Mark your calender, budget 2008 will be annouced on 15th Feb 2008.
What freebies do you think the government will offer to help the poor?
"GST" package and stuff lah... as usual... give $100, then take back $101
i suspect this year no goodies......
...please... don't give better...
(this damn new format is so bloody LAGGY!)
I am very sure government will offer goodies for the lower income. but I am hopping like to see more funding for education
i think will give ba
after that
more things will increse in prices![]()
ask them to fly kite first then f**k spider... give $100 take back $200 ($101 is an under statement)... please don't treat us as a kid or worse, a fool
For any given budget, there will always be give and take. What is more important is that they give to people who need it most and take from people who can afford it.
bu xi han!
what if they take from epople who need it most and give it to people who can afford it?
rich get richer and poor get poorer.
htb, you might want to give us some quantifiable examples of policy which make rich richer and poor poorer.
Property price increase, mortgage increase, everyone has less to spend on everyday consumption. Transport hikes, GST increase, these things are everyday consumption. How much can people reap from pathetic once or twice a year GST package? At best $500 bucks.
You think about how our society used to measure success based on 5Cs ok. Now new millenium, everyone sees it as essentials. Btw, how do we define rich and how do we define poor and how do we define feelings of inadequacy (poverty)? Is it all just subjective?
If there are no policies propelling rich and poor divide in Singapore, then how come millionaires are on the rise, and average income for the bottomed out are rapidly decreasing? This country, policies included is run like a business. Winner takes all.
Any inflation rate more the 2% should be deem high. If i am not wrong, last year inflation was 4.7% which is a lot higher. Is that within the control of our government? The increases of fuel price, flour, pork, etc are global factor. So what did our government done to help it citizen cope with such increase? Increase their already fat wallet (unjustified salary increment), increase transportation cost, GST, etc!
So in short, if ur pay dun increase by 6~7% (factoring the net salary, after CPF contribution) U will actually have lesser money to spend in this year, meaning a pay deduction by the government.
Originally posted by Seven_Dragon:
ask them to fly kite first then f**k spider... give $100 take back $200 ($101 is an under statement)... please don't treat us as a kid or worse, a fool
Sadly..... they don't have to give you sh*t...... also can take more $$$$ from you. ![]()
Originally posted by hloc:
Sadly..... they don't have to give you sh*t...... also can take more $$$$ from you.
You're suggesting legitimised crime by the lawmakers themselves. I'd be wary of making such a statement.
property prices are driven by market and speculators hence I dont think its fair to put the blame on the government. In fact the government themselves are also concern about the rising property price and they have already taken steps to cool the property market.
With or without the government, the rich will still continue to be rich because they have the resouces to let their money work for them. What is more important is that being poor in Singapore, it doesnt make you a handicap
I believe the best way to fight inflation to is control your personal spending and lifestyle ie avoid unneccessary expenditure and reduce wastage. As for the lower income, I believe they will get financial support from the government, the only question is how much support they will get.
So you are saying the rich and poor divide has nothing to do with government policies?
i hope to get something from the budget...
because irregardless whether the govt give u freebies or not,
they will still squeeze something from u eventually...
Singapore government has created an enviorment which is pro business and it also try very hard to provide Singaporeans will all necessary tools and education to succeed in the competitive business world.
To answer your question, I would say that the government policy does help Singaporeans to become rich and but it is up to the individual to study and work for it.
Its the same speech every year
Look at the history of how well the party has run the country and our glorious past, swallow bitter pill, tighten out belts, not welfare state, need foreign talents to grow economy, more (low-class) jobs created for more people, grow population to 6.5mil, 'help' the poor, really help the "poor" (who drive mercs), increase tax, increase price of all public service, more ways to stop us from getting our money back from CPF, increase their salary again but over all, we all must become blind and only believe blindly that govt very good and always give back to people (more hardship) and always compare to developing countries to remind us what we have build for our own people but accord all that credit to the glorious party
If the rich are already freaking rich and if the gov dun just care only for the rich, why cant they at least implement minimum wages? So that those poor uncle and auntie working in the labour/dirty job sector get a decent pay? Why do the gov have to care about the wallet of the rich?
The inflation might have gone up, but our pay hasnt. So why hasnt our million dollars MP done anything? Well, this was quoted from some new i heard. The inflation falls mostly on the import factors (ie, fuel, flour, pork, etc). So goods coming into s'pore might be high, but since the labour cost hasn’t really change, it shouldnt affect s'pore exported market. Hence it shouldn’t affect most of the buz in s'pore. So long as the rich profit isnt affect, nothing need done? Dun mistook GST as a export factor, coz that is a consumer factor and therefore a import factor as well. Needless to said abt the million dollars salary.
Even our used to be affordable HDB flat is now less then affort for even the middle class. Wat abt the lower ones? If our gov have it citizen welfares at heart the four main necessity of each citizen ie healthcare, housing, transportation and food costs should be kept at all time low and even non profitable at time. Sadly none of this is true. And to make thing worse, it is ever increasing.
I'm not talking about making ppl rich. I am talking about taking care of the citizen, esp the old aged one that once help build s'pore to what it is today. Dun turn ur back just b'coz they have out lived their usefulness.
more GST credits or NSS, ERS, ASS, watever
yeah, i know.... tan ku ku......................
EarlNeo,
If Singapore government implement minimum wages and restrict foreign workers to compete for low skill job in this year's budget, dont you think it will bring more inflation problem for the poor and aging population?
As for healthcare, I believe Singapore has one of the best healthcare system in world. Athough it is not the cheapest, but I believe it is one of the most value for money in terms of accessibility and quality.
When you say HDB flats are out of reach for middle class, are you referring to those in prime district. In terms of facilities and quality, how would you rank singapore HDB to public housing in other countries?
Originally posted by TCH05: Singapore government has created an enviorment which is pro business and it also try very hard to provide Singaporeans will all necessary tools and education to succeed in the competitive business world.To answer your question, I would say that the government policy does help Singaporeans to become rich and but it is up to the individual to study and work for it.
Which means you are in favour of all policies as long as they help Singaporeans get richer, sounds very neutral leh.
Can you name one example in favour of wealth for both the rich and the poor?
Also, what are your thoughts about Singapore's surging income inequality since we are currently in line with third world countries like Philippines and Guatemala?
Since our country is run by pro business leaders with priorities in economic growth, do you think nations with a huge class/income divide will flourish better than those with low class/income divide? If yes, why? If no, why?
Last question, is getting older people to work longer even if it's for lesser money, a way to improve their income and quality of life?
Thanks in advance hor cos I very curious.
No, I am not in favour off ALL the government policies, however I do not blame the government on why I cant make as much money as others.
The government policis is always to take care of the average singaporeans either directly (putting money into their hand) or indirectly (creating job, education and opportunities) because rich people doesnt need government's help and they are capable to helping themselves. Plus, PAP doesnt need their vote either because they are all living in uncontested district.
Several reasons why we are seeing a widening income gap in Singapore because
a) Booming banking and wealth management industry which benefited Singaporeans, including those belongs to low income family working in the industry
b) Home owners of enbloc properties (include people who are cash poor) who become sudden millionaire
c) There is a influx of HNWI into Singapore because of Singapore favourable tax structure (Singapore government didnt make them millionaire and they made their money overseas before the come to singapore)
d) People who speculated on stocks and properties.
Singapore income inequility might be similar to philippines, but Singapore lower income is definitely living in better condition than those poor in filipinos.
Singapore will continue to prosperous as long as Singaporeans are still motivated to be sucessful and its our government job to ensure that they provide Singaporeans the opportunities and tools to do so.
Government doesnt force older people to works, they only ensure that if you need to work, employer cannot reject you.