obfuscation
hibernate
ameliorate
When did u read the above words?one year,few months?Never?
BTW,all these difficult and rare words appear in a short article of about 500 words.
Why a politician use this kind of difficult words when s/he can use simple words?
May be s/he shall read :
http://www.ourcivilisation.com/smartboard/shop/gowerse/complete/chap6.htm
The Complete Plain Words
A guide to the use of English
by Sir Ernest Gowers
(First published in September 1954)
VI. Avoiding The Superfluous Word
2.Nvm LKY introducted this book to public services few decades ago.This is still a good book.I need read it again and again.
3.Why the politician use this kind of words ?To show his knowledge?To show s/he a special person?
Originally posted by lionnoisy:obfuscation
hibernate
ameliorate
Why a politician use this kind of difficult words when s/he can use simple words?
May be s/he shall read :
The Complete Plain Words
by Sir Ernest Gowers
2.Nvm LKY introducted this book to public services few decades ago.This is still a good book.I need read it again and again.
3.Why the politician use this kind of words ?To show his knowledge?To show s/he a special person?
I think you might need to repeat the book for another 20 years.
lionnoisy, by any chance, are u a paraplegic in person? just curious.
BTW,all these difficult and rare words appear in a short article of about 500 words.
Is hibernate such a difficult word? I see it on my laptop all the time....
Why such words? Its called accuracy. These words describes accurately without leaving room for other interpretations.
When you say that the girl is "hot," it can mean that the girl is feeling uncomfortable with the high temperature, or looks pretty, or fashionable, or sexy. Hence, to be more accurate, you should say, the girl is "sexy." Doesn't sound as cool, but the right people get right impression.
Urm , I think most governments do not like big complicated words. They prefer simple written english.
My dear Lionnoisy,
The idea of you trying to ameliorate your english is shocking to my nerves. Your written opinions on political and current affairs obsfucate even the least logical thinkers . Your actions make me wonder if your gray matter hibernates perpetually.
Woohoo one paragraph with the words cited by TS!
Edit: making it more succint.
hibernate
ameliorate
May be s/he shall read :
The Complete Plain Words
by Sir Ernest Gowers
your grammatic problem is eyesore enough...dun add anymore to it please...
Originally posted by fymk:My dear Lionnoisy,
The idea of you trying to ameliorate your english is shocking to my nerves. Your written opinions on political and current affairs obsfucate even the least logical thinkers . Your actions make me wonder if your gray matter hibernates perpetually.
lionnoisy pwnage again
hibernate
ameliorate
May be s/he shall read :
The Complete Plain Words
by Sir Ernest Gowers
lionnoisy, you have a lot to catch up otherwise you will be replaced by ft.
hibernate
ameliorate
May be s/he shall read :
The Complete Plain Words
by Sir Ernest Gowers
ahbang, i use the oracle package, dbms_obfuscate, leh. nothing difficult la
Nvm on my English.
Pl tell our CSJ,PhD learn to connect with peopole also.
Many learned forumers know many difficult words(To me lah) said by CSJ.But it is the man in the street who will help him to be in the House if he dunt make himself not eligible for election.
2.Do u think Sir Ernest dunt know how to use flowery words?Do u think LKY,double houors in Law from Cambridge,with a star in distinction in final exam dunt know how to write long and difficult words?
http://www.cabinet.gov.sg/CabinetAppointments/Mr+LEE+Kuan+Yew.htm
But it is your purposes to determine the words u use!!Dunt show off to wrong people.
In this aspect,CSJ has to go back to school to learn HOW TO COMMUNICTAE WITH MEN IN THE STREET.
Of course,he has fine to communicate with learned people.
This book is a must read for all secondary students .
The Complete Plain Words
A guide to the use of English,(First published in September 1954)
by Sir Ernest Gowers,who complied the famous Advanced English Dictionary .
But this article just fail in almost every aspect of the book.
http://singaporedemocrat.org/articlesdpwebsitehacked2.html
Originally posted by lionnoisy:Nvm on my English.
Pl tell our CSJ,PhD learn to connect with peopole also.
Many learned forumers know many difficult words(To me lah) said by CSJ.But it is the man in the street who will help him to be in the House if he dunt make himself not eligible for election.
2.Do u think Sir Ernest dunt know how to use flowery words?Do u think LKY,double houors in Law from Cambridge,with a star in distinction in final exam dunt know how to write long and difficult words?
http://www.cabinet.gov.sg/CabinetAppointments/Mr+LEE+Kuan+Yew.htm
But it is your purposes to determine the words u use!!Dunt show off to wrong people.
In this aspect,CSJ has to go back to school to learn HOW TO COMMUNICTAE WITH MEN IN THE STREET.
Of course,he has fine to communicate with learned people.
This book is a must read for all secondary students .
The Complete Plain Words
A guide to the use of English,(First published in September 1954)
by Sir Ernest Gowers,who complied the famous Advanced English Dictionary .
But this article just fail in almost every aspect of the book.
http://singaporedemocrat.org/articlesdpwebsitehacked2.html
Sorry your english and common sense so bad not connecting with us at all...
Pl tell our lionnoisy, learn to connect with peopole also.
Many not learned forumers can only know many simple words(To me lah).But even the lionnoisy dunt make himself understood to them.
In this aspect,lionnoisy has to go back to school to learn HOW TO COMMUNICTAE WITH MEN IN THE STREET.
Of course, even a simple layman has better english then him.
Why dunt he try primebary school? it seem not bad for him
Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Sorry your english and common sense so bad not connecting with us at all...
Pl tell our lionnoisy, learn to connect with peopole also.
Many not learned forumers can only know many simple words(To me lah).But even the lionnoisy dunt make himself understood to them.
In this aspect,lionnoisy has to go back to school to learn HOW TO COMMUNICTAE WITH MEN IN THE STREET.
Of course, even a simple layman has better english then him.
Why dunt he try primebary school? it seem not bad for him
But have to give him some credit, his English has improved a bit from his earlier days. But the thing is, most of the time I still have problems understanding what arguments he is putting forth with his cut and paste.
First of all, I have to say I am not against CSJ, neither am I supporting CSJ.
But one thing I have to point out is, CSJ is definitely much more coherent and articulate than you lionnoisy.
Perhaps you should look yourself in the mirror first before making negative criticism about others.
It would be strange for the village idiot to criticise an average villager.
I'm happy just to read posts without too many acronyms or phonetic translations or slang.
eg. Wah lau eh, you the can, lol, you PAP ta lau ke meh?