Originally posted by Fantagf:Saw front page of TNP, some people quit to go look for Selamat. OMG
They're called bounty hunters.
These people who would like to be known as bounty hunters are living in a fantasy world which reminds me of an American reality show (forgot the famous bounty hunter's name) who wanted to hunt for Osama and he guaranteed 100% result only if funded by the US Government.So now we know that there is a bounty of $1 million and there are hunters out there but there is no game.
There is a "Dog(or Doug) the Bounty Hunter". But he is very successful and has ensured that many perps do not escape justice.
$1 million is a lot of dough. What happen if theres tens or hundreds of mas selamats out there?
1 people 1 nation... make it work and we'll be safe...
Originally posted by holygoh:3 ex-commandos. I wish them all the best. Anyone know the 3 of them?
======================================================
http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,...,1…?
DAYS TO PREPARE FOR $1M ‘MAS HUNT’ *Lured by $1 million reward, 3 S’pore men quit private sector jobs for Mas Selamat hunt *They’ll live on savings for a year while infiltrating local communitiesARE these bounty hunters for real?
Their quarry: Escaped terrorist Mas Selamat Kastari, who now has a $1 million reward on his head.
According to their spokesman, these three Singaporeans have quit their jobs so they can look for their target in Indonesia.
Why? For a million bucks and perhaps a chance to appear as heroes.
But the hunt could lead to injury or even death when terrorists turn into desperados.
And they could get into serious legal problems hunting fugitives on foreign soil, or even spark a diplomatic row.
For all the risk, they could end up with nothing after months of frustration.
But this is not stopping the three men, all in their 20s, who have resigned from their jobs in the private sector this week to try their luck.
COMMANDO TRAINING
The trio, who had undergone commando training during their national service, are heading to Indonesia today.
The three men, who have been volunteers with Crime Library since 2005, contacted its founder, Mr Joseph Tan, on Tuesday to seek his opinion about their plans.
Mr Tan, 42, who is acting as their spokesman and their point of contact in Singapore, said: ‘They are not my children, but I feel like a father to them.
‘If I were 20 years younger, I would join them. I may also become a part-millionaire in the process.’
Mr Tan declined to reveal details about the men for fear of blowing their cover. They also turned down requests for an interview.
Anti-terrorist professionals spend many months training before they carry out big missions, but the trio are off after barely five days of preparation.
Their aim is to blend into local communities in Indonesia and to seek leads that might pinpoint the hideout of the Jemaah Islamiah (JI) leader.
Anti-terror agencies in the region have failed so far to track down the fugitive after a four-month search.
Yet the bounty hunters believe they stand a chance to strike paydirt.
The call of a million dollars is strong. The bounty, offered by two anonymous businessmen, is Singapore’s largest ever.
Mr Tan said their first aim is to try to work out Mas Selamat’s escape route. One of their theories is that he could have left Singapore from a fishing port in Jurong.
The men have some savings to tide them over their first year in Indonesia, Mr Tan said.
They plan to gain the trust of the locals who could help them get closer to the JI cells there.
But is there a danger they might get indoctrinated as well?
Mr Tan’s reply: ‘I’m not worried that they will get converted, because terrorists don’t get $1 million as a reward.’
To help the effort, Mr Tan sent out an e-mail with Mas Selamat’s picture, to alert people in Malaysia, Indonesia and China to be on the lookout.
Mr Tan has helped solved about 440 missing person cases since he founded Crime Library in 2001.
The former policeman said: ‘With the $1 million offer, we can borrow eyes in other countries, turning the people in our network to become bounty hunters too.’
CREATED A BUZZ
The reward has also created a buzz in the security industry, including those in neighbouring countries.
Mr Ponno Kalastree, 61, managing director of security and investigations agency Mainguard International, has mobilised agents in Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand and the Philippines to look out for Mas Selamat.
He said: ‘The reward will be a real motivation. If they find him, they can live comfortably for the rest of their lives.’
Dr SM Jegan, a director of Kokusai Security, has offered an additional $10,000 from his own pocket if his staff members in Singapore and network in Indonesia are able to give information on Mas Selamat’s whereabouts.
‘Mas Selamat’s escape has affected our reputation as a safe country.
’ I am also concerned for the safety of Singaporeans,’ he said.
Some terrorists have been caught after rewards were offered for their capture.
9/11 mastermind Khalid Sheikh Mohammed was captured in Pakistan in 2003 after a US$25 million ($34m) bounty was offered.
Last year, four Filipinos were paid US$10 million after Abu Sayyaf leaders Khadaffy Janjalani and Abu Sulaiman were discovered and killed.
The Indonesian-born Mas Selamat escaped from a detention centre here in February.
Officials say they have no information to confirm that he has left Singapore or that he has escaped to Indonesia.
Anyone with information on Mas Selamat may call the Counter Terrorism Centre hotline at 1800-262 6473 or the police at 999.
quit job to look for MS? hah. sounds like govt propaganda to me. ull have better luck trying to find him on facebook
Mas Selemat is the head of Singapore's terrorist group, the equivalent of US' Osama bin Laden. If this kind of thing happen in the US, do you think the minister or department Secretary will still be around in office?
Originally posted by Danielgsx:Mas Selemat is the head of Singapore's terrorist group, the equivalent of US' Osama bin Laden. If this kind of thing happen in the US, do you think the minister or department Secretary will still be around in office?
And their Home Defence Secretary don't earn so much for them to do a WKS rotten job.
WKS still have the cheek to make national day speech ar? If I were him, I either resign or hide myself from public le.
Originally posted by Arakawa.shizuka:WKS still have the cheek to make national day speech ar? If I were him, I either resign or hide myself from public le.
If you were WKS, you would be doing as WKS does, because WKS does as WKS does, and somebody else would post "If I were WKS, I either resign or hide myself from public le."
Originally posted by Arakawa.shizuka:WKS still have the cheek to make national day speech ar? If I were him, I either resign or hide myself from public le.
This does not happen when you're drawing huge salaries from the government.
Suffer the humiliation and get a Mercedes-a-month salary.
hi folks, i am newbie.
i did not catch the nday rally.
did wks spoke? if so, did he update the status of finding msk?
i wonder what is the priority for hunting down a wanted terrorist leader of singapore?
to catch mas, need divine help or at least fengshui master expertise
http://fengshuiforward.com/forum/i-ching-divination-(yi-jing-zhan-bu)/the-escape-of-mas-selamat-kestari/0/ haha maybe first day already escape by boat or ferry near world trade centre
Originally posted by Focors:to catch mas, need divine help or at least fengshui master expertise
http://fengshuiforward.com/forum/i-ching-divination-(yi-jing-zhan-bu)/the-escape-of-mas-selamat-kestari/0/ haha maybe first day already escape by boat or ferry near world trade centre
In the first place they should have hired the Feng Shui Master who could have suggested something about the positioning of all toilets there.So before toilet the Fengshui guy but after toilet the Bounty Hunter leads the way.
Wow lau Mr Wong Cant Sing u still has the ball to go
China for holiday wi a group of ur sucker. Hoping to catch Mas there.
wah biang eh.
when they catchin him?
we've been livin in fear eberiday.
hw is the govt gng to compensate us?
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:wah biang eh.
when they catchin him?
dun worry, it be over very soon. once everyone stop talking about it, they will forgot about it. when they forgot about it, mean it over. there will no more such thing as mas or what ever escape.
as you know, carpet sweeper.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:wah biang eh.
when they catchin him?
like any one will belive u living in fear >.>
SINGAPORE : Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong is confident the country's Internal Security Department (ISD) will prove itself again, especially in light of new security challenges, like those arising from the influx of foreigners into Singapore.
He is also confident that the department will get over the escape of Jemaah Islamiyah detainee, Mas Selamat Kastari.
Does this mean he is allowing ISD to let it past and forget all about MSK?
i think mas is outside sin liao la. too late...
the chance of getting him is quite low.. maybe he went to party with osama already
To: The people of Singapore
In light of the recent ISD security breach fiasco, we the citizens of Singapore requests for the resignation of the Deputy Prime Minister of Singapore, Wong Kan Seng.
Sincerely,
http://www.PetitionOnline.com/s16910/petition.html
why do you people nvr learn that petetions do not work in sg...
DUHZ!
When Singapore’s terrorist leader escaped from high-security detention two months ago, he could not possibly have foreseen the political repercussion that he was leaving behind.
It has given Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong his worst political headache since he took office nearly four years ago.
The saga of the Jemaah Islamiah leader’s escape from the Whitley Detention Centre has moved beyond security concern and the negative international image.
It has raised doubts on government accountability in Singapore and revisited the unpopular issue of high cabinet pay by raising questions like: -
-- How damaging to the nation must a government mistake be before a cabinet minister – who is paid more than the US president – is held responsible?
-- Must punishment, however serious the mistake, be applicable only to the civil servants or the foot soldiers – but not the political leader who is responsible for overall planning?
This dilemma began with a government-appointed committee report revealing a list of incredible bungles and neglect by the Home Affairs Ministry, which is in overall charge of the Centre.
A “confluence of factors” or “lapses” is how the report calls the mistakes that allowed JI leader, Mas Selamat Kastari, to climb out of a toilet window and flee in his underwear. Two months later, he’s still at large.
Mas Selamat is no ordinary criminal, but leader of a terror network who was trained in Afghanistan. He had plotted to crash a commercial plane into Changi Airport as well as blow up foreign embassies.
Minister mentor Lee Kuan Yew has said that if he succeeds in fleeing to Indonesia, he may return to carry out his bombing threats.
And the Whitley Detention Centre is a tiny version of America’s Guantanamo, which houses all the terrorist suspects in Singapore.
His escape presented PM Lee with a tough choice: Either ditch the minister responsible as widely demanded by the public – or defend him.
He chose to support a party colleague, who is also Deputy Prime Minister, and go against public opinion.
PM Lee stated that ministers should not be automatically removed for lapses down the line. This came as a surprise to a generation of Singaporeans raised under his father’s strict governance.
Pm Lee said his government would not encourage a culture where ministers resign whenever things go wrong on their watch, whether or not they are actually to blame.
By downgrading ministerial responsibility, he may have established a new principle of governance for Singapore that differs from other countries’.
Many nations in Europe and Asia (from Britain to Japan and South Korea) hold their leaders or cabinet ministers liable for a major blunder, either by sacking or allowing them to resign.
The response of Singaporeans over the Internet has predictably been very negative with some accusing him of double standards – one rule for ministers and another for the civil service.
An online poll on whether Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng should be sacked showed a 94% ‘yes’ vote, with only six per cent disagreeing.
But Lee was adamant. “That would be the easy way out. It may temporarily appease an angry public, but it will not fundamentally solve the problem,” he said.
The result has been a transfer of some of the political heat from the Home Affairs Minister to the Prime Minister.
The critics complain that since ministers are paid super-high wages pegged to the top private sector, Lee should also hold them to the same standards of accountability.
Said Workers' Party chief Low Thia Khiang, "In the corporate world, when something goes wrong, heads that roll would include the CEO's. Here, when something goes wrong, we talk about honest mistakes."
Even government backbencher Inderjit Singh (Ang Mo Kio) drew the same conclusion.
"We have adopted a reward system that matches that of the private sector, that we pay everyone as high as possible,” he said. “Therefore, people expect that when you make a mistake, you will be appropriately punished."
The pressure for accountability is so strong and widespread that some observers believe that Lee’s defence of Wong will not stand beyond the next election in three years time.
“In a one-man-one-vote system, no prime minister is silly enough to stand in front of a tidal electoral wave,” said a newspaper reporter. “Wong is a big political liability and will have to go.”
Some observers believe this will happen after a decent interval with Wong being transferred out of Home Affairs before 2011.
In a cabinet reshuffle on Mar 29, a month after Selamat’s escape, Lee appointed Mr. K. Shanmugam as Law Minister - as well as Second Minister for Home Affairs.
This was seen as preparation for Wong’s eventual replacement in case Lee decides to make the change.
The public criticism rages on over the websites with newspapers’ letters pages remaining largely silent.
“Singaporeans with half a brain will know it is less about being different from other countries, but more about protecting their own kind - the tight-knit network of elites who run this country,” Gerald Giam wrote in his blog,
Kelvin Tong added: “In my view, PM Lee failed to see one point: Singapore ministers are the highest paid in the world. Logically speaking, the echelon of accountability has to be higher in tandem, no?”
Robert Teh wrote, “This is truly world's best leadership - just watch the charisma of a leader explaining all the faults in his prison windows as caused by other junior officers - not his own ministry.”
Against public feelings, Prime Minister retains his Home Affairs Minister despite blunders that let terrorist leader to escape - at least until the next election.
By Seah Chiang Nee.
Apr 26, 2008
I hope the high integrity man of honesty WKS come out and tell the nation, the status of MSK , dead or alive.
I am sure such man of integrity will do the most respectable thing a man can do.
He is so clean and honest and integrity. Whiter than White. Everyone believes, I believe. At least the majority believes, I believe.
Correction der me if i the wrongs.
So many months.. my Mas poster is now covered and pasted over by F1 poster liao leh..
SO after F1 everybody forget about MAS and celebrate F1 is it ?
I calculate liao...
100,000 pax per day at F1 event.
3 day event = 300,000
40% estimated are foreigners = 120,000
Spending power of each foereigners estimate $300
Total expenditure income influx into Singapore = $36,000,000
GST 7% of $36,000,000 = $2,520,000
OK.. GST generate over the 3 day F1 event is enough to cover 2 of MAS's head and still have $520,000 to party !
We can let MAS go scot-free lah....