You think he'd give a fark?![]()
Originally posted by Mocha Almond Fudge:Let me see.. Where do I start? I guess this being a Singapore website where the 'blog police' are likely to read anything that would be deemed facetious to the interest of Singapore and The current Singapore Government, possibly read this then tracing the IP then turning up at my doorstep to question every word I wrote, I guess I have to choose my words CAREFULLY..
Let me first impress on any readers of this post that I am a patriotic son of Singapore. I served my National Service like any typical complain-ridden Singaporean-born man. I am a Malay. I am a Muslim. I do not support terrorism of any kind. I believe in equal rights and opportunities in Singapore. Although and right minded Singaporeans would find that ideal rather deluded. Yes, deluded.
Now the sentiment of this entry is not to blindly shoot in the dark. Nor have me ranting like Dr. Chee Soon Juan. At least if I did say something, I would like to think that I would be able to at achieve a decent follow through. No disrespects to Dr. Chee, but I personally think that the man has more aptitude to shoot off a round on his on foot rather than make a real difference. Now, with that said about Dr. Chee let me get to my point..
Please Sir. If you want to say something, at least don't patronise us middle-income citizens. Because the current situation is really choking us.
Sure, we understand about rising costs and world economics climates, but you keep saying we are doing well. I want to know, as a concerned citizen where you get your facts from? Because I sure as hell am not doing well. In fact some of us are barely surviving from month to month.
No sane person would have the right mind to directly accuse you of our hardship and financial short comings. But then again, not everyone of us earns a paycheck like yours do we Sir? Heck! Some of us are working 3 jobs just to stay broke. Some of us have to sacrifice too much. Afraid to even take a day off of work because our children would go hungry. I won't be surprised if you start having Singaporeans living out of boxes. In fact, haven't we featured enough Singaporeans building tents by our public beaches?
You ask of us singles to get married. The nation running public announcements ads pouring on and on about the joys of marriage. When you have even more separating because, well because they are looking for someone who earns more.
We start missing the point.
We have Singaporeans who are rude and basically so single-minded that all they care about is not a person character, but what kind of money the person bring home. Then again, we can't blame our citizens aptitude for indifference to other Singaporeans to you now could we Sir?
I actually understood the reason why the ERP charges were raised. But Singaporeans want to still delude themselves into thinking they could afford these things. Turning to the government yet again because the don't have enough money left to put their children to a decent University. But of course a person like you wouldn't have to worry about that right Sir? Certainly the pay raise that our ministers supposedly deserve would help in paying for them to afford any school their children decide to go to. The rest of us just look on, green with envy..
The rest of us are just stuck in this vicious cycle.
So are Singaporeans doing well? I don't know Sir. You tell me. I guess I'll have to get back to you when I start living out of a box.
Maybe I made a point here. Maybe I rambled on and on about nothing in particular. Do what you have to do Mr. Lee. But please stop patronising the rest of us who keep trying and trying to claw our way to the top of the food chain..
I pray this entry didn't offend you.. Just another one of your obscure loyal citizens voicing out his concern..
Yeah, u should be grateful that you chose your words tactfully. However, the tone of your writing is so apologetic. Hmm, since you have decided to write something like this, the least u could behave is to set an unapologetic tone.
For instance, Why do you have to stress "
I pray this entry didn't offend you.. Just another one of your obscure loyal citizens voicing out his concern.." Common, i think any reader reading this loses all their respect for you already.
On a sidetrack, I seriously cannot believe why certain thread starters have not been prosecuted for starting really defamatory topics like, ( i quote e.g. "When is LKY going to die".. etc etc). The moderators perhaps you could look into this.
My point is. you wish to make a point, do it responsibly, in a tactful manner, and probably state the data/academic source from which you drew your inspiration to write certain topics. There is no need for forumers to resort to vulgarities in your reply when you scold our leaders. I am surprised that for this long, these people are not hauled up!. You folks should be grateful for that.
"Yeah, u should be grateful that you chose your words tactfully. However, the tone of your writing is so apologetic. Hmm, since you have decided to write something like this, the least u could behave is to set an unapologetic tone."
"...i think any reader reading this loses all their respect for you already."
- New Creation
Heheheh frikking hillarious... Apologetic? Set and Unapologetic tone? So I guess coming into a topic like this with guns a blazing helps enhances the appreciation of this post?
I set the tone of this post. If you didn't get it and saw it simply as '..the tone of your writing is so apologetic'.. then well what should I say? Apologise for the entry because it didn't have enough balls? :) Puh-lease.. :)
"290,000 low income workers" ? the figure is too big and too frightening to be ignored even by the mouthpiece of the party.
The workers' propensity to save for raining days are severely hampered by their marginal incomes. Sad to say, more scavengers likely to roams our streets in the years ahead.![]()
Sound pretty serious n grave.
Govt now very busy and lenient, on hindsight though , in contrast to their elitist education system, is certifying workers without formal education to get into jobs through numeracy and communication skills tests.
Originally posted by charlize:It's not that people like to suan the government or complain, but their track record in recent years have been getting from bad to worse.
Years back, they were saying they will tackle the widening income gap. And they have been saying it every year for the past few years.
What do we have now? An even wider income gap (yes, even the Straits Times dare report this fact)
So why should they be increasing their million dollar salaries when they cannot solve the day to day problems of majority of Singaporeans?
From the transport system to the healthcare system to CPF to housing, more and more problems seem to be cropping up.
And their solution is to increase prices. Yes, from healthcare to transport to ERP to GST. Want to retire? No way, you got to keep more and more funds in your CPF and cannot withdraw them till you are 80 or 90 or 100 (Yes, 100 could be a possibility at the rate things are going)
If they could solve some of the problems or at least alleviate some of the pain that the majority of Singaporeans are experiencing right now, nobody would complain about their increasing salaries.
But the problems keep resurfacing and in some cases become worse. So can you blame the rising discontent from the general population?
You said it so well, so true and to the point. Whether people like it or not, this is reality, this is facts, sad. Well, PAP has no shame, they think the people owe them a living so they keep taking more and more money for themselves.
They hardly solve any problems. If you notice when there are problems, most of the time they put the blame on the people of Singapore who feed them. They are the world's thickest skin gahmen.
Originally posted by New Creation:Yeah, u should be grateful that you chose your words tactfully. However, the tone of your writing is so apologetic. Hmm, since you have decided to write something like this, the least u could behave is to set an unapologetic tone.
I pray this entry didn't offend you.. Just another one of your obscure loyal citizens voicing out his concern.." Common, i think any reader reading this loses all their respect for you already.
On a sidetrack, I seriously cannot believe why certain thread starters have not been prosecuted for starting really defamatory topics like, ( i quote e.g. "When is LKY going to die".. etc etc). The moderators perhaps you could look into this.
My point is. you wish to make a point, do it responsibly, in a tactful manner, and probably state the data/academic source from which you drew your inspiration to write certain topics. There is no need for forumers to resort to vulgarities in your reply when you scold our leaders. I am surprised that for this long, these people are not hauled up!. You folks should be grateful for that.
New Creation, you are on earth not heaven,understand. How is Derek Prince?
Originally posted by New Creation:Yeah, u should be grateful that you chose your words tactfully. However, the tone of your writing is so apologetic. Hmm, since you have decided to write something like this, the least u could behave is to set an unapologetic tone.
I meant Joseph Prince, how is he? SGforums is not New Creation church.
Originally posted by qpicanto:"290,000 low income workers" ? the figure is too big and too frightening to be ignored even by the mouthpiece of the party.
The workers' propensity to save for raining days are severely hampered by their marginal incomes. Sad to say, more scavengers likely to roams our streets in the years ahead.
Sound pretty serious n grave.
Govt now very busy and lenient, on hindsight though , in contrast to their elitist education system, is certifying workers without formal education to get into jobs through numeracy and communication skills tests.
Could you advise me on the number of 290k? Was it on paper? Thanks a lot for the update! Most of my recent news come from sgforums because my sis bring the papers to school to read before I wake up :(
Originally posted by eagle:Could you advise me on the number of 290k? Was it on paper? Thanks a lot for the update! Most of my recent news come from sgforums because my sis bring the papers to school to read before I wake up :(
Ever wondered why there are so many low income workers?
Because of the many low wage jobs created and filled by these workers? ![]()
Originally posted by qpicanto:
Thanks! ![]()
Hmmm, "paying $150 million to 290,000 low-income workers".... only $500 per worker... for how many months? Germany's welfare scheme is about 300 euros a month for the unemployed (2 years ago)... Sigh....
Next, from my earlier estimation in another thread... this 290k is almost 21% of the Singaporean workforce (discounting PRs and FTs and FWs).
Originally posted by eagle:Thanks!
Hmmm, "paying $150 million to 290,000 low-income workers".... only $500 per worker... for how many months? Germany's welfare scheme is about 300 euros a month for the unemployed (2 years ago)... Sigh....
Next, from my earlier estimation in another thread... this 290k is almost 21% of the Singaporean workforce (discounting PRs and FTs and FWs).
Just out of curiousity, eagle, are you working as a statistician?
Originally posted by qlqq9:Just out of curiousity, eagle, are you working as a statistician?
No, graduating this sem from NUS with engineering degree. But I'm rather particular with numbers, and haven't been doing badly for any maths related things since sec 2 :D
the problem with singapore is this.
the old man had spent all his life planning for the young man to take over singapore one day. to him that would be the most important task and he never planned beyond.
now that the young man has indeed taken over, does that mean singapore is in its final chapter?
Originally posted by eagle:No, graduating this sem from NUS with engineering degree. But I'm rather particular with numbers, and haven't been doing badly for any maths related things since sec 2 :D
YOu should consider joining the research field if you like all these figures, stats and so on. Sorry, TS I side tracked a little.
Originally posted by sir_peanuts:the problem with singapore is this.
the old man had spent all his life planning for the young man to take over singapore one day. to him that would be the most important task and he never planned beyond.
now that the young man has indeed taken over, does that mean singapore is in its final chapter?
You posed an interesting question. If nothing improves, I would say it is possible it is in its final chapter.
Originally posted by qlqq9:YOu should consider joining the research field if you like all these figures, stats and so on. Sorry, TS I side tracked a little.
Either that or go into business ;)
I'm experimenting something right now (done before by others, but alter it to something slightly different), something that will work best in a highly densely populated city like Singapore or HK... Only cuz busy with projects... so progressing very slowly :D
Anyway, my future job also involves lots of numbers and statistics... Will be doing testing of DRAM (reducing testing time so as to increase throughput), so the number of true and false passes, etc, are all very important...
Originally posted by eagle:Either that or go into business ;)
I'm experimenting something right now (done before by others, but alter it to something slightly different), something that will work best in a highly densely populated city like Singapore or HK... Only cuz busy with projects... so progressing very slowly :D
Anyway, my future job also involves lots of numbers and statistics... Will be doing testing of DRAM (reducing testing time so as to increase throughput), so the number of true and false passes, etc, are all very important...
That is really good news. Not many people are doing something that interest them in their jobs. Wish you success and good luck.
Originally posted by qlqq9:That is really good news. Not many people are doing something that interest them in their jobs. Wish you success and good luck.
Interest is one thing, success and long term viability is another thing... It is extremely hard to do very well in society if we stay only as a salaried worker :(
I'm beginning to look further nowadays. I've planned part of my life in my 2nd year till around 2011...; it's time to look further ahead...
Originally posted by eagle:Interest is one thing, success and long term viability is another thing... It is extremely hard to do very well in society if we stay only as a salaried worker :(
I'm beginning to look further nowadays. I've planned part of my life in my 2nd year till around 2011...; it's time to look further ahead...
If you have the capital $$, by all means do whatever you think will last. Depends on what salaried staff one is, look at PAP - they are salaried staff but are getting so much. But of course there are other positions people are holding that allow them to earn lots of $$$. It is encouraging to see you have good plans for your future.
Originally posted by qlqq9:
If you have the capital $$, by all means do whatever you think will last. Depends on what salaried staff one is, look at PAP - they are salaried staff but are getting so much. But of course there are other positions people are holding that allow them to earn lots of $$$. It is encouraging to see you have good plans for your future.
I thought we can consider PAP to be businessmen liao ![]()
Their salary is also pegged to top businessmen
, which is still a very questionable policy...
I understand also, directors and CEOs are also high salary earners, but how many of such posts are there? And as a salaried worker, if your superior does not die or retire or change company, the path to the next level can be considered blocked.
Originally posted by qlqq9:New Creation, you are on earth not heaven,understand. How is Derek Prince?
hmm, i cannot understand your Rhetorical reply. My statements in forum replies are made in my own personal capacity and in no way complicate or represent anything from my church.
So, you wish to engage me, please do so in a civilized and meaningful manner by properly rebutting my replies in a point to point basis.
If i am one of the more uncivilized person in the forum, i would have replied, "Hey, im sure you are probably an Idol worshipper( i.e. worship a figurine made of sth), and Devil has clouded your judgements making you petty and a quick to judge person"
;-)
yeah.. I didn't get that part.. its like its not even in tune with what we started to talk about from my topic..
I doubt you both know each other personally. If that's true, what's this about the New Creation Church?
Let's not get Biblical shall we? Before anyone else really misses the whole point.. :)
Originally posted by New Creation:
hmm, i cannot understand your Rhetorical reply. My statements in forum replies are made in my own personal capacity and in no way complicate or represent anything from my church.
So, you wish to engage me, please do so in a civilized and meaningful manner by properly rebutting my replies in a point to point basis.
If i am one of the more uncivilized person in the forum, i would have replied, "Hey, im sure you are probably an Idol worshipper( i.e. worship a figurine made of sth), and Devil has clouded your judgements making you petty and a quick to judge person"
;-)
Believe it is in your heart that said what you mentioned above If i am one of the more uncivilized person in the forum, i would have replied, "Hey, im sure you are probably an Idol worshipper( i.e. worship a figurine made of sth), and Devil has clouded your judgements making you petty and a quick to judge person".
Any way, you are not better from what I read about you talking about the devil so what you denied above is not true. You talked about the devil about something in the other thread so now you denied you are not like that.
Originally posted by qlqq9:Believe it is in your heart that said what you mentioned above If i am one of the more uncivilized person in the forum, i would have replied, "Hey, im sure you are probably an Idol worshipper( i.e. worship a figurine made of sth), and Devil has clouded your judgements making you petty and a quick to judge person".
Any way, you are not better from what I read about you talking about the devil so what you denied above is not true. You talked about the devil about something in the other thread so now you denied you are not like that.
<Yawn>... rest in peace..