the boot will be on the other foot. The taxi drivers foot. The retirees foot. The foot of the old people who are reduced to having to clean tables in food courts. The foot of those in one room flats having to live under candle light because of poverty. The foot of those who have no choice but to survive on one meal a day.
Yes the boot will be one the other foot. If only they acted on it.
Gopalan Nair
http://singaporedissident.blogspot.com/2008/01/fear-of-lee-kuan-yew-is-illusion.html[/b]
Get it off your mind man, like Gopalan Nair said, its just an illusion. I'm sure you can get over it.Originally posted by qlqq9:Do you think for politicians to use fear to control, manipulate, is really coward of him or her to do so?
Old man should be grateful and appreciative that so far nobody attempts to assasinate him unlike what happens in other countries. Talk so much, so naggy, so ungrateful, so tyrannical, so sickening, so unkind and so on are the ways he treats the people of Singapore.
I don't understand why you misinterpret my post. ha ha ha. Very funny leh.Originally posted by kramnave:Get it off your mind man, like Gopalan Nair said, its just an illusion. I'm sure you can get over it.
u really have something personal against him, from your numerous sardonic posts and edifying yourself - even mis-spelling his name. Nothing is wrong with voicing on, however it must be complete with reason and not irrationalities such as yours.Originally posted by qlqq9:In fact, let me assure you that you will not get sick or unhappy if you surf the PAP's website. You will be delighted, your spirit will be uplifted and you will see stars if you go surf PAP's website.
There is absolutely nothing wrong for people to voice out their unhappiness about this old man's doings. You just have to face reality of life in Singapore that majority of people are living in fear of the tyrannical old man! Yes, I give him credit for his contributions (especially the past contributions) to Singapore, but this does not mean he can act and say whatever he wants to the people of Singapore who is feeding him. He jolly well learns how to be grateful to the people of Singapore for without the people of Singapore there is no Lee Kuay Yew in politics, he will not be where he is today without the people who give him the chance. Understand Rigante?
Good one there. Respect runs both ways.Originally posted by qlqq9:He jolly well learns how to be grateful to the people of Singapore for without the people of Singapore there is no Lee Kuay Yew in politics, he will not be where he is today without the people who give him the chance. Understand Rigante?
CSJ got what he deserves and more........he is the most useless, self serving opposition i have ever come across. Very much worse off than JBJ! Imagine going on a hunger strike to achieve........ermm.....what?? free publicity in the international news........so as to gain....not respect and admiration ....but sympathy and being used by foreigners with an ulterior motive to harm SG.Originally posted by ulquiorra87:The fear is real man especially when the 'law' is on LKY's side. Just ask CSJ that he experienced it first handThis is the first time i hear of Country Leaders suing its citizens(which they are supposed to protect) over 'defamation' when a true government has no use for reputation. If they can sue a poor fella over 'defamation' and continually hound him and ruin his life they can do that to anyone.
They don't need to torture Jail term and financial ruin is enough![]()
Oh really? And what useful thing have YOU done? At least CSJ dare to do what many Singaporean don't dare to do.Originally posted by FireAndHell:CSJ got what he deserves and more........he is the most useless, self serving opposition i have ever come across. Very much worse off than JBJ! Imagine going on a hunger strike to achieve........ermm.....what?? free publicity in the international news........so as to gain....not respect and admiration ....but sympathy and being used by foreigners with an ulterior motive to harm SG.
Want to go on a hunger strike??......make sure to go all the way......die like a man ....and become a martyre.....and let someone else continue the cause in his name!!
i.e. if anyone wants to associate with CSJ's legacy in the first place.......oh i know .....his sister.......heheheheh...![]()
You should be the one to grow up. Understand?Originally posted by Rigante:u really have something personal against him, from your numerous sardonic posts and edifying yourself - even mis-spelling his name. Nothing is wrong with voicing on, however it must be complete with reason and not irrationalities such as yours.
my advice to you - grow up. Understand?
Ha ha ha, you are just a typical blind supporter. I don't give a damn to what you said. I only respect those who respect others. You are obviously finding fault.Originally posted by Rigante:u really have something personal against him, from your numerous sardonic posts and edifying yourself - even mis-spelling his name. Nothing is wrong with voicing on, however it must be complete with reason and not irrationalities such as yours.
my advice to you - grow up. Understand?
He is just not happy that people are talking facts about the old man.Originally posted by (human):You should be the one to grow up. Understand?
Old man either refuses or just does not want to understand and accept what you said above. Seems that he rather get the people fear him and respect him than he respecting others. His ways are outdated liao. He will be obsolete very soon.Originally posted by rooki:Good one there. Respect runs both ways.
Ask not what your citizens can do for you, ask what you can do for your citizens.
Well, they definitely welcome a person like that for it is with a person like that they can continue to serve the purpose of PAP. ha ha ha!Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Wow, you can go and work for SPH as an editor.
Nice work.