Originally posted by baby hunter:
is no longer a public transportis a must transport to make public money.....large sum of money
if it is not even able to cover its cost like wat your suggested of raising wages w/o raising fares, I tell you we're going to be like Malaysia
Govt buy back co at high price... Like MAS, used RM8 per share to nationalise it when the share price back then was just RM4
Originally posted by weiqimun:if this chinamen drives like they are in china, then we are just waiting for accident to happen.
we should also tell the gahmen tt they are getting too expensive and we are replacing them with the chinese premier and his team. they run a country wif a billion ppl and surely they will kick butt in a small city like sinkapore. and they will cost only a quarter of what these current crop are charging.
how about that?
do you know wat it takes to get a Class 4A license?
anyway, criticise tis when bus packed... get more drivers from overseas because locals shun it criticise tat are these ppl qualified
I tell your, no one wants to drive a bus anymore le
speaking of which... PSA Singapore has been employing lots of foreign workers as crane operators or the semi fab plants getting Malaysian workers... It's the same case as w/ SBS, it's all shift work
o No politician, so PAP turns to China
By Mandy Tin
March 11, 2008
FEWER Singaporeans want to go into politics.
So PAP has hired its first batch of 20 politicians from China.
The party confirmed that the new Chinese young bloods have been sourced from its subsidiary party in China, and it is in the process of bringing them in.
It also said that a two-term attachment has been worked out for these politicians.
The Newer Paper checked with the company after reader Pauli Antony Fernandez, a security project officer, 42, called us on hearing of the employment of the Chinese politicians.
He asked: 'Isn't this a total contradiction to our Government policy of providing our politicians with employment and bringing down the unemployment rate?'
In an e-mail reply to The Newer Paper, Ms Timid Tan, PAP's corporate communications director, said that over the years, the party has found it increasingly difficult to get people to join the profession.
It does not help that the demand for politician is growing as more constituencies are rolled out.
Even the PAP New Politician Orientation Scheme, launched in 2005, has lost its shine.
That year, enhanced salary structures drove a politician’s basic entry salary up from $10,000 to $12,000 per month for Singaporeans.
Politicians also became known as people leader, providing an essential service.
PAP then announced that it received three times more job applications from Singaporeans in the first month of the scheme's inception, three times more than the previous average of 60 applications a month. But most did not meet the high entry level standards. They include:
1. You must be a Rafflesians, St. Josephians or ACS old boy
2. Oxcam preferred, but not critical
But now, it seems that FT from China may be the way to go.
Ms Tan said: 'Thanks to a recent relaxation by the Ministry of Manpower on non-traditional sources of manpower, we are now looking at supplementing our current politician pool with those from China.'
Are Singaporeans apprehensive about Chinese politicians serving the people? Or is a foreigner politician willingness to accept lower wages then their Singaporean peers?
PAP now has 5,200 wanna-be politicians under its wing - 100 per cent of whom are Singaporeans. Some were Malaysians but they are quitted Malaysia to be Singaporeans. These Malaysians have been decried by the Malaysia Malaysian Chinese for greed.
The average gross salary for most is about $12,00 a month, excluding an annual wage supplement and bonuses, or other political appointments.
The company said that the new Chinese politician’s salaries have not been decided.
'We are still in the process of negotiating the terms,' Ms Tan said.
Mr Fernandez feels that PAP has found the easy way out.
The concerned citizen spoke to more than 10 politicians during his Meet the People sessions, and concluded that better work welfare can solve the employment problem.
Mr Fernandez said: 'Upon hearing their woes, I feel the turnover rate can be reduced and good employers retained if better work welfare is provided. Just pay them a lot more!'
Politicians work six days a week, including officiating opening ceremony and walk about sessions. On average, they clock three hours a day.
Ms Tan said that 52 per cent of a work day is spent on breaks in between work.
But traffic congestion often deprives politicians of that rest period.
Mr Fernandez said: Politicians have told me that when they are held up by bad traffic, they return back to Parliament House later than scheduled and their rest times are shortened.
'While at Parliament House, I saw a politician drive his Bentley into the reserved lot, run to the toilet, clocked in and out, and in less than five minutes, he was back in the driver's seat preparing for his next joint. F1 would have been proud.
'When I met him, I asked him why he did not take a drink or a meal.
'He replied, 'No choice, due to adverse traffic conditions. And LKY will get mad'.'
Politicians have to begin their next assignment fairly quickly to minimise further inconvenience caused to electorate, like waiting for their lifts to be fixed.
BAD TRAFFIC SHORTENS BREAKS
PAP acknowledged this problem.
Ms Tan said: 'In cases of extreme traffic congestion, where these 5 litre cars are caught in a bad jam, politicians do return to the Parliament House very late, thus affecting their work commitments.'
She added: 'This is one of the many challenges that we deal with in our running of the country and we appreciate the dedication of our politicians.'
PAP said that the Chinese New Year celebrations at Chinatown last month caused a traffic build-up, from Eu Tong Sen Street tailing to North Bridge Road on some days.
MPs arrived at the New Parliament House late, some by as much as 45 minutes, it said.
Mr Fernandez's parting shot: `Politicians are also ordinary human beings like all of us, who need ample rest to recharge and be alert and stay healthy while on service.
'Please look into this management area first, like doubling their pay before looking for other solutions.'
As for jam which eat up driver's break
Tat this Loyang Ave fatal accident as one good example... buses end up has to be diverted and delayed because of jam
at another point, passengers are ranting why are the buses late terribly... if everyone can be understanding and when the buses come move in and try to squeeze, there would be less of a problem
Even at tis hour, some bus svs are still delayed in schedule
Obviously the wages they pay are not good enough to attract Singaporeans to be bus drivers.
Shouldn't they have at least increase the wages to attract Singaporeans, instead of maintaining
the low wages and sourcing for lower wages bus drivers from China.
The extra cost savings they earn will not be passed on to the consumers, they will be credited
to the company's account as extra profits.
While at the same time, not fogetting that this will also increase the Gini Coefficient, because it
is going to promote more wage discrepancy between the high income and low income.
Instead of increasing the wages for bus drivers so that they could entice more Singaporeans.
This way, the lower wage bus drivers will get paid more, thereby decreasing the wage
difference (Gini Coefficient).
With such issues playing out in our local industry, I have no doubt that the Gini Coefficient will
increase substantially over the next few years. i.e. if the Gini Coefficient is reported honestly
and free from bias and manipulation.
wait
according to some people i've met here on the forums, the bus drivers should be proud of their contribution to the society as a whole. The knowledge that they get people around the country should be enough compensation.
Pay raises will just make them feel dirty and cheap.
Originally posted by 333225520:You think Singapore only has poly and degree holders? What about those less educated ones? SBS Transit should do more to attach people in this area.
In the article, didn't it mentioned that after some previous attempt, "SBS Transit then announced that it received three times more job applications from Singaporeans in the first month of the scheme's inception, three times more than the previous average of 60 applications a month."? This show that Singaporean and PR are still willing to take up the job.
As pointed out by Mr Fernandez, the management should look into improving the welfare of its employee before looking oversea.
I think there is some serious cover up for the government to take cheaper labour.
Originally posted by deathbait:wait
according to some people i've met here on the forums, the bus drivers should be proud of their contribution to the society as a whole. The knowledge that they get people around the country should be enough compensation.
Maybe you should apply what you just said to the Ministers and their astronomical salary?
Originally posted by weiqimun:o No politician, so PAP turns to China
By Mandy Tin
March 11, 2008
FEWER Singaporeans want to go into politics.
So PAP has hired its first batch of 20 politicians from China.The party confirmed that the new Chinese young bloods have been sourced from its subsidiary party in China, and it is in the process of bringing them in.
It also said that a two-term attachment has been worked out for these politicians.
The Newer Paper checked with the company after reader Pauli Antony Fernandez, a security project officer, 42, called us on hearing of the employment of the Chinese politicians.
He asked: 'Isn't this a total contradiction to our Government policy of providing our politicians with employment and bringing down the unemployment rate?'
In an e-mail reply to The Newer Paper, Ms Timid Tan, PAP's corporate communications director, said that over the years, the party has found it increasingly difficult to get people to join the profession.
It does not help that the demand for politician is growing as more constituencies are rolled out.
Even the PAP New Politician Orientation Scheme, launched in 2005, has lost its shine.
That year, enhanced salary structures drove a politician’s basic entry salary up from $10,000 to $12,000 per month for Singaporeans.
Politicians also became known as people leader, providing an essential service.
PAP then announced that it received three times more job applications from Singaporeans in the first month of the scheme's inception, three times more than the previous average of 60 applications a month. But most did not meet the high entry level standards. They include:
1. You must be a Rafflesians, St. Josephians or ACS old boy
2. Oxcam preferred, but not critical
But now, it seems that FT from China may be the way to go.
Ms Tan said: 'Thanks to a recent relaxation by the Ministry of Manpower on non-traditional sources of manpower, we are now looking at supplementing our current politician pool with those from China.'
Are Singaporeans apprehensive about Chinese politicians serving the people? Or is a foreigner politician willingness to accept lower wages then their Singaporean peers?
PAP now has 5,200 wanna-be politicians under its wing - 100 per cent of whom are Singaporeans. Some were Malaysians but they are quitted Malaysia to be Singaporeans. These Malaysians have been decried by the Malaysia Malaysian Chinese for greed.
The average gross salary for most is about $12,00 a month, excluding an annual wage supplement and bonuses, or other political appointments.
The company said that the new Chinese politician’s salaries have not been decided.
'We are still in the process of negotiating the terms,' Ms Tan said.
Mr Fernandez feels that PAP has found the easy way out.
The concerned citizen spoke to more than 10 politicians during his Meet the People sessions, and concluded that better work welfare can solve the employment problem.
Mr Fernandez said: 'Upon hearing their woes, I feel the turnover rate can be reduced and good employers retained if better work welfare is provided. Just pay them a lot more!'
Politicians work six days a week, including officiating opening ceremony and walk about sessions. On average, they clock three hours a day.
Ms Tan said that 52 per cent of a work day is spent on breaks in between work.
But traffic congestion often deprives politicians of that rest period.
Mr Fernandez said: Politicians have told me that when they are held up by bad traffic, they return back to Parliament House later than scheduled and their rest times are shortened.
'While at Parliament House, I saw a politician drive his Bentley into the reserved lot, run to the toilet, clocked in and out, and in less than five minutes, he was back in the driver's seat preparing for his next joint. F1 would have been proud.
'When I met him, I asked him why he did not take a drink or a meal.
'He replied, 'No choice, due to adverse traffic conditions. And LKY will get mad'.'
Politicians have to begin their next assignment fairly quickly to minimise further inconvenience caused to electorate, like waiting for their lifts to be fixed.
BAD TRAFFIC SHORTENS BREAKS
PAP acknowledged this problem.
Ms Tan said: 'In cases of extreme traffic congestion, where these 5 litre cars are caught in a bad jam, politicians do return to the Parliament House very late, thus affecting their work commitments.'
She added: 'This is one of the many challenges that we deal with in our running of the country and we appreciate the dedication of our politicians.'
PAP said that the Chinese New Year celebrations at Chinatown last month caused a traffic build-up, from Eu Tong Sen Street tailing to North Bridge Road on some days.
MPs arrived at the New Parliament House late, some by as much as 45 minutes, it said.
Mr Fernandez's parting shot: `Politicians are also ordinary human beings like all of us, who need ample rest to recharge and be alert and stay healthy while on service.
'Please look into this management area first, like doubling their pay before looking for other solutions.'
Originally posted by deathbait:wait
talk cock lah!!!!
Originally posted by sbst275:
if it is not even able to cover its cost like wat your suggested of raising wages w/o raising fares, I tell you we're going to be like MalaysiaGovt buy back co at high price... Like MAS, used RM8 per share to nationalise it when the share price back then was just RM4
in the very 1st plc, shoudn't fully privatize the bus service!! ( dun even talk abt listed in the stock market )
Public buses transport service is always the main transportation for a country infrastructure.
It is a must & is always remain at low cost ( cos is mainly for the majority of the population ). I didn't see which 1st world country public bus servic is own privately & is making huge profit.
mostly is gov own & a non-profit organisation.
in the very 1st plc, shoudn't fully privatize the bus service!! ( dun even talk abt listed in the stock market )Public buses transport service is always the main transportation for a country infrastructure.
It is a must & is always remain at low cost ( cos is mainly for the majority of the population ). I didn't see which 1st world country public bus servic is own privately & is making huge profit.
mostly is gov own & a non-profit organisation.
even if it means 1% profit growth now, it's at least better than like nationalised entity which will later have no incentive to make things efficient or goal to make i.e. profits. and later on if there's losses, tax payers money would be used to cover up the losses... by then ppl will complain here that why tax payers money are used
Originally posted by sbst275:even if it means 1% profit growth now, it's at least better than like nationalised entity which will later have no incentive to make things efficient or goal to make i.e. profits. and later on if there's losses, tax payers money would be used to cover up the losses... by then ppl will complain here that why tax payers money are used
Whether something is efficient or not depends on the management of the company.
FYI, monopolies which have supernormal profits have the least efficient system.
Profits is not proportionate to efficiency.
Management is proportionate to efficiency.
Originally posted by maurizio13:
Whether something is efficient or not depends on the management of the company.FYI, monopolies which have supernormal profits have the least efficient system.
Profits is not proportionate to efficiency.
Management is proportionate to efficiency.
you sure when there's no goal to be achieved?
Those places I've been like Melbourne, when bus svs are state controlled, the scheduled freq can be like 60 mins
Originally posted by sbst275:even if it means 1% profit growth now, it's at least better than like nationalised entity which will later have no incentive to make things efficient or goal to make i.e. profits. and later on if there's losses, tax payers money would be used to cover up the losses... by then ppl will complain here that why tax payers money are used
erm
Neither does a monopoly has much of that incentive to become more efficient.
you sure when there's no goal to be achieved?Those places I've been like Melbourne, when bus svs are state controlled, the scheduled freq can be like 60 mins
Same for germany, scheduled freq can be 2 hrs on weekends. But it is in their culture not to travel far on weekends; weekends are to rest.
However, their buses timings are so accurate that it will come within 5 mins (5 mins considered bad already) of the specified timing. You can literally plan your journey to a resolution of 5 minutes, and if you are just a bit late, you will miss your bus or train.
Originally posted by eagle:erm
Neither does a monopoly has much of that incentive to become more efficient.
not efficient?
at least they never talk about using your tax payers money to cross subsidise
Originally posted by eagle:Same for germany, scheduled freq can be 2 hrs on weekends. But it is in their culture not to travel far on weekends; weekends are to rest.
However, their buses timings are so accurate that it will come within 5 mins (5 mins considered bad already) of the specified timing. You can literally plan your journey to a resolution of 5 minutes, and if you are just a bit late, you will miss your bus or train.
how are the operators going to be able to plan the schedule accurately here when taken into consideration of freak incidents like ytd's Loyang accident tat ended up Loyang Ave closed?
not efficient?at least they never talk about using your tax payers money to cross subsidise
no they don't. They talk about increasing price of goods and services instead. Ultimately, the money still comes from you. They can do this easily because the demand for their services is equal to the market demand for this particular service. In addition, demand for public transport are usually very inelastic; they can raise the price and the demand would not change much.
Originally posted by sbst275:how are the operators going to be able to plan the schedule accurately here when taken into consideration of freak incidents like ytd's Loyang accident tat ended up Loyang Ave closed?
I'm talking about bus bunching even when there no freak incidents. I've no idea why you would include one-off events when I'm talking about everyday events. In Germany, you will never see bus bunching even if they are scheduled to come at 10 minutes interval. If they are scheduled to come at 10 minutes interval, they will come at 10 minutes interval, even if the bus travels between cities.
Originally posted by eagle:no they don't. They talk about increasing price of goods and services instead. Ultimately, the money still comes from you. They can do this easily because the demand for their services is equal to the market demand for this particular service. In addition, demand for public transport are usually very inelastic; they can raise the price and the demand would not change much.
you are lucky they're not like SIA charging fuel surcharge from you when oil prices jump.. in the first place, fares are regulated
you think they're not affected by oil price hike? last time 1l of diesel cost like 60c, now it's $1.20... so wat, you asking govt to subisidise them fuel to keep cost low?
Originally posted by eagle:Same for germany, scheduled freq can be 2 hrs on weekends. But it is in their culture not to travel far on weekends; weekends are to rest.
precisely, but they din use these as a excuse to increase the fare!! ( I was there for two yrs )
But what's is our public bus service now?? they always complaint that cost is going up, by bringing more aircon bus, install mobTv, create better system for bus timing accuratecy......worse is oso complaining profit dropping ( fact is still making 60million a yr ) so that need to increase the fare... ![]()
you are lucky they're not like SIA charging fuel surcharge from you when oil prices jump.. in the first place, fares are regulatedyou think they're not affected by oil price hike? last time 1l of diesel cost like 60c, now it's $1.20... so wat, you asking govt to subisidise them fuel to keep cost low?
We are not talking about fuel, but rather, efficiency.
you are lucky they're not like SIA charging fuel surcharge from you when oil prices jump.. in the first place, fares are regulatedyou think they're not affected by oil price hike? last time 1l of diesel cost like 60c, now it's $1.20... so wat, you asking govt to subisidise them fuel to keep cost low?
now we're talking public bus service, NOT SIA lah...
fuel surcharge is apply to all airline, not only SIA.
precisely, but they din use these as a excuse to increase the fare!! ( I was there for two yrs )But what's is our public bus service now?? they always complaint that cost is going up, by bringing more aircon bus, install mobTv, create better system for bus timing accuratecy......worse is oso complaining profit dropping ( fact is still making 60million a yr ) so that need to increase the fare...
Does that country subsidise public tpt?
Do you know how ex can a bus cost now to make it wheelchair accesible? It cost $1m for a double deck, $300k for a single deck...
I'm saying this the very last time, TV Mobile belongs to MediaCorp
$60m a year? Then why aren't you ranting why petrol prices going up when oil cartels are making BILLIONS