Read ST and the PM cited SG is like grapes and they are apples so cannot compare.
Anyway the man can said a lot of things hope he will spearhead the IDR project well and not let his ppl down!
He should learn from our leaders, used a less well off country to compare.
Like maybe Philippines, Indonesia or Ethiopia.
Without Mahathir or Abdullah, all the Malaysian women will be maids in other countries. ![]()
Without Mahathir or Abdullah, all the Malaysian men (include chinese & indians & ang mo) will have their kkj cut
spore oso like to compare with HK, japan,sweden, austria,etc......all r copycat
Originally posted by maurizio13:
He should learn from our leaders, used a less well off country to compare.
Like maybe Philippines, Indonesia or Ethiopia.
Without Mahathir or Abdullah, all the Malaysian women will be maids in other countries.
since when did our leaders compare our economic success to these 3rd world countries like those you mentioned?
Originally posted by TCH05:
since when did our leaders compare our economic success to these 3rd world countries like those you mentioned?
Think its inevitable as we are part of ASEAN and if I'm not wrong lao lee did that. Anyway Malaysia did compare themselves to some countries in AFRICA
You are quite an uninformed individual.
I know you dislike me quoting external sources to substantiate my views, but anyway have to lah, else I would be building my castle on air.
"You know, the cure for all this talk is really a good dose of incompetent government. You get that alternative and you'll never put Singapore together again: Humpty Dumpty cannot be put together again... and your asset values will disappear, your apartment will be worth a fraction of what it is, your jobs will be in peril, your security will be at risk and our women will become maids in other people's countries, foreign workers." - Justifying million-dollar pay hike for Singapore ministers (Straits Times, 5 April 2007)
Source: http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Lee_Kuan_Yew
Lee Kuan Yew doesn't like people to criticise him.
He prefers people to praise him.
People are reluctant to criticise Lee Kuan Yew because he likes to sue those who criticise him.
After he is gone, I hope that the floodgates of criticism will open up against him.
People have been holding back their hatred and critic of this man for far too long, not healthy I must say.
But it must wait.
The time is not yet ripe.
Yet.
I know you dislike me quoting external sources to substantiate my views, but anyway have to lah, else I would be building my castle on air.
"You know, the cure for all this talk is really a good dose of incompetent government. You get that alternative and you'll never put Singapore together again: Humpty Dumpty cannot be put together again... and your asset values will disappear, your apartment will be worth a fraction of what it is, your jobs will be in peril, your security will be at risk and our women will become maids in other people's countries, foreign workers." - Justifying million-dollar pay hike for Singapore ministers (Straits Times, 5 April 2007)
the above statement is talking about corruption and quality of the government isnt it?
If any reference made by a leader to a developing country can be consider as comparing their economy success to a lesser country to make themselves look good, then I am sure every leaders from the developed country will be doing the same isnt it? so why single out Singapore government?
Where did the quote from LKY mentioned above compare Singapore with a less well off country? Just anyhow take a quote and think you have substantiated your view.
the above statement is talking about corruption and quality of the government isnt it?
If any reference made by a leader to a developing country can be consider as comparing their economy success to a lesser country to make themselves look good, then I am sure every leaders from the developed country will be doing the same isnt it? so why single out Singapore government?
First you said:
Then I showed you proof of his comparison.
Now you tell me
"If any reference made by a leader to a developing country can be consider as comparing their economy success to a lesser country to make themselves look good, then I am sure every leaders from the developed country will be doing the same isnt it? so why single out Singapore government?"
Maybe you should start telling your friends how you compare yourself to an orang utan, I am sure your friends will be impressed. Seeking out someone who is less equal than you and making inequitable comparisons.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Where did the quote from LKY mentioned above compare Singapore with a less well off country? Just anyhow take a quote and think you have substantiated your view.
You are entitled to your own opinion, but I am sure the majority here knows which country he was comparing to when he made that statement.
Only the daft can't read between the lines.
First you said:
Then I showed you proof of his comparison.
Now you tell me
"If any reference made by a leader to a developing country can be consider as comparing their economy success to a lesser country to make themselves look good, then I am sure every leaders from the developed country will be doing the same isnt it? so why single out Singapore government?"
Maybe you should start telling your friends how you compare yourself to an orang utan, I am sure your friends will be impressed. Seeking out someone who is less equal than you and making inequitable comparisons.
Can you name me a leader from a developed country who doesnt compare their own country to developing nations?
Originally posted by TCH05:Can you name me a leader from a developed country who doesnt compare their own country to developing nations?
Of the German newspaper I flipped, and the lectures I attended by Prof Rurup, a well known German economist, I have not yet seen or heard any reference of comparison between the German economy and any developing countries. They compare to other EU nations, yes, but not to any developing countries.
But I guess it is more of comparison to neighbouring countries and less so off things about developing countries. Can someone confirm if Japanese leaders compare things with China or Korea?
Originally posted by eagle:Of the German newspaper I flipped, and the lectures I attended by Prof Rurup, a well known German economist, I have not yet seen or heard any reference of comparison between the German economy and any developing countries. They compare to other EU nations, yes, but not to any developing countries.
But I guess it is more of comparison to neighbouring countries and less so off things about developing countries. Can someone confirm if Japanese leaders compare things with China or Korea?
If get maurizio13 to read the same newspaper and attent the same lecture, I am sure he will be able to come out with a list of quoted to proof otherwise. :D
That old man never will stop having his nose in the air, will he? He thinks he's some sort of God or something.
And to think that he laments over the degradation of graciousness- wait, can it even be called a degradation of our society-culture when 'graciousness' was never there in the first place?
I remember a snippet of his speech on the radio about a month ago about him linking financial progress to graciousness (or a lack thereof) in our society. Apparently he ISN'T ignorant about the fact that Singaporeans are generally a bunch of selfish, kiasu, arrogant and ill-mannered people who pride themselves on their financial success and silver-spooned births.
My take is that the apple does not fall far from the tree. I am a Singaporean- always was and always will be, but I am ashamed to say that I, too, am the selfish, kiasu, arrogant, money minded Singaporean that I despise.
If not on a large scale, perhaps a little. There is a thick streak of that behaviour in me, and honestly, I can't blame myself because I was brought up in a society where everyone was like that for a good 15 years. I have sinced moved to Malaysia, and honestly, the level of humility between these two countries is STARTLING.
I actually had to learn humility, which was never taught in Singapore schools. Instead, they just taught us to keep aiming higher "or else you cannot survive".
What kind of SOCIETY is the Singapore government nurturing?
I pity the future generation. They're going to be much worse off than us.
The only way is to see PAP being brought down and a more humble party lead us.
You are entitled to your own opinion, but I am sure the majority here knows which country he was comparing to when he made that statement.
Only the daft can't read between the lines.
you sure have the quality of the PAP lackeys, take a word from your supreme leaders, add salt and pepper and serve it as if it is your own. You think you can between the lines by LKY, but to say that he compared Singapore with Ethiopia, only the daft would believe you. ![]()
If get maurizio13 to read the same newspaper and attent the same lecture, I am sure he will be able to come out with a list of quoted to proof otherwise. :D
Well, the same question could go for you:
How many leaders from another developed country can you name that compare their countries with developing nations?
Originally posted by eagle:Of the German newspaper I flipped, and the lectures I attended by Prof Rurup, a well known German economist, I have not yet seen or heard any reference of comparison between the German economy and any developing countries. They compare to other EU nations, yes, but not to any developing countries.
Dont think Japanese leaders would ever compare themselves with China or Korea, Germany with France or Britain, USA with Russia, cause they recog they are at least on par if not more superior. But many Asian countries do compare themselves with countries in certain areas of development, e.g. development of the 4 asian dragons, or how countries tackle the financial crisis ...
I guess the purpose of the comparison is as important as who are being compared with. HK and Singapore often compared between themselves to perform better, in being the busiest port, choice of MNC as regional HQ, .... They are neither developing countries nor neighboring countries, but relevant countries.
The problem with the comparison made by LKY is that it was made to glorify the success of the PAP government. Everybody knows that the growth of Singapore is not solely due to the PAP government. Even dictatorial government such as Marcos and Suharto could also bring prosperity and growth to their country. To make thing worst, his sensationalized remark about female Singapore working as maids overseas was highly insensitive and offensive, rather unbecoming of a leader.
Originally posted by eagle:Well, the same question could go for you:
How many leaders from another developed country can you name that compare their countries with developing nations?
I would say ALL. What do you think?
They might as well say, we are the no.1 for country with 27.484m population
Originally posted by ^tamago^:“We are a population of over 20 million and we rank eighth in the world in terms of our competitiveness."
But still I think ours are worst than them when we talk about manipulating figures to each's advantage.