Freedom of speech is a human rightOriginally posted by ispyyy:Freedom of speech is a culture
But culture is not freedom of speech
ok then...Originally posted by genie99:Freedom of speech is a human rightI care not for culture lol
Agree! We are all humans!Originally posted by royston_ang:What "boh-tua-bo-suay"? MM Lee don't deserve the respect. He think everything he said must be right.![]()
I think I'm going to start writing articles, because it appears people will take everything I say at face value, no matter how outrageous the quote or context.Originally posted by Exige60:Agree! He thinks he is a legend...in the end, he is still an ordinary human and has no right at all to bully us 'commoners'...![]()
When I read this report, my blood pressure shot up...
And why does he not want to answer the reporter??? Bully her instead...I think we all know the answer...
I think MM Lee did great thing for the country since independence but situation has changed already. The younger generation is no longerOriginally posted by deathbait:I love how our forefathers fought hard to give us the luxuries we have today, and now we blame them for having to share them with others.
LKY is the last of the old guard. Perhaps you need to be reminded how far we've come in the last 30 years?
ppl fought for their own survival and well being.Originally posted by deathbait:I love how our forefathers fought hard to give us the luxuries we have today, and now we blame them for having to share them with others.
LKY is the last of the old guard. Perhaps you need to be reminded how far we've come in the last 30 years?
I do not spoonfeed. That is a flaw too common to Singaporeans.Originally posted by deathbait:high horse? nay.(pardon the pun) I just say it like i see it.
I notice you have sidestepped my request for official transcripts. Even a date would do. Which event did you attend, and what did he say?
I'm not about to just take you for your word. It's not hard to give me an event and date. Perhaps even a quote?
Or is your memory suddenly fuzzy?
you have this habit of attracting flames, dont say i say but maybe you asking for it.Originally posted by deathbait:I think I'm going to start writing articles, because it appears people will take everything I say at face value, no matter how outrageous the quote or context.
Articles written by him seldom or never cite references oneOriginally posted by royston_ang:What "boh-tua-bo-suay"? MM Lee don't deserve the respect. He think everything he said must be right.![]()
Well, if this were so...can somebody tell me last yr, there's a case of this guy being given more strokes than sentenced. How was it resolved? Also has any civilian here, successfully sued the government in our history? In the US, wrongful jailing, the govt. can be sued into the millions. Here? You know better yahhOriginally posted by phil30k:I think people tend to confuse law with morality. You may win a legal case but lose the moral one.
Given that courts/lawyers cost time/money. The implication is that the legal system favors the person who can afford it and has time to spare.
I think the Government has done well with the provision of legal aid to ameliorate this perception. However the perception is teneous and easily destroyed and needs to be nurtured in order for faith in the legal system to prevail.
Originally posted by will4:Well i assume no one likes to be told to do this and that without knowing why?
[b]The younger generation is no longer just content only with what the govt told them to do. In fact, majority of the local like to migrate to other countries, just like the Korean youngster. In fact, the MM is already worried about brain drain in here.[/b]
i do agree that LKY has shed alot of blood and tears for our country; it definitely wasnt easy overseeing the entire country's operations from its independence to its complicated love-hate affair with malaya(sia).Originally posted by deathbait:I love how our forefathers fought hard to give us the luxuries we have today, and now we blame them for having to share them with others.
Agreed! Our forefathers go way beyond MM Lee. I do respect them very much, for building up our country. Yes. We have to give LKY some respect. But he also has to respect us. Us Singaporeans, we do the labour but return home with middle-class wages...We do not (dare to) grumble. The foreigners. They do not do NS, they have good jobs, high-paid. Live the lap of luxury...We as humans all deserve some respect...Originally posted by weiqimun:ppl fought for their own survival and well being.
so, luxuries were handed down from these old guards to us current generation? LOL. it's easy to talk now becos singapore did not stumble badly in its nationhood years in the past-40 years or so. but it did not negate the fact that sinkapore cld well have prospered if it took a different route. and at what costs? in the early days, most ppl trusted LKY and team to do well becos that generation do not have the ideals, education nor resources to chart singapore's success. in many ways, many listened and towed the line. the instability in those years in the neighbouring countries too necessite the fact that the ppl stay as one.
today, singapore matures, or tries to mature. but the gahmen, so used to the high handed ways practiced in the past and the power tt is entrusted to them, insist on the puppet on the string approach. police today dun wear shorts, and the country is 40+ years old, but the gahmen still treat the nation like it is still a kid in its early years.
in reality, let's not forget that if you put the size of singapore in context, it will at most be a mid-size city in the USA. for singapore to be managed with the kind of resources, monies that it has, singapore did just great, not fantastic.
u generalize tt most of us are unappreciatv of our forefathers. Or r u just referring to LKY? LKY is not the be all and end all. u may worship him but he relies on others as well. so, pls put all these in context.
if u talk forefathers, it goes beyond LKY and frens. singapore doesn't start with LKY. and LKY shld also be grateful for the work done by the forefathers that pave the way for him to do something. so, this line of argument doesn't end. we shld not forget what our forefathers brought to uis, but u talk like it's LKY who started it all. If there is no LKY, arguably GKS will do just as well. Leaders will come forward/emerged when the callin is there.
Exactly! This is what I am trying to say!Originally posted by dxdx:i do agree that LKY has shed alot of blood and tears for our country; it definitely wasnt easy overseeing the entire country's operations from its independence to its complicated love-hate affair with malaya(sia).
but i believe that its come to a point in time that LKY has to go and by saying that i dont mean his political party or his son still attaining all the power. what we need is a new generation of leader(s) a la barack obama if you may, who can bring change to the cty.
LKY and his ways were needed and did work for the last generation, but the time now is for change; nepotism is never the way to go about it.
it's not spoonfeeding when your source is called into question and further proof is required.Originally posted by LazerLordz:I do not spoonfeed. That is a flaw too common to Singaporeans.
lol. Progress the last 3 decades not fantastic? It's practically miraculous. Like I said, the credit belongs not to LKY alone, but to the old guard. But he is the last of them. That does not diminish his contribution.Originally posted by weiqimun:ppl fought for their own survival and well being.
so, luxuries were handed down from these old guards to us current generation? LOL. it's easy to talk now becos singapore did not stumble badly in its nationhood years in the past-40 years or so. but it did not negate the fact that sinkapore cld well have prospered if it took a different route. and at what costs? in the early days, most ppl trusted LKY and team to do well becos that generation do not have the ideals, education nor resources to chart singapore's success. in many ways, many listened and towed the line. the instability in those years in the neighbouring countries too necessite the fact that the ppl stay as one.
today, singapore matures, or tries to mature. but the gahmen, so used to the high handed ways practiced in the past and the power tt is entrusted to them, insist on the puppet on the string approach. police today dun wear shorts, and the country is 40+ years old, but the gahmen still treat the nation like it is still a kid in its early years.
in reality, let's not forget that if you put the size of singapore in context, it will at most be a mid-size city in the USA. for singapore to be managed with the kind of resources, monies that it has, singapore did just great, not fantastic.
u generalize tt most of us are unappreciatv of our forefathers. Or r u just referring to LKY? LKY is not the be all and end all. u may worship him but he relies on others as well. so, pls put all these in context.
if u talk forefathers, it goes beyond LKY and frens. singapore doesn't start with LKY. and LKY shld also be grateful for the work done by the forefathers that pave the way for him to do something. so, this line of argument doesn't end. we shld not forget what our forefathers brought to uis, but u talk like it's LKY who started it all. If there is no LKY, arguably GKS will do just as well. Leaders will come forward/emerged when the callin is there.
so what's modern? whose's context?Originally posted by deathbait:lol. Progress the last 3 decades not fantastic? It's practically miraculous. Like I said, the credit belongs not to LKY alone, but to the old guard. But he is the last of them. That does not diminish his contribution.
I'm sorry to burst your bubble, but modern Singapore started wtih LKY's generation. His team led us to where we are now. Please don't diminish that contribution.
History is crowded with examples of poor leadership in times of crisis. We're just lucky we had a competent one when OUR crisis was in full swing.
yawn...dun we all already know tt? tell me something i dun know.Originally posted by deathbait:History is crowded with examples of poor leadership in times of crisis. We're just lucky we had a competent one when OUR crisis was in full swing.