Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Wow, I think you'll end up like this guy, but you are already quite there:
At the very least bother to spell your T-Shirt properly and use something other then microsoft paint to design it
i copy and edit from this Great Salesman of Spore
http://www.singaporedemocrat.org/
2.Uncle VG Sg
Question: If Singapore education standards so world class, why ppl go Havard, MIT, Yale. They can always go to NUS, just as good what.
In any case, hloc care to put the money where your mouth is?
SG is good.But the above is better!!
Originally posted by lionnoisy:i copy and edit from this Great Salesman of Spore
http://www.singaporedemocrat.org/
2.Uncle VG Sg
SG is good.But the above is better!!
It seems that copying and "editing" is the only thing you are good at in here. And your edit of the t-shirt was not only uncreative and not original, it was pretty banal.
You say SG education is good... then what happen to your english and creative skills? ![]()
most americans dont make it to their ivy league universities.
ivy league universities, in turn, does not mean the mass population's educational standard is high.
dont forget that in america, 10 to 15% possess the wealth equivalent to the rest added up together.
from this perspective, ivy league universities reflect what is going on in their society. the rich are super rich and the poor are super poor. the quality of their top universities is very high and most of the rest for the population is less than average.
in singapore, the general educational standards for the population are much higher while the best university like NUS or NTU might not be very best in the world.
what is 'the' time?
want to appear in Time,AsiaWeek,
stay close to CSJ!!
got go or not?
got wear red tee or not?
got ang cha or not?
got sell drinks, kway chee, curry pok or not?
got sell potong ice-cream or walls ice-cream or not
Free Story
March 15, 2008
10 arrested for protesting against rising prices SINGAPORE police on Saturday
SINGAPORE police on Saturday arrested 10 people for holding a rally without a permit to protest against rising living costs, witnesses said.
Leading pro-democracy activist Chee Soon Juan was among the group who were bundled into police vans after plainclothes officers stopped them in front of a shopping mall in the business district, an AFP reporter and photographer said.
Chee is the leader of the Singapore Democratic Party, one of a handful of opposition parties in the city-state, which has been ruled by the People's Action Party since 1959.
About 18 protesters, including children, had earlier gathered outside parliament where they symbolically laid groceries on a sidewalk.
The police then stopped them just minutes after setting off for the Orchard Road shopping area, where they had planned another protest.
They wore red t-shirts with the words 'we cannot take it anymore' while others carried placards denouncing rising prices.
The 10 were arrested after ignoring police calls to disperse and lay down their placards, the witnesses said. Chee's activist sister was also apprehended.
Singapore, scarred by racial riots in the 1960s, has strict laws against public assembly, which require a police permit for a gathering of five or more people. -- AFP
Originally posted by googoomuck:Free Story
March 15, 2008
10 arrested for protesting against rising prices SINGAPORE police on Saturday
SINGAPORE police on Saturday arrested 10 people for holding a rally without a permit to protest against rising living costs, witnesses said.
Leading pro-democracy activist Chee Soon Juan was among the group who were bundled into police vans after plainclothes officers stopped them in front of a shopping mall in the business district, an AFP reporter and photographer said.
Chee is the leader of the Singapore Democratic Party, one of a handful of opposition parties in the city-state, which has been ruled by the People's Action Party since 1959.
About 18 protesters, including children, had earlier gathered outside parliament where they symbolically laid groceries on a sidewalk.
The police then stopped them just minutes after setting off for the Orchard Road shopping area, where they had planned another protest.
They wore red t-shirts with the words 'we cannot take it anymore' while others carried placards denouncing rising prices.
<!-- show media links starting at 7th para --> The 10 were arrested after ignoring police calls to disperse and lay down their placards, the witnesses said. Chee's activist sister was also apprehended.
Singapore, scarred by racial riots in the 1960s, has strict laws against public assembly, which require a police permit for a gathering of five or more people. -- AFP
<!-- end of foreach --> <!-- story content : end --> <!-- Current Ratings : start --> <!-- Current Ratings : end --> <!-- vbbintegration : start --> <!-- vbbintegration : end --> <!-- dennis change request 20070424 : start -->
<!---Google ad - Start : Sat, 15 Mar 2008 17:31:25:869---> <!-- AdSpace STI Google ad tag -->
<!-- end of foreach --> <!-- story content : end --> <!-- Current Ratings : start --> <!-- Current Ratings : end --> <!-- vbbintegration : start --> <!-- vbbintegration : end --> <!-- dennis change request 20070424 : start -->
<!---Google ad - Start : Sat, 15 Mar 2008 17:31:25:869---> <!-- AdSpace STI Google ad tag -->
I mean..if Chee can't take it anymore, how about finding a job to defray some costs
..bloody hell..take kids go protest....
solid man
Ever wonder how the HELL he made a living..... ![]()
We know that Minister and MPs are sucking us dry...... but Who/What is supporting CJS ![]()
Who/What is paying for his lawsuit/living/housing/spending.... etc. Selling his books at roadside doesn't paid so well...... so, where is the MONEY coming from ![]()
maybe he is on someoone's payroll and his job is to hold regular protests and to be improsoned. His performance is benchmarked to how many times he is in jail per year and how often he appears on youtube video.
Hmm...I dont know if there is indeed a cause for a protest or a demonstration on this issue, the issue of rising prices....
From what I read, it seems that there is a price increase in many commodities throughout the world.....oil prices, food prices, and so on...
Im not sure that this is something specific to Singapore, or something that is specifically caused by some government policy in Singapore....
It seem to affect many countries...
So....I dont know if SDP in this case has chosen the wrong topic, or should I say, not really relevant, to target their demonstration to the government of Singapore, as if the government has the ability or the power to fix it.......if it did, I think the government would have done it already....
I think in terms of economic issue...some other things maybe are relevant and related to government policy...for instace, asking for greater transparency on the Temasek, or CPF, or GIC, and so on.
But protesting on higher commodity prices....Im not sure this is something relevant....it's not like the government is controlling it. It's the market mechanism, right?
So....ok....not sure about this......
Meat Pao.
Originally posted by Daddy!!:maybe he is on someoone's payroll and his job is to hold regular protests and to be improsoned. His performance is benchmarked to how many times he is in jail per year and how often he appears on youtube video.
Actually CSJ is proof that Singapore is not as bad as the overseas critics think it is. Any othere regime he would be hung upside down, in basement of a detention centre.
Reuters
"Several Singapore opposition party members were arrested on Saturday after a rare protest outside the city-state's parliament house led to a tense standoff with police.
About 20 protesters wearing red T-shirts that said "Tak Boleh Tahan" - which means "cannot take it" in Bahasa Malay - gathered outside parliament house, holding placards and shouting slogans decrying the rising cost of living in Singapore.
Protests in Singapore are rare and an assembly of five or more people requires a permit from the police.
Chee Soon Juan, leader of the Singapore Democratic Party, and several protesters were arrested outside a nearby shopping mall as they attempted to stage a rally walk from parliament house.
"We want to draw attention to these unbearable price hikes," said Chee in front of the parliament house. "Our objective is to continue to encourage Singaporeans to speak up."
Singapore's annual inflation rate hit a 25-year high of 6.6 percent in January with food prices rising 5.8 percent in that month from a year earlier.
The police could not immediately confirm how many people were arrested on Saturday or what they were charged with.
According to a Reuters witness, about 10 plain clothes police surrounded the protesters outside a shopping mall and arrested them after a tense 15-minute standoff that drew crowds of curious onlookers and tourists.
Singapore defends its strict laws on public assembly citing the need for public order and safety."
Get arrested for peaceful protest.Welcome to Singapore Inc.
Originally posted by mancha:Actually CSJ is proof that Singapore is not as bad as the overseas critics think it is. Any othere regime he would be hung upside down, in basement of a detention centre.
That's because our regime doesn't view him as a potential threat to their continued political hegemony.
They did alot of bad publicity about Chee Soon Juan on the media, his reputation is tarnished.
If he was as prominent as Francis Seow, long long ago under ISA.
Originally posted by Meat Pao:Hmm...I dont know if there is indeed a cause for a protest or a demonstration on this issue, the issue of rising prices....
From what I read, it seems that there is a price increase in many commodities throughout the world.....oil prices, food prices, and so on...
Im not sure that this is something specific to Singapore, or something that is specifically caused by some government policy in Singapore....
It seem to affect many countries...
So....I dont know if SDP in this case has chosen the wrong topic, or should I say, not really relevant, to target their demonstration to the government of Singapore, as if the government has the ability or the power to fix it.......if it did, I think the government would have done it already....
I think in terms of economic issue...some other things maybe are relevant and related to government policy...for instace, asking for greater transparency on the Temasek, or CPF, or GIC, and so on.
But protesting on higher commodity prices....Im not sure this is something relevant....it's not like the government is controlling it. It's the market mechanism, right?
So....ok....not sure about this......
Meat Pao.
GST played a part too.
You can't view rising prices per se, it could also be due to lowering of income due to more foreign talents.
If your income is lower, the cost of everything will go up.
"Actually CSJ is proof that Singapore is not as bad as the overseas critics think it is. Any othere regime he would be hung upside down, in basement of a detention centre."
Remember Francis Seow? Victim of the PAP regime in the 80s?
"They did alot of bad publicity about Chee Soon Juan on the media, his reputation is tarnished."
And the people believed them. Chinese are like cowardly sheep; and now the Malays have democracy and the freedom to have dissenting views.
"maybe he is on someoone's payroll and his job is to hold regular protests and to be improsoned"
Daddy! etc would know - their payroll is benchmarked to the number of pro-PAP posts.
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:"maybe he is on someoone's payroll and his job is to hold regular protests and to be improsoned"
Daddy! etc would know - their payroll is benchmarked to the number of pro-PAP posts.
hehehe