Construction and hospitality work "dirty"? very typical Singaporean ugly mindset.Originally posted by genie99:On a side note, in Australia alot of ang mohs do your "dirty" construction and hospitality work.... i'll be hard pressed to find chinese doing it.... cept student part time waiters/waitress...... and those "dirty" jobs hor earn more than alot of white collar jobs
And seriously those Sg's that have maids and sons not doing laundry all that .... are people that are affluent ..... if you pay well enough you'll find Sg's doing those jobs...... we have so many uncles doing Mcdonalds already
2 of the main reasons that make a job attractive are salary & the work you are required to do. The work you are required to do is mainly fixed can't change that. Salary is variable. Therefore if you find less Sg's NOT wanting to do a particular job raise its salary and it becomes more attractive.... if everyone wants to be say fer example accountants .... then reduce its salary to reduce demand. Would you rather be an accountant earning 1k/mth or a toilet cleaner earning 2.5k/mth? Find a middle pt and you get SGs working in every kinda job ..... and be less reliant on FT's meybeOriginally posted by genie99:On a side note, in Australia alot of ang mohs do your "dirty" construction and hospitality work.... i'll be hard pressed to find chinese doing it.... cept student part time waiters/waitress...... and those "dirty" jobs hor earn more than alot of white collar jobs![]()
And since when did I claim Singaporeans who have maids are dirtyOriginally posted by sgdiehardNot all Singaporeans who have maids are dirty, a young couples with parents not retired yet having a small baby, can have a maid, that is the lifestyle they choose, may be at the expense of other luxuries.
Are you Sure? Why is it so many Singaporeans willing to work as cleaners but compete by the foriegners?Originally posted by aiglosicicle:tell a singaporean to do construction work and he will complain and complain and complain.
singaporeans dont even want to do the jobs we give to foreign china and bangla workers. clear out the foreigners? dream on la![]()
Hey bro might wanna add a few factors to your assumption. Labour costs go up means wages go up too leh.... as for companies recouping their increased costs they can always raise the prices of their goods right? If its sold in Singapore only the $ stays in the country so nvm that.... but if the goods is also sold internationally? we stand to gain no?Originally posted by unfilterd:Let's say the gahmen does decide to get rid of foreign talents once and for all in sg.. I don't think it'd take much of a genius to figure out that the labour costs of the industry will skyrocket. And does anyone wanna make a guess as to how the companies are gonna recoup their increased costs? Is anyone here willing to pay double the existing prices for their houses? Or their domestic help?
So basically, if you're hoping to get rid of ALL foreign talent in sg.. You're finding the cost of living too cheap here. Maybe you could pay me $3000 to clean your room.
that's why my suggestionOriginally posted by xiaoxui:Are you Sure? Why is it so many Singaporeans willing to work as cleaners but compete by the foriegners?
Is the above an excuse from bosses to employ foreign workers and not Singaporeans so as to reduce wages that they need to pay?
Dear Unfiltered,Originally posted by unfilterd:Ok, just thought I'd throw in my 2 cents worth.
So right now, our construction industry is dominated by the banglas rite?
These guys are willing to work here for a relatively low pay. Now think about it.. how much does housing cost in singapore? Too cheap? Too expensive?
Let's say the gahmen does decide to get rid of foreign talents once and for all in sg.. I don't think it'd take much of a genius to figure out that the labour costs of the industry will skyrocket. And does anyone wanna make a guess as to how the companies are gonna recoup their increased costs? Is anyone here willing to pay double the existing prices for their houses? Or their domestic help?
So basically, if you're hoping to get rid of ALL foreign talent in sg.. You're finding the cost of living too cheap here. Maybe you could pay me $3000 to clean your room.
ooo...our forefathers toiled for the land. And like the classic "bai jia zhi", our people are so lazy they refuse to acknowledge their lack of competitiveness.Originally posted by faroukalhadad:there are several schools of thought at work here.
my mind set is this:
im fine with banglas, thais, pinoys etc coming here to work
they are cheaper to hire and keep our costs down. besides, they are not here to stay, they just want to earn an honest living cleaning our streets etc and then leave.
what im sad is the Indian nationals and PRC professionals who are here to rob us of our professional jobs. look at our bank managers, IT specialists, engineers etc. leeching away the riches of the land that our forefathers toiled and worked so hard for. come here from India, China, enjoy our riches and efficiency - but yet so rude to the locals and deprive us of our jobs.
sad to see some ppl here still quoting the utopian ideals of the "free economy" when it has been proven that govt plays a very impt role in fulfilling its duty to the electorate
I fully support what u said but I need a clarification on what ground u said local are lazy n in what manner?Originally posted by deathbait:ooo...our forefathers toiled for the land. And like the classic "bai jia zhi", our people are so lazy they refuse to acknowledge their lack of competitiveness.
Isn't it sick how you don't mind foreigners doing the dirty work...but when it comes to work that you want to do, the discrimination comes on. Our fathers toiled not so that we can rest on our laurels. If you're unwilling to work to up the ante, do you really think you deserve your inheritance?
Time moves and people grow old. However, my assumption is that these old people grew old at the worst possible time! When the market is packing with foreigners! And what happens? Horns locking and fender banging. lol As proven, you will lose if you bang horns with FTs. Its the fact. Well, maybe 50/50 but their side will somehow receive more support.Originally posted by xiaoxui:Are you Sure? Why is it so many Singaporeans willing to work as cleaners but compete by the foriegners?
Is the above an excuse from bosses to employ foreign workers and not Singaporeans so as to reduce wages that they need to pay?
You are right. But I cannot believe I am here right now. Seems like the worst possible time.Originally posted by phil30k:Dear Wei Ming,
I don't intend to flame you. I would like to share my point of view about your idea that our parents or grandparents making mistakes.
The early chinese populace in Singapore comprised a fair number of laborers.
They set up homes here because they could not "commute" to work.
They did not choose to come here to become Singaporeans as there was no such thing then.
Singapore gained independence.
They stayed and continue working for a livelihood.
These were manual laborers with no pretentions to politics. It is possible that they did not fully understand they were becoming Singaporeans or what that meant.
Our identifications still show "Chinese", "Indians", "Malay".
Other Countries still scratch their heads over this distinction.
More immigrants came over in the first years after our independence but they were the onces with the choice. They were the educated ones. They were the foreign talent.
Now is not the worst time yet!!!Originally posted by Lim Wei Ming:You are right. But I cannot believe I am here right now. Seems like the worst possible time.
.. told you - they are both blind and deaf...Originally posted by phil30k:Psychologically speaking, when faced with a conflict your options would be
Fight = Try to change things.
Freeze = Hope not to be noticed.
Flee = Emigrate.
It strikes me funny that the Government disapproves of opposition, then complaints about apathy and lack of enterprise. And emigration.
Originally posted by phil30k:
Psychologically speaking, when faced with a conflict your options would be
Fight = Try to change things.
Freeze = Hope not to be noticed.
Flee = Emigrate.
It strikes me funny that the Government disapproves of opposition, then complaints about apathy and lack of enterprise. And emigration.
Originally posted by HyperFocal:Nay, they have eyes closed with drawn transparencies, ears stuffed with similiar gongs and mouths lined with factual gloss.
.. told you - they are both blind and deaf...
Provided Malaysia abolish the Bumpi Policy orelse NO WAY!Originally posted by Zarks:Malaysian merged with Singapore.
yey, i dun have to get my passport again to Singapore.