Well, the cost of living has gone up in Singapore, PM Lee asked us to reduce by eating cheaper bread and rice. While the million dollar ministers can afford abalone and shark fin this CNY, we the people especially the lower income group can't afford abalone,bak kwa,shark fin, so we have no choice but to listen to our PM and Lim Hng Kiang to eat cheaper food such as, ikan kembong, salted egg, peanut, kangkong, cheap rice from India, tapioca, potato leaves, this new year we suffer a lot, cost of CNY goods have increased, shoppers in China Town see more than buy. All in all, it is a bad year.
ok .... be obedient and dont complain so much ![]()
Originally posted by InnoHippo:ok .... be obedient and dont complain so much
Lee Hsien Loong your father ah that you must be obedient to him?
Originally posted by t_a_s:Well, the cost of living has gone up in Singapore, PM Lee asked us to reduce by eating cheaper bread and rice. While the million dollar ministers can afford abalone and shark fin this CNY, we the people especially the lower income group can't afford abalone,bak kwa,shark fin, so we have no choice but to listen to our PM and Lim Hng Kiang to eat cheaper food such as, ikan kembong, salted egg, peanut, kangkong, cheap rice from India, tapioca, potato leaves, this new year we suffer a lot, cost of CNY goods have increased, shoppers in China Town see more than buy. All in all, it is a bad year.
He has to be a good example by cutting down his own pay during this trying time to deserve respect for people to listen to him
but...bread is bread and rice is rice leh
... eventually one day, it might be "grass is grass..you are lucky to still have grass to eat.." ...
what he means there are gardenia bread, sunshine bread, bonjor bread, ntuc bread, hi 5 bread, so to save cost, u choose the cheapest one, may be ntuc bread or sunshine which taste less nice than gardenia
What PM is saying is that dont buy on brands, just buy the products. That way, it will help you cut down on unnecessary expenses
talk is cheap.... when these people do not have to suffer as the people have to.
Originally posted by mistyblue:talk is cheap.... when these people do not have to suffer as the people have to.
Talk is even cheaper from a no substance, hopeless, substandard PM
Originally posted by mistyblue:talk is cheap.... when these people do not have to suffer as the people have to.
How difficult it is to buy NTUC brand products instead of premire ones? I bet if you do a A/B testing on them, you wont be able to tell the difference between the 2.
Originally posted by qlqq9:Talk is even cheaper from a no substance, hopeless, substandard PM
you can consider joining a opposition party and challenge him for a one to one debate on policy.
Talking here is even cheaper because you are faceless.
Originally posted by TCH05:
How difficult it is to buy NTUC brand products instead of premire ones? I bet if you do a A/B testing on them, you wont be able to tell the difference between the 2.
I can tell the difference between gardenia and the other brands. I am sure lots of people can. But then maybe already a lot of people downgraded until cannot downgrade liao - then what. There is a limit to telling the genernal population to downgrade because the "leader" himself is also setting an example and trying hard to turn the situation around and trying to limit the amount of hardship on his people, vs one who just say empty words, enjoying his 3 million dollar salary and most likely will keep increasing and then increase the GST, the ERP and other forms of tax and telling the people that they cannot depend on the govt, there will be no welfare and 2% increase in GST is for the poor (irony isn't it) and we got to tighten the belts again and swallow yet another bitter pill and never expect to see our hard earn money again.
you can consider joining a opposition party and challenge him for a one to one debate on policy.
Oh yeah, then tell it to the rest of them. Goon.
Originally posted by mistyblue:
I can tell the difference between gardenia and the other brands. I am sure lots of people can. But then maybe already a lot of people downgraded until cannot downgrade liao - then what. There is a limit to telling the genernal population to downgrade because the "leader" himself is also setting an example and trying hard to turn the situation around and trying to limit the amount of hardship on his people, vs one who just say empty words, enjoying his 3 million dollar salary and most likely will keep increasing and then increase the GST, the ERP and other forms of tax and telling the people that they cannot depend on the govt, there will be no welfare and 2% increase in GST is for the poor (irony isn't it) and we got to tighten the belts again and swallow yet another bitter pill and never expect to see our hard earn money again.
That nut will tell you to meet lee hsien loong face to face to talk about policy. They place themselves in the pedestal and all of us gotta suffer, cut cost because we need to feed them and let them get millions and millions of pay.
You heart must be aching as many speak negatively of lee hsien loong. U need to see a doctor for it.
If we eat cheaper bread, that means we pay less GST.
But paying more GST means helping the poor more.
So how? ![]()
... from "Tighten your belts...", to "Byte the bullet...", to "Take the Bitter Pill..", and now "Don't Eat Branded Bread..."...
... do you see the trend of frugality under this FAP regime?
... sure, the people will have no choice but to live Frugal Lives, while THEY, bump up their salaries for PROVIDING frugal existence to the people...
... what a world class "leadership"...
... do you recall any good times under this regime?
come on, people.
that is a pretty dumb statement that LHL is making. he pretend to "care" but it fails miserably. i was right in not casting the vote for him while i was staying in amk.
Originally posted by charlize:If we eat cheaper bread, that means we pay less GST.
But paying more GST means helping the poor more.
So how?
shrugs. help yourself first before helping the poor.
i thought GST was helping the govt. hmm
all branded bread give to the FTs liao ma, where got ur share? how can we ever forget the FTs "contributions" to our country? naturally branded bread give them while the poor locals like u n me eat normal bread lo. tough luck we aint "FT" enuf
Originally posted by HyperFocal:... from "Tighten your belts...", to "Byte the bullet...", to "Take the Bitter Pill..", and now "Don't Eat Branded Bread..."...
... do you see the trend of frugality under this FAP regime?
... sure, the people will have no choice but to live Frugal Lives, while THEY, bump up their salaries for PROVIDING frugal existence to the people...
... what a world class "leadership"...
... do you recall any good times under this regime?
let me recall... is the ceremony to welcome all the "FTs" to s'pore considered good time? mayb not 4 us...
From the man who said mee siam mai hum. ![]()
But but but... my mum claims that prices of prawns have not inflated as much as previous years during the CNY period...
AND that it is still possible to get abalone at uninflated prices.
Although Bak Gwa is way above previous prices.
The inflated prices refer to the typical inflation of these goods during the CNY period...
Buy cheaper bread and cheaper rice. LOL
Why not reduce the costs of imports first. Anyway, it's not as if bakeries here sell bread cheap. Ever since Breadtalk is a hit, a whole line of similar shops opened, jacking the prices of bread up. Traditionally, it has always been these few types of bread and the costs are relatively low.
After Breadtalk hits here, you look at the prices of bread. 1 loaf of bread cost a freaking $1++, with some hitting a few dollars. Eating gold? Eating for health? I don't even remember wheat bread costing some much 10 years ago, for the health conscious. Now wheat bread costs nearly $2 or even higher.
Even the white bread sold in kopitiam (recognizable, no skin one) costs at least $1 now. I used to buy them at 80 cents or less.