Originally posted by Fatum:I wonder if you have read any of my arguments at all ... but it's alright ... now you can pat yourself on your back and feel good about being an unbiased and compassionate person ....
am I sowing discord ? ... for saying that there are plenty of Singaporeans in equally dire situation and that Singaporeans' compassion should be focused closer to home first ?. ...
in anycase ... so how much are you pledging to the chap ? ....
.......n i dun need to pat myself in the back on this. i dun need this kind of self vindication. i do many good deeds, many a times anonymously.
u dun know me.
personally, if its my friend, i would. if its not, i won't
Originally posted by weiqimun:i do many good deeds, many a times anonymously.
This is funny! ![]()
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:
This is funny!
.......given the nonsense i spew here.....?
well, like someone says, we wear a mask at different occasions. for all you know, i am fatum.
Like I said, I'm glad that the spirit of compassion is alive and well among Singaporeans .... maybe we are not such a basket case after all .....
but all I ask .... is that you think a bit further and weight in on the case a little further .... think of who would deserve the limited charity dollars in your wallet, before you flip them out to the first case that tugs your heart .....
would your choice be any different if there were Singaporean patients in equally dire straits ? ... what if I can pull out one ... just one ... example ... would your money go to her instead ? ..... or is it a case of out of sight and out of mind ... because other people in equally wretched straits are out of sight and out of mind ? ....
so go on and be sanctimonious about is and blast me if you like ... but it's clear cut to me to who my money shall go to ....
and also ... remember to put your money where your mouth is ....
why chemo costs $150,000???
fatum: and also ... remember to put your money where your mouth is ....
it's late, but u can sleep easy on that. that much i can assure u.
Originally posted by noopi:why chemo costs $150,000???
cos this is Singapore my dear .....
where most Singaporeans have medisave (read: your own savings) ....
so it's alright for hospitals to charge 150k, because most of the costs are covered by the above ... so patients would only have to fork out, say ... 20-30k before they die .....
and the powers-that-be can thus congratulate themselves on building an affordable health-care system ..... ![]()
welcome to Singapore ....
Originally posted by weiqimun:fatum: and also ... remember to put your money where your mouth is ....
it's late, but u can sleep easy on that. that much i can assure u.
you're making me grin behind my mug of beer ......
good for you ! .... ![]()
now if you'd have a few more dollars to spare ... there are also plenty of Singaporeans in equally wretched straits ....
donate lo.
为善最�
Sorry, no.
U can say i'm mean, heartless watever.
U donate to him, in future he will steal your rice bowl. Now, u are giving youself to face one mroe competitor. U can't say i'm heartless, this is the world. Only the strong will survive. ANd the brainy ones. Despicable for some.
Will ppl donate to me when i'm in the same situation? No i can tell u. And i won;'t find the media to help me pull sympatise or watever. If i will die, i will die.
Especially with PRC and their way of doing stuff, i don see any point of donating.
U spit in my country, get our HDB, get our girls, get our rice bowl, get my piece of land, i have to stand u and your loud talking and your communist way of doing stuff.
I have to say, sorry i won't donate.
"ITs better to kill a someone then to give yourself one more enemy".
THink abt it.
Originally posted by FBI:Sorry, no.
U can say i'm mean, heartless watever.
U donate to him, in future he will steal your rice bowl. Now, u are giving youself to face one mroe competitor. U can't say i'm heartless, this is the world. Only the strong will survive. ANd the brainy ones. Despicable for some.
Will ppl donate to me when i'm in the same situation? No i can tell u. And i won;'t find the media to help me pull sympatise or watever. If i will die, i will die.
Especially with PRC and their way of doing stuff, i don see any point of donating.
U spit in my country, get our HDB, get our girls, get our rice bowl, get my piece of land, i have to stand u and your loud talking and your communist way of doing stuff.
I have to say, sorry i won't donate.
"ITs better to kill a someone then to give yourself one more enemy".
THink abt it.
for all u know, years later, this guy cld save your life, give you a job, or even let you snitch his sister.
you basically have no confidence in humankind, period.
Originally posted by Ed11790:agreed again…..........i also think people like fbi and me doesnt really trust a lot of people in this world…...........we see most people as selfish beings….............i tried to change but…...i dunno
I agree with u on this part. It's because in this world i seen alot of despicapble ppl. I can't trust ppl easily and i find it that if u treat ppl nice, they won't b gratitude to u in future.
U won;t gain any thing if u are being nice to ppl.
Originally posted by Ed11790:agreed again…..........i also think people like fbi and me doesnt really trust a lot of people in this world…...........we see most people as selfish beings….............i tried to change but…...i dunno
no worries, bro. we are all unique. imagine if we are all the same, same good heart, same this, same that. life here would be so boring. i guess for as long as you are happy wif the way you are even as you try to be better as you grow, i think we can all live and let live.
i have a lot of shits in me as well, it is just that i have the comfort of the the computer screen to `hide me in'
Originally posted by Ed11790:yeah i understand…..............im also like this and i think i got this kind of idea of this world from my mom…......cause she was always paranoid and telling me how people always try to take advantage of her….............but its true…...........all people would only help u to benefit themselves…..........sometimes u think they are helping u but they are wearing a mask under which u cannot see…...............im always still thinking whether or not if i should think this way about this world….......it is one thing i always wonder about…...
Yeah its true. So i often go ard telling my friends that in order to surive, u have to b careful in everything u do, b smart, b despicable at times. Abt the despicable thing, i think it backfires at time. So i don dare to teach much on that.
ONce in a pool game, i taught Friend A to do some stunt to "snoob" Friend B from shooting his own ball. I said it openly so both of them can hear it. And wat happens? Friend A snoob Friend B on his turn. SO it backfires.
Despicable tactics, keep to yourself. =)
Originally posted by FBI:
Yeah its true. So i often go ard telling my friends that in order to surive, u have to b careful in everything u do, b smart, b despicable at times. Abt the despicable thing, i think it backfires at time. So i don dare to teach much on that.ONce in a pool game, i taught Friend A to do some stunt to "snoob" Friend B from shooting his own ball. I said it openly so both of them can hear it. And wat happens? Friend A snoob Friend B on his turn. SO it backfires.
Despicable tactics, keep to yourself. =)
bros, i think we are all serously OT here. let's keep this to the `donating money' thingy on lest Fatum gets really pissed off. i will be happy to carry on chatting abt lifes' purpose in chit chat or somewhere.
peace out!
Originally posted by weiqimun:bros, i think we are all serously OT here. let's keep this to the `donating money' thingy on lest Fatum gets really pissed off. i will be happy to carry on chatting abt lifes' purpose in chit chat or somewhere.
peace out!
aite, peace! =)
Originally posted by weiqimun:bros, i think we are all serously OT here. let's keep this to the `donating money' thingy on lest Fatum gets really pissed off. i will be happy to carry on chatting abt lifes' purpose in chit chat or somewhere.
no no ..... I really enjoyed your bit about the chap maybe giving FBI a job in the future, or maybe letting him bone his sister .... ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:no no ..... I really enjoyed your bit about the chap maybe giving FBI a job in the future, or maybe letting him bone his sister ....
boning sister part made me laugh. ![]()
i dunno why need to justify donating money seriously.
I think the people who truly feel compassionate about humanity will donate regardless of nationality, cos heart before head.
and those who would place nationality BEFORE humanity - won't donate REGARDLESS cos think too much liao, hand havent go into pocket, already analyse
THen there are people like me - ngeow.