How more stupid can the despots get? Profiteering from Singaporeans and lose to foreigners.
UBS...
How more stupid can the despots get? Saying they need to increase GST by 2% because they need money only to lose to foreigners...
Merryl Lynch
Jinx wife and daughter in law.... losing Singaporeans money by 50% so far in this fiasco...
... compare this with what other people (J P Morgan) do...
buy for US$2 the whole company (Bear Sterns) and one day later what is the price?
2ND UPDATE: JP Morgan To Buy Bear Stearns For $2 A Share - 10 hours ago
CNNMoney.com - 3436 related articles »
NEW YORK (Dow Jones) -- JP Morgan Chase & Co. is buying battered broker Bear Stearns Cos . for $236 million in a Federal Reserve-backed bailout ...
Movers:: Bear Stearns, JP Morgan, Lehman Brothers, NYMEX - BusinessWeek - 291 related articles »
Bear Stearns' Collapse Rattles Stocks; JPMorgan Soars - FOXBusiness - 1448 related articles »
Back in year 2003 I remember reading an article saying that the year China host the olympic, which is 2008, the global economy will experience a major slowdown or recession.
There was another article I read saying that whenever a country broke the record for the tallest building, there will be a recession. This was back in 2001 and Dubai has just broken the record last year.
Jim Rogers, who predicted the subprime crisis back in 2006 and in 1999 is also predicted a commodities rally. However the difference is that, he is sure about what he is talking and he made billion$ out of his prediction.
AFAICR, subprime problem first appear in end 2006 and news of crisis eventually starts to build up months after that and the stock market first experience its major correction in Jun 07, 1 month before your "prediction", and the market take a 2nd beating in Jul 07.
Hence Andrew, may I ask you.
How do you classified what you said as prediction when there was already news about stock market crash back in Jun07, and people like Jim Rogers first talk about it in 2006 and made billions out of it?
You claim that you predicted the stock market crash back in July07. It would be nice if you could provide me a link for reference as I am really interested to find out if you are indeed a real deal.
In Nov07, I noticed you started a thread to talk about your prediction here.
Nov07 http://www.sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/290788 and
And then in Jan08, you started talking about getting into stock market again. And somehow, the thread have gone into hibernation mode. I guess you are still waiting for the right time to claim your prediction again right?
Jan 08 http://www.sgforums.com/forums/2092/topics/305953
As we all know that when the market crashed, the next possible movement will be for it to go up. Hence dont you think that it is quite meaningless to say that you can predict this and that when there is only 1 outcome of that event?
Originally posted by maurizio13:
What's the point of debating with him?He will twist all your words into something totally different and claim that you were wrong.
Lets get back to the subject. If you want to play the word games with eagle, you should do it outside SC.
Not enter and exit any time we wish? Then? Lock in forever? Have to seek Merrill Lynch's management approval to sell?
A takeover is different from buying a 10% stake in the company, for takeovers you need to seek approval from the relevant authorities.
1) You mean if I have assets in the UK, but I denominate my assets in US$ instead of GBP. Not possible? Even if I have US$ assets,
I forsee a depreciation in the US$ but not an appreciation of my investment, I will behave like you and not switch investment to another country.
Sit there, wait for the US$ to depreciate and watch my investment go down the drain.
2) If you have investment analyst relying on another investment analyst's report on the newspaper about the US$, the company will surely make losses.
Moreover, the likelihood of US$ hitting a low of SG$1.30 to SG$1.25 by end of the year is not unlikely.
The US dollar might even crash as people lose confidence in using it as a medium for international trade, people are all diverting their assets from US$
to Gold and Oil futures and options. That's why you see gold and oil skyrocketing, if nothing is done to correct the US$ drop, I won't be surprise if oil hits
a high of US$150 to US$200 per barrel by year end.
3) Having a dirty float and manipulating it is counter productive. Why? You are directly promoting inflation in Singapore and speculative attacks from
currency traders like George Soros.
Your explanation is equivalent to, fools rush in where angels fear to tread.
Whether they have made good overseas investments, you can look up the historical purchases of overseas companies.
Extremely good examples would be Global Crossing, Optus, Shin Corp and Suzhou Industrial Project.
The only companies giving good profits are those Singapore companies who have monopoly power.
I am retiring from explaining issues to you, you can continue blabbing all you want,
you only have a one track mind, to promote and glorify the P4P regime, you are
not adhering to logic and common sense. You will continue side stepping issues
after I have given you an explanation, bring up new topics to win at all cost.
Maurizio, SWF do not and CANNOT operate like any private investors in such high profile investment because of political and strategic reasons. I am not sure if you have been following the news of recent GIC and Temasek investments. When big companies like ML, UBS or Citi decided to arrange a marriage deal by issuing new shares or convertible bonds, they will have to seek shareholders approval because such transaction will dilute existing shareholders value and it could potentially create political implication. Remember this is SWF we are talking about, not Maurizio Investment Bank.
Like it or not, the US$ is still the biggest trading currency in the world and there is no currency right now, not even the EURO, that is in position to replace it, unless if all oil producing countries decide to stop pricing their oil in US$.
1) The world central banks are not as stupid as you think, and please dont assume they they are not aware of the falling US$ and it is in their interest to dump US$ for other currencies
For example, the central bank of China, which is holding on to about US$1.3 trillions world of US$ asset, hasnt dump the US$. Furthermore their YUAN is still significantly under value against the falling US$.
In the Middle East, most GCC countries currencies are still peg to the US$ despite the fact that inflation is hitting double digits and the US$ is falling. And till now, they are still holding on to their trillions of US$ assets.
What is your opinion on that? (Would appreciate if you could answer my question)
2) The purpose of highlighting DBS analyst and not UOB, Citi, or HSBC, is because DBS is a GLC, and that contradict what you say about MAS and our government is not aware of the depreciating US$.
You mention US$ hitting 1.25? May I know on what basis are you making the claim? Or are you simply guessing?
3) The currencies of China, Vietnam, UAE, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Oman and Bahrain are all closely pegged to the US$ and the level of inflation they are facing is probably twice as much as what we have here in Singapore. What is your explanation on that? They are not pro citizen?
A weaker S$ is a double edge sword, one on hand it will speed up inflation which will have great implication on the lower income Singaporeans. However a weaker S$ will help promote Singapore exports, especially to USA and countries like China and Middle East, where their currencies are closely pegged to the dollar.
George Soros attacking Singapore financial system? Are you making baseless assumption that he has the financial muscle to do what he was being accused of doing to Malaysia? We are Singapore you know? Not some developing countries with screwed up banking system.
Fool or no fool, I am sure forumers here can decide.
Originally posted by eagle:Firstly I did not also say I and him doesn't think alike. Neither did I say both Andrew and me think alike. It was all in your mind. You can claim initially that I said both Andrew and I think alike, then you claim again that I said both Andrew and I think differently (when I merely raised it as an example with the word 'if'). Seriously, something is wrong with you. Fact is, you like to put words into people's mouth. It has happened many times in this thread. The number of posts you did this spans over 3 pages. I can't comprehend how thick skinned you can be in continuously putting words in others mouth and then asking them why they said it. It hasn't happen just once; definitely not a coincidence or a moment of misunderstanding of sentences.
Secondly, I have already answered your question (although the question was already wrong) at least 4 times. You are just blatantly whining that it has not been answered when the answer has been presented straight in your face. You have even quoted the answer to your own question yourself, as shown in my earlier post. Do you call this dumb?
Thirdly, I agree. My compliment for you was PURE meaningless RUBBISH. Your logical processing capability is virtually non-existent; any compliment on such a person like you is PURE meaningless RUBBISH in your words. Since you want to force this fact upon all of us that a compliment on your thinking capability is meaningless rubbish, we will gladly accept it. And I believe I do not need to point out the rubbish you have already posted in this forum; you know it yourself.
Fourthly, my question, already earlier than yours, was even simpler. It is just a yes/no question on whether you admit to having put words into my mouth. Is it because the answer to my question is too obvious a yes that you can't be bothered to answer? If so, I will apologize for not understanding your unspoken intentions.
Finally, isn't it obvious? Initially you try to argue for your wrong statement. Next, when you discovered you are totally cornered, you attempt to call it meaningless. I'm very sure all you want to do is to win, even at the expense of you being labelled a fool. So yup, you win!
what is the PURPOSE of you claiming that TCH doesnt thinks like EAGLE and ANDREW while at the same time claiming that EAGLE and ANDREW doesnt think alike?
To me, that is PURE meaningless RUBBISH. Do you agree or not?
If it is all in the mind, then I must say that your mind is full of nonsense and I would really apprecate if you could just keep it in there and not share it in this forum.
Yar right...we are suppose to read between the lines again huh eagle?
Originally posted by TCH05:
what is the PURPOSE of you claiming that TCH doesnt thinks like EAGLE and ANDREW while at the same time claiming that EAGLE and ANDREW doesnt think alike?
To me, that is PURE meaningless RUBBISH. Do you agree or not?
If it is all in the mind, then I must say that your mind is full of nonsense and I would really apprecate if you could just keep it in there and not share it in this forum.
Yar right...we are suppose to read between the lines again huh eagle?
3) has a fondness of putting words into others mouth, and then asking then why they said it
Please, in all your senility, show me again the post which I have made the statement in bold. Putting words into others mouth then asking them what is the purpose does not make you very smart at all.
I just realise TCH commited the same thing as Gazelle a few times in this thread. It is the irritating copying of previous post wholesale and posting it again. This adds on to the fact that he starts actively posting soon after Gazelle got banned, and make him all the more suspicious and fishy.
Originally posted by eagle:3) has a fondness of putting words into others mouth, and then asking then why they said it
Please, in all your senility, show me again the post which I have made the statement in bold. Putting words into others mouth then asking them what is the purpose does not make you very smart at all.
I just realise TCH commited the same thing as Gazelle a few times in this thread. It is the irritating copying of previous post wholesale and posting it again. This adds on to the fact that he starts actively posting soon after Gazelle got banned, and make him all the more suspicious and fishy.
Originally posted by eagle:
"I just realise TCH commited the same thing as Gazelle a few times in this thread. It is the irritating copying of previous post wholesale and posting it again. This adds on to the fact that he starts actively posting soon after Gazelle got banned, and make him all the more suspicious and fishy."
hahaha an idiot will always remain an idiot even if he changes his nick....
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
Originally posted by eagle:"I just realise TCH commited the same thing as Gazelle a few times in this thread. It is the irritating copying of previous post wholesale and posting it again. This adds on to the fact that he starts actively posting soon after Gazelle got banned, and make him all the more suspicious and fishy."
hahaha an idiot will always remain an idiot even if he changes his nick....
He adds words into my mouth, then tell me I have claimed it, and asked me what is the purpose for doing that. And then claim to me it is rubbish, which of course it is when it is something TCH coined out from virtually nothing.
How can we describe that? Delusional? Fantasy? Figment of imagination? Disillusioned? Or perhaps, just a case of early onset of Alzhemier?
I think it will be more appropriate for the forumers of speaker's corner to treat him like we treat his other banned account: Talk about him instead of talk to him.
I suspect that Eagle and AndrewPKyap are actually the same person and they are trying to use gazele as an excuse to condemn other forumers here.
how pathatic can you get?
Originally posted by TCH05:I suspect that Eagle and AndrewPKyap are actually the same person and they are trying to use gazele as an excuse to condemn other forumers here.
Wrong place
Jokes and Humour forum please
Originally posted by TCH05:I suspect that Eagle and AndrewPKyap are actually the same person and they are trying to use gazele as an excuse to condemn other forumers here.
You are entitled to your own suspicions. I shall leave your statement as here because it will only further prove something about you.
Aiyah big deal lah. Life goes on. Money lost and recoup back. Casino sure win right.
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:Aiyah big deal lah. Life goes on. Money lost and recoup back. Casino sure win right.
don't need wait till casino lah.
increase GST, MRT fares, electricity and phone charges can liao.
Better still hike Singapore dollar up now and pour more money into Merill Lynch. Then reduce Singapore dollar and sell the shares. From my own moronic school of voodoo economics.
thinking of buying ML shares...what do u guys think?
I asked for advice at www.secondopinion.asia and was told they do not advise on specific stocks and recommended its less risky to diversify and buy certain ETFs instead of listening to my stockbroker...
So sad, 2 months after the Singapore government invested in Merrill Lynch at US$48 per share, most of the share price trends below US$48.
It is currently trading at US$35.46, a loss of US$12.54 of Singaporean's hard earned money.
It's ok.
Future increases in the GST will ensure that these losses are covered.
If GST revenue is not enough, the investments are for long term.
Really.
So sad, 2 months after the Singapore government invested in Merrill Lynch at US$48 per share, most of the share price trends below US$48.
It is currently trading at US$35.46, a loss of US$12.54 of Singaporean's hard earned money.
Heh heh
Originally posted by Daddy!!:
Late last year 2007, Temasek, a Singapore state fund, bought $4.4 billion worth of Merrill shares at $48 a share as the U.S. brokerage, hit by subprime mortgage losses, sought to raise capital.
As of 9:58 AM EST 19 February 2008 Merril Lynch's stock is at $51.46 USD
It's really for long term ok?
Heh heh
Originally posted by Daddy!!:
Late last year 2007, Temasek, a Singapore state fund, bought $4.4 billion worth of Merrill shares at $48 a share as the U.S. brokerage, hit by subprime mortgage losses, sought to raise capital.
As of 9:58 AM EST 19 February 2008 Merril Lynch's stock is at $51.46 USD
It's really for long term ok?
...licking ang mo as-holes... I wonder if she finds it tasty....
So says Ho Ching in accepting award
CONRAD RAJ
Editor-at-Large
[email protected]
Its not her money that's why it is still attractive after losing all that money from GST and petrol taxes...
AP
Wall Street extends losses in volatile week
Friday June 27, 4:20 pm ET
By Madlen Read, AP Business Writer
Moody's Investors Service on Friday said it is reviewing Morgan Stanley for a possible downgrade; and there are reports Merrill Lynch might take heavy write-downs in the second quarter.
...see your hard earned money going down the drain because 66.6% of the voters were scared sh!tless by the propaganda....