I hope Badawai doesnt step down. Stepping down now will be another step back in the administration. Because ,frankly , i dun see Najib as a competent leader. He may be worse. In fact , any of those in succession are either incompetent or just too weak to enforce anything in fear of backlash by the influenced. But Badawi staying on with Khairy beside him is also a bad idea. Not to mention Tun Mahatir stepped down just before his popularity dropped and Badawi getting the backlash of his 2 decade rule.
Lets face it , Badawi can use this opportunity to galvanise his own members , smack Khairy around a bit. A good time and opportunity to work with opposition parties and in the name of the people , a fresh opportunity to deal with corruption and nepotism ,
Just hope the opposition coalition will work TOGETHER. Because history has shown , today, that u fudge the people long enough , they are going to bring you down. The harsher you press them , the more aggressive they become.
And about comparing apples and oranges, it can be compared. And it has facts that can be compared with each other. =P
| Food | energy | water | fiber | fat | protein | sugar | vit.A | vit.C | vit.B1 | vit.B2 | vit.B6 | vit.E |
| substance = 100 g. | kJ/Kcal | % | g | g | g | g | ug | mg | mg | mg | mg | mg |
| Apple | 207/49 | 84 | 2.3 | 0 | 0.4 | 11.8 | 2 | 15 | 0.02 | 0.01 | 0.05 | 0.5 |
| Orange | 198/47 | 87 | 1.8 | 0 | 1.0 | 10.6 | 2 | 49 | 0.07 | 0.03 | 0.06 | 0.1 |
Democracy is not a damned if u do , damned if u dont situation. LOL.. Damned if u do , damned if u dont , in choosing the next P.M of M.Y is a situation more befitting the saying..
Thats why there can never be True democracy but benevolent Despotism . But power corrupts , and absolute power corrupts absolutely , then it brings us back to square one. So democracy now , is by far the best way to gurantee rights for citizens and governance in a more transparent manner.
Without non-muslim votes , PAS or PKR will not win so many seats. But i think the wholoe point is NOT to have national party have a 2/3 majority in parliment. That is the crucial thing. Imagine no democracy = Kim Il Jung. If there isnt one , the sepration of powers wouldnt even be in effect. There wouldnt even BE no voting. LoL!
Anyways , i remember a minister from NZ was scutinised and bamblasted by opposition and the people because u used tax-payers money to buy himself a 50 dollar C.K underwear. LoL. And he got investigated....
Anyways , i just hope opposition parties will champion a proper cause strategically. Sarawak for example , opposition are only fighting in BN- coalition main chinese area , even if by wining , they will set the chinese back in terms of represantation, while the real problem is the Chief Minister of Sarawak's party having carved out so many new constituencies to gurantee himself majority even if he were to lose ALL BN-component support to opposition.
But anyways , its a new dawn for M.Y alright.. lets see whats gonna happen in this 5 years. 5 states , 3 which are crucial in the economy to the nation.
Originally posted by kramnave:If they thought their elections were clean and fair, 100,000 people wouldn't have took to the streets and sent a petition to the Yang di-Pertuan Agong.
they at least also can take to the streets in thousands and let their voices be heard, they at least have the courage to make a change.......can you?
Any analysis of the last election? what do you think is the reason for the "tsunami" in favour of the opposition?
My view for the lastest lost.
1. the timing of the election. although this may not be the most favourable time, it could be the best as it can be expected that the cost of living and inflation to be going to greater height due to worldwide inflation and oil prices
2. with the social problems on minorities like indians and chineses not being addressed and the handling of the recent protest incident. This can be seen in the case of Abdullah not willing to see the protestor and the riot police using the water cannon on them
3. widespread crimes in states like Johore, KL.
4. Samy handling of the Indian issues and his comparisons on women with toilet bowls. There was a group of women activists going round with phamplets againsts the discrimations of women telling ppl to vote against MP who discrimates women. This can be reflected by the winning of women candidates
5. internal problems in BN due to unhappiness of choice of canididates
Since when here got so many opposition lovers, pls listen to my advise, don't vote against PAP just because you see the way the opposition leaders hold their fist and shout in the crowd look very exciting and shiok.
Must have a valid reason to vote against someone.
If not sekali singapore government don't allow singaporean to enter malaysia during election period, to prevent the opposition from attending the life exercise and election course.
But again, I think PAP will still have at least 90% seats secured in next election. It is the mindset of south people to vote for stability. That's why you see most of the malaysian allowed to enter singapore are from southern states coz northern people are traditionaly more dare to vote for changes. PAP not stupid.
IMO, I think a change in the political climate in Malaysia should prove to be beneficial.
Firstly, this elections reflect that the democratic process is alive and well in Malaysia. Earlier, I was speculating that BN would still win this election and by a broad margin, despite the KL riots, Hinduraf & DAP. I am really surprised that a large number of Malays too swung around to contribute to the oppositions' relative success. Malaysians would probably become encouraged by the results of this elections and become more politically aware and active, and vote freely in the next election.
Secondly, the NEP to "abolish" the long standing bumiputra policy should benefit Malaysia economically as foreign businesses will be able to compete on slightly more equal footing. However its all too early to say anything until the policy really becomes abolished.
In a sense (pardon me for being direct), I would also say that much of BN's lackluster performance may be due to the lack of Singapore bashing in the last year. There has been much cooperation and improvements in bilateral ties especially with relatively calm settlements of traditional disputes like Pedra Branca. Kudos to Badawi for the warming of relations.
If Mahathir was still in politics, we would have endured rounds of media-hyped accusations and bashing that would have helped unify the country against a percieved foreign "bully" and taken their minds off more domestic issues.
My sentiments towards this Malaysian elections has become a lil more optimistic.
Originally posted by Zarks:Now u know Malay's mentality. Try stay here for 20 years, u will know exactly what i mean.
so u think other race is much better? do the malays in malaysia want their country to be like singapore? mini china. i dont think so. the way malays rule r laidback what...better than kiasu singapore
but facts have proven that one sided policies are not necessary good and effective. we need good policies maker and not good opposition who does not have plans. we also do not need one-sided government where they cannot make effective policies for the mass people.
Originally posted by kangyk:but facts have proven that one sided policies are not necessary good and effective. we need good policies maker and not good opposition who does not have plans. we also do not need one-sided government where they cannot make effective policies for the mass people.
history has shows that if u give power to another race who is not the native, hints singapore, they will try to take over n sidelines the natives. im sure this is what the natives malaysians r also worried off. its hard to be really fair n square
Originally posted by kangyk:but facts have proven that one sided policies are not necessary good and effective. we need good policies maker and not good opposition who does not have plans. we also do not need one-sided government where they cannot make effective policies for the mass people.
history has shows that if u give power to another race who is not the native, hints singapore, they will try to take over n sidelines the natives. im sure this is what the natives malaysians r also worried off. its hard to be really fair n square
Opposition won Penang! =)
Anyway i can tell u, the Malaysian government will NOT let chinese overpower them. Trust me.
My wishlist for Singapore 2010/2011 after Malaysia 2008. (http://weekendpolsg.blogspot.com/)
1. The complete and utter privatization of Temasek. While I agree that Singapore does need a sovereign fund for CPF in the form of GIC, it clearly does not need two. Moreover Temasek apparently interferes with the free market(s) of the world to a greater extent and also faces more risk. I say privatize it, float it, distribute ALL of the government's shares equally to its citizens. The government can always retain a direct, but non controlling, stake in Singtel.
2. The privatization of HDB blocks and conversion of all the "leases" into title deeds. Let the people and market decide to stay where they want to, and NOT based on some arbitary social programs of the government. HDB can become a GLC and thus the money will flow to the government as the PAP wishes. However HDB should not allowed for foreign ownership of any kind and scalable subsidies should be offered to first time buyers and families.
3. Reducing the size of the government. Singapore does not need more bureaucrats to feed. Reduce the number of government employees and the number of statutory boards by means of a review, trim the fat out. Of course to start with the obvious, the ministers in charge dont really need such large salaries.
4. Further reduce NS to 1 1/2 years; condense training and the number of years in reservist training, reduce the number of reservist officers and non-commissioned. This saves money and produces a more professional army rather than a wayang (english: charade) and boosts productivity.
5. Further give more training grants, more low interest loans to local startups and SMEs etc. to counterbalance the benefits given to MNCs.
But this is purely fantasy, as Singapore Inc. would never cede central authority over almost everything.
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:My wishlist for Singapore 2010/2011 after Malaysia 2008. (http://weekendpolsg.blogspot.com/)
1. The complete and utter privatization of Temasek. While I agree that Singapore does need a sovereign fund for CPF in the form of GIC, it clearly does not need two. Moreover Temasek apparently interferes with the free market(s) of the world to a greater extent and also faces more risk. I say privatize it, float it, distribute ALL of the government's shares equally to its citizens. The government can always retain a direct, but non controlling, stake in Singtel.
2. The privatization of HDB blocks and conversion of all the "leases" into title deeds. Let the people and market decide to stay where they want to, and NOT based on some arbitary social programs of the government. HDB can become a GLC and thus the money will flow to the government as the PAP wishes. However HDB should not allowed for foreign ownership of any kind and scalable subsidies should be offered to first time buyers and families.
3. Reducing the size of the government. Singapore does not need more bureaucrats to feed. Reduce the number of government employees and the number of statutory boards by means of a review, trim the fat out. Of course to start with the obvious, the ministers in charge dont really need such large salaries.
4. Further reduce NS to 1 1/2 years; condense training and the number of years in reservist training, reduce the number of reservist officers and non-commissioned. This saves money and produces a more professional army rather than a wayang (english: charade) and boosts productivity.
5. Further give more training grants, more low interest loans to local startups and SMEs etc. to counterbalance the benefits given to MNCs.
But this is purely fantasy, as Singapore Inc. would never cede central authority over almost everything.
Why would their election change our government's way of ruling.
It doesnt. I would vote for the party that can deliver at least parts of my wishlist including the PAP and simply stating MHO. Is it what the Singaporean people want? Probably not. Maybe people can post their own wishlists on my blog.
Stop the nepotism.
Percentage of this coming true: 0.01 percent
Since when here got so many opposition lovers, pls listen to my advise, don't vote against PAP just because you see the way the opposition leaders hold their fist and shout in the crowd look very exciting and shiok.
Must have a valid reason to vote against someone.
If not sekali singapore government don't allow singaporean to enter malaysia during election period, to prevent the opposition from attending the life exercise and election course.
But again, I think PAP will still have at least 90% seats secured in next election. It is the mindset of south people to vote for stability. That's why you see most of the malaysian allowed to enter singapore are from southern states coz northern people are traditionaly more dare to vote for changes. PAP not stupid.
It's not just northern people vote simply for change to do the experiment thingy. If things were good, people won't go against you. You said that Dr. Koh does a lot of good things to Penang, I can't deny that. Penang have developed quite well compared to other states in Malaysia, But what's the use of good developement when it comes to poor wellfare? Seeing buildings growing around you and then you are treated as 'invisible' just because you have a different skin colour.
When your skin color is not dark enough OR overtoned, if you get 11A's in Public Exam, you still need to beg for scholarships as if you're a poor student, but if your skin tone is just dark brown but not overtoned, even when u get 5A's only, u are sent to local Uni or overseas with full scholarship. For business...not talking anymore...it will be the long list if i say even half of the list. Just go and find out what Malaysian Chinese call Ali Baba business. And many minor cases in Malaysia, such as chinese couple in Kuala Lumpur hold hands in park and charged kissing under high court, and the fact that the park officer who was claimed by the defender for trying to ask for bribery was ignored to 100%.
how about paying higher tax just because your religion is not the official religion...work hard for your company and then the incapable 30% of your employees got paid (because you must hire them, they are already guaranteed to be hired so they wont work hard enough to show that they are worth hiring), sharing your oppurtunities with your laidback partner when he doesn't do anything to help you, etc etc. This is Ali Baba.
Of all the natural resources in Malaysia, esp Sarawak (timber, petroleum, tin), the economy only favours KL. Overall the economy almost never improved when compared to Singapore since 1970 when Singapore economy were not very strong that time and Malaysia was the top 5 country in Asia, when it's only rival were Japan, now even Vietnam surpassed Malaysia.
This is the effect of NEP when it only allows some laidback people to get the privilleges.
I'm not whinning but just merely telling you that people are seeing this as a reason to vote against ruling party.
Of course there are also good things about Malaysia but well, people are always not satisfied and this time they want better wellfare This is the reason they vote against ruling party this time. ;)
cheers.
imagine you study in a well developed school...with great facilities in classroom, air-cond classroom...sounds cool.
but the headmaster divide you into two groups...group A and B according to your skin color. group A consist of 10 students group B 30 students. Group B has previlllege. no matter how hard group A studies to score, Group B always be on top. their requirement:- class position 1-20 must always be Group B students. So even if Group A got 90- 100 marks, and Group B students all get below 60, the 20 highest position sure goes to 20 top student in Group B. the group A's students who got around 90-100 marks all get behind 20.
Another situation, when you score 90 marks in your exam, and your friend score 50 marks in his exam, the teacher sees this as big gap. instead of asking your friend to work harder, your teacher cut of your marks 20 point and add it to your friend's to make it even; 70 - 70. this is the analogy to NEP and now u know why this privilleges make some ppl lazier.
Originally posted by ^mR.yellow^86:It's not just northern people vote simply for change to do the experiment thingy. If things were good, people won't go against you. You said that Dr. Koh does a lot of good things to Penang, I can't deny that. Penang have developed quite well compared to other states in Malaysia, But what's the use of good developement when it comes to poor wellfare? Seeing buildings growing around you and then you are treated as 'invisible' just because you have a different skin colour.
When your skin color is not dark enough OR overtoned, if you get 11A's in Public Exam, you still need to beg for scholarships as if you're a poor student, but if your skin tone is just dark brown but not overtoned, even when u get 5A's only, u are sent to local Uni or overseas with full scholarship. For business...not talking anymore...it will be the long list if i say even half of the list. Just go and find out what Malaysian Chinese call Ali Baba business. And many minor cases in Malaysia, such as chinese couple in Kuala Lumpur hold hands in park and charged kissing under high court, and the fact that the park officer who was claimed by the defender for trying to ask for bribery was ignored to 100%.
how about paying higher tax just because your religion is not the official religion...work hard for your company and then the incapable 30% of your employees got paid (because you must hire them, they are already guaranteed to be hired so they wont work hard enough to show that they are worth hiring), sharing your oppurtunities with your laidback partner when he doesn't do anything to help you, etc etc. This is Ali Baba.
Of all the natural resources in Malaysia, esp Sarawak (timber, petroleum, tin), the economy only favours KL. Overall the economy almost never improved when compared to Singapore since 1970 when Singapore economy were not very strong that time and Malaysia was the top 5 country in Asia, when it's only rival were Japan, now even Vietnam surpassed Malaysia.
This is the effect of NEP when it only allows some laidback people to get the privilleges.
I'm not whinning but just merely telling you that people are seeing this as a reason to vote against ruling party.
Of course there are also good things about Malaysia but well, people are always not satisfied and this time they want better wellfare This is the reason they vote against ruling party this time. ;)
cheers.
So you are talking about 2 things, one is Dr Koh failure in election, one is discrimination on minority.
While I agree with you that the malaysia government is bias against the minority. But I still think that people should keep Dr Koh in the government, he is indeed a rare species in malaysia politics, unfortunately still have to be controlled by barison nasional.
Certain policies only central government can change, even the tax is also collected by central government. They will have a hard time if the central government don't give money to Penang for development.
Maybe Penang will gain independence one day, hehe. so one more island controlled by the action party.
Originally posted by justdoit77:
So you are talking about 2 things, one is Dr Koh failure in election, one is discrimination on minority.
While I agree with you that the malaysia government is bias against the minority. But I still think that people should keep Dr Koh in the government, he is indeed a rare species in malaysia politics, unfortunately still have to be controlled by barison nasional.
Certain policies only central government can change, even the tax is also collected by central government. They will have a hard time if the central government don't give money to Penang for development.
Maybe Penang will gain independence one day, hehe. so one more island controlled by the action party.
Yeah, but there's a saying in malay 'bagai kacang lupakan kulit'.. people tend to forget the goods that people did for them and only remember the bads one, typical human behaviour. Dr. Koh shouldn't be sad also, after all, what's the use of being sad because of someone who doesn't appreciate you at all? And they are voting against him just to deny the Ruling Party 2/3, in believe that ruling party won't simply do anything against minority if they managed to deny them 2/3. e.g BN demolished Indian Temple in Selangor just few days before Deepavali and this has boil Indian's temper to the top...BN demolished Churches...They also believed that the Opposition Party will help them to change the policies...(which I don't think so) Internet plays a big rolled in influcing people to go against government as well...Some maybe really wanted to go against government while some just plainly influenced by bloggers who only revealed the con side of ruling party...in the end of the day, that's democracy for you. They risked their future without future thinking. I just wanna live a simple life...pay more tax then pay more tax, don't really care so much. life is too short. Can't get privillege than work hard for it, in the end of the day, God knows you've worked hard for it. See how Chinese still dominating Malaysian economy despite NEP privillege for them?