Originally posted by eagle:I very sure, I'm in the graduating batch. 2nd lower and below, at least $2.8k for engineering companies.
dun talk like u r very sure. i have the same thinking as u n right now i am still being jobless as no one is willingly to hire me as they feel $2.8K is just too much.
Originally posted by 333225520:
Sure? Any statistic to back you up? I am equally sure more than half of fresh uni grad earning less then 3k.
http://www.smu.edu.sg/news_room/press_releases/2007/20070312.asp
http://www.smu.edu.sg/news_room/smu_in_the_news/2007/sources/ST_20070313_1.pdf
http://www.accountancy.smu.edu.sg/news/pdf/today_20070522_3.pdf
http://www.gmprecruit.com/pdf/newsroom/07July_Theluckylotof2007.pdf
You will see it is near 3k.
For government job, the starting salary can be even higher. Even for MINDEF:
http://www.mindef.gov.sg/imindef/news_and_events/nr/2007/jun/26jun07_nr.html
Government jobs pay roughly the same for most agencies, so you can plus minus about 200 sgd from the above site.
Of course, if your degree is of 'just pass' type, and/or if your CCA records are virtually non-existent, and/or you are totally bad at interviews, then cannot help it if you get a lower paid job la.
Originally posted by kramnave:A few years back it was $1600-1800.
FTs are here to fill jobs that require experience and jobs that we lack talent in. They are not here to fight with fresh grads. A couple of years ago i remember someone kpkb about ang moh rig workers earning 10K+ even if they had no qualifications. Thing is these people risk their life/limbs working on the rigs for many many years, starting from the bottom..do we have people of their experience here or do we have students aispiring to be roustabouts on oil rigs and working their way up ?
i agree it was 1.6k to 1.8k few years back. some grads of this batch did contract jobs, temp jobs or had a day job and supplemented their income by giving tuition in the evenings. some employers are willing to pay more 4 this batch in current times due to their experience rather than pay more 4 fresh grads with no experience.
Originally posted by 333225520:
That's only what you feel from those surrounding you (depending on which industry you are in). Similarly, my view is from those around me.I think its not fair for you to assume that FT is earning less than local and are more experience. Many FT around me are fresh too earning same as local.
Which means for all the opinions here, they are all from those surrounding them. Just how many?
I didn't say that FT is earning less than local -.-
Originally posted by 798:dun talk like u r very sure. i have the same thinking as u n right now i am still being jobless as no one is willingly to hire me as they feel $2.8K is just too much.
let just say I have got a job with at least that amount, and I still feel that it is rather less after i see similar jobs offered by other companies and paying more. But no choice, I've a bond to serve.
Originally posted by silverng:This 1 I agree with you. Too much jobs are given to those foreigners
How do you give away jobs ?
Originally posted by eagle:
http://www.smu.edu.sg/news_room/press_releases/2007/20070312.asphttp://www.smu.edu.sg/news_room/smu_in_the_news/2007/sources/ST_20070313_1.pdf
http://www.accountancy.smu.edu.sg/news/pdf/today_20070522_3.pdf
http://www.gmprecruit.com/pdf/newsroom/07July_Theluckylotof2007.pdf
You will see it is near 3k.
For government job, the starting salary can be even higher. Even for MINDEF:
http://www.mindef.gov.sg/imindef/news_and_events/nr/2007/jun/26jun07_nr.html
Government jobs pay roughly the same for most agencies, so you can plus minus about 200 sgd from the above site.
Of course, if your degree is of 'just pass' type, and/or if your CCA records are virtually non-existent, and/or you are totally bad at interviews, then cannot help it if you get a lower paid job la.
if u talk about civil servant sector, they will pay high obviously. but the salaries r differ according to what u majoring in.
all i can say is electronic field command a lot of pay comparing to others. but their knowledge in pcb n semi-conductor field must be very broad.
programmers command high salaries too but their work pressure is extreme.
n if u r majoring in power, ur salary will be less than 3K comparing to the one u mentioned.
i am afraid dat most graduates r boosting bout their pay for afraid of losing out to others. next time when u talk wif ur peer, u can questioning them about their pay slip when they start working.
Originally posted by 798:if u talk about civil servant sector, they will pay high obviously. but the salaries r differ according to what u majoring in.
all i can say is electronic field command a lot of pay comparing to others. but their knowledge in pcb n semi-conductor field must be very broad.
programmers command high salaries too but their work pressure is extreme.
n if u r majoring in power, ur salary will be less than 3K comparing to the one u mentioned.
i am afraid dat most graduates r boosting bout their pay for afraid of losing out to others. next time when u talk wif ur peer, u can questioning them about their pay slip when they start working.
Already before working, I know at least 5 plus who have found a job commanding at least $500 a month more than me
Originally posted by eagle:Already before working, I know at least 5 plus who have found a job commanding at least $500 a month more than me
did they show u their payslip? ![]()
so i see u r a bond scholar? elite i see? å‰�é€”æ— é‡�~
Originally posted by 798:
did they show u their payslip?so i see u r a bond scholar? elite i see? å‰�é€”æ— é‡�~
It is on contract, that one will have to sign.
Bond so what, I already thinking of moving to another better paying company. There are many more out there.
A question for you, did you or did you not attend any career fair?
Haven't you got the hint? The government want you to leave and work overseas. While the philippine and indonesia exports maid, singapore exports professionals. And they prefer you to work in China. We are trained right from kindergarden for China with our simplified chinese and added advantage of English. Why dialects were discouraged in Singapore, because they want you to focus on Mandrain and be good at it, so you are sellable to all parts of China instead of Guangzhou or Fujian.
I am already exported 10 years ago.
Why dialects were discouraged in Singapore, because they want you to focus on Mandrain and be good at it, so you are sellable to all parts of China instead of Guangzhou or Fujian.
They really destroyed our cultural identity with their destructive social engineering policies.
Since no more identity, people find it easier to leave the country.
Threat us as economic pawns and the country becomes lifeless and soulless.
I really despise the PAP regime for this.
This is the real motivation why I am against them, no democracy, lack of rights, propaganda media is only secondary.
Fuck you PAP, you reap what you sow.![]()
Originally posted by Caitaokue:Haven't you got the hint? The government want you to leave and work overseas. While the philippine and indonesia exports maid, singapore exports professionals. And they prefer you to work in China. We are trained right from kindergarden for China with our simplified chinese and added advantage of English. Why dialects were discouraged in Singapore, because they want you to focus on Mandrain and be good at it, so you are sellable to all parts of China instead of Guangzhou or Fujian.
I am already exported 10 years ago.
so....will you be re-import back again??? ![]()
u all need to differentiate the old PAP and the new gang.
the old PAP members did alot for the nation building, whom i respected well.
the new gang just ride on the success of their predecessors and enjoy all the fruits of the past labour.
if the old PAP guards are still alive today, they will definitely kick the arrogant new lots out.
where's Raja, Ong Teng Cheong, Barker, Marshall etc when we need them the most???
they are serving the lord now...
Originally posted by Arena:they are serving the lord now...
Amen
Originally posted by ceecookie:and not to mention corruption
correct! ![]()
Originally posted by silverng:This 1 I agree with you. Too much jobs are given to those foreigners
That is what I am very angry abt. Look at all those foreigners esp. the red hairs, many driving big cars...Mercedes E, S, SL-klasse, BMW 5,6,7 series, Ferrari, Lamborghini, Porsche...many live in big bungalows in Sentosa Cove...
Just go to Turf City on a Saturday...all the ang mohs all learning soccer, tennis, taekwondo,art, horse-riding...while most Singaporeans slog their hearts out.![]()
"so....will you be re-import back again???"
Of course, when the PAP becomes the opposition party.
Life is good overseas, money is easier, got saving.
Can drink a can of beer while driving, rolling down window and smoke, chewing chewing gun and talk on your handphone all at once.
Can smoke and drink in air-con pub. Can stay in landed property have dogs and big garden cheaper than 3 rooms HDB.
What else you want? Stay in Singaporea and work your life for the government family?
is not bad la
is sg too many whiners
Originally posted by Caitaokue:"so....will you be re-import back again???"
Of course, when the PAP becomes the opposition party.
Life is good overseas, money is easier, got saving.
Can drink a can of beer while driving, rolling down window and smoke, chewing chewing gun and talk on your handphone all at once.
Can smoke and drink in air-con pub. Can stay in landed property have dogs and big garden cheaper than 3 rooms HDB.
What else you want? Stay in Singaporea and work your life for the government family?
sure bor.....whr is the dream land u talking abt???
Can recommend?? got any loban?
ya wat country is that. so good we all also want to go la...
What for when you take the 5 C's with you.
Condemn. Complain. Critisize. Curse. Conflict.