Because of their nature. They believe strongly in their gov. They are loyal to their country. And, they are very united.Originally posted by Isis:It is in their culture?
Gheez, i have a chance to work with them and U gotta respect for their work ethics. Most the Japanese are workaholic, perfectionist and have strong professional ethics. People will look up for Japaneses brand good and firm cos they portray a reliable image and good quantity than others. The Japanese market are also very competitive within. So with such a competitive environment, there are bound to be pressure to innovate and for perfectionist.
I also don't understand why Japanese people are like there. Why are they so hardworking ? Why are we so lagging behind them in terms of creativity ?
I mean if they can do it, so can we..
Japan also sent its people overseas to learn from foreigners to bring back new technology; they did this because they realise they cannot survive without foreigners.Originally posted by sgdiehard:Japan was a superpower even before WW2!! Meiji Restoration began in 1968, they changed to western cloth, brought in many western engineers, teachers ....the FT doing jobs that nobody in Japan could do. You watch the movie Samurai? Who says they did not rely on foreigners?
Today, do you know how many PRC, Korean, Philippinos ....in China? the only different from Singapore is the absence of many Indians, due to cultural discrimination. They are there in restaurant business, entertainment business ...but because of the very strong Japanese cultural heritage, foreigners cannot penetrate into the society.
In the case of Singapore, the only difference is that singaporean don't have the strong cultural heritage to defend foreign culture, instead many leave to join another culture. Blame the government, blame other singaporeans, better blame your parents, why you not born in an FT family.
Please explain the following:Originally posted by reddressman:even when jipoon no the england schlong,
it became world power.
zero englond. (humans are humans and jiponese is tougher to learn than englondese, thus, its not jipoons no can learn england, its just a matter of if they give a hiu.
proven they have - no need england , no need FT , no need reliance ,
they became undisputed world power and not just a simple 1st world nation.
they are still world leader in many many aspects.
so , the fact of the world is that Jipoon nayber needed FT to reach world power status.
so, which schoolar wants to challenge this statement. come, i am here waiting. bring your prinston cert to wayang infront of me also. i no scare.
so many of technology you use comes from Jipoon.
I don't know the answer to (1).Originally posted by eagle:Please explain the following:
1) Japanese usage of katakana to "import" english words
2) Japanese Meiji Restoration => absorbing of foreign technology to improve itself => So does this means no reliance????????? So sending people abroad to learn from foreigners is not equal to needing foreigners?
3) How many technology are you using has its origins in Japan?
Originally posted by HyperFocal:... Japan has a government... we only have Businessmen...
phil30k, my main point is to drive across the point that Japan did rely on foreigners to build up the country.
And in the booming economy of the 1980s, there were a number of foreign workers in Japan, all contributing to the economy. The Meiji Restoration was raised as an example of the first step that Japan took to allay itself with the western powers. The Tokugawa regime has just ended, and public sentiments towards foreigners still tended more towards the policies of the Tokugawa regime.
Yes, cassette tapes did come from Japan, and instant noodles, etc... You are right... And so did some other technologies... But the fact remains that Japan did "import" a lot of foreign technology, adapt and modify, then repackage and sell them out. The origins of those technologies are not from Japan.
And I believe to really understand their culture and economy, you have to learn their language and immerse in their culture. How many of those who commented here, with the exception of some, have actually go and learn their culture and language? Or have actually worked in Japan? If only Singaporeans are half as humble as the Japanese...
The fact that their labour force is more than 30 times that of Singapore is already overlooked. Didn't communist China also adopt a closed-door policy, surviving on the sheer number of consumers within their own economy, and the vast amount of land allocated to agriculture?
why japan became world leader without much , if any much, FT?
why jipoon boleh ?
why s.korea boleh?
sgp oso should boleh boleh wan wat. no meh? we got super bommbasticos and world records and talent renumerated many many what.
sgp oso world leader liaoz?
what are the things sgp should learn from Japan, S.Korea ?
look at the technologies from Japan.
look at their standard of living.
look at them. pure Asians. yellow skins.
Nipon power!
Patriotism. Our SAF core value "Loyalty To Country" but yet the country ain't loyal to us.![]()
Originally posted by Reddressman.:why japan became world leader without much , if any much, FT?
why jipoon boleh ?
why s.korea boleh?
sgp oso should boleh boleh wan wat. no meh? we got super bommbasticos and world records and talent renumerated many many what.
Nipon power!
Many PRCs there btw. Even in this forum, there are a few Singaporeans who migrated there. During their booming period, many foreigners were working there (pls google). It is only when they start to slump did they start kicking some out.
Or you could teach Singaporeans to be more hardworking than now. Do you know how much overtime they do? They are not Europeans, die die must knock off at 5.
Then again, you could help Singapore to reach 20 mil population so that we have a larger workforce. Like that don't need foreigners also. Or just be like China, with 1.3 billion pple. Really don't need foreigners to work also can function.
If they are really that good, their economy wouldn't be in a slump for such a long time while the rest of the world was booming.
Originally posted by Reddressman.:
why japan became world leader without much , if any much, FT?
why jipoon boleh ?
why s.korea boleh?
Nipon power!
both japan and s korea will be joining the world in the race to attract talents. but of course unlike sg they would at the same time nurture their own talents!
the samurai spirit.
singapore got the robber spirit.
Although the PRCs are the dominant foreigners there, many would not be a right word to describe them.Foreign nationals are currently estimated by the Justice Ministry to account for 1.2 percent of the country's population. http://search.japantimes.co.jp/cgi-bin/nn20060923a1.html
I think Japan is would definitely be better off with more foreigners but maybe not to the extent of opening floodgate like Singapore. They have aging population and real estates prices are falling year after year.College cannot find enough enrollment due to declining population and shuts down one after another.
Japan has a huge national debt of A$9.5 trrillion worth of debts.Measured on a per capital basis,it is even worst than U.S.
http://www.theage.com.au/news/Business/Japans-national-debt-hits-record-high/2005/09/23/1126982220167.html
My guess is they are pumping money into the economy to create employment and keep the economy going. But this also means that the money may be going to useless jobs that do not add value to the economy. They also face China and Korea copying their technologies at a rapid pace and replacing their position in the market and they dont seem to be able to defend themselves. My friend calls them "The land of setting sun" because of their refusal to assimiliate foreigners into the country.
Originally posted by kilua:Although there PRCs are the dominant foreigners there, many would not be a right word to describe them.Foreign nationals are currently estimated by the Justice Ministry to account for 1.2 percent of the country's population. http://search.japantimes.co.jp/cgi-bin/nn20060923a1.html
I think Japan is would definitely be better off with more foreigners but maybe not to the extent of opening floodgate like Singapore. They have aging population and real estates prices are falling year after year.College cannot find enough enrollment due to declining population and shuts down one after another.
Japan has a huge national debt of A$9.5 trrillion worth of debts.Measured on a per capital basis,it is even worst than U.S.
http://www.theage.com.au/news/Business/Japans-national-debt-hits-record-high/2005/09/23/1126982220167.html
My guess is they are pumping money into the economy to create employment and keep the economy going. But this also means that the money may be going to useless jobs that do not add value to the economy. They also face China and Korea copying their technologies at a rapid pace and replacing their position in the market and they dont seem to be able to defend themselves. My friend calls them "The land of setting sun" because of their refusal to assimiliate foreigners into the country.
With a population of 127 mil, 1.2 percent is at least 1.5mil foreigners. But well, their population is huge, nearly 31.5 times more than that of singapore; many people to fall back on. Not to mention land size is huge and everything...
In my opinion, I would rather compare with Hong Kong if I have to... But that's individual opinion...
Originally posted by eagle:With a population of 127 mil, 1.2 percent is at least 1.5mil foreigners. But well, their population is huge, nearly 31.5 times more than that of singapore; many people to fall back on. Not to mention land size is huge and everything...
In my opinion, I would rather compare with Hong Kong if I have to... But that's individual opinion...
1.5mil foreigners includes brazilians and of course the ang mohs. In fact, its getting harder for Chinese to get a visa and study in Japan lately.
http://joi.ito.com/archives/2004/03/12/chinese_being_frozen_out_of_japanese_student_visa_process.html
Other countries like Finland and Denmark are worth comparing to. Its amazing their system can produces scores of talent in many diverse fields. Singapore can only blame its early elitist policies of only casting a small net for talent by nuturing only the SAP schools for lanuguage, music and sports. At one time, top poly students were leaving Singapore in droves after being rejected by the local uni, no thanks to our Mr Elitist Gene LKY.
Originally posted by kilua:1.5mil foreigners includes brazilians and of course the ang mohs. In fact, its getting harder for Chinese to get a visa and study in Japan lately.
http://joi.ito.com/archives/2004/03/12/chinese_being_frozen_out_of_japanese_student_visa_process.html
Other countries like Finland and Denmark are worth comparing to. Its amazing their system can produces scores of talent in many diverse fields. Singapore can only blame its early elitist policies of only casting a small net for talent by nuturing only the SAP schools for lanuguage, music and sports. At one time, top poly students were leaving Singapore in droves after being rejected by the local uni, no thanks to our Mr Elitist Gene LKY.
Singapore's 900k FTs and FWs don't all come from China too. 1.5 million foreigners for Japan might be a small percentage, but it is certainly a huge number.
And according to the MIT Encyclopedia of the Japanese Economy by Robert C. Hsu, in the 1980s, many small businesses began to hire illegal foreign workers willing to take low-paid undesirable jobs shunned by the japanese. Rather than letting this happen too much in Singapore, wouldn't it be better if it was legalised, especially if the economy requires it?
Anyway, I chose Hong Kong because their usable land area is roughly the same as Singapore's due to their many mountainous areas. And HK, having China as her hinterland, has so many other factors that will make it a better trading place than Singapore.
And according to the MIT Encyclopedia of the Japanese Economy by Robert C. Hsu, in the 1980s, many small businesses began to hire illegal foreign workers willing to take low-paid undesirable jobs shunned by the japanese. Rather than letting this happen too much in Singapore, wouldn't it be better if it was legalised, especially if the economy requires it?
Singapore requires a large influx of foreigners because many attempts to move up the value chain on innovation has failed. I attended a lecture by Lim Chong Yah on economic development. He mentioned that to justify the high wages for a developed country, Singapore has to to create high value products. After being stuck on low economic growth for the early part of the 2000s, they decided to grow the economy by increasing population growth,which buys time for Singapore to develop its R & D. We the citizens have to suffer the competition for resources with spiking prices ranging from property and rising taxi fares.
The point is if Singapore had managed to developed its R & D in the 90s, Singapore can be just like the Nordic countries, growing the economy on high end products instead of growing on population. The reliance on FT would have been lesser. Our leadership then was just contented to produce flocks of straights As student that have no interest nor passion to do research. Now its changing bit by bit but i believe they still think they can avoid the problem of nuturing locals by importing FTs.
Originally posted by kilua:Singapore requires a large influx of foreigners because many attempts to move up the value chain on innovation has failed. I attended a lecture by Lim Chong Yah on economic development. He mentioned that to justify the high wages for a developed country, Singapore has to to create high value products. After being stuck on low economic growth for the early part of the 2000s, they decided to grow the economy by increasing population growth,which buys time for Singapore to develop its R & D. We the citizens have to suffer the competition for resources with spiking prices ranging from property and rising taxi fares.
The point is if Singapore had managed to developed its R & D in the 90s, Singapore can be just like the Nordic countries, growing the economy on high end products instead of growing on population. The reliance on FT would have been lesser. Our leadership then was just contented to produce flocks of straights As student that have no interest nor passion to do research. Now its changing bit by bit but i believe they still think they can avoid the problem of nuturing locals by importing FTs.
LKY, in his memoirs, mentioned on how he believes strongly in foreign talent. This was due to his time, when his ministers and close aides comes mostly from overseas, ie the Old Guards.
I believe the PAP take this as their doctrine now.
Originally posted by eagle:LKY, in his memoirs, mentioned on how he believes strongly in foreign talent. This was due to his time, when his ministers and close aides comes mostly from overseas, ie the Old Guards.
I believe the PAP take this as their doctrine now.
I am not against foriegn talent if they are real "talents" nor i am against the low end workers that help to built the economy, The difference between the old guards and the current PAP is now they use population as a means to grow the economy rather then just using FT with special skills to fill the gap. That is the difference. Now we have the average joes taking up Singapore PR and there isnt a choice because of the falling birth rates and failing to develop R&D in the 90s.
Singaporeans live for themselves....no doubt about that......
all we know is that we ant a better lives for ourselves......instead of raising our hand when we know we can do it better, we point fingers to the other person becoz we a scared to fail.......
but when japanese live for themselves, it means they are living for the country too.....
I believe that foreign talents has difficulty to break in to the Japanese working industry is because of the language barrier and government policy. Many foreigner end up working as English teacher when first arrived in Japan. The job opportunity is rare for foreigner who can't speak native language because local people only speak Japanese.
Originally posted by eagle:Many PRCs there btw. Even in this forum, there are a few Singaporeans who migrated there. During their booming period, many foreigners were working there (pls google). It is only when they start to slump did they start kicking some out.
Or you could teach Singaporeans to be more hardworking than now. Do you know how much overtime they do? They are not Europeans, die die must knock off at 5.
Then again, you could help Singapore to reach 20 mil population so that we have a larger workforce. Like that don't need foreigners also. Or just be like China, with 1.3 billion pple. Really don't need foreigners to work also can function.
If they are really that good, their economy wouldn't be in a slump for such a long time while the rest of the world was booming.
singapore has enough workers to support the companies in terms of numbers.
Its a question of how capable is our system able to produce the workforce with the required skills.
I remember that some years back there was a big batch of poly grads in engine who have been trying to switch line due to whatever reasons. Once upon a time , people were welcome to take engine. see-see-do-do , many jumped in. and then...
we need visionary education system to educate and train workers for the future. how difficult to understand this?
without vision, even with enough manpower, there will be shortage of skilled professionals. skilled professionals got their job after they study certain courses.
education should be free to allow all to stand equal opportunity to learn and empower themselves. Australia proves free education is possible and admired by all in the world.
with budget surplus, why not invest in our citizens? should also invest in citizens regardless of race language or religion and FAMILY TIES.
and then nebber forget, sgp is tiny with tiny population to train, educate and control. A so-called 1st world country (of course i must say i agree), with no more than 1 city to manage. 40 sq kilometers? what i mean is, sg is lucky as it is tiny and large countries are not as lucky. They may not be able to train all their citizens well.
if the plan is to continue relying on FT, for the sake of employers or otherwise, sg will continue to increase its reliance on FT which is nebber good.