Originally posted by PointofView:Are those 1000 highly educated highly competence in what they do? Don't mistaken that having that piece of toilet paper mean he a talent.
Ultimately is how good you are in your profession that will result in what kind of earning power you can have. Can't expect to pay elite salary to someone that can't even perform the basic well even though they have that piece of paper right?
you need to prove they are incompetent.
i think you have never worked overseas.
if you have, you know its not for everyone.
I have seen schrolars come crying home say they tak bohleh tahan overseas so LL have to come home.
i have seen local talents venturing overseas and managed to successfully stay overseas and leading a greater life. true happiness.
the ability to work overseas is market value based 1st and then your EQ.
without market value, you can only exist overseas either by smuggling in or you born with a gold spoon or you have some rich people helping you.
Migration is not for the incompetent, or without market value. Its certainly not for all. Even those who qualify, may not have the EQ to survive overseas.
Thus, this proves that those who migrated are brave hearts who can adapt.
afterall, our ancestors came from overseas. What law in the universe dictates that a person born here must only live and die here?
We are free man.
to remain NEUTRAL, I must say having said above, I am a strong supporter living here locally.
like that is neutral.
Originally posted by balance_else_complacent:you need to prove they are incompetent.
I have seen schrolars come crying home say they tak bohleh tahan overseas so LL have to come home.
i have seen local talents venturing overseas and managed to successfully stay overseas and leading a greater life. true happiness.
without market value, you can only exist overseas either by smuggling in or you born with a gold spoon or you have some rich people helping you.
Migration is not for the incompetent, or without market value. Its certainly not for all. Even those who qualify, may not have the EQ to survive overseas.Thus, this proves that those who migrated are brave hearts who can adapt.
afterall, our ancestors came from overseas. What law in the universe dictates that a person born here must only live and die here?
We are free man.
to remain NEUTRAL, I must say having said above, I am a strong supporter living here locally.
like that is neutral.
probably sour grapes. i happened to see alot of non-graduates trying to talk down the worth of graduates.
but anyway, talk about emigration, unless u have sufficient push or pull factor that draw one out of singapore, people will still be contented living in sg. doesnt matter if they are kept in the dark, doesnt matter if there is no balance and check for the ruling govt and how they exploit the population for their own gain.
one of my ex-colleague is moving to sydney soon. he worked in a bank and sick tired of seeing how the foreingers' overwhelming presence in the management and professional fields. and singaporeans take a back seat in these field.
pap keep saying singaporeans are not skilled nor smart enough to fill in these role of senior managements and professions and need FTs to fill in. well, lies that are repeated often enough will seem to be true. and when singaporeans actually believe that, then probably they need to be replaced too.
there is this CNA documentary today on sgporeans working overseas. it was asking people who are overseas and doing well BUT also wants to come home.
How about filming those who are more successful or more happy now overseas AND never want to take back citizenship?
Will these be shown?
when a person's eyes, ears and mind keep getting a certain message, that message becomes something concrete.
generally, some feel that sgporeans deserve to be replaced as long as they are the ones who do not mind the influx.
as for me, you all know that I am as NEUTRAL as the press. I do not feel anything. I am numbed.
sgporeans deserve whatever they ask for. If only they know what that is.
you need to prove they are incompetent.
Migration is not for the incompetent, or without market value. Its certainly not for all. Even those who qualify, may not have the EQ to survive overseas.Thus, this proves that those who migrated are brave hearts who can adapt.
We are free man.
like that is neutral.
I do not need to proof that they are incompetent as i was merely pointing out the different between qualified and competent is two different issues. There are too many people thinking that just because they have that piece of toilet paper make them the king and can demand anything which they want.
For your infor, i did my degree in Aust and i was involved in projects which we team up with the local firms.
Market value is based 1st no doubt, but market value is primary based on whether you have that requirement (paper) 1st, only when you start the job, will they be able to fully determine if you are competent or not.
Basically what i am trying to tell fishbuff is knowing the different between Qualified and Competent. There are just to many cases of qualified but incompetent people around in our society and most of the time they are telling people "My result in uni is top but the company pay me damn low but other people result not as good as me but get higher pay."
your findings are based solely around your current working environment in SG. take my workplace in oz for example, my supervisor is a Phd holder in computer science, although his intelligence is good, his EQ is terrible. He was trying all ways to win the coveted team manager role but in the end, failed to secure it. Why? his EQ which is a constant pain among us workers that had to put up with his overzealous behavoir, gave him a thumb down. team manager role went to a new employee that have good inter-personal skills.
sg is a place that ONLY grades are the sole determinating factor for a person's promotion and gauge of "competency". now u can see how a 32 years old scholar that have no experience in law enforcement and handons on crime investigration, could be placed as a police highest ranking officer in SG.
Dont blame the people, blame the system that promotes such biased employee's performance criteria to judge.
They learned from the army. Army can jump rank go OCS straightaway become officer liao, higher rank than the staff sergeants that worked there for so long and contributed much more.
i never blame FTs.
They Are allowed to come here and take a job.
Originally posted by balance_else_complacent:i never blame FTs.
They Are allowed to come here and take a job.
Although I do support FT policy to a certain extent, I have to say I like your this point of view very much. Quite a number of pple complain and blame FTs though.
Interesting! ![]()
If its in a mature industry and Singaporeans want those jobs and don't get it, there is a serious problem. Else i don't see anything wrong with having FTs.
Originally posted by kramnave:If its in a mature industry and Singaporeans want those jobs and don't get it, there is a serious problem. Else i don't see anything wrong with having FTs.
First you have to prove what is a real Talent.
what is a talent? is just being an accountant a Talent?
or how about simply calling most of them workers?
If they are Allowed to come in and take a job, what is there to stop them?
While I do not blame them, I think this issue is not so simple. We have to be more transparent how many are coming in.
To illustrate, an hypothetical example:
type of job : accountant.
number of vacant jobs for accountant : 100.
number of qualified local accountants seeking jobs: 70. so in this case does it mean the pore has 70 talents? --> think about my question of what is a real talent again. just someone with the cert of accountant? have some years of experience?
How much is known about our so many contract FTs who come in an out so many in a short period of time. How do the hiring people know that at the time of hiring, that is a real Talent? come on , our locals having the same qualification have their jobs at stake. based on salary, how can the company know they have hired a cheaper but more talented, same qualification talent? I challenge anyone to prove to me they know what they talking about when they conveniently use the word 'talent'. people's jobs and ricebowls are at stake!
if the number of foreign accountants that firms are allowed to hire is 100, who can ensure that the 70 qualified accountants will not lose out?
what happened to the jobs of our local accountant talents? they too are talents, based on the convenient definition, right?
Firms, they come from private sector too.
Firms, they can usually be MNCs too.
If left to them to hire, anything they like goes.
In large companies i been to, for departments of the same skillsets, a great strong majority of them are FTs. Why ? accounting skill = talent?
commonly, cost is the prime consideration when qualifications are the same for local and foreign candidates. unfortunately for locals, their cost of living is very high and getting higher. they have no choice. On top of that, there is the compulsory CPF. and do you favor the mnc's or help the locals? is it business or national's welfare? why 1000 locals drop their pink ic each year, as reported? in times of crisis, who will be there to sacrifice : locals or ft?
the above is the kind of transparency we need to demand.
the above is what we need to focus on.