anyway, it is to promote our sports culture~
i guess it is a two way thing, money generated, as much as to promote our sports culture and scene here
otherwise dey wont even spend so much time and effort (and $$$) in trying to bid to host the youth game.
grats to ourselves for winning the chance to host the games! ![]()
russians, wait for ur turn.
well, dun bully us just because u all lost the chance to host the summer olympics in 2012.
and u all shld go prepare for winter olympics soon~
Congratulations to Singapore!!!
Now Singaporeans can tell Ivan (Russians) to wait for their turn.
Channel NewsAsia - 50 minutes ago
SINGAPORE: Singapore has beaten Moscow to win the bid to host the inaugural 2010 Youth Olympic Games (YOG).
This was announced on Thursday via satellite from the IOC headquarters in Lausanne, Switzerland.
From nine cities in October, a shortlist of five was made in November. This was reduced to two last month.
Postal voting by IOC members closed last Friday. Singapore got the majority of the votes to win the bid. — CNA/ir
Hurray!![]()
we shall tell the russian to wait for their turn..![]()
Originally posted by mr_sotong:we shall tell the russian to wait for their turn..
wait long long
hurray![]()
Reuters - 1 hour 43 minutes ago
(Writing by Karolos Grohmann, Editing by Jon Bramley and Ken Ferris) - ATHENS, Feb 21 - Singapore will host the first Youth Olympics in 2010 after the city-state won 53 out of 97 postal votes, International Olympic Committee president Jacques Rogge announced on Thursday.
Wild celebrations erupted in Singapore immediately after the announcement with more than 6,000 people watching Rogge on outdoor TV screens pull out the winner's name from an envelope.
The new event, which is Rogge's brainchild, is designed to generate enthusiasm among the world's teenagers who in recent years have turned away from the Games in greater numbers raising the average age of Olympics' television viewers.#
Rogge read out the winner's name at a ceremony held inside the Olympic Museum in Lausanne, Switzerland.
"This is a key moment for the Olympic Movement", Rogge told reporters. "Singapore has put together a very exciting project.
"Hosting the Youth Olympic Games for the first time is a great responsibility, and I have every confidence in the team in Singapore."
Moscow won 44 votes.
Singapore will host a Games that will have about 3,200 athletes, aged 14-18, competing in 26 sports and will cost about $30 million.
Some 800 judges, referees and delegation officials for the summer editions will also be young people.
"This is a great honour for all of us," said Singapore's Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong at an outdoor rally of cheering Singaporeans dressed in the national colour of red.
"We will be the focus of a new era of sports development. We worked hard to achieve the dream despite the odds."
Singapore has only won one Olympic medal since 1960 but has twice hosted the biennial Southeast Asian Games, with more athletes than the Youth Olympics, and will host them again in 2013.
"I'm a bit surprised and very excited because it is a chance for people from all over the world to gather in Singapore and see what we have to offer," said Rafiuddian Sawal, a student who dressed as an ancient Greek soldier to commemorate the event.
(Writing by Karolos Grohmann, Editing by Jon Bramley and Ken Ferris)
what's in for me? got bf?
announcement site or event FOC
chingay require purchase TICKET.
one org by Singapore Sport Council
one org by people association PA
next year chingay 2009, still can sell ticket?
Coca cola launch their new can printed with YOG Singapore coming Sunday @ orchard, plus few more olympic related product this weekend,
if Singapore host is not "Kelong"
which company will print "YOG Singapore 2010"?
who will want to print "candidate city YOG 2010"?
We have made history haven't we?
We're the host of the inaugural Youth Olympic Games.
guess where money will come from to prepare and setup and host the event?
i no no for sure lor. u know meh?
Make a guess why so many countries are fighting to host the games, and where did their money come from?
Wow, PAP making more profits from YO.
Originally posted by qlqq9:Wow, PAP making more profits from YO.
Not sure about them, but the economy definitely will benefit a lot. Hosting such games will definitely bring benefits to the economy, if you have studied economic theory.
Yet again, we can see this as another thing for them to earn money. And how much of the benefits gained will go to the poor is questionable.
Originally posted by eagle:Not sure about them, but the economy definitely will benefit a lot. Hosting such games will definitely bring benefits to the economy, if you have studied economic theory.
Yet again, we can see this as another thing for them to earn money. And how much of the benefits gained will go to the poor is questionable.
I doubt PAP thinks about the poor when they bid for organising this. They care more for their pockets, as always be.
Originally posted by qlqq9:
I doubt PAP thinks about the poor when they bid for organising this. They care more for their pockets, as always be.
no la, they think more about making economic growth higher so that inflation effect will not be felt as badly.
Originally posted by eagle:no la, they think more about making economic growth higher so that inflation effect will not be felt as badly.
Hello, they are partially responsible for the inflation, so if they really is what you said above aren't they practising double standard?
Originally posted by qlqq9:Hello, they are partially responsible for the inflation, so if they really is what you said above aren't they practising double standard?
Na, I was just repeating the rubbish by PM. Higher economic growth to reduce the effect of inflation, yet higher economic growth could put more money in people's hand, which will increase spending, which will continue to increase inflation. Hyperflation for the PAP.
Originally posted by eagle:Na, I was just repeating the rubbish by PM. Higher economic growth to reduce the effect of inflation, yet higher economic growth could put more money in people's hand, which will increase spending, which will continue to increase inflation. Hyperflation for the PAP.
Growth and inflation are directly related.
Higher economic growth means higher inflation, think PM needs to do an Economics 101.
In ur face! Moscow. ![]()