Originally posted by RatFink:
Bible also got say nothing created by God can be said dirty. Bible got say many things.You know how JI can go and kill people? They listen to other people who only read one or two line from Koran that help them support what they want to do and forget all the other part that go against what they want.
Which religion got tell you to go and kill? Got tell you to go out and make other people do what you think right. If they dont listen, you must force? If really got such religion you better check if started by God or the OTHER guy.
yesh.....these extremists have many times over forgotten that it is forbidden for a muslim to transgress and hurt others......
well the world is full of uncertainty anyways....wot if these extremists aren't really "muslims" they are just using islam as a veil to cover their true identity which is a world wide reorganisation organisation..........hmmmmm.........
to a certain extent i do see the truth in certain reasons regarding the twin tower incident.......like how it would cost more to modernise the twin tower rather than demolishing it and building a new one........etc.....hmmm.....
Originally posted by faroukalhadad:anyway the topic is straying. i dun intend this to be a religious debate:
i wanted to discuss the issue of eating together. of gelling together as one people of singapore.
and my original proposition was: wat's wrong with allowing halal food canteens, if it allows all of us to sit together?
thats was all
you still don't get it do you.... by having halal food canteens, you are imposing your values on a set of people who do not subscribe to your values... you are taking away the option for people to choose....
let's say i impose a rule that all our muslim brothers and sisters have to sit together with their chinese and indian bethren while eating in a non-halal setting, wouldn't you similarly make noise?
Bible also got say nothing created by God can be said dirty. Bible got say many things.You know how JI can go and kill people? They listen to other people who only read one or two line from Koran that help them support what they want to do and forget all the other part that go against what they want.
Which religion got tell you to go and kill? Got tell you to go out and make other people do what you think right. If they dont listen, you must force? If really got such religion you better check if started by God or the OTHER guy.
erm... let's be more fair... In history, Christians also killed and murdered others and forced them to be Christians.
Originally posted by eagle:erm... let's be more fair... In history, Christians also killed and murdered others and forced them to be Christians.
I said which religion, I don't say Islam. Using current events. Christians, Jews, Hindu, Islam, all religion teach to be peaceful. Always got some idiot inside that use one or two line from the teaching to support what funny thing they want to do.
TS is doing the same thing when he quote old text form bible to support him, but keep quite (or maybe donno) other text that dont support him.
Funny how come none of my 5 Malay colleagues ever complain when sharing the same table while I enjoy my mince pork noodle? But it does limit the places we can dine in, since the place must serve halal food. Even harder when wanting to chill out after work, since most pub sell alcohol.
Originally posted by EarlNeo:Funny how come none of my 5 Malay colleagues ever complain when sharing the same table while I enjoy my mince pork noodle? But it does limit the places we can dine in, since the place must serve halal food. Even harder when wanting to chill out after work, since most pub sell alcohol.
can drink coke also mah.......
hmmm.....
i also no problem with eating with people who eat pork on the same table........coz my best friend is a chinese and we tolerate each other even though many times over he try to tempt me to eat which i just laugh at......i also use his weakness which is egg coz he allergic to and hates eggs...wahahahaha
Btw what the Bible said about pork is in the old testimont but after the coming of Christ, they follow the new testimont.
And about pigs eating shit, that was what they were fed in the past due to poverty. For your info, fish these days in some parts of the world is fed human excretion also. Chicken is also fed shit in China, so what is it about pigs eating shit?
These days, pigs no longer eat shit and swill. They eat grains and kept very clean and nothing like those stinking dirty animals you see in the past.
These are all besides the point. The whole point is that must the principal of that school force his own beliefs and religion on everyone else.
It's kinda like he expects everyone who is not Muslim to respect his faith and rights, but does not do the same for the other races and religions.
Originally posted by Deino:can drink coke also mah.......
hmmm.....
i also no problem with eating with people who eat pork on the same table........coz my best friend is a chinese and we tolerate each other even though many times over he try to tempt me to eat which i just laugh at......i also use his weakness which is egg coz he allergic to and hates eggs...wahahahaha
I duno, they seem to avoid any place that sell alcohol like a plague. It is worse that pork. Doesn’t really matter, just narrow down the selection.
But back to the topic of this thread, I find that there is no need to fix what that isn’t broken, esp. one not even requested or asked. But then again, it is no different from the banning of chewing gum. Enforcing ones believes at the cost of non believers’ freedom and right doesn’t justify anything religious but rather more of a dictatorship. People do all sort of funny things, selfish or self impose wish in the name or religion. I wonder why is he a principle in the 1st place. I wouldnt allow my kids to study there even if they pay me for it.
Originally posted by elindra:...
These are all besides the point. The whole point is that must the principal of that school force his own beliefs and religion on everyone else.
It's kinda like he expects everyone who is not Muslim to respect his faith and rights, but does not do the same for the other races and religions.
This kinda hits the nail right on the head. Spot on.
There must be mutual respect and tolerance of the practices of different people so that people can co-exist peacefully.
Muslims should not impose their rules on non-muslims and vice-versa.
One area Halai, the other non Halai.
In Singapore we must balance mutual respect and tolerance of the practices of different people so that people can co-exist peacefully, this I agree, but this must again be balance with the integration of all sections of our society into the mainstream. Apartheid is not desirable. Although that is inherent in some cultures. Effort must be made to draw them away from exclusionism into intergation, for peaceful coexistence.
I hope Singapore will remain forever secular. I really don't like to have the mandatory beard that must be longer than the clenched fist. ![]()
Originally posted by faroukalhadad:The bible FORBIDS christians from eating pork actually.
look at this verse from the bible:
Leviticus Chapter 11
7 And the swine, though he divide the hoof, and be clovenfooted, yet he cheweth not the cud; he is unclean to you.pork is forbidden for the abrahamic religions including jhews
I hope Singapore will remain forever secular. I really don't like to have the mandatory beard that must be longer than the clenched fist.
Other people may like long beard. As long as it is not impose on everyone, that is okay with me. Sikh people keep long hair. Han people's traditional practice was to keep long hair also. This practice was lost under the manchu Qing regime who wanted to destroy the chinese identity so as to subjugate the chinese realm.
Those who oppose and wanted to resist the Qing rule by refusing to shave had their heads cut off.
My worry now is the destruction of chinese culture under this PAP regime.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:IMy worry now is the destruction of chinese culture under this PAP regime.
I am more disturbed by the fact that in yesterday's ST, LKY said that maybe in the near future, our national anthem might not be Majulah Singapura.
I am muslim, I dun mind eating at a table with other ppl eating pork. As long as they dun put the pork on my food can oready liao. There's is no and shouldnt be any issue regarding this.
TS, u must be the really really fanatic muslim. Keep it to urself. Dun IMPOSE on others that's not a muslim(Its not fair). Put urself in the opposite situations shoe. If u cant tolerate and understand s'pore's multi-religioness, go to m'sia were majority islam. Happy?
I am more disturbed by the fact that in yesterday's ST, LKY said that maybe in the near future, our national anthem might not be Majulah Singapura.
Really? I didn't know about that. It doesn't matter since he will be dead by then.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:I am more disturbed by the fact that in yesterday's ST, LKY said that maybe in the near future, our national anthem might not be Majulah Singapura.
Really? I didn't know about that. It doesn't matter since he will be dead by then.
That is not the point lor
I bet there is a 100 year plan written out by him to be carried out or else :P
Anyway this is out of topic :P
Back to the topic now, I certainly hope that Singapore will not go the way Malaysia has gone to where there are so much unseen racial tensions
The book of Leviticus is from the Old Testament, the Jewish Torah. The Jews too do not take pork and also non-kosher (non-halal) food.
The Christians leans more to the New Tastament, and the teachings of Jesus the Christ.
Matthew 15:10-20
And he called the people to him and said to them,"Hear and understand: not what goes into the mouth defiles a man, but what comes out of the mouth, this defiles a man."
Do you know that the Pharisees were offended when they heard this saying?"
He answered, "Every plant which my heavenly Father has not planted will be rooted up. Let them alone; They are blind guides, And if a blind man leads a blind man, both will fall into a pit." But Peter said to him, "Explain the parable to us."
And He said, " Are you also still without understanding? Do you not see that whatever goes into the mouth passes into the stomach, and so passess on? But what comes out of the mouth proceeds from the heart, and this defiles a man. For out of the heart comes evil thoughts, murder, adultery, fornication, theft, false witness, slander. These are what defile a man; but to eat with unwashed hands does not defile a man."
I bet there is a 100 year plan written out by him to be carried out or else :P
That old fucker can dream on.
Mao Zedong also did not prevent changes in China after his death.
Without fail, the trolls in SC can turn any topic into a PAP bashing session. I have said so, in my previous post elsewhere in SC.
Originally posted by mancha:
Without fail, the trolls in SC can turn any topic into a PAP bashing session. I have said so, in my previous post elsewhere in SC.
There just goes to show how much ppl hate about them. Even when they are doing a good job compare to others. hahaha.... Sometime, i wonder why the PAP keep slaping themselves in the face. It seem like whenever they thing done correctly but always cant help screwing up the end game.
Back to the topic now, I certainly hope that Singapore will not go the way Malaysia has gone to where there are so much unseen racial tensions
unfortunately elindra, there have been, are, and will always be unseen racial tensions in Singapore, be it subconsciously or implicitly. racial discrimination comes in many forms. hence, most of us just live with it and try to work our way around it.
pork or no pork, this is how many thousand years ago, now is what age? do we still have to follow the rule laid down ?
muslim and christian follow the old testament until they branch out 500 years ago. We are a free society, no big deal eating together, be it halal or non halal, these are all created by mankind. Anything dirty and not prayed is considered non halal including chicken or goat, not necessary pork
That is their belief that is for them to follow. Don't try to be too clever.I got no teeth also I will still eat hamburger.
..and I admire people who are smart. Not smart aleck though.
Originally posted by faroukalhadad:A principal of a primary school in Singapore incited enmity in the online world not too long ago. His felony: dictating that non-Halal food should not be allowed in his school canteen. Several netizens responded in anger at the news and vowed to boycott all eating outlets with a Halal sign on it.
Is Halal food dividing us?http://muhammad-ridzwan.blogspot.com/2008/03/halal-food-unites-or-divides.html