Gantries in heartland to make residential estates more liveable
Sat, Feb 16, 2008
The Straits Times
TAKING the Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) scheme into the heartland will ease an expected islandwide traffic gridlock and make residential estates more liveable, Transport Minister Raymond Lim said yesterday.
With 850,000 vehicles on the road and more intensive use of cars than in other major cities, Singapore's arterial roads will also soon face congestion, he said in response to queries on the planned expansion of ERP coverage.
Dr Lee Bee Wah (Ang Mo Kio GRC) questioned the point of evening ERP charges along the Central Expressway (CTE), which she said is the shortest route home for Ang Mo Kio and Yishun residents.
But Mr Lim replied: Imagine a situation where heartland roads are exempted from ERP charges and only the Central Business District and expressways leading there are affected.
Drivers would then use alternative roads, including detours through the heartland and other estates.
'If you're living in a residential estate, is that what you want - gridlock?' he asked.
He said his ministry studied many European cities such as those in Switzerland and Germany, which have measures to cut down vehicle traffic in residential areas.
Congestion exacts costs on both the economy and the environment and 'going ahead, the key thing here is to have a liveable city, a quality urban living environment', he said.
Singaporean drivers clock up 21,000km a year in their cars, more than Londoners (9,100km) and even those in Los Angeles (19,800km).
In response to other questions, he said that the 16 new ERP gantries coming up this year are part of a package of measures to manage gridlock on Singapore's roads.
The measures include road and rail upgrades totalling nearly $54 billion.
This means the Government is giving back to the public more than the projected increase in ERP revenue, he said.
The increase in the number of gantries will bring the total number to 71.
'I think it is worthwhile for us to realise that when we are dealing with congestion, we can't rely on any single measure. You need a whole suite of measures,' he said.
Anyone who says he has found a panacea or a single solution is 'selling you snake oil. Ignore the medicine man, it doesn't work that way', he said.
Madam Ho Geok Choo (West Coast GRC) asked him how the $168 million in ERP revenues will be accounted for following the rate hikes.
Mr Lim said the money would go towards funding various government programmes for Singaporeans, including public transport and road projects.
From now till 2020, some $14 billion will be spent on road developments, and around $40 billion on extensions to rail lines.
While his ministry expects the additional revenue from the upcoming ERP changes to be about $70 million annually, the reduction in road tax will cost the Government about $110 million every year. It will also collect $200 million less annually due to a reduction in the Additional Registration Fee (ARF) for cars, he said.
The point of the ERP, he told Madam Ho, 'is to address congestion and is not a revenue measure'.
CLARISSA OON
I do not see any problems with that. In the 1st place, you want to own a car to show off, then you better embrace all the possible rising costs with it.
Otherwise, you can always rely on public transport like what i have been doing all these years.
Car Owners, you chose to drive out of choice, out of your wealth and abundance, or out of your desire to show off. So suck it up and don't complain so much.
Owning a car does not necessarily means show off; it could be a necessity. It is for these people that these ERP will kill them, for possibly for some, they will have to pass on the increased cost to consumers like you. Thus, ERP hike will still indirectly affect everyone of us.
... no such thing as ERP affecting motorists or car owners or show-offs only...
... so long as governmental charges are concerned, EVERYONE is affected...
Originally posted by New Creation:I do not see any problems with that. In the 1st place, you want to own a car to show off, then you better embrace all the possible rising costs with it.
Otherwise, you can always rely on public transport like what i have been doing all these years.
Car Owners, you chose to drive out of choice, out of your wealth and abundance, or out of your desire to show off. So suck it up and don't complain so much.
Wad a retarded statement u just made. ![]()
Public transport isnt really that convenient. ![]()
There some jobs which needs a car, for example, delivery or sales or marketing. It is very unfair for you to make that statement. Its the need not the want. Everybody would choose to not want a car due to the rising cost, however, most of the people who own a car needs one.
wtf ERP in heartlands?
Seriously, ERP has defeated its purpose to 'make roads smoother', because the fact is that, theres too many cars!
... you know, somehow it's always their pattern to announce raising cost/charges/ERP Gantries after they have deemed themselves to have given us some goodies - such as 2008's Budget...
Originally posted by HyperFocal:... no such thing as ERP affecting motorists or car owners or show-offs only...
... so long as governmental charges are concerned, EVERYONE is affected...
I've a car
But I still take public tpt most of the time
Originally posted by sbst275:
I've a carBut I still take public tpt most of the time
... alamak, like dat better sell off your car lah...
Reduce road tax, increase more gantries?? They sure are smart... ![]()
I totally agree that owning a car is a necessity - not a luxury - for a considerable number of Singaporeans. My guess is that this group of people will remember this policy and reflect their displeasure during the next election.
For those who seriously don't require a vehicle, let's save the environment k =) The public transport system would, hopefully, be given a boost when the additional MRT lines take effect.
... personally, I think that obtaining a driving license these days is way too easy...
... there are also too many young and mindless young motorists, driving recklessly in their spanking new EVOs, WRXs, and various other cheap Japanese speed machines...
... kids driving to school/poly/uni, birthday present from rich parents, gift for doing well in studies, etc...
... why the hell, do they need a car just to go to school/poly/uni to study???
please lah.. u are having 6 million people living on a land that is 24x48km. take away the lands for military, airport, factories, roads etc.. u have less than half for housing a 6million population. of course the place will be jammed.
there is no place to run to. no place that is not exempted. we will see places like sengkang, jurong and yishun to have erp soon.
Originally posted by fishbuff:please lah.. u are having 6 million people living on a land that is 24x48km. take away the lands for military, airport, factories, roads etc.. u have less than half for housing a 6million population. of course the place will be jammed.
there is no place to run to. no place that is not exempted. we will see places like sengkang, jurong and yishun to have erp soon.
Soon, the GPS-enabled ERP.
Coming to the car next to u.![]()
Too many cars in Singapore really? I think the that's only 1 contributing factor.
Driver mentality - How many of you have driven on highways sometimes during "heavy traffic" then decide to overtake a few cars using the 2nd and 3rd lanes then see traffic suddenly clear up? I have many times. So was that traffic caused by too many cars, or just inconsiderate drivers hogging lanes? Especially the right-most, overtaking lane? Do the traffic police do anything about it at all? No.
Road planning - Who puts exits to highways AFTER the entry points? Tell me this doesn't cause jams. Look at the Clementi Road exit from the PIE. Exit from a highway on the overtaking lane??? Cars exiting there isn't going to slow down traffic? Too many cars? EPR on every major and monor roads will fix it? Really?
Traffic light timing - How many times have you started off from a juntion when the light turns green, kept to the speed limit and come to the next junction just as the light turns red? This doesn't slow down traffic as well? They pay themselves so much money and pat them selves on their backs, praising themselves at every chance they get yet they can't even work out traffic light timing based on road distance and speed limits? <-- for those of you that don't know, this is done in a number of countries to ensure smooth traffic as long as you keep to the speed limit.
Lots of causes, but as usual, they only pick one which they can make money from to highlight.
Originally posted by deathscythe99:Soon, the GPS-enabled ERP.
Coming to the car next to u.
yes, very soon the gahmen will not only able to collect money from you for whichever roads you drive on but will also know where you have been and for how long. come to think of it, it can be quite scary.
Originally posted by lotus999:yes, very soon the gahmen will not only able to collect money from you for whichever roads you drive on but will also know where you have been and for how long. come to think of it, it can be quite scary.
sg is too tiny not to be not easily controllable.
someone told me he can access phone records of people thru some means. must have connections.
ren zi chu xing ben ERR
truely good people improve become
Shan Liang.
a person is born ignorant.
with wisdom, they improve and realise that one should be
kind.

But Mr Lim replied: Imagine a situation where heartland roads are exempted from ERP charges and only the Central Business District and expressways leading there are affected.
Drivers would then use alternative roads, including detours through the heartland and other estates.
I thot that was the point wor.. to ease congestion... ?
then if everywhere also tio ERP...might as well use back the same route right ? Then town still traffic jam tio boh ?
Liddat ERP for what one ?
lol at the pic la.. and phase 2 is probaly placing ERPs outside our gates and at each parking lot!
Originally posted by Ferret:But Mr Lim replied: Imagine a situation where heartland roads are exempted from ERP charges and only the Central Business District and expressways leading there are affected.
I thot that was the point wor.. to ease congestion... ?
then if everywhere also tio ERP...might as well use back the same route right ? Then town still traffic jam tio boh ?
Liddat ERP for what one ?
LPPL... ![]()
ERP has been abused...
Originally posted by New Creation:I do not see any problems with that. In the 1st place, you want to own a car to show off, then you better embrace all the possible rising costs with it.
It really depends on the nature of your lifestyle and job. If you travel point A to B, to and fro standard locations on a daily basis, then public transport should suffice.
they dont mind u owning cars. they just dont want you to drive out of the area you living at.
my future prediction:
COE for bicycle.
roads tax for bicycle.
fare hike for taking public transports during peak hours.
Originally posted by freedom4ever:they dont mind u owning cars. they just dont want you to drive out of the area you living at.
my future prediction:
COE for bicycle.
roads tax for bicycle.
fare hike for taking public transports during peak hours.
The last one is the most likely, and is something I hv mentioned before. I believe it will happen 1 day, unless the infrastructure for public transport is drastically improved.