Originally posted by t_a_s:pork or no pork, this is how many thousand years ago, now is what age? do we still have to follow the rule laid down ?
muslim and christian follow the old testament until they branch out 500 years ago. We are a free society, no big deal eating together, be it halal or non halal, these are all created by mankind. Anything dirty and not prayed is considered non halal including chicken or goat, not necessary pork
actually it is not "not prayed" but anything that is sacrificed under any other god's name
Originally posted by faroukalhadad:when u eat non-halal food, by right muslims are not allowed to sit at the same table.
do refer to the link above. this is due to concerns over cross contamination and the smell of pork.
that is why i bring up the question. which is more important to you, eating pork, and being able to sit with ur muslim friends.
fortunately they now have all halal food courts like banquet.
but some are calling to boycott them
That is nonsense. Who are you to say that muslims cannot sit on the same table with their friends when they are eating non halal food? The smell of pork causes contamination? If thats the case are you suggesting that muslims cannot work in the wet market as well? Or should I take your logic further and say that muslima shld not stay at areas located near to wet market or non hala eateries?
Originally posted by faroukalhadad:why Muslims dun eat pork?
Firstly, Allah has forbidden us from eating pork. Why? Because the pig is an animal that is disgusting and dirty. Pork is the root cause of numerous illnesses. The JE virus that had spread in our neighbouring countries started from two bacteria that had been mixed in the body of a pig. These bacteria had then become a germ that is dangerous to the human body. The bird flu virus in Hongkong also originated from the pig. Allah has warned us about the pig. And Allah has warned us about eating the meat of a pig. Clearly Allah forbids us from eating pork because He loves us. He made it haram for us because He knows it is bad for us.
You are talking nonsense. If you are in a desert and you are dying of hunger, and the only food infront of you is Pork, you would eat it also right?
You should become a vegetarian, since there is bird flu for chickens mad cow disease for beefs and Hepatitis for crustaceans
Originally posted by faroukalhadad:by the way i cut and paste the above from a government approved MUIS sermon.
i dun eat pork cos pigs eat shit.
Chicken and cows eat shit too.
Wah... This thread got so much dust on it....
Originally posted by faroukalhadad:why Muslims dun eat pork?
Firstly, Allah has forbidden us from eating pork. Why? Because the pig is an animal that is disgusting and dirty. Pork is the root cause of numerous illnesses. The JE virus that had spread in our neighbouring countries started from two bacteria that had been mixed in the body of a pig. These bacteria had then become a germ that is dangerous to the human body. The bird flu virus in Hongkong also originated from the pig. Allah has warned us about the pig. And Allah has warned us about eating the meat of a pig. Clearly Allah forbids us from eating pork because He loves us. He made it haram for us because He knows it is bad for us.
... this is quite a common excuse.... had a Arab colleague who told me the same thing... then he went out and light a cigarette...
obviously smoking is OK because Allah never spoke about it.... so kenna pork poison and die is no good, but lung cancer is probably ok..... which is why there are so many Muslim smokers.
my muslim fren just tell me it is because the holy book say cannot eat pork, then cannot eat lor
I asked many muslim frens the reason, but no one really knows...
Originally posted by eagle:my muslim fren just tell me it is because the holy book say cannot eat pork, then cannot eat lor
the quran followed the jewish's torah.. which disallow eating shellfish and pork as there were no refrigeration concept then and chance of food poisoning is extremely high. just like the ostracization of the lepers, to prevent infection to others.
that is the problem with religions.. people follow it blindly.
NINGI, Nigeria, May 19 (Compass Direct News) – Islamists under the auspices of a paramilitary force last week destroyed six churches to protest a police rescue of two teenage Christian girls kidnapped by Muslims in this Bauchi state town. Police recovered the two Christian girls, Mary Chikwodi Okoye, 15, and Uche Edward, 14, on May 12 after Muslims in Ningi kidnapped them three weeks ago in an attempt to expand Islam by marrying them to Muslim men. Police took the two girls, who had been under foster care, to safety in southeastern Nigeria where their biological parents live. The kidnappers had taken the girls to Wudil town in Kano state. Following the rescue of the girls, Muslims under the Hisbah Command, a paramilitary arm of Kano state’s Sharia Commission, went on a rampage on Tuesday (May 13), attacking Christians and setting fire to the churches. Joseph Abdu, pastor of the Deeper Life church, told Compass that damages to his church property amounted to about 13 million naira (US$112,857) – and that his congregation had shrunk to 40 people from the 130 who attended before the attack. Muslims have kidnapped at least 13 Christian girls in the town, Christian sources said.
Originally posted by eagle:my muslim fren just tell me it is because the holy book say cannot eat pork, then cannot eat lor
To the TS,
There are many many things that divide people in this world.
Example1, religions.
There are some from one religion who would not or could not be allowed to marry someone of another religion.
I cannot say this is bad or good. Just saying the facts.
Example2, race.
Due to racial practise, people are generally only allowed to marry someone from the same race.
Example3, culture.
Some parents from one culture forbid their son's / daughters from marrying or marrying to people from other culture.
Example4, class/social status.
self-explanatory.
so no need be so shocked. there are many things that divide the society.
faroukalhadad even support the call to have Halal toilets to widen the division between people. ![]()
His halal toilets thread was locked. I started a thread Toilet Protocol and it was moved to the Toilet forum.
Here a few of the protocols for your perusal.
Say
before entering the toilet: In the name of Allah, O Allah! I seek refuge
with You from all offensive and wicked things
One should enter the toilet with the left foot and leave
with the right foot.
When leaving the toilet one should also say a prayer, "Praise be to Allah who relieved me of the filth and gave me relief."
yesh.
their kang kong cheep & gd wat.
y cant they juz stik to their malay stalls.
for wat they kip on invadin our territories.
me dun tink allah got teech dem to eat until so fancifully.
oly when we 井水�犯河水 den we can co-exist peacefully.
Originally posted by faroukalhadad:which is more important to you?
eating your pork, or being able to eat with ur muslim friends?
wise & pious muslims do not mind eben if u were to eat pork in front of dem.
so pls get ur islamic teechins clear & cut ur crap ok.
Before we sling more mud, so rem, the more you sling, the more your own hands get dirty also.
bottomline, we are a multi-racial country and I am proud of that.
The fact that I can eat with my malay friends, and they don't mind me eating what I enjoy, speak volumes. In addition, I only use the utensils from the halal store to eat halal food. if I were to eat something else, I use another set of utensils.
Why so much effort? Just simple common sense and respect.
I believe what the principal did was out of line and it was corrected. So let's put a full stop there.
Given how tense the situation is, I believe most mature people will know how to look at the bigger picture.
TS, I believe you do have your points too, but since we are in this society, let's just be sensitive to people's needs. Trust me, you won't lose an arm or leg. In turn, you may get to enjoy some great food and company.
After race issues,probably.
To Ang Mo Kio who posted the news from Compass Direct
Please do not post such deragotory articles about Islam from KNOWN-to-biased news sources. I trust you have more dignity than that. I can also post news sources biased towards my course.
From wikipedia:
Compass Direct News is a Christian news agency founded in 1996 (sic)
im not here to sling mud. but probaly because of my name, my suggestions have been seen to raise religious sentiments here.
what im here is to show you the inevitable - Muslims are increasing in number - look around you do u see fast food restaurants going Halal? all putting up the arabic sticker by MUIS to signify that they are a halal premise? and there are more to come, coffee bean, subway fish and co ect are all also gg halal?
what im suggesting is no different from wat the govt suggested not too long ago with the HalMQ programme- that is to make halal food the benchmark for food hygiene that ppl from all races and religions will enjoy. if the govt believes in it, why can we make halal food the benchmark then?
Personally I don't mind having halal food in school. It is still food.
If I want pork, I can always go outside the canteen and eat in other eatery or non-halal food outlet elsewhere.
I think, if we want others to be sensitive to our beliefs, we should first be sensitive to other people's beliefs.
Faroukalhadad,
I'm pretty sure you are not a muslim. If you are one, obviously you don't really know much about your own religion.
Anyway, please don't pretend to be a muslim and cause trouble.
Originally posted by faroukalhadad:im not here to sling mud. but probaly because of my name, my suggestions have been seen to raise religious sentiments here.
what im here is to show you the inevitable - Muslims are increasing in number - look around you do u see fast food restaurants going Halal? all putting up the arabic sticker by MUIS to signify that they are a halal premise? and there are more to come, coffee bean, subway fish and co ect are all also gg halal?
what im suggesting is no different from wat the govt suggested not too long ago with the HalMQ programme- that is to make halal food the benchmark for food hygiene that ppl from all races and religions will enjoy. if the govt believes in it, why can we make halal food the benchmark then?
so?
u wan dominate the country, u go msia lah u.
so.. will you reject the notes and coins i got as change from the pork butcher?
I can only find in the Koran that Muslims are forbidden to eat pork
Pls point out to me where can I find in the Koran that Muslims cannot smell or touch pork as well.
Originally posted by elindra:I can only find in the Koran that Muslims are forbidden to eat pork
Pls point out to me where can I find in the Koran that Muslims cannot smell or touch pork as well.
Perhaps you can find it in the hadiths.
You should ask your fellow muslims where they get the notion that they can't touch pork and how pork can contaminate other food when it is put in the fridge.
Can the air we breathe contaminate halal food?
In other words, there is no sure way to ascertain that the food is halal. ![]()
Originally posted by faroukalhadad:To Ang Mo Kio who posted the news from Compass Direct
Please do not post such deragotory articles about Islam from KNOWN-to-biased news sources. I trust you have more dignity than that. I can also post news sources biased towards my course.
From wikipedia:
Compass Direct News is a Christian news agency founded in 1996 (sic)
That's misleading. Since muslims divide the people as muslims and infidels, the infedels are still much greater in number.
Christians form about 33% of the world's population - the largest religion in the world.