I don't get it...they produced cantonese films, rude, moneyminded and criminal in singapore standard yet PRCs people respect and goive them more face to them than SG or even taiwan..why??
What makes HK so big deal with the mainlanders?Make me fed up all this gracious talk can't even beat HK rolls royce dim sum culture
in every joint show with singapore our actors are always the kelefay
I mean my cousins are hongkongers but even I find them cunning and my family no longer associated with them..it's not that they are bad people just that there's something about them you do not wish to get too close...their dramas reflect more or less their mercenary culture....no wonder PRC people love them..
Coming back I do not wish to demean all hongkongers, their society produced their mentality just like what Sg does to us..no one's perfect
PRC people like strong business acumen culture..something SG is not and HK is the place where all the deceit and money games are...They give Hongkongers a lot of face..always think they prefer HK dramas
Hong Kong is still part of china wot......they have to be supportive.....
Besides i think they both share the same loud behaviours
deino u know mandarin??:)
there is a saying and it goes somewhat like;
"zhong guo ren zhor shen yi, wu yi.
tai wan ren zhor shen yi, wu ching.
xiang kang ren zhor shen yi, wu dao.
xin jia por ren zhor shen yi, wu zhi."
Once LKY departed from politics ..will SG become more HK as the environment become more hum and wheeling dealing with casinos?
Another words are we really to take freedom more seriously or gambled away like prodigal sons..time will tell
Once Lee Kuan Yew goes, I hope the culture of fear associated with him can disappear.
Otherwise people won't dare to criticise or go against the PAP regime.
They will continue to be apathetic and ignorant.
Originally posted by Catknight:I don't get it...they produced cantonese films, rude, moneyminded and criminal in singapore standard yet PRCs people respect and goive them more face to them than SG or even taiwan..why??
What makes HK so big deal with the mainlanders?Make me fed up all this gracious talk can't even beat HK rolls royce dim sum culture
Originally posted by Catknight:I don't get it...they produced cantonese films, rude, moneyminded and criminal in singapore standard yet PRCs people respect and goive them more face to them than SG or even taiwan..why??
What is wrong to make Cantonese films?
Rude----yes or no.they speak loudly some times.But rude is too subjective.
Money minded------Singaporean is also.How about Oz,US UK??
Criminals----happen every where.
I dunt see PRC give face to HK than SG.Remember Premier Wan recently said in SG that he is worry HK and would see HK learn fr SG.
Originally posted by Catknight:deino u know mandarin??:)
nope....
PRC and HK people see each other no happy one lah.. since when they are fren fren??? but seriously... HK ppl hor.. really bad character lor... but also due to their "care only about themselves" attitude they are very good in adapting to changes.... they dun whine as much as singaporean lor.. got the chiong attitude too..
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Once Lee Kuan Yew goes, I hope the culture of fear associated with him can disappear.
Otherwise people won't dare to criticise or go against the PAP regime.
They will continue to be apathetic and ignorant.
Do you fear LKY? I don't think any singaporean fears LKY. Many Singaporeans just feel helpless facing LKY. You argue with him chances are you will lose, this guy is very well read and he had seen the world. You don't agree with him, but you can't do anything to him, there are enough people who voted him in to power while you continue to wonder from what platform can you voice your disagreement. You can talk and complain anywhere you like but nothing will be changed as a result. You can criticise him but when you quote wrongly or say the wrong thing that really affect his reputation, you kenna sued till you don't see daylight.
Under what circumstance would LKY send his secret agents to come after you in the middle of the night, or how does LKY threaten you, share with us.
who says the PRC people respect the HKgers? Their relationship is that of a business. HK need the PRC tourists to boost their economy so they went all out to attract them, and you see many HKgers even learn to speak Mandarin. To the PRC people HK remains the pearl of the east, a modern and well developed city just returned to the motherland, a place they must see and visit, so they visited HK by the millions. What is there between HK and the mainlanders that you are jealous about?
I'm never sure if people are just venting or asking for an explanation. Since this is a simpler topic, here is your answer Catknight.
Looking at it from a group dynamic point of view. Humans have a basic response as a gregarious communal group. In times of good, you'd share and the sharing of food etc created bonds. This would be reflected in expressions of goodwill, kind looks, friendly hugs, good wishes etc. So the behavior extends from a previous act of goodwill.
In the modern society it has become etiquette to express goodwill etc without the initial act that created a bond. It's kind of a shortcut, as a kind of promise that there will be an act of goodwill after a time. We are kinder to people who express those expressions of goodwill even though most times it is baseless as it did not follow from an act of goodwill. Because of our human nature we still "recognize" the debt.
We now come to the point where someone will express goodwill then ask you for an act of goodwill. Human nature persuades us to give them it. This is purely a social trait but some people abuse this human trait in business. They behave nicely towards you and that predisposes you to give them advantages that are to your own disadvantage. This has become the common business practise and the person who gives out an act of goodwill based on expressions of goodwill is considered a fool.
Business people understand this.
You may be upset that someone talks to you nicely and flatters you then after you've given them an advantage, they don't return the "favor". You actually have been fooled by their expressions of goodwill to perform an act of goodwill. As you see, business and social niceties don't mix.
The Chinese admire the Hong Kongers as they see this as a "technique" for doing business. The Singaporeans are offended because they see this as an abuse of their good nature.
In reality, we just have to learn business and social etiquette are not the same. And we have to understand how they are different. And we have to recognize when it is used to our own disadvantage if we want to become better adapted to this world where money means so much.
Will we lose our humanity in becoming better businessmen? Most likely. The Jews have a belief that it is okay to do "business" with non-Jews but remember to treat other Jews as you would "family" and that allowed them to become great businessmen without losing their humanity. But outside their own religion they garnered the reputation of being cold blooded businessmen. This likely predisposed others non "family" not to come to their defence when they were persecuted.
I'm not saying this as an excuse, I'm not passing a moral judegement, it's simply what I observe and I hope that by sharing this, I share with you my understanding of how this works.
What about the secular jews or jews converts to christians?
Anyway this is common in every cultures from anglo saxons to japanese, that's why people formed their own clubs and associations.Every groups wanted advantages from their own networks
Why I have a feeling that my grandfather able to survive in SG version of HK more than the youths do?
With govt taking care and control every part of our life,,,SG chinese seems to lost that killer instinct
Lose killer instinct, cannot kill off the PAP regime also.
HKgers are like tigers in the wild.
Sgers are like "Tigers" in the Zoo, easier to control and manipulate by the zookeeper.
If you are Lee Kuan Yew, which tiger do you prefer?
The question is will SG be more like their HK cousin or vice versa...
Originally posted by Catknight:What about the secular jews or jews converts to christians?
Anyway this is common in every cultures from anglo saxons to japanese, that's why people formed their own clubs and associations.Every groups wanted advantages from their own networks
Yes, the unintended side effect is it creates groups that can become quite hostile to outsiders. It fosters xenophobia if left unchecked.
There really isn't any solution as long as the goodwill can be converted into tangible form and then transfered. It may turn out that money is the root of all evil after all and not the love of money.