Originally posted by TCH05:MM Lee mentioned something like people who cant take stiff competition will migrate to Australia and Canada.
Do you guys agree?
Given that the article in which the old boy was quoted refers to Singapore's 1000 best and brightest, do you think it makes sense that they would avoid stiff competition?
If he didn't have to suck up to the US to protect him from bullies, do you think that he would not have claimed that competition in the US was not stiff either?
Originally posted by TCH05:MM Lee mentioned something like people who cant take stiff competition will migrate to Australia and Canada.
Do you guys agree?
if MM lee's remarks make good sense to you, then believing in santa claus is not that difficult either.
yea, i admit we migrants arent that competitive coz;
- we have NS and reservist to serve whereas FT dont.
- we have to earn enough to support families here in SG. FT dont.
- we have to lease a proper hdb flat for our families to have a decent stay. FT have their family back in PRC or China and they can stay 5 -10 to a room.
- we have no privileges to NUS/NTU education but the FTs have.
coz we are singaporeans, most of the IT depts heads and managers are indians or PRCs will only hire their own races. see Credit Sussie, stanchart and citibank for example.
we are not that competitive so we left SG for less competitive places like australia, canada or usa. these are the countries that recognise our less-than-competitive qualifications and allow us to work in their countries and earn 2-3x more salaries. sad isnt it?
Is it easy to emigrate to Canada in this case?
Originally posted by Daddy!!:you don't know because you are only an oracle certified IT guy. in today's world, bicep muscles count for much less.
ya lor. i must have stuck my head in the sands absorbing the SPH craps for too long. my participation in govt projects in SG over $100million doesnt count hor, and neither are my technical consultation with the management in the banks in SG and around SEA, not to mention civil sectors + IDA, GIC, Temasek Holdings.
woe is me. i better go and start picking up cardboard for a living. Long live LKY!!
by the way, what is your profession in SG? dont be shy leh..
you dont know the main reason why Jim Rogers decided to settle in Singapore. full stop.
And because of your attitude, you won't know either.
Originally posted by deathscythe99:Is it easy to emigrate to Canada in this case?
i cant say about canada but australia is abit difficult at this stage and it is getting harder every year.
people say that they will wait until 50 or 60 then migrate. but by then, who want them?
ultimately, to move or not is entirely up to individuals. but when there is a severe economic downturn in SG, people will start to apply frantically but by then it will be too late.
Originally posted by Daddy!!:
you dont know the main reason why Jim Rogers decided to settle in Singapore. full stop.
And because of your attitude, you won't know either.
if u cant see the big picture, then dont expect people to spoon feed you.
or do u have your maid doing that for you already?
just like when u pm me asking for oz immigration details when u profess publicly that u support PAP.. riiiiiiight.
I want to quote Xiao Gu from that CH8 serial (too bad I had to leave sg after the 1st few episodes...)
Zhou de chu qu jiu you lu (There is always a road if you dare to step out)
If you don't like what you see outside, keep walking until you find some place you like. If you discover in end that SG is the best, that is a good thing too!
We are all decendents of immigrants. Maybe now it's time to follow in their footsteps :)
how do you call someone who feeds on Singapore's contracts and at the same time criticise Singapore, for example someone like fishbuff ? HYPOCRITE
fishbuff = snakebluff
You could not win the argument with TCH05 and then called him "kid who plays computer game at his parents home" to avoid embarassment. Another charateristic of a SPINELESS person?
So not even snakebluff knows the main reason why JIM ROGERS decided to sell his US$15 million New York mansion to settle in Singapore. Perhaps emigrants are indeed sub-par.
Jim Rogers left NY because he thinks that America and the USD faces financial Armaggedon. Hence he sold all his USD assets and plowed everything into commodities and China. Why Singapore? Because we are the most politically stable and have NO CAPITAL GAINS TAX! This means that rich people like him can make LOTS of money from their stocks and investments without paying a single cent of tax. How is that good for you and me huh?
do you think Jim Rogers is worried about capital gains tax?
I know I am, and I probably only have 0.001% of his wealth :D
you are worried because you are forming wealth by risk taking and cannot afford the returns to be taxed. For Jim Rogers, he has already made it big and already formed his wealth. At his age and wealth, he will not be taking too much risk versus his total net worth. Risk taking would then be for a game. Why should he then be worried about capital gains tax?
Why do rich people keep accumulating wealth? Why do they try means and ways to avoid paying taxes? Why are so many companies incorporated in Bermuda? If you're trying to say that Rogers is content and not greedy, why don't I see him donating his wealth to charities like Bill Gates, Buffet and even Soros? Instead, he 'quit' America at the first sign of trouble, instead of staying like those above.
So in your opinion, what is the main reason that Jim Rogers took up SG citizenship? And how does that argue against people emigrating? Remember that Jim Rogers is also a quitter, but he is a worse quitter because he is a filthy rich quitter who doesn't need to make a living anymore.
Originally posted by Daddy!!:do you think Jim Rogers is worried about capital gains tax?
of course jim rogers doesn't like capital gains tax.
btw, if i were as rich as him i would like to stay in sg cos sg gahmen sucks up to the filthy rich!
you are worried because you are forming wealth by risk taking and cannot afford the returns to be taxed. For Jim Rogers, he has already made it big and already formed his wealth. At his age and wealth, he will not be taking too much risk versus his total net worth. Risk taking would then be for a game. Why should he then be worried about capital gains tax?
I'll agree with Panache this time bro ![]()
Seriously the environment is good fer the rich ... not so good fer the middle and below..... parents dun like to play property in au and prefer to do it in sg fer a reason
And im the only one sides my younger brother that likes Aus.... my parents prefer Sg..... Aus is just an insurance if the tiny dot submerges lol
No many can claim to be smarter than Jim Rogers. So one of the smartest decided on Singapore and not Australia. Get my point.
Why he did that is something i reckon the emigrants are incapable of understanding. That should be the case anyway.
speaking of jim rogers, might as well throw in why the burma generals are here to seek medical treatment and indonesian rich folks are stashing their money in sg banks, it is practically a swiss bank of the east. throw in afew IR gambling casinos to do money laundering, viola! clean hard cash for the generals of the golden triangle and burma.
indonesia is trying all means to extradite the cash from sg banks on grounds that they were the cash stolen during suharto's times.
but then again, who are we to comment the decisions of the social almighties. we are but digits, expendable cannon fodder in the eyes of LKY. a dictator will never grant freedom and democracy to his country and he make sure that all are suppressed under his reign.
any sensible person can see the mismanagement of the country, but a selfish one will sell his/her soul to the devil to profit while deceiving others into such belief. that sir, is a evil fool that believes the lies that the dictatorship want him/her to believe. fortunately, there are many singaporeans that have seen thru' this deceits and actively participating in this forum dennouncing the dictatorship, there are however, afew wolves in sheep clothings going around playing the trumpets of the sea nymphs hoping to ship wreck some unwary singaporeans and marooned in a matrix.
if jim rogers really respects human rights and all that american civil rights stuffs, he would stay cleared of singapore, but no, like all rich men, conscious is one thing they cannot afford to have, it is a hinderance in their path to make profits. how much does he have? nearly half of what soros has and that is in the billions. is he contented? no! does he want to make more? yes! does he care that there is no democracy nor strong civil rights here? no!
does singapore has the mechanism to enable him to make more money even simply by exploiting the mass of the singaporeans to serve his goal and eventually reward the sporean elite riches? yes! all of us are expendable in the elite sight. if they so g-d damned care about us lower-middle income, laws like min wages, anti-competition will have surfaced but the elites suppressed the general society for the own selfish consumption.
ahhh, but the avenue of emigration is not capped. people still can venture overseas to see, and like one forumers that had said before; "once the mind has expanded and freed, it is impossible to contract and confine."
and you think you are capable of understanding? or had he told you himself?
No many can claim to be smarter than Jim Rogers. So one of the smartest decided on Singapore and not Australia. Get my point.
Why he did that is something i reckon the emigrants are incapable of understanding. That should be the case anyway.
Panache is saying that Jim Rogers probably chose Singapore cause he pay very little tax e.g. when he buy property there.
Just like "people" ( who me? no lar you meybe ) .... choose to play property in SG and not Aus cause each house you buy in Aus must pay gahmen $20-40K stamp duty aka tax.
sorry, the above is in respond to Daddy!!'s "Why he did that is something i reckon the emigrants are incapable of understanding. That should be the case anyway." never seem able to get the post edited.
Originally posted by Genie99a:Panache is saying that Jim Rogers probably chose Singapore cause he pay very little tax e.g. when he buy property there.
Just like "people" ( who me? no lar you meybe ) .... choose to play property in SG and not Aus cause each house you buy in Aus must pay gahmen $20-40K stamp duty aka tax.
$6k for residential property.
$12k for investment property.
dont forget the $7k grant if u are buying it for the 1st time. interest paid on the IP is tax deductible and so are the -ve gearing + rennovation + building deprecation.
did u ask your accountant on this matter?
has anyone seem a snake chasing its own tail ? normally wont happen. But we have witnessed one. Read this written by snakebluff.
"if jim rogers really respects human rights and all that american civil rights stuffs, he would stay cleared of singapore, but no, like all rich men, conscious is one thing they cannot afford to have, it is a hinderance in their path to make profits. how much does he have? nearly half of what soros has and that is in the billions. is he contented? no! does he want to make more? yes! does he care that there is no democracy nor strong civil rights here? no!"
a snake drops a bomb on Jim Rogers. Well, thats what you always do. I saw you calling TCH05 a kid after you lost the debate of a young man who leveraged too much on two properties. Common, even if TCH05 is a kid, he did the correct calculations to prove his point correct and yours wrong. Now, you start to do the same on Jim Rogers. Common, Jim Rogers is innocent. Why slander him?
kana sai
Jim Rogers is smart. He can give up his US citizenship and still is considered a US citizen by the US state department.
There are special provisions for persons who are deemed to have renounced citizenship for purposes of avoiding US taxation.