Should work places have two fridges or two ovens in order to prevent contamination?
This is insulting !
Nowadays peple like to take but dont give. Sad fact of life.
Err sometimes I just order veggie and tofu I don't mind for a mealWell for Buddhist I ask. Hindu I will refrain coz the cow is a sacred animal to them, for muslim coz pork is considered dirty.
Different reasons ma
Aiya just go and order Nasi Padang la. Eat Mutton lor and fish if you really want your meat
the gist of this problem is really about who should respect who ? ... should it be universal, that is to say, applied equally to everyone, or because a certain group would make a bigger hoohaa than another ? ....
and what's wrong with I respect your right to eat what you like, and you respect mine, instead of i respect you so i won't eat this, you respect me so I won't eat this either ? .... the former lets everyone eat what they like, the latter restricts everyone if it comes down to it .... so why are we drifting towards the latter instead of the former ? ...
The best solution.
Chicken Rice, Chicken Noodle, Chickenator!
Originally posted by Fatum:the gist of this problem is really about who should respect who ? ... should it be universal, that is to say, applied equally to everyone, or because a certain group would make a bigger hoohaa than another ? ....
and what's wrong with I respect your right to eat what you like, and you respect mine, instead of i respect you so i won't eat this, you respect me so I won't eat this either ? .... the former lets everyone eat what they like, the latter restricts everyone if it comes down to it .... so why are we drifting towards the latter instead of the former ? ...
Ok put it this way, my muslim friends won't mind if I eat pork at the same table as them. In fact they tell me I can order it if I want, but I don't.
So they respect that it is my right to order whatever I want to eat and that it is my right that I can sit at the same table as them as it is open to public, but I respect that it is their religion that pork is 'harem' so I don't order it.
Does that clarify matters?
Ok put it this way, my muslim friends won't mind if I eat pork at the same table as them. In fact they tell me I can order it if I want, but I don't.So they respect that it is my right to order whatever I want to eat and that it is my right that I can sit at the same table as them as it is open to public, but I respect that it is their religion that pork is 'harem' so I don't order it.
yes it does .... it's one thing if it's done out of consideration for others, but if it's an outright ban ......
that's why we are having this argument in the first place ...
Originally posted by CM06:The best solution.
Chicken Rice, Chicken Noodle, Chickenator!
then the buddhists and staunch hindus how ? .... ![]()
let's all go vegetarian ! ... healthy lifestyle ! .. ![]()
The price of TOFU is rising... going veg will drive it through the roof.
Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:
Mayi jie jie, it's talking about a only-Halal canteen.
Yes, I know... I posted out of topic...
Ok put it this way, my muslim friends won't mind if I eat pork at the same table as them. In fact they tell me I can order it if I want, but I don't.So they respect that it is my right to order whatever I want to eat and that it is my right that I can sit at the same table as them as it is open to public, but I respect that it is their religion that pork is 'harem' so I don't order it.
I myself don't mind either...
but if got halal only cordon, must respect the cordon lah... but that's kinda a dumb idea, if food courts has halal and non-halal food, the idea of a cordon is redundant... besides, the red plate (non-halal), green plate (halal) system already good enough...
but if its a muslim restaurant, then its different case...
Originally posted by MohamedF:I myself don't mind either...
but if got halal only cordon, must respect the cordon lah... but that's kinda a dumb idea, if food courts has halal and non-halal food, the idea of a cordon is redundant... besides, the red plate (non-halal), green plate (halal) system already good enough...
but if its a muslim restaurant, then its different case...
so what do you think of the pricinpal's actions, really ? .... now that you know it's a whole canteen instead of only a cordoned of area ? ...
Hindus don't eat beef because the cow acts as a surrogate mother by providing milk to human beings.
Some people don't eat beef because buffalos till the paddy fields so that they have rice to eat.
I find these reasons very sensible. As for contamination of halal food with pork, duh.
Originally posted by Fatum:so what do you think of the pricinpal's actions, really ? .... now that you know it's a whole canteen instead of only a cordoned of area ? ...
multi racial school, 2pid idea...
but if muslim school, justifiable...
wah! not yet finish?
Nah! some more from that site. All argue somemore.
I'm all for religious freedom, but freedom cuts both ways. Just as you are allowed to practice what you believe in, I should be allowed to live as I deem fit too, as long as it doesn't infringe on someone else's rights.
The simple example of Burger King's Turkey bacon is a great example of infringing on someone's rights.
I don't believe any one religious group or another should have that right to impose their religious restrictions on everyone else like that.
Some people are vegetarian. Does that mean all meat products should be replaced with vegi substitues?
I believe Muslims are also allowed to eat in the same food court as people who eat pork.
How is that different from not eating beef in a foodcourt that serves beef?
Let me be clear now, I am 100% against boycotting Halal foodcourts. I'm not even against Islam in any way or form.
I just do not see why if other religious groups can be, and has to be, tolerant and not impose their beef/all meat products/etc restrictions on everyone else, the Muslim religion is allowed to impose their restrictions on the rest of us like this.
Simplistic view of the issue?
Well life is simple. But sometimes we think too much and make it complicated.
It all boils down to the same question. Would u be willing to give up pork for that one meal, so you can lunch with your Muslim colleague?
Muslims generally do not sit at the same table where there is pork served.
That is why we have seperate tables in the army remember?
Burger King has replaced bacon with Turkey bacon to tap the Muslim market. The Muslims did not ask for it. It's a commercial decision.
I'm happy for my muslim friends who can now eat burgers at BK with me. previously they can't.
It's not like I cannot eat bacon anymore. I can eat it anytime of the day. But I value time with my Muslims friends more, so much that I'm willing to give up pork for that just one meal.
That is why I support the idea of halal food courts. For that one meal I can now sit with them. It's not like I cannot eat non-halal food ever again.
Come on Singaporeans. Live and let's live.
We can have a 'halal' eating place provided there's a 'non-halal' next to it eg VivoCity.
The principal being a public servant has erred. Surely the taxpayers would like their kids to enjoy their char siew pow during recess, right?
In fact all animals are created and protected (during the great flood inside the Ark) by God. So why consume them in the first place.
So please spare poor cows, pigs, goats, chickens, etc.
Let's all be vegetarians. In case you don't know, poor Muslims avail themselves to the free vegetarian food served daily at the Chinese temples.
Por non-muslims help themselves to free halal food and porridge at the Darul aman Mosque too, amongst other mosques.
So what is the issue with halal food?
So you're a vegan. What is your shoe and wallet made of?
Jai, it's amazing how you just either completely miss the point, or are just too obstinate to admit you are wrong.
You conveniently avoid the points raised that you can't answer and stick to your one point that has been shot down so many times.
"Would you be WILLING to give up pork for one meal...". Is it really your will when that choice is taken from you?
"Muslims generally do not sit at the same table where there is pork served." - GENERALLY. So they can, they choose not to.
Do you know some vegans actually get nauseated by the thought of eating meat, let alone seeing someone else eat it?
Answer then, would you be WILLING to give up all meat cause there are vegans around? Is it still considered WILLING if all meat were to be removed from our menus?
Originally posted by MohamedF:multi racial school, 2pid idea...
but if muslim school, justifiable...
maybe you should read the whole case first before posting...
you dun seem to know that the whole canteen has been labelled a halal zone and that the school is a government school that caters to kids of all races....
hence, i dun see why this thread should continue when the TS seems to support the protest against converting the whole canteen to a halal one...
why Muslims dun eat pork?
Firstly, Allah has forbidden us from eating pork. Why? Because the pig is an animal that is disgusting and dirty. Pork is the root cause of numerous illnesses. The JE virus that had spread in our neighbouring countries started from two bacteria that had been mixed in the body of a pig. These bacteria had then become a germ that is dangerous to the human body. The bird flu virus in Hongkong also originated from the pig. Allah has warned us about the pig. And Allah has warned us about eating the meat of a pig. Clearly Allah forbids us from eating pork because He loves us. He made it haram for us because He knows it is bad for us.
by the way i cut and paste the above from a government approved MUIS sermon.
i dun eat pork cos pigs eat shit.
Originally posted by faroukalhadad:by the way i cut and paste the above from a government approved MUIS sermon.
http://www.savebabe.com/truth.php
Mad cow, poison in soil (veg bad), got some more. donno what, but got.
Eating koala also not haram (so if want to can eat koala) - http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080206061053AAJPbtk
Chicken also got eat shit. Actually when I baby, my mother say I also got eat shit. =(
Not trying to poke at you ok? Only say got religion believe cow sacred, got hear on tv one temple in India also say rat holy. Different people can not eat different thing for different reason.
Can believe what we want but can not make other people do things because we believe.
Originally posted by faroukalhadad:why Muslims dun eat pork?
Firstly, Allah has forbidden us from eating pork. Why? Because the pig is an animal that is disgusting and dirty. Pork is the root cause of numerous illnesses. The JE virus that had spread in our neighbouring countries started from two bacteria that had been mixed in the body of a pig. These bacteria had then become a germ that is dangerous to the human body. The bird flu virus in Hongkong also originated from the pig. Allah has warned us about the pig. And Allah has warned us about eating the meat of a pig. Clearly Allah forbids us from eating pork because He loves us. He made it haram for us because He knows it is bad for us.
God has a problem with intelligent animals? God has created them for humans to loathe them?
If pork is bad for us, so is other meat. We should go vegetarian. Look at your teeth. It's similar to herbivores. Human teeth are not designed to tear meat. We are designed to be herbivores.
Originally posted by faroukalhadad:by the way i cut and paste the above from a government approved MUIS sermon.
Is this line a little insulting to those who consume pork ? ![]()
Originally posted by googoomuck:God has a problem with intelligent animals? God has created them for humans to loathe them?
If pork is bad for us, so is other meat. We should go vegetarian. Look at your teeth. It's similar to herbivores. Human teeth are not designed to tear meat. We are designed to be herbivores.
That is their belief that is for them to follow. Don't try to be too clever.
I got no teeth also I will still eat hamburger.
I went to eat at a hawker centre and ate some minced pork noodles. The chinese uncle told me to bring his bowl & utensils back to his stall and I agreed. 'Cause he told me that the Muslims would throw away his bowls, plates, forks and spoons, cutlery, utensils whatever if both of their stalls' cutlery & utensils were on the same table. WTF?!
Absurd!
Originally posted by faroukalhadad:why Muslims dun eat pork?
haha. ya. Because the pig is an animal that is disgusting and dirty. Aren't you trying to indirectly say that the Chinese are disgusting and dirty somehow 'cause they consume pork?
Oh, so Jesus doesn't forbid us from eating pork because He doesn't love us Christians & Catholics?
SMLJ logic?!
F*ckin' kiao tor!
Sorry man, there's still some Chinese blood in me somehow although I'm not 100% Chinese.
zzz... see this thread... everything was going well until faroukalhadad post... ![]()