Originally posted by TCH05:I am sure they have daily cleaning service at HDB isnt it?
No. At least at my side, it is once a month, and yes, by a foreign worker. The cleaning is also just spraying of water from a powerful hose.
But condo, at least from what I saw of Farrer Court, got someone who mops (not spray water) the ground floor everyday. The maintenance fee is about $150 I think... Cuz no swimming pool.
Originally posted by eagle:No. At least at my side, it is once a month, and yes, by a foreign worker. The cleaning is also just spraying of water from a powerful hose.
But condo, at least from what I saw of Farrer Court, got someone who mops (not spray water) the ground floor everyday. The maintenance fee is about $150 I think... Cuz no swimming pool.
yes, but we also have jerks living in condo who throw loads of rubbish in common area. So what difference does it make?
The only real benefit I see in condo is the security.
Originally posted by eagle:No. At least at my side, it is once a month, and yes, by a foreign worker. The cleaning is also just spraying of water from a powerful hose.
The FWs sweeps the estate everyday, can't be helped that people litter everyday too. For the sake of experimenting throw something at a spot in your estate and see if its still around the next day
Originally posted by kramnave:The FWs sweeps the estate everyday, can't be helped that people litter everyday too. For the sake of experimenting throw something at a spot in your estate and see if its still around the next day
Yes they do sweep the place daily.... infact the whole of sg is been sweep constantly.... try living outside sg ans u will see how clean sg actually is....
i tried.....only clear away after two days... ![]()
i log a complain to town council, then i will see those 'ah neh' clearing everydays...![]()
but then......after a few weeks...it back to sq ![]()
i tried.....only clear away after two days...
i log a complain to town council, then i will see those 'ah neh' clearing everydays...
but then......after a few weeks...it back to sq
This shows that telling the town council ARE doing their jobs....... when you complaint, they do come asap..... but it is the ppl who stay around the area that is doing the dirty-ing.
Every morning..... the letter box area around my block will be spotless..... but by eveing, when Home owner returns, that area would be litter with flyers and junk mails..... even though there is a dustbin RIGHT NEXT to the letter box......
But S'poreans being S'poreans..... just too much an effect to dispost such unwanted mails into the dustbin.... not when it is much easier just to dump them onto the floor...... ![]()
Originally posted by kramnave:The FWs sweeps the estate everyday, can't be helped that people litter everyday too. For the sake of experimenting throw something at a spot in your estate and see if its still around the next day
Sweep is not equal to mop or wash. Your own house sweep only? Or also got mop? Which one cleaner?
But I do agree, that in Sg, everywhere is being cleaned everyday. The toilets in Sg can be considered clean compared to most other countries (including Europe).
Originally posted by hloc:
This shows that telling the town council ARE doing their jobs....... when you complaint, they do come asap..... but it is the ppl who stay around the area that is doing the dirty-ing.
Every morning..... the letter box area around my block will be spotless..... but by eveing, when Home owner returns, that area would be litter with flyers and junk mails..... even though there is a dustbin RIGHT NEXT to the letter box......
But S'poreans being S'poreans..... just too much an effect to dispost such unwanted mails into the dustbin.... not when it is much easier just to dump them onto the floor......
... while it is TRUE that Singaporeans in the past were the main culprits in littering issues within housing estates... but through observation, I noted that littering these days are done by Foreigners renting rooms and or living in rented apartments in HDB estates...
Originally posted by xiaoxui:don’t see the needs in paying service & conservancy charges. $40-$75 a month quite expensive. HDB should reduce the price.
Imagine 100 households they earn at least $4000 per block. 10 blocks will be $40000 per month
earn? you mean cleaners dont need salary, equipment, water and electricity to power the lift and common area in the estate?
... while it is TRUE that Singaporeans in the past were the main culprits in littering issues within housing estates... but through observation, I noted that littering these days are done by Foreigners renting rooms and or living in rented apartments in HDB estates...
Sorry... I disagree.
It takes 2 hand to clap..... Unless you are saying that over 50% of each Block of flats are now being used to house FW..... then it could hardly explain the amount of litters around.
In some sad way..... S'porean now no longer take pride of their surrounding. Just look at the MRT station..... 10yrs ago, you hardly ever see any youngest eating and drinking in the station or trains..... by since the rule have been relax..... look at the suitation now.... look at how youngest don't even care ppl are staring at them as the eat chips and drink bubble tea...... ![]()
It is S'poreans mentality that is the problem.....
"Ooh... I pay service & conservancy charges what
Ain't it the responsible of someone to 'clean' after me" ![]()
"Don't worry lah..... tomorr someone will clean the areas around here, just throw on the floor lor..."
Originally posted by hloc:
Sorry... I disagree.
It takes 2 hand to clap..... Unless you are saying that over 50% of each Block of flats are now being used to house FW..... then it could hardly explain the amount of litters around.
In some sad way..... S'porean now no longer take pride of their surrounding. Just look at the MRT station..... 10yrs ago, you hardly ever see any youngest eating and drinking in the station or trains..... by since the rule have been relax..... look at the suitation now.... look at how youngest don't even care ppl are staring at them as the eat chips and drink bubble tea......
It is S'poreans mentality that is the problem.....
"Ooh... I pay service & conservancy charges what
Ain't it the responsible of someone to 'clean' after me"
"Don't worry lah..... tomorr someone will clean the areas around here, just throw on the floor lor..."
... TRUE again, and I do agree that attitudes of kids these days are the doings of today's career-centered parents (not that they could help it) as well as school's liniency towards disciplining them, sparing much the rod... but I'd like to give locals the benefit of the doubt, as I do believe CWO has done its job in squashing the Litter Bug in many...
... however, now that Foreigners are in our midst in housing estates, they are reviving the littering habit again as they probably come from lands wherein littering isn't much frowned upon...
... and I do agree also, that some locals harbours the mentality that since they have paid hard earned money for conservancy, they erroneously & narrow-mindedly presumes that they may litter as they so please, because they have paid for the premises to be cleaned up...
... but what drives them to do such things & harbour such mentalities, one should ask? Was it that too much was sharged for conservancy? Was it that conservancy along with everything else are annually increased?
... hmmmm... I wonder what or which might be the cause...that loses peoples sense of OWNERSHIP and or BELONGING?
Basicly for you to 'Blame' someone else again lor.....
ooh..... and another thing about Ownership or Belonging......
You won't just throw stuff around your house and wait for your parents or wife/husband to clean up right..... the reason is not really that you 'Own' the house..... but because the Town Council ain't sending a FW to help you clean. So anything you throw will more or less lay there till SOMEONE clean it up.....
But if the same stuff is thrown at the lift landing........
Then it would ''Disappear'' the next day...... if not, I 'complaint' to the Town Council lor.....
That my friend..... is Mentality, not loss of sense of OWNERSHIP or BELONGING.
A Question -
Your friends, brothers, sisters house doesn't belong to you.... nor do you have ownership...... but is it correct to litter there
Your upbringing won't have allow you to do so..... so why is it 'Alright' to litter just because you don't have a sense of OWNERSHIP or BELONGING of the areas around you ![]()
Originally posted by 淋雨:that MCST managers don't get paid a million but HDB big boss does.
MCST managers get's peanut and gets monkey but
HDB managers are highly salaried to prevent corruption
You say wan ah.
Not I say. ![]()
Originally posted by xiaoxui:Imagine 1.5 mil foreigners, littering, spitting and increase crime rate!!!! the unrest little red dot.
Recent News: Cashcard thief is Singaporean.
It is a matter of whether you can afford to buy a condo or not and not a matter of how hdb charge...![]()
HK talent not paid world rec.
how the come they very competitive by having lower tax and zero estate duty and gohsong gst?
how the come they no need ERP?
how the come they no need COE?
so tiny HK.
oso can ah? stedi lah
Originally posted by Reddressman.:HK talent not paid world rec.
how the come they very competitive by having lower tax and zero estate duty and gohsong gst?
how the come they no need ERP?
how the come they no need COE?
so tiny HK.
oso can ah? stedi lah
... because of two things:
>> Governtment of HK are really Government, & not so hard-up about money/salary
>> the Businessmen are HK's people, not government, who generates income for their own economy..