http://www.vedior.com/hr-portal/recruitment-news/singaporean-employers-go-native.html?c=3013
Singapore's minister of state for the ministry of education and
manpower, Gan Kim Yong, told the country's parliament yesterday that
strong economic growth had led to record highs in local employment.
Mr
Yong made the assurance in response to a question from Madam Ho Goek
Choo about how employment of local people could be enhanced, according
to TodayOnline.com.
Although the number of foreign workers in
Singapore is at all-time high, with 61 per cent of all jobs going to a
non-national, the resident unemployment rate hit a record low of 2.3
per cent in December, Mr Yong noted.
He added that there were
92,100 more local people in employment last year, which is two or three
times the annual average increase.
"Over the last few years, our
experience has shown that we have been able to adapt quickly to changes
in the economic environment and we have continued to diversify our
sources of foreign workers," the minister said.
A recent report
revealed that in Singapore's manufacturing sector, which accounts for a
quarter of the economy, production rose by 6.9 per cent in 2007 on the
previous year. 
i dun wait for jobs to come to me
i create my own job for myself
It is the spillover effect of employing many foreigners along with attracting many MNCs; more locals get jobs too.
Originally posted by FireIce:i dun wait for jobs to come to me
Surely you don't expect all Singaporeans to start selling used lingeries?
Hehehee
Just kidding.
Originally posted by maurizio13:
Surely you don't expect all Singaporeans to start selling used lingeries?
Hehehee
Just kidding.
Just like we don't expect many Singaporeans to steal soiled panties to smell.
P.S. Cannot resist it either
Considering that many companies are MNC's,it's not surprising.Add in the fact that there are many foreigners in UNI and Poly graduating every year.
study all your life
Saw this in my office fax machine.
HIRE SKILLED / UNSKILLED WORKERS FROM CHINA. Salary about $700.00 per month only! High Productivity!! Free Recreuitment & Placement services!! MOM Approved!
Got this kind of crap nowadays! ^&*)^%$#@$ PAP make our cost of living so high and allow this kind of "Foreign Talents"???
Expect us to fight twith $700.00 a month "talents" isit? Other country protect it's people. Company must prove can not get locals before getting "foreign talents". Over here the company get rebates!!!
MOM Approved???? CHEEBY!!!
One thing I noticed after I revisited my IA company. Most of foreign engineers changed company very fast, whereas Singaporeans stayed longer.
Thus, I would believe that companies will be more cautious in employing foreign staff. You don't to go through all the trouble to bring someone here just for that someone to see a new and better company in Singapore and jump ship.
half of my working people are from other countries and their working ethics are the worst among us singaporeans, and they give nothing but creating trouble for us ....really talent in more troubles...![]()
when a manager is asked to cut cost,
would he care if he continue to hire locals or you think they will do what can help them preserve themselves by hiring contractstaffs at cheaper price?
ren zi cu xing ben err.
self-preservation.
ren bu wei ji tien zhu di mieh.
in good times, people can show that they are caring.
in bad times, the real, true, honest character emerges.
or should i say,
in good times, everyone appears angelic.
in bad times, the true devil shows its ugly rear.
To do Evil is easier than to do good. Thus, ren zi cu.
Originally posted by FireIce:i dun wait for jobs to come to me
Lao ban nian leh..... rich woman (fu po)
singaporean should make a stand....literally....go geylang and stand there...take over those china FTs' positions.....get back your territories....time for us proud singaporean & take back wat we have lost!!! *sing*..We r Singapore....We r singapore....singaporean......![]()
Singaporean's graduate sucided by jumping from high storey. Thanks to PAP. More good year ahead.

Originally posted by (human):Singaporean's graduate sucided by jumping from high storey. Thanks to PAP. More good year ahead.
Interviews are the final piece of the puzzle.
Originally posted by (human):Singaporean's graduate sucided by jumping from high storey. Thanks to PAP. More good year ahead.
There are so many graduates walking around. Even with a just pass degree, you are also considered a graduate.
I fail to see how this is related to PAP. If money was really an issue and his degree was acceptably good, there are many government agencies paying high money. If money was really an issue, a simple signing on can earn him 3k or more a month with a uni degree.
Go any country in the world and take a look. A degree is the first stepping stone to a job (if you are looking to be employed). Without a relevant or acceptably good one, you cannot find a job as easily.
And finally, the last statement of the article states that he has a legal case. The factors pertaining to this incident are just too many; you cannot anyhow point the finger at anyone without even understanding the full details.
Lees and PAP opened up jobs that singaporeans can and wanted to do for so called FTs like prostitute spreading legs for anyone who is thirsty. Eagle u can bark all you want for your masters. You PAP running dog.
Originally posted by (human):Lees and PAP opened up jobs that singaporeans can and wanted to do for so called FTs like prostitute spreading legs for anyone who is thirsty. Eagle u can bark all you want for your masters. You PAP running dog.
Another case of a forumer who cannot engage in an intellectual discussion and resorting to using insults. Hmmm.
aye, eager, u no wan to lespond to that ar?
Originally posted by Reddressman.:aye, eager, u no wan to lespond to that ar?
that one I respond to moderator liao
Your one, you never read ah
http://www.sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/310274
and now there is an interesting report that SBS is hiring chinaman becos local don't want to drive bus anymore. the pay is too low.
this is an oxymoron. why must the sbs management continue to press down or hold pay scale pay for these drivers. of cos, if you have a relax employment policy of letting in foreigners who will settle for less, there is no story here. why can't they pay more? is profit the be all and end all? can they pay more and yet be profitable? didn't inflation now is horrendously impacting the so called lower rung of the population? of cos, if you pay pittance, you are indirectly turning away locals. pay a fair wage and see if this is still true.
i really think these big quasi-gahmen companies are setting the wrong path of running a business. it's deplorable to be insensitive to the needs of the local.
LOL, sinkapore wants to be like a china where costs is damn cheap. even in china, the gahmen is regulating labour laws now to protect the interests of the workers. union will have more say. many companies are complaining but the gahmen there just say, `live with the new ruling'.
here, the reverse is happening. this is just so not right!
i am pissed!
If you are pissed, vote for opposition in the next General elections to wake PAP up.
Malaysians did so to tell BN to wake up.
If you keep on giving easy victories to PAP, they will never wake up their fucking attitude.
Aim for a coalition government.
Deny PAP a 2/3 majority in parliament.
That will wake the PAP up.
Don't just complain.
Singaporean's graduate sucided by jumping from high storey. Thanks to PAP. More good year ahead.
Betul la, A Graduate.
Singapore old healthy uncles and aunties over 50's got many years job experience, but with only Primary qualification have to compete with them when finding jobs, they expect to work till die la. How? ![]()
At least those unskill work, shd given to local rather give to unskill foreigner. ![]()
Just look simply acting carrafare job, walk here and there or just sit or pose and this Singapore MediaCorp give this job to foreigner. Can't MediaCorp restricted to local.Pay may be low, but at least help those local ppl have a job. Those carrafare agent are to blame too for illegally recruiting too many foreigner part-time students,housewifes. Can't they get local to fit in the job?.