would be wrong to say that many solutions come in the form of price hikes ?
baby solution, used money. how successful ?
traffic solution, using ERP price hikes. how successful?
medishield solution, using price hikes. how successful will be?
what solution is not based on price hikes ?
how successful is using price hikes ?
would it be wrong to say that future solutions will also be as
predictable as price hike no less?
overall, and in future, what shall be the cost to you just to live here?
how many babies will you have?
how old shall you be when you finally retire and enjoy the days before your last day?
... you must excuse our government, as they are all basically businessmen who knows only to increase prices, fees, fares, taxes, & their own salaries...
... so we can all be certain that the longer we stay here, the higher the cost of living will become...
Originally posted by HyperFocal:... you must excuse our government, as they are all basically businessmen who knows only to increase prices, fees, fares, taxes, & their own salaries...
... so we can all be certain that the longer we stay here, the higher the cost of living will become...
You must also excuse LHL, who has a degree in economics. In economics, the basic rule is that every man is selfish, and in a market economy, price dictates the rule. Our dear govt follows Adam Smith's statement closely: "It is not from the benevolence of the butcher, the baker or the brewer that we expect our dinner, but from their regards to their own interests".
But hor, they, as usual, always look at statements that benefit their own arguments (much like certain forumers here), and it seems like they are so much into the basics of economics that they also forgot about Adam Smith's Theory of Moral Sentiments.
eagle,
PM Lee does not have a degree in Economics.
http://www.cabinet.gov.sg/CabinetAppointments/Mr+Lee+Hsien+Loong.htm
"Mr Lee was born on 10 February 1952 and completed his schooling in Singapore. He studied at the University of Cambridge, graduating with a Degree in Mathematics and a Diploma in Computer Science. He also obtained a Masters in Public Administration from the Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University."
Tharman does though. And he's the Finance Minister.
oh ya hor... Let's say he is heavily influenced by economic theory instead ba ![]()
let's say he loves to squeeze guys' balls and girls' breast until juice and milk dry... and that's why no one wants or able to have babies...
and fyi, guys' juice and girls' milk are full of proteins (worth a lot of money) and that's why they are able to get millions or billions of salaries...
Price hike to solve problems - hmm ... these days this is becoming rampant. I wonder if they don't do so where else do they get the money to overpay themselves millions and million of dollars.
VEry easy way to solve problem, make people pay. Just look at ERP, it does not work at all.
just employ mi lah... same offer .. 3 bowl of plain rice with luncheon meat per day can already... i accept Maling brand too..
Originally posted by qlqq9:Price hike to solve problems - hmm ... these days this is becoming rampant. I wonder if they don't do so where else do they get the money to overpay themselves millions and million of dollars.
VEry easy way to solve problem, make people pay. Just look at ERP, it does not work at all.
No lah they don't have to hike prices to pay themselves. Cabinet has 18 Cabinet Ministers. Say each one average 2mil salary. That is $36 mil.
I dunno how much GIC manages but say $100bn. Just 3% return is already $3bn.
Then got CPF money some more.
Originally posted by onlooker123:No lah they don't have to hike prices to pay themselves. Cabinet has 18 Cabinet Ministers. Say each one average 2mil salary. That is $36 mil.
I dunno how much GIC manages but say $100bn. Just 3% return is already $3bn.
Then got CPF money some more.
$2 million, but do you think those that have more than one portfolio will get more than $2 million?
Originally posted by qlqq9:$2 million, but do you think those that have more than one portfolio will get more than $2 million?
I recall reading a press reply to clarify that Ministers with double portfolios do not get double pay. Their pay depends on which salary grade they are on (there are several salary grades for Ministers and some are paid more than others) and also depends on how much bonus the PM wants to give.
Of course I could be wrong.