I'm thinking of not subscribing ST in the future ,what u think?Does our press still deserve the support ?
is it true that the terrorist is limp on 1 leg but can escape a high security place??? huh ???? and this is definitely reported in ST or not?
yes lah hor? ST stedi bom bi bi right? i think so lor. u no the believing of the me meh?
yes right?
i think ST very bombastic lor. but i never buy or spend a cent on it since 5 years ago lors.
why ? why so good i said of it and still i no the buy it leh?
oh, reason is simper. I stingy and want to save some for erp.
i read from national library. news is free. to me.
the new said something like
sg'rean jobs taken up dropped
and then it said more sg'reans got jobs in the same articulation?
was it just me or was that some kind of complication newsing?
no
i got news sources from some online websites and forums
where many uncensored sources are there
I regard the Singapore mainstream media as a propaganda device of the state to manipulate and control the population, the content in the propaganda media is also quite negative and destructive.
So no, I don't read the ST.
ST is also worthless in political content, and since I follow global political affairs, there is no value for me to read ST.
... after realizing what the local papers are basically (as detailed by Poh Ah Pak), I stopped subscribing since 1999... the Internet provides all the news I can need... unfiltered...
... I mean, it's the same with watching movies; why would I want to spend $10.50 on a movie that has been censored senseless? It's like being short-changed! I'd rather buy pirated DVDs and watch the full versions & truly enjoy every dollar...
Originally posted by HyperFocal:... after realizing what the local papers are basically (as detailed by Poh Ah Pak), I stopped subscribing since 1999... the Internet provides all the news I can need... unfiltered...
... I mean, it's the same with watching movies; why would I want to spend $10.50 on a movie that has been censored senseless? It's like being short-changed! I'd rather buy pirated DVDs and watch the full versions & truly enjoy every dollar...
But most of the articles you quoted or used here are from the local media....
Originally posted by kramnave:But most of the articles you quoted or used here are from the local media....
... yes they are, but it doesn't mean I believe what they say about the "govt" and their policies...
its not easy for people not to read the news.
they need to read something.
and that is what they do each day.
they subscribe to it.
what is the effect?
i no no de. where got so smart like you people?
singaporeans do still buy the news everyday. they love it.
good or bad is not my parsah. your parsah.
no need to read ST everyday...
their purpose is to
1) to look at recruitment pages
2) wrap vegetables
3) clean mirror
4) contain my dog dog's poo poo
5) to lay on table before i have my meals
other than that, they are rubbish ![]()
There is no reason whatsoever to read the Strait Times and be influenced by state propaganda.
It is just a bad habit, like smoking, drinking etc.
What is considered political news and how often are they found in ST ?
Originally posted by Seven_Dragon:no need to read ST everyday...
their purpose is to
1) to look at recruitment pages
2) wrap vegetables
3) clean mirror
4) contain my dog dog's poo poo
5) to lay on table before i have my meals
other than that, they are rubbish
hey i do the listed 1,2,3,5 with old newspapers also
i heard even if sell garang guni man also fetch no value
I'm thinking of not subscribing ST in the future
Just cut off the subscription now.
You will save money and end the influence of state propaganda.
Your outlook will also open up.
There is nothing to be lost and everything to be gained.
i read ST for free at the hawker. coffee stall uncle buy everyday and lend me to read. but i need to finish in 15mins becos cannot be late for work. so start with sports pages first. sometimes my kid brings it back from school. they have have this red dot edition on Tuesday where all kids are encourage to read the papers. mmmm...they sure are starting them young.
i actually buy the weekend editions:
saturday: motoring pages on life!; sports pages and home section. the rest is pretty much left untouched.
sunday: investment pages and sports. i like to read the section where there profile a `successful' investor and try to prise their secrets of the their success. for amusement, i often start with their last 2 questions, which ask about what car they drive and what house they live in. wonder what has that got to do with their investment strategies. altho' it does satisfies the sinkaporeans cynical hunger fangs of wanting to know what car u drive and what condo as a measure of your success. the EPL results on the sports page complement my bbc listening habits the night b4 but i really hate (sometimes) the report written by the local reporters on the matches. they lacked incisive reporting and u can tell it is all written from watching the telly. even tt, it is sub-standard reporting of the EPL. they shld just stick to local sports.
so, i do part $1.60 everyweek for the ST.
ST is crap, full of propaganda. Home and money section especially.
Maybe someone with the capital should create another broadsheet newspaper which is more critical than ST.
Originally posted by Scania:ST is crap, full of propaganda. Home and money section especially.
Maybe someone with the capital should create another broadsheet newspaper which is more critical than ST.
If one is solely concentrating on "political news" then theres definitely govt propaganda in local media. However if you are going for news, especially local ones, not reading them will only lead one to oblivion and ignorance.
Originally posted by kramnave:If one is solely concentrating on "political news" then theres definitely govt propaganda in local media. However if you are going for news, especially local ones, not reading them will only lead one to oblivion and ignorance.
I second that.
Originally posted by Reddressman.:is it true that the terrorist is limp on 1 leg but can escape a high security place??? huh ???? and this is definitely reported in ST or not?
yes lah hor? ST stedi bom bi bi right? i think so lor. u no the believing of the me meh?
Happened liao means true lor.
But his limp is not as bad as we imagined it to be. When walking normally, he looks as if he doesn't have a limp.
see comics count?