i got PMs and emails asking me about how to emigrate to australia and other countries, so i will try to consolidate some of the points here in this forum. im not an expert in this area, hope others can chip in and contribute your experience and knowledge in emigrating.
http://forums.delphiforums.com/quitters
I am in support of TS. feel free to contact me on similar matters to australia, brisbane in particular
... that's right people, EMIGRATION is the way to go...
... the "government" needs a good dose of low citizenship...
i dont think the idea of emigration is great.......moving around and moving back..........changes too much in life
If you don't find Singapore a good place for you to live, emigrate!
Singapore is a global city, people come, people go.
People born in China will always be recognised as Chinese, India as Indian, Philippine as Philippino...But, people born in Singapore holding oz passports are australian, american passports are american....and people born in China holding singaporean passport are also singaporean,..... today you are singaporean, tomorrow you are not, or yesterday they were not, today they are, what difference does your presence made to the rest of us?
if you cannot find comfort in Singapore to call it home, even at this good time when the economy is growing, then we cannot expect you to stay when there is a crisis in Singapore.
You can scold LHL because he was born in the good time and grow up in the good time. You really can't ask LKY to die because he was born in the bad time and grew up fighting the communists, the colonial english, .....and for most of you who were born after the 80s, don't say that you are having it bad in Singapore, you really don't know what is bad time.
Move on, if you don't like Singapore, if you don't see yourself part of singapore, or if you see better places else where, emigrate, with sincere good wishes from all singaporeans.
It will take many more years, after many generations for Singapore to truely call singapore home, when they had learned to love the soil, the humid air, the singlish, the oil food, the crowded streets, ...and of course, the lousy government.
The answer is still the same. Emigrate if you can ... unless people can see reform in the govt.
Originally posted by googoomuck:The answer is still the same. Emigrate if you can ... unless people can see reform in the govt.
Reform or no reform still got no natural resources. Just emigrate.
Stay or Go..... it is all up to you.
No point staying here if you feel unhappy.....
Just make it a point to leave ASAP instead of 'NATO' about it year after year......
Best of LUCK in your new homeland..... ![]()
It's not NATO.
SINGAPORE is losing about 1,000 of its best and brightest every year and the numbers are growing, Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew has said, sounding the alarm on the severity of the brain drain.
It's surprising that MM lee is not doing something concrete to stem the outflow, always making it seems that it all boils down to monetary gains. Is that the only reason people left, talent or non-talent?
i think LKY just want to scare u ppl and justify why spore needs so many foreign talents in here. his words carry weights so it will get the soundbites and credibility. other minister say the same thing and it will be dismissed summarily.
singapore has changed. last time, foreigners get pr is like kena lottery, now get pr is like going to a coffee shop and order a `or yew'. sure get one...
ppl leave for good reasons. mostly personal.
i think if they poll the true blue singaporeans tt if they have the means, will they leave singapore? i will not be surprised if the majority says they will leave their a$$ for someplace better.
Originally posted by weiqimun:i think LKY just want to scare u ppl and justify why spore needs so many foreign talents in here. his words carry weights so it will get the soundbites and credibility. other minister say the same thing and it will be dismissed summarily.
singapore has changed. last time, foreigners get pr is like kena lottery, now get pr is like going to a coffee shop and order a `or yew'. sure get one...
ppl leave for good reasons. mostly personal.
i think if they poll the true blue singaporeans tt if they have the means, will they leave singapore? i will not be surprised if the majority says they will leave their a$$ for someplace better.
don't understand what you mean LKY want to scare u ppl. LKY never needed to scare ppl to justify anything he did.
If your profession is coffee tao qiu, you think you can get yr pr? It is easier to strike lottery.
without going too much on the details, LKY has been using scare tactics for the longest time, from the communist threat days of old to how the country will crumble if the MIW are not in power.
believe u me, this is the best time to get PR. i know of FTs who r technicians, etc. who is now PR. came on a contract, try his luck, got PR and the whole tagalog speaking family joined him soon after. He got the job probably becos he's willing to take a lower wage than a sgprean. a TWnese colleague of mine , a middle manager, got his PR in 4 weeks. no disrespect to him, his job and so-called talent can be filled by any Singaporeans I know. i cld go on n on.
is it any wonder tt some of the singaporeans feel squeezed out?
Originally posted by weiqimun:without going too much on the details, LKY has been using scare tactics for the longest time, from the communist threat days of old to how the country will crumble if the MIW are not in power.
believe u me, this is the best time to get PR. i know of FTs who r technicians, etc. who is now PR. came on a contract, try his luck, got PR and the whole tagalog speaking family joined him soon after. He got the job probably becos he's willing to take a lower wage than a sgprean. a TWnese colleague of mine , a middle manager, got his PR in 4 weeks. no disrespect to him, his job and so-called talent can be filled by any Singaporeans I know. i cld go on n on.
The more is merrier.I like more stay in here:
----------economically will create internal demand and consumptions.Imagne 1 out of 4 in SG now disappear?
---------we need soldiers
-------will support house prices
---------more people share cost to build and maintaining infrastructures.Without a big population,do u think we can build three parallel MRT lines in East,just 1.0 to 1.5 km apart??Another first in the world!!
2.Before u make up ur mind to apply visa,
pl ask FT from all walks of life from different countries why they like SG.
Originally posted by lionnoisy:
2.Before u make up ur mind to apply visa,
pl ask FT from all walks of life from different countries why they like SG.
Cause can earn more $ then their country ... same reason why you won't migrate to their country (not talking about retirement) ![]()
i hope those with the capability to chabot
before they chabot,
do 1 last favor for your fellow men.
exercise your choice to demand for what you want , 1 last time, for yourselves and those stuck and still slogging in the era of risen and rising cost in a pro-biz environ where influx is easy.
give whities 1 tight slap 1 last time.
Originally posted by weiqimun:without going too much on the details, LKY has been using scare tactics for the longest time, from the communist threat days of old to how the country will crumble if the MIW are not in power.
I agree that there is a seige mentality among Singaporeans because Singapore is small, surrounded by neighbours who don't really want us to succeed and the ruling party is making the best use of it. Threat of communism was real in those days, just like terrorism is real today, threat of our drinking water being cut off is real even today, or are all these just a scare tactics used by LKY? what other threat used by LKY?
Will Singapore crumble if the MIW are not in power? I thought the question often asked is who will take over. Will a running car crash if there is no driver? is that a scare tactics?
I don't deny the fact that it is easier to get singapore PR now than ever before, especially now when more singaporeans want to migrate. My question is, who employ the tagalog speaking technician and the middle manager from Taiwan? Were local staff within the company given the opportunity? How many singaporean applied for the same job? Did the guy come in really at a lower salary? Too many unkown and "probably" weaken your argument.
As far as I know Singapore government offer PR only to those who can prove they can be gainfully employed in Singapore and would not be a burden to the society and the government in the long term. So for anybody to get PR, the first step is to get employed. Who employ them?
The overall cost of engaging a foreigner on contract is definitely lower than a local on employment term. On contract everything is clearly written and may not be subject to changes. On employment, company pay CPF, fringe benefits, bonuses, plus it is always easier to terminate contract then to retrench. It is the companies who are exploiting the situation or may be the HR of the companies were sent by the government. Why nobody blame the MNCs, the employers...?
Originally posted by Reddressman.:i hope those with the capability to chabot
before they chabot,
do 1 last favor for your fellow men.
exercise your choice to demand for what you want , 1 last time, for yourselves and those stuck and still slogging in the era of risen and rising cost in a pro-biz environ where influx is easy.
give whities 1 tight slap 1 last time.
PAP is not the good apple,but the best apple in the basket of choice.
while u will say PAP is bad apple,
WP,SDP is worse!!
Give me more choice,pl.BUT DO NOT IMPORT Genetic Modified apples with foreign support!!
2.This is my choice.
From what I understand from my China classmates, Singapore willingly throws PR at them. They come here on subsidized studies, and are required to work X years in Singapore under bond. During that period, they'll get their PR.
With regards to moving to Australia. Consider it VERY carefully. Its not all a bed of roses over there. There are issues such as racial tensions and "anti-Singaporean" sentiments. Their Tax rates are also very high. If you earn about 50k pa, be prepared to fork out almost 10k in taxes. Couple that with higher costs of living, and you'll see why Singapore has its positive sides.
Of couse, professionals would have less problems. Most in senior positions should be able to comfortably make 100k pa easy whereas they might not even smell 60k in SG.
Why is there a brain drain? Cos the brains sufferinng from a financial drain. It seems that the only brains not suffering from it are those that benefited from that 25% increase in their "salary."
IMHO, I feel that Singaporeans should aim to go global as well. Expand your world view and horizon. Look at all the mainland chinese, vietnamese that leave all they have behind and head to Singapore to work. They are less equipped to find jobs here but they still did. Singaporeans OTOH are so much better equipped to move out to places such as US an Aus to make a living.
Btw, despite saying all this, I still love Singapore. =P
Originally posted by sgdiehard:So for anybody to get PR, the first step is to get employed. Who employ them?
The overall cost of engaging a foreigner on contract is definitely lower than a local on employment term. On contract everything is clearly written and may not be subject to changes. On employment, company pay CPF, fringe benefits, bonuses, plus it is always easier to terminate contract then to retrench. It is the companies who are exploiting the situation or may be the HR of the companies were sent by the government. Why nobody blame the MNCs, the employers...?
Cause SG labour laws "kowtau" to the employers mah.
Employers complain rising operation costs want to ship out .... immediately you see action ![]()
..... if commoner complain rising "operation costs" leh? i.e. GST up up
So back to the question ..... why don't blame the MNCs .... well why don't blame the govt that made the labour laws and laws governing permanent residencies.
But if the MNCs run away because our "wages" too high how?
Then LPPL lor.... but then why MPs pay so high... and how come all that follow them into public sector also pay up up up (meybe not so much lar) ... i think i will say "yes" too......yes ... yes.... yes ... yes.... yes
But bo pien leh .... cannot migrate no $, no deglee, cannot bring parents along so LPPL mah.
Can vote for AhMeng into parliarment mah.... meybe AhMeng can create a ruckus and quite possibly dig up more "NKF" goss fer us mah
Originally posted by Shotgun:
With regards to moving to Australia. Consider it VERY carefully. Its not all a bed of roses over there. There are issues such as racial tensions and "anti-Singaporean" sentiments. Their Tax rates are also very high. If you earn about 50k pa, be prepared to fork out almost 10k in taxes. Couple that with higher costs of living, and you'll see why Singapore has its positive sides.
I dont think they are anti Singaporean lar.... they in general dont want too many PR to fight with their own country people for rice mah ![]()
If PR steal your jobs you not angry ar.....
50k - 10k(assuming yer stats) = 40k aud p.a.
40 x 1.25 = 50k sgd p.a.
50 / 12 = 4167 sgd / mth take home ![]()
Give you want anot? Somemore is NOT a managerial position and easy to get.
So here we come in and say.... aiya 4167 sgd / mth? .... I come from SG I 4000 sgd can le .... so we spoil the market lor.... the employer dun care mah just want make $ so employ us lor.... then you think the Aussies got reason to be racist anot?
Then again hor.... most that are racist are the ones not having a good lifestyle cos why? LAZY dont want to work and take welfare.
The other Aussies don't care they also earn the same $ meybe more having good lifestyle.
Rich country got enuf $ to go arnd.... only scared ppl DONT WANT TO WORK.... nvr wages not good enuf must call helpline and queue up for free food.
And the $ comes to you this generation ... not caught up in some scheme to try and make more $ I.e. CPF
Annuity scheme 5%? .... here fixed deposit interest 8%+- le wor.... the other 3% where go?
Originally posted by Genie99a:
Cause SG labour laws "kowtau" to the employers mah.
Employers complain rising operation costs want to ship out .... immediately you see action
..... if commoner complain rising "operation costs" leh? i.e. GST up up
So back to the question ..... why don't blame the MNCs .... well why don't blame the govt that made the labour laws and laws governing permanent residencies.
But if the MNCs run away because our "wages" too high how?
Then LPPL lor.... but then why MPs pay so high... and how come all that follow them into public sector also pay up up up (meybe not so much lar) ... i think i will say "yes" too......yes ... yes.... yes ... yes.... yes
But bo pien leh .... cannot migrate no $, no deglee, cannot bring parents along so LPPL mah.
Can vote for AhMeng into parliarment mah.... meybe AhMeng can create a ruckus and quite possibly dig up more "NKF" goss fer us mah
if commoner complain rising "operation costs" leh, we ship you out, emigration.
But if the MNCs run away because our "wages" too high how? you follow the MNC lor. emigration.
why don't blame the MNCs .... well why don't blame the govt.....why don't blame yourself.....why don't be MP, why don't you work in public sector....
Can vote for AhMeng into parliarment mah.... aiya, AhMeng is 6 ft underground now, you want to take his place? you no $, no deglee but definitely better than AhMeng, rite?
sgdiehard,
u assume PAP is the only driver in the car, without it, it is driverless. that is presumptious and a wrong analogy.
PAP did Singapore no favor by its "no tolerence, crush at all costs the opposition" mantra. when cracks do appear from within, and cracks will definitely appear, and shows itself to be incapable of governing, especially post-LKY, singapore will be left drifting. nothing lasts forever. not even PAP.
instead in engaging in meaningful debate and policy matter, opposition has no voice, or a negligible one. Singapore is often left with a one track mind of policy deployment. while not all are bad, singapore accounts itself very well in the last few decades, but its growth and maturity lags. it is so 1 dimensional.
If Singaporeans do not leave in droves, FTs will not be able to come in so freely. The MIW inadvertantly drive away the people whose blood and ties are entwinned in Singapore and replace them with those who come here to make a better living for themselves and holds no stake in the country.
Granted it is not easy to govern a country, but all that happened is due to a lack of an alternative political voice that gives the policy implementation a balanced view.
Touch wood, if Singapore spiral down next time due to some conservative, stiff technocrat who has a tunnel vision who is unresponsive to the country's needs, there will be very few who can come forward to perk the country up. Why so....many are already gone.
And when Singapore don't do well, you think the FT will remain, or tt employers can afford them?
Originally posted by sgdiehard:
if commoner complain rising "operation costs" leh, we ship you out, emigration.
But if the MNCs run away because our "wages" too high how? you follow the MNC lor. emigration.
why don't blame the MNCs .... well why don't blame the govt.....why don't blame yourself.....why don't be MP, why don't you work in public sector....
Can vote for AhMeng into parliarment mah.... aiya, AhMeng is 6 ft underground now, you want to take his place? you no $, no deglee but definitely better than AhMeng, rite?
Erm bro.... meybe my singlish not up to standard ar.... what are u trying to say ![]()
That it is SG peoples fault buying power going down down down?
genie, u forgot to factor in the cost of living.
Out of that $4k AUD per month after tax deduction, it might cost you anywhere between $2-3k to survive. Things are much more expensive there, from food, to cellphones and internet connection. I'm still trying to verify the cost of livin figures though.
Still, yeah, Singaporeans will earn more in Aus than in Singapore. As for stealing rice bowl, its an unjustified claim, hence I believe the sentiments to be more racial. They have so much rice and no one to eat it. Without anyone to eat it, the farmers got less to do and are unable to realise their potential as super farmers. Hope you catch my drift.
Originally posted by Shotgun:
genie, u forgot to factor in the cost of living.
Out of that $4k AUD per month after tax deduction, it might cost you anywhere between $2-3k to survive. Things are much more expensive there, from food, to cellphones and internet connection. I'm still trying to verify the cost of livin figures though.
Still, yeah, Singaporeans will earn more in Aus than in Singapore. As for stealing rice bowl, its an unjustified claim, hence I believe the sentiments to be more racial. They have so much rice and no one to eat it. Without anyone to eat it, the farmers got less to do and are unable to realise their potential as super farmers. Hope you catch my drift.
Not really unjustified lar... like if you earn less than them you wont see alot of it but if you are like doing better then alot of them thats where you can see some racism. But all this is inside the company environment. Outside people usually don't care about you.
Thats the thing i like about Aussie, people dont go comparing cars and houses and clothes all that crap. Cos the wage gap not so big so not so much competition and jealousy here. In Singapore alot of these "comparing"
. Everyday conversations would likely end up being "how to make big bucks" .... " so and so drive beemer" ..." so and so pay how much".... down here no one cares
and i like it that way.
Cost of living here not so high ar brother... i earn around that range de... normal worker here, not some high flyer with deglee....... i eat out alot also.... the food here quite ex.... around $30 for me 1 person but good food lar... i usually order 2 portions cause i dun stinge on food. I.e Unagi bentoh... steak.... parmagianas... sashimi.... my daily lunch.
Cellphone $29 cap plan. ADSL2 i pay $50 a month.
Then my hardworking wife ... must reward her with bling also mah....
If i dont eat out dun spend on wife .... i think save $2.5k a month bery easy.
When i go back SG is Jumbo everyday lol cause of exchange rate. So stinge abit there if you want and like my father says "live like a king" in SG ![]()