salary: $141, bribes: $205m
total loss to society: $205,000,141
salary: $2m, bribes: $0
total loss to society: $2,000,000
so it's obvious that giving high pay will result in less damage to the society.

Originally posted by Jamie Zawinski:salary: $141, bribes: $205m
Or you could look at it another way.....
cause you pay me peanuts and you get paid $2m that's why i take bribes ![]()
it means that the peasants all deserve 2 million dollars salary each to have zero corruption :D
so... low pay is justifiable for corruption ? he he.. cool..
Some ppl may think they are worth 10K.. but actually in the eyes of the employer is work 2.5K. lol.. tired to argue this kind of thing. he he.. it never ends.
Tiger to prowl Lion City?
At the sidelines of Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong’s working visit to Dubai, he attended the second round of the Dubai Desert Classic and met world No 1 Tiger Woods. In response to Goh’s invitation to Woods to visit Singapore, the American said: “I would love to.”
Tiger Woods takes up citizenship... huat ar!!!![]()
Why does people still believe what the media say and reports now a day ?
hmm.. still
Originally posted by justcooler:Why does people still believe what the media say and reports now a day ?
Exactly ! I don't even believe that there is a snowstorm in China, don't believe that there is a sub-prime crisis, don't believe that there was a violent crackdown of protestors in Burma. Images and video feeds might have been the work of the likes of Steven Spielberg !!
Images and video feeds might have been the work of the likes of Steven Spielberg !!
I think he is talking about media omissions and bias, not psychological warfare, fake video propaganda or disinformation.
Well, if one doesn't trust the likes of AFP then theres nothing pretty much to trust other than news that suits one's taste. "I like that piece of news" becomes the truth and "I don't quite like that piece if news" becomes "propaganda, media ommission, bias etc etc".
I don't think that is so. There are various types of propaganda.
Some are more obvious than others.
Should pay him salary $3 millions (like ...), so bribes will be $0. And no more corruption. ![]()
Almost all of us think that we are worth more than we are paid one lah. Very human.
Question is whether you can get someone else to offer you a higher salary.![]()
obviously low salary = higher temptation to corruption.
Anyone in Singapore who feels that he's underpaid is justified to take bribes.
That's the govt's message to the people. The salary benchmark to discourage corruption at present stands at about SGD2m.
Don't talk about integrity, OK?
Originally posted by googoomuck:Anyone in Singapore who feels that he's underpaid is justified to take bribes.
That's the govt's message to the people. The salary benchmark to discourage corruption at present stands at about SGD2m.
This has been discussed at length.
That's where the term legatimized corruption came from.
Our ministers justify their exhorbitant salaries to starve off corruption and deny potential 'suitors' from headhunting them to lead prominent MNCs.
To date, not a SINGLE ex-minister is listed as a board member or CFO-equivalent in any 'leading MNC', not even the likes of Tony Tan, Seet Ai Mee or Yeo Cheow Tong.
Originally posted by googoomuck:Anyone in Singapore who feels that he's underpaid is justified to take bribes.
Wrong. Only elites are justified to take bribes.
Peasants taking bribes is akin to stealing from the elites, and that simply cannot be tolerated, no?
most of the ministers and people in that class do not just hold one role. They usually hold multiple roles in many companies and are paid for all these roles. So the pay is way more than 2mil.
Originally posted by BillyBong:This has been discussed at length.
That's where the term legatimized corruption came from.
Our ministers justify their exhorbitant salaries to starve off corruption and deny potential 'suitors' from headhunting them to lead prominent MNCs.
To date, not a SINGLE ex-minister is listed as a board member or CFO-equivalent in any 'leading MNC', not even the likes of Tony Tan, Seet Ai Mee or Yeo Cheow Tong.
maybe the MNCs know they can get better monkeys with less peanuts..?
i wonder what's a way to legalize a bribe?
Bribe already..... erm.. the defination...
I think spade1... you should study your english... you dont understand the meaning of bribe...
Originally posted by mistyblue:most of the ministers and people in that class do not just hold one role. They usually hold multiple roles in many companies and are paid for all these roles. So the pay is way more than 2mil.
Is it de?
wow, if so hor, then not just 150K a month meh?
cannot de be wanneh ?
wa, i would 'kill' to have this sort of goodie.
if my boss gimme this kinda perky perky goodie salaries many many, I would ... i would .... i really no no waht i would 'not' do....
of course speaking for meself onlys lors.
they surely different wan. they sacrifice themselves wan, i trust.
they can earning even the more and more many many in privated sector right?
sure, i sure believe wan.
they so good and not because of money but to serve you, i think.
waht you think, smart, intelligent, sg'reans? how smart are you? u think you smart right? you think you can compete IQ with FT right ? u think you got future right?
think. think some more!