shes v old but i see her working v long hours and recently she passed away after a fall outside. The last time i see her chatting with the rest of the aunties and before that there was another cleaner auntie who overwork herself cos she need to travel to another place to wk she died when she fell down while working in another place she v old too but died suddenly she is pleasant to chat with and when i ask her to hav a seat she refuse, she offered mi drinks before, i was so paiseh. It is so heartbreaking to see cases like dat happen twice --retirement is working until death![]()
everyday few seconds somebardie dies, are we going to have a thread for all of em?
i see two extreme in this thread from just two post;
- compassion
- selfish
TS has a heart for the old, weak and sick, that is highly commendable. fireice on the other hand, show no compassion. probably a spoilt brat.
One of the few countries in the world , where Burger King early in the morning , all are very mature uncles n aunties working...serving me my Whopper Burger meal. Makes me wonder about the future population of the aging..
better save ur time whining bout old auntie. Shes gonna die sooner or later. and its good she died early cuz she no need to work anymore andto think bout world's thing
chinese come from a long history of confucius philosophy teaching and upbringing, which taught us to be respectful of the elders. why has it suddenly disappear from SG?
is this the current mindset of the young singaporeans, to view the elders as a disgust, redundant, liability to the society?
Of all the ethnic groups in Singapore I think the Chinese are fast forgetting how to respect their elders.I dont know if prosperity has something to do with this cuz when I go to third world countries people there are very nice.
i see two extreme in this thread from just two post;
- compassion
- selfish
TS has a heart for the old, weak and sick, that is highly commendable. fireice on the other hand, show no compassion. probably a spoilt brat.
Sorry Bro.... But I disagree with you on this.
FireIce could have chosen her words better.... but she wasn't wrong in the FACTS that everyday.... someone old or/and Young will die. This is a fact. And I don't think she is being a ''Spoilt Brat'' for pointing that out.
Beyond this 'Cleaning Auntie'..... there are also thousands inside S'pore's Old Age Homes or Hospital who are old and sickly..... who might or might not have been abandon by their families, who might be rich or poor. So, how much thread do we need to put down here ![]()
TS is correct to 'highlight' the problem facing the old and elderly.... who sadly, have to work even at an old age. But FireIce isn't Wrong to said that this happens around the Whole World.... therefore, are we to feel sad all the time
Cause everyday of the year, people - young & old, rich & poor - will die from WAR, HUNGER, CRIMES.... etc, ALL OVER THE WORLD.
So tell me Bro..... how much thread should we post here for everyone that dies ![]()
Hi TS,
I dont think you are the only one that find this disturbing. Even Chinese from PRCs find it disturbing that the elderly has to work as cleaners or cardboardscrapers. This is especially true for asian countries where the old are supposed to retire with dignity and respect. If you travel to other asian societies, the elderly do not work as cleaners. I feel very embarrassed when an elderly old man or auntie with frail legs has to serve me or clear my plates because that is so unchinese to be served by an elderly person.
as a volunteer and frequenting hospitals, this is part and parcel of life, everyone's life, in fact
u just haben reach the stage to see too many of such cases to feel anything for them
yeah, spoilt brat lah, watever lah
u happy can oredi
anything u all can say about FI means u all damn great lah ok?
not bad...
im a fierce guy that like to test moderators of the forums.
look like fireice can take it.
tio shoot liao now want to make urself look better nia
pls leh.... ä½ çˆ¸æˆ‘ in the moderating industry so long oredi
got wat thing no see before....
u all like to say wat say loh, like ä½ çˆ¸æˆ‘ care leh..
not so free u know....
challenging authority is a kind of psychological thing lah
like u see SC, every other day ppl oso soot cheng hu, kpkb about this...
cos they think if they can put someone up there down, means they lagi more power than them lah...think ownself bery smart loh...
ego boost or wat lah... cannot rber the term liao
usually hor, is something they cannot get in real life, tts why oni can come online and find some 刺激
it's ok de lah
FI jiejie understand de.
>pat pat<
sometime, i think dying isnt really a bad thing for them. It is obvious that they have to work their butt off for their daily meals. Wouldnt really consider this kind of life appropriate for someone whom help build the s'pore that it is today. Rather they b free from further suffering than laboring their remaining days till their deathbed..
oh, i oso want to say something
some ppl, when they alive, ppl neber �惜
when die liao then they feel ai wan.... regret....
death is death lah...
think of it in an optimistic way... gone to be with g*d... no need to suffer anymore...
but since this thread is chosen to be in this forum, means got meaning one lah...
hinting tt our cheng hu make ppl work to death....
so this thread here is not about death itself, is about cheng hu rite?
(wtf, which thread here in SC not about cheng hu one....)
but then hor, u know ah, old ppl... they used to working all their life.... when no work then they feel is wasted... relli waiting for death to come... to them tt is scary.....so they rather go work..
U all got relli talk to such old ppl to understand these or not....tsk tsk...
dunno why today so many things to talk lah
usually i dun bother to say one... cos not worth saying to u all lah....
some things i ownself experience and understand can oredi.....
say out oni later become flame, then ä½ çˆ¸æˆ‘ knn need to do more work....
There is a difference between dying of old age in retirement and slogging all your life to make ends meet.
Well, so long as our dear poor leader's grandpa and grandma is not slogging their lives away, everything should be fine and dandy.
Long live P4P and their policies of working poor old folks to their graves.
Originally posted by FireIce:oh, i oso want to say something
some ppl, when they alive, ppl neber �惜
when die liao then they feel ai wan.... regret....
death is death lah...
think of it in an optimistic way... gone to be with g*d... no need to suffer anymore...
but since this thread is chosen to be in this forum, means got meaning one lah...
hinting tt our cheng hu make ppl work to death....
so this thread here is not about death itself, is about cheng hu rite?
(wtf, which thread here in SC not about cheng hu one....)
but then hor, u know ah, old ppl... they used to working all their life.... when no work then they feel is wasted... relli waiting for death to come... to them tt is scary.....so they rather go work..
U all got relli talk to such old ppl to understand these or not....tsk tsk...
dunno why today so many things to talk lah
usually i dun bother to say one... cos not worth saying to u all lah....
some things i ownself experience and understand can oredi.....
say out oni later become flame, then ä½ çˆ¸æˆ‘ knn need to do more work....
ya loh, wat happen to u today? so emo ah... but it is gd to see ur other side once in a blue moon.
but it is also true lah, if old ppl dun work, it is same as waiting to die... worse then death itself. But if they work not just for 3 meal, then it is ok lah. Somehow, i dun think that is the case here leh. Most work so hard and so late into the nite, when they shd b at home enjoying the company of their family and grandchildren.
Originally posted by EarlNeo:ya loh, wat happen to u today? so emo ah... but it is gd to see ur other side once in a blue moon.
but it is also true lah, if old ppl dun work, it is same as waiting to die... worse then death itself. But if they work not just for 3 meal, then it is ok lah. Somehow, i dun think that is the case here leh. Most work so hard and so late into the nite, when they shd b at home enjoying the company of their family and grandchildren.
Don't think it's ever possible for poor Singaporeans to stay home and enjoy the company of their childrens and grandchildrens during the final portion of their lives.
天伦之� this kind of thing most of the time depends on whether the children want to make it happen for the old parents or not
(unless u toking about those old ppl with no children)
often, we see children neglecting their pa and ma, bcos they have their own family liao... or working overseas...
some simply think old parents is burden... just buy them a 1 room flat and throw them there.... one year visit them one or two times nia
then these old ppl bery bo liao, whole day at home watch tv oso sian... go lao ka gossip with other old ppl oso sian..
they oso hope to earn own money to buy themselves some horlick or kopi mah... and oso can buy toys for their sun....
some of them bery teekee one, children want to give them money they no want... but they oso know children tan lui not easy leh.... they shd keep for themselves or for the children's children....
but then u see ah, the old ppl now are bery 硬 one...
cos they grew up when times are bad... so they can �苦 very well... very independent one.... believe tt they can manage on their own...
Some damn kor lin.... sick or wat oso no want to inform their doctor son or lawyer dotter.... ownself walk or take bus go kua lou kun... they say their son/dotter busy with work, this kind of small thing no need trouble them..
and they dun believe in depending on the cheng hu....
not like our generation... everything oso cheng hu spoonfeed... everything oso expect cheng hu to be responsible...
cheng hu not gib birth to u one leh
u just happen to be born in SG nia loh.....
so hor, taking care of old ppl not entirely the cheng hu responsibility
u all, as children must ���� oso lah
who are the ones making their lives like tt...
why old auntie have to work as cleaner? why ah peh need to go sell po chua at roadside?
but hor, everyone got different story mah....
ppl always damn narrow-minded lah... and oni choose to see one side or two sides... but is got many sides one mah..
one auntie die... must assume, presume, retirement is working till death...
but it's ok lah... so many years here liao... ppl will just say, everyone entitled to own views, to each his own, these kinda thing lah u know....
ok lah, me anything de loh
but if u free just think about it lah
Originally posted by FireIce:天伦之� this kind of thing most of the time depends on whether the children want to make it happen for the old parents or not
(unless u toking about those old ppl with no children)
often, we see children neglecting their pa and ma, bcos they have their own family liao... or working overseas...
some simply think old parents is burden... just buy them a 1 room flat and throw them there.... one year visit them one or two times nia
then these old ppl bery bo liao, whole day at home watch tv oso sian... go lao ka gossip with other old ppl oso sian..
they oso hope to earn own money to buy themselves some horlick or kopi mah... and oso can buy toys for their sun....
some of them bery teekee one, children want to give them money they no want... but they oso know children tan lui not easy leh.... they shd keep for themselves or for the children's children....
but then u see ah, the old ppl now are bery 硬 one...
cos they grew up when times are bad... so they can �苦 very well... very independent one.... believe tt they can manage on their own...
Some damn kor lin.... sick or wat oso no want to inform their doctor son or lawyer dotter.... ownself walk or take bus go kua lou kun... they say their son/dotter busy with work, this kind of small thing no need trouble them..
and they dun believe in depending on the cheng hu....
not like our generation... everything oso cheng hu spoonfeed... everything oso expect cheng hu to be responsible...
cheng hu not gib birth to u one leh
u just happen to be born in SG nia loh.....so hor, taking care of old ppl not entirely the cheng hu responsibility
u all, as children must ���� oso lah
who are the ones making their lives like tt...
why old auntie have to work as cleaner? why ah peh need to go sell po chua at roadside?
but hor, everyone got different story mah....
ppl always damn narrow-minded lah... and oni choose to see one side or two sides... but is got many sides one mah..
one auntie die... must assume, presume, retirement is working till death...
but it's ok lah... so many years here liao... ppl will just say, everyone entitled to own views, to each his own, these kinda thing lah u know....
ok lah, me anything de loh
but if u free just think about it lah
Are you one of those people you mentioned above? ![]()
I think the large majority are slogging their ass off to make ends meet, therefore they have less time to spend with their parents. Don't think they are at fault, it's just the fast paced competitive environment here.
One needs to understand also, money is not a static commodity, it is dynamic, inflation can erode the value of your retirement savings.
The salary structure in Singapore is skewed in favour of the professionals (unlike other developed countries) and there is little redistribution of income from the rich to the poor (unlike other developed countries).
That's why our Gini Coefficient is higher than most developed countries.
We have rich men in power, who enact laws to favour their own self interest, thereby enact laws to favour all the rich neglecting the poor.
I think fireice has a point that looking after the parents is not only the government responsibility, but the problems she mentioned, do they not happen in other asian societies?
I think the point she missed is that all the other asian countries has some form of safety net and Singapore has little. The important question is why only Singapore? Why not Taiwan or Korea? In other asian countries when the kids abandoned their parents, the govt take care of them. In Singapore, the govt ask you to work longer... thats the difference.
Originally posted by kilua:I think fireice has a point that looking after the parents is not only the government responsibility, but the problems she mentioned, do they not happen in other asian societies?
I think the point she missed is that all the other asian countries has some form of safety net and Singapore has little. In other asian countries when the kids abandoned their parents, the govt take care of them. In Singapore, the govt ask you to work longer... thats the difference.
We are not a welfare state, the only welfare in existence are those ascribed to P4P politicians.
For the poor, it's just too bad, so the moral of the story, don't be poor, be rich.
Originally posted by extrinsic:Shouldnt taking care of the old be their children job also?
Hehehe....
Sometimes the children can't even take care of themselves financially.
We are all going to die.
Of illness or trauma, but do your best to croak of old age.