Seismic shock of Malaysian GE holds a lesson for S'pore
Mon, Mar 10, 2008
The Straits Times
I READ with shock that Malaysia's ruling coalition Barisan Nasional (BN) lost four states as well as its two-thirds majority in Parliament and can rule only with a simple majority.
Last Saturday's general election saw veteran ministers such as Malaysian Indian Congress chief Samy Vellu, who was works minister, fall like ninepins. Clearly, it signalled that the Malaysian ground was extremely dissatisfied with the way the government was running the country.
The surprise setback faced by the BN coalition holds a lesson for Singapore. Democracy's tool, the vote, is powerful and swift. A government, chosen by its people, must stay in touch with the ground.
An incumbent who holds power for too long may also turn complacent, unreceptive to new ideas.
The people's concerns, especially in a fast-paced and competitive world, need to be uppermost in the politician's mind. If not, the government runs the risk of becoming too alienated and distant. Such a government runs a huge risk of losing out when it comes to the ballot box.
I am glad our Government is trying its best to stay in touch with the ground. Sweeping changes to welfare schemes, to help the needy, are already taking place.
Still, the rising cost of living must be tackled. In this respect, the effect of means testing must be monitored. All Singaporeans must be assured they will receive affordable medical treatment.
The concerns of many low- and middle-income Singaporeans must be eased or there will be similar pressures in the next election.
Gilbert Goh Keow Wah
dun worry.. with the GRC and walkovers, and ang pows, 1 dollar abalone porridge, mee siam mai hum......it'll never happen here..
It might not happen here. Reasons?
Malaysia still carved into Malay, Chinese, Indian enclaves.
Given the right recipe and it is a situation waiting to happen. All it takes is the two the unhappy minorities groups to turn the tide on BN.
Our god, PAP already calculated this and taken steps to ensure racial spread.
Also, with their KS attitude, they also taken an additional step to cover their backsides. Dishing out citizenship to grateful third world souls in exchange for vote loyalty.
Anything is possible
Malaysia doesn't give out goodies before an election mah. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Malaysia doesn't give out goodies before an election mah.
PAP hegemony in Singapore must end.
They are taking things for granted.
We shall see in the next few years.
IMO, i cant see that happening in SG in these few years. As alot of us know, all the estate are evenly distributed to ensure the race of the residents do not go out of ratio. that is how they control the dmg done during election.
unless the walk-over can be overthrown... else how to have a real election?![]()
Lee Kuan Yew must exit the Singapore political arena before politics can change in Singapore.
If he stays, there will be no change.
Lee Kuan Yew must go.
LKY, the rock and epicenter of sinkapore politics.
I just wonder whether whether DAP has any relationship with PAP (besides historical reasons) especially since they both advocate a "Malaysian Malaysia' and not a "Malay Malaysia".
While Malaysia is a close neighbour, it may not entirely be so that what occurred there will be here wholesale.
Even opposition members in Malaysia see Singapore differently from their situation.
A couple of experiences:
1) Years ago, a DAPSY member told me that he saw less issues to pick on in Singapore than in Malaysia.
2) Recently, a DAP veteran of 30 years, in a discussion on Singapore politics, told me that he saw some opposition members whom I shall not name, were "wei fan er fan" - translated, is the oft-sung mantra of PAP - "oppose to oppose".
Regards
Originally posted by wilsonhao:Anything is possible
I agree. X2. Wahaha. ![]()
If Malaysia boleh then Singapore oso can -Both Truly Asia!!!
As long as people continue to vote base on whether they get upgrading or not, we will never see something like this in Singapore. When will we realise that all these upgrading/money given to us, the government will find ways to take back. eg. GST up, ERP up, conservancy charges up etc. etc.
Originally posted by holygoh:As long as people continue to vote base on whether they get upgrading or not, we will never see something like this in Singapore. When will we realise that all these upgrading/money given to us, the government will find ways to take back. eg. GST up, ERP up, conservancy charges up etc. etc.
singaporean only can see small money.....cannt figure what is big money.....enjoy 1st, worry later.
that's why Courts biz is so gd.... ![]()
Originally posted by baby hunter:
singaporean only can see small money.....cannt figure what is big money.....enjoy 1st, worry later.that's why Courts biz is so gd....
same goes for Americans and people of other countries
Originally posted by eagle:same goes for Americans and people of other countries
too bad....some malaysia BN dunno...that y they lost the election.. ![]()
Ministers over the age 70 should give way to younger candidates, else, they will do a Samy Vellu. Imagine minsters and deputy in malaysia can lose elections, over here they can be voted out also, it is not impossible
Originally posted by ^tamago^:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=inGjsUbeBFI
and there's many more exciting and fiery speeches in there!
Watch Video no 5 onwards
It is certainly exciting to see the alteration in the political landscape, but to judge if it was indeed the best course for Malaysians, I think it is just too premature to tell at this moment. For the most part, it involves loosely knitted alliances of conveniance, the ones known to bring governments apart throughout the world, but at the same time giving the opposition the ample opportunity to proof themselves as a capable standard bearers. We shall see.