... well, it is a solution for the government in terms of dollars & cents...Originally posted by Lim Wei Ming:It depends on how you look at it. Personally if you ask me, its not right. The government is simply "giving-up" on Singaporeans. So, their most cost-effective solution would be to hire a army of FTs to replace us, by utilizing our clean-and-green, low-crime-rate country as one of the ways to attract them.
Originally posted by royston_ang:Singapore is so small whereas Malaysia is much larger. It is of course much more easier to manage Singapore than Malaysia. Even if Malaysia is run by PAP, I doubt it can do any better!![]()
i am not saying our govt did a bad job.Originally posted by lionnoisy:so any one think MY govt can run a country better than PAP?
tell me why SG is not so bad compared with MY,when MY posses
oil,palm trees ,water and other natural resources.
SG is a barren rock!!
If SG has oil,palm trees and run by PAP,every baby will
get a $10,000 cash a/c in POSB.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:... the FAP is blind and deaf to such pleas....
[b]A letter from a disgruntled Singaporean on the influx of foreign workers into Singapore
Sir,
The government's claim that foreign workers benefit Singapore is largely not true. Their benefit if any is far outweighed by the damage done to Singapore and Singaporeans. Ironically they robbed Sporean of their jobs.These Malaysian unlike the Bangla or Indian workers don't spend in Singapore as expected.They brought their lunches and cigarettes from Malaysia ,ride a Honda Cub and take home to Malaysia thousands of Singapore dollars.
I knows of two Malay brothers in Johor residing at 21 Banang 4,Taman Bukit Tiram Johor and 19 Banang 4 Taman Bukit Tiram. Both ride a motorcycle to work and gets all the overseas assignment and we the poor Singaporean aren't given the jobs. This two brothers aren't spending much in Singapore and not interested to be a PR .Their jobs is not that we Singaporean can't or cannot do,they have everything from a terrace houses in Johor to a Kompressor Merc and what we Singaporean have, except bills and NS for our children to protect this foreigners and to work until we drop dead
Singaporean the miserable lots pays are pegged to Singapore high standard of living,where an average household pay $200 for electric and water bill and expensive education system and by the end of the month is left with nothing. Singaporean ends up the fool and the Malaysian the winner and benefited from Singapore economy .
We can take it with stride if the job foreigners are doing are jobs that we can't do or incapable of doing. But sadly we Singaporean are deprived of jobs that we can do and capable of doing. So where our expensive education system helps us when Malaysian education which is of lower standard is given priority over us?
I can't grasp Spore labour policy,here we Sporean are running out job and ironically its given to foreigner in a silver platter,we bear the brunt of protecting this foreigner interest.
As the Malay saying "beruk di hutan di susukan anak di rumah mati ta makan" which means "you feed the monkey in the jungle yet your children starve at home"
Signed
A disgruntled Singaporean
http://singaporedissident.blogspot.com/2008/01/letter-from-disgruntled-singaporean-on.html[/b]
Thats what Pauline Hanson thought.Originally posted by HyperFocal:... the FAP is blind and deaf to such pleas....
... the only time when they even in the least pretends to listen, is when Elections draws closer...
... and then the vicious cycle repeats itself... however, I believe next round of GE will be different...
... I believe to date, there are oodles of appropriately educated and qualified locals out there, but are not able to secure jobs due to same circumstances...Originally posted by Lim Wei Ming:So to sum it up, Singaporeans need, no MUST attain a recognisable education, at least a degree in some useful trade. If you don't, then you will find yourself fighting with the FTs for employment. And when you bang fenders with them, chances are 50/50. Foreigners can accept lower pay, they do not have to contribute to CPF (Except PRs) and if you are a man, its a disadvantage as you need to go for your reservist and RT (If you fail your IPPT) every year till your cycle ends.
Only the rich and well-educated Singaporeans have nothing to worry about. The poor and low-educated ones (Like me) will face a big problem. And I believe it will become a bigger problem as the time goes by.Originally posted by HyperFocal:... well, it is a solution for the government in terms of dollars & cents...
... I just see that whatever they do, so long as it meets their requirements & needs, it is a solution...
.... so, who there left for the people of SG to look up to?
... sadly, NO ONE...
... most who can, have looked & flown elsewhere...
... one day when this watering hole has been drunk dry by all these FTs, and they have all sauntered off to new watering holes, SG will look just like some dried up muddy watering hole in Africa with all the wriggling & struggling catfishes we see in NatGeo's documentaries...
... the government have a bigger problem coming....Originally posted by Lim Wei Ming:Only the rich and well-educated Singaporeans have nothing to worry about. The poor and low-educated ones (Like me) will face a big problem. And I believe it will become a bigger problem as the time goes by.
2 or 3 generations more, I believe most "original" Singaporeans would have earned enough and moved away. The FTs will become the "new" Singaporeans then. Eventually, their coming generations will eventually grow sick of this place and the vicious cycle repeats itself.
Sometimes, I wonder has the press understimated the number of foreigners here. If you walk outside, out of 10 people, 5 will be foreigners. I'm sure you will agree with me on this. The current job I am in now, is mostly run by FTs, mainly Malaysians. Even my manager is a Malaysian! Don't misunderstand. I'm not against FTs or Malaysians for that matter. As I can understand they are here because of the higher pay. (More than double) Much more they can receive if they were to work back at their own country. If I were a Malaysian citizen, I would for certain have came to Singapore to work too.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:This article is pretty realistic and I agree with it. I forgot to state earlier that one of the problems of jobs not being filled up back then before the influx of FTs came was partly due to our declining birth-rate. Its is even more so now that the government is so eager to boost our population.
[b]A letter from a disgruntled Singaporean on the influx of foreign workers into Singapore
Sir,
The government's claim that foreign workers benefit Singapore is largely not true. Their benefit if any is far outweighed by the damage done to Singapore and Singaporeans. Ironically they robbed Sporean of their jobs.These Malaysian unlike the Bangla or Indian workers don't spend in Singapore as expected.They brought their lunches and cigarettes from Malaysia ,ride a Honda Cub and take home to Malaysia thousands of Singapore dollars.
I knows of two Malay brothers in Johor residing at 21 Banang 4,Taman Bukit Tiram Johor and 19 Banang 4 Taman Bukit Tiram. Both ride a motorcycle to work and gets all the overseas assignment and we the poor Singaporean aren't given the jobs. This two brothers aren't spending much in Singapore and not interested to be a PR .Their jobs is not that we Singaporean can't or cannot do,they have everything from a terrace houses in Johor to a Kompressor Merc and what we Singaporean have, except bills and NS for our children to protect this foreigners and to work until we drop dead
Singaporean the miserable lots pays are pegged to Singapore high standard of living,where an average household pay $200 for electric and water bill and expensive education system and by the end of the month is left with nothing. Singaporean ends up the fool and the Malaysian the winner and benefited from Singapore economy .
We can take it with stride if the job foreigners are doing are jobs that we can't do or incapable of doing. But sadly we Singaporean are deprived of jobs that we can do and capable of doing. So where our expensive education system helps us when Malaysian education which is of lower standard is given priority over us?
I can't grasp Spore labour policy,here we Sporean are running out job and ironically its given to foreigner in a silver platter,we bear the brunt of protecting this foreigner interest.
As the Malay saying "beruk di hutan di susukan anak di rumah mati ta makan" which means "you feed the monkey in the jungle yet your children starve at home"
Signed
A disgruntled Singaporean
http://singaporedissident.blogspot.com/2008/01/letter-from-disgruntled-singaporean-on.html[/b]
Its not really that Malaysia is cheap. Its their exchange rate. And they have lots of land so they can build landed property. Futhermore, their government subsidise their fuel and all. And better still, Singapore is just right across! And her dollar is strong! And her government excepts Malaysians! It doesn't get more perfect than this! Maybe its time we move to Malaysia.Originally posted by xiaoxui:Malaysia everything also cheap, Singapore everything also expensive. Somemore bangalas and domestic worker are call FT!!!![]()
There are quite a no of Malaysian who become PR cause of the attractiveness of the CPF esp the employer's contribution. As for them staying hereOriginally posted by Lim Wei Ming:This article is pretty realistic and I agree with it. I forgot to state earlier that one of the problems of jobs not being filled up back then before the influx of FTs came was partly due to our declining birth-rate. Its is even more so now that the government is so eager to boost our population.
As for the Malaysians working in Singapore, I am absolutely certain that they will NOT convert to PRs. If they can get 2.2 times the salary of what they can get back at home due to the stronger Singapore dollar. They will probably remain as Malaysian citizens as the Singapore government open-arms to them. Although they have their monthly salary deducted of $240 due to the work permit and daily travelling fares of $4 for motorcycle entering Singapore, this loss is more than offset by the weaker Malaysian Ringgit versus the stronger Singapore dollar. Add to that, they are able to live in very big houses for relatively low price back home. Do you think they would want to live here? In apartments packed like sardines? And for a much higher price? Surely not! They would rather take back their salaries to built up their nest-egg back at their homeland.
I have a colleauge who is 67 years old n plan to sell his HDB flat to move to JB, Malaysia if his children is not able to support him later.Originally posted by Lim Wei Ming:Its not really that Malaysia is cheap. Its their exchange rate. And they have lots of land so they can build landed property. Futhermore, their government subsidise their fuel and all. And better still, Singapore is just right across! And her dollar is strong! And her government excepts Malaysians! It doesn't get more perfect than this! Maybe its time we move to Malaysia.
If thats the case..... why are you still hereOriginally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Malaysians get the best of both worlds.
Earn Singapore money, spend in Malaysia.
Their country is also more open and less rigid than Singapore.
You have to make compromises in life. Its the same everywhere. However I believe we are smart enough to avoid being robbed.Originally posted by faroukalhadad:move to malaysia?
arent you afraid of being robbed, then murdered, then robbed again?
Whats being robbed or being bullied because you are a non-bumi or Muslim compare to the 'Heaven' of being more open and less rigid than Singapore.Originally posted by faroukalhadad:move to malaysia?
arent you afraid of being robbed, then murdered, then robbed again?
Originally posted by Dead_Man_Inc:sometimes its good to cut away FT
imagine u are a tourist arriving in singapore in the airport. Then some FT from Malaysia or China welcomes you. What will be ur impression on Singapore after that? Will you ask yourself if you have arrive in Malaysia or China instead of Singapore?
Originally posted by elindra:![]()
This reminds me of LAX
Every single counter at the airport was filled with Asians
I only see like a handful of ang mos working there
Made me feel like I was in Asia instead of LA
If I have a son ...do you really think 10 k for his life is worth it when the country only favors FTs?Originally posted by lionnoisy:so any one think MY govt can run a country better than PAP?
tell me why SG is not so bad compared with MY,when MY posses
oil,palm trees ,water and other natural resources.
SG is a barren rock!!
If SG has oil,palm trees and run by PAP,every baby will
get a $10,000 cash a/c in POSB.
They caused the problem themselves w/ the NEPOriginally posted by royston_ang:And they also have many times more people, problems than what our highly paid ministers have to face. If PAP is to take over and treat the Malaysian like what they are doing here, there will be riot everywhere.![]()