I think it's important to donate with the head as well as the heart ....
especially for chaps like us, with limited means .... there's only so many dollars you can fork out so far ....
the NKF fiasco would be a good example .... so I say, give with your heart, but use your head to decide where it goes to ......
I think most folks have the slightest idea what compassion is. You offer assistance in exchange for nothing. It's that simple.
It is sad, even pathetic, to think that one would consider any form of status of the person in need of help before offering help.
Wait is this coming from a country that proudly claims first delivery of A380s, best airport in the world, 1st F1 night race, and what other materialistic acheievements that I might have forgotten?
I would donate if i have the money.
Since i m a student and not workin, its rather hard for me to cough out money.
For me,i wont mind donatin to him because he is from china or any other counrty, I just look at him as a person who needs help. Whether he deserve it is another question. If he is a person who does bad stuff of course he don deserve our kindness ( Singaporean oso applies).
Is he getting any donations from his fellow PRC ?
Saving and helping a life is a virtue.
Heaven will advocate it .
this news has been going around for a few days now.what i can only say is im fuc.king disappointed by my fellow high and mighty singaporeans.so hes a china chinese and hes not worthy of your precious SGD.china chinese not human?dont for a moment fuc.king forget where all your fuc.king chinese ancestors comes from.some would say they would rather donate to another stricken singaporean due to high medical costs.true enough,but have you any idea how much more expensive it is for a foreigner to fall sick here?that poor chap needs at least 350k for the medical bill and from most of the reports i've seen shows how fuc,king ugly my singaporeans can be..so he managed to get a scholarship here.its because you(fellow singaporean) sucks and shamed yourself.so you argue that the foreign students used sg to be a stepping stone and used 'our' money. wouldn't you do the same thing if you would to go to another country to study?
now the question is....if the afflicted today is not an "ah tiong"(fuc.king degrading term for another human) but a caucasian...would you ugly singaporeans donate??
for those who says the poor chap should not receive help..its your right to do so.but if karma strikes you in the azz..i would be more than happy to say to you..YES YOU ARE FUC.KED
Originally posted by domonkassyu:this news has been going around for a few days now.what i can only say is im fuc.king disappointed by my fellow high and mighty singaporeans.so hes a china chinese and hes not worthy of your precious SGD.china chinese not human?dont for a moment fuc.king forget where all your fuc.king chinese ancestors comes from.some would say they would rather donate to another stricken singaporean due to high medical costs.true enough,but have you any idea how much more expensive it is for a foreigner to fall sick here?that poor chap needs at least 350k for the medical bill and from most of the reports i've seen shows how fuc,king ugly my singaporeans can be..so he managed to get a scholarship here.its because you(fellow singaporean) sucks and shamed yourself.so you argue that the foreign students used sg to be a stepping stone and used 'our' money. wouldn't you do the same thing if you would to go to another country to study?
now the question is....if the afflicted today is not an "ah tiong"(fuc.king degrading term for another human) but a caucasian...would you ugly singaporeans donate??
for those who says the poor chap should not receive help..its your right to do so.but if karma strikes you in the azz..i would be more than happy to say to you..YES YOU ARE FUC.KED
Excwees me..if I fall sick in another country..I come back to SG to get my medical treatment.. and if I need donation money I come back and ask my country people donate. I don't ask the people from another country to donate OK ? Please be rational.
China is a HUGE country with population of 1 billion.. if one China person donate $1 ..he will have more than enough to go for his medical treatment and aftercare, including his retirement no need to come here for Scholarship.
Before he starts accepting donation from SGreans.. have he ask from his own country men first ?
It this is not preying on Sgrean's generosity.. I don't know what is.
If he asked from his China people and they are cold blooded enough to say no.. then yes.. I will willingly donate..
If you need money.. you go ask from your OWN family first... not a stranger on the streets.
If you want to know, there was a donation drive on campus and S$80k was collected from staff and students.
Let's take politics out of this. True generosity and compassion gives without counting the cost, but not enough people believe in it.
If you knew somebody else who also needed the money for treatment, and helped him or her instead, I applaud that. However I hope that the people who declare that they won't help this Chinese student, because a Singaporean patient deserves it more, actually practise what they preach.
Can we all agree that it's sad if one looks at a person who comes down with a potentially terminal illness, and not feel sadness but scorn, just because of his nationality and what some of his brethren are doing?
I don't get the logic at all. What's all these things about 'saving our own people first before saving other people'. In the first place I don't see many Singaporeans helping the local charity scene here.
Alright then, for the sake of the argument, let's just assume some netizens have been actively helping out the local poor. What then, is so difficult about donating let's say $2 to one PRC guy who is sick alone in a foreign land? Imagine if the entire school's population donate $2 (maybe for the richer kids, a bit more)...what's so difficult about that?
Perhaps it's true that some PRC people staying in Singapore are creating some displeasure among us. So what? Just because we don't like certain PRC people does that means that we have to discriminate against the whole lot of them? Who are we to decide that who deserves help and who don't? Do the arrogant Singaporeans once against see themselves as superior beings?
All the bullsh*t about 'he's making use of our country', 'he's a foreigner and don't deserve piriority', bla bla bla. Piangz, at the end of the day we're still fellow human beings living under the same sky right?
I don't see this as an example of one succumbing to sob stories and blown up news by the media. It's just that whoever we see needs help, we help, that's all. At the end of the day if we see that donation are going in at an excessive rate, we can always divert some of these donations to other causes ourselves.
Why don't for once imagine that it is YOU who is stuck in another country heavily sick, but nobody bothers to help you because you are an 'arrogant, money-minded, greedy and kia-su Singaporean'.
Originally posted by annoy-you-must:
Why don't for once imagine that it is YOU who is stuck in another country heavily sick, but nobody bothers to help you because you are an 'arrogant, money-minded, greedy and kia-su Singaporean'.
Then you seek help from fellow Singaporeans.. not from that country where you gotten sick. There is such a thing as money transfer.. so don;t come tell us that you are too far away to get the donation.
knn... china got 1.3B people ar.. just start a donation drive in china lah... they will sure help right??
plus.. china treatment is alot cheaper.. why dun seek it there?
if both method fail... then i will "help".
shrugs
many people is unfortunate.... its because he is famous, and others are not
Stupid thinking. It's about life and death we're talking about and some people still can talk about scholarship.
Would suggest that the PRC student seek treatment in his own home country, they should have some form of healthcare system available there.
What if every PRC that has an illness comes to Singapore? Are we going to help every single one of them?
I guess a population of 3.5 million will start donating aid to help a nation of 1.3 billion.
We can't even help outselves, yet we want to help others.
I think a lot of people hesitate due to his nationality because I think most people start to think if our help is appreciated or Singaporeans are just plain suckers. Just take the Huang Na case for example where the donations whom they said is pledge to charity and all was used to build themselves a house etc.
I think the other reason is that a lot of students especially are upset that some PRC has this stuck up attitude that they come here on scholarship, leech on the government and go home once they have finished leeching on us. Too many stories you hear that Singaporeans have an aversion towards them. You don't really hear as much aversion towards other foreigners than the PRCs. Of course not all are bad but it seems there are more PRC bad apples than the other foreigners.
I'm digressing.
In answer to the question, I will not donate because it is a widely publicized issue and likelihood there will be a lot of people donating. And if I donate to a body to help the poor, I don't care if it is used for Singaporeans or Foreigners because it is another human we are helping.
But in answer to Fatum's question if I had a dollar and there are 2 patients side by side, and assuming they are both good people, I will donate to the Singaporean first before the Foreigner.
Originally posted by BangHong:many people is unfortunate.... its because he is famous, and others are not
that's right .....
at least some's seeing part of my point ....
before people get on their moral high horse about universal compassion and giving blindly, stop to think of the multitudes of people, in our very own society, in equally dire straits, also facing life and death .... who goes through their struggle alone, without the publicity, without the media attention, and thus ... without the help ? ....
I'm asking, why him ? .... because some enterprising student started this on his behalf ? .....
it's easy to feel a two minutes glory about flipping out a $2 note from your wallet ..... but think more about the options for your money to go to .... and ask why you didn't think of the others before ...
$2 some pple will hiam la.
$1 can liao.
whole of ntu everybody donate 1 buck i think enough liao.
Originally posted by hiphop2009:$2 some pple will hiam la.
$1 can liao.
whole of ntu everybody donate 1 buck i think enough liao.
not enough
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nanyang_Technological_University
| Undergraduates: | 20,780 |
|---|---|
| Postgraduates: | 8,743 |
Unless you count in Alumni from 1955 onwards.
first of all this really concern me alot. when they first arive singapore don't the goverment do any medical check up for that chap before offering any scholarship? and why must he seek treatment in singapore go back china and seek treat is way cheaper then in here. 3rd why must we donate just to help one guy because he was on the newspaper, i rather donate to community chest that can helps hundreds or even thousand of pple then just for one person.
Newspaper also got featured one NS guy who serve his country and is blind 80% of his eyesight? i wonder why no one want to organise a fund raising for him? at least he contribute to the country. what about that ah tiong that come here for free scholar? after he obtain that cert in sillypore, and free medical treatment. will he stay and contribute to sillypore?
Originally posted by jojobeach:Excwees me..if I fall sick in another country..I come back to SG to get my medical treatment.. and if I need donation money I come back and ask my country people donate. I don't ask the people from another country to donate OK ? Please be rational.
China is a HUGE country with population of 1 billion.. if one China person donate $1 ..he will have more than enough to go for his medical treatment and aftercare, including his retirement no need to come here for Scholarship.
Before he starts accepting donation from SGreans.. have he ask from his own country men first ?
It this is not preying on Sgrean's generosity.. I don't know what is.
If he asked from his China people and they are cold blooded enough to say no.. then yes.. I will willingly donate..
If you need money.. you go ask from your OWN family first... not a stranger on the streets.
if everyone at China donate $1 he lich riaos...
Haiz, I don't know why everybody is so obsessed with whether to help or not when donating is up to individual choice. Being publicized is to let everyone knows there is someone who need help, help or not is up to you. For me I would not help, 1st because he is not my friend, 2nd not someone whom i even talk to before, 3rd he can get better help somewhere. But that does not mean i am someone who is heartless, because i think he can get better help from his own relatives or maybe his direct camp mates. I am just too unrelated to him for me to make my donation.
Everyday there are at least thousands of Singaporeans who need money for medical purposes, don't tell me you can afford $1 to every of these patients, you will spend at least few thousands. I can only say most of us will help those who are actually somewhat related to us. Thats human nature. E.g your mother and some stranger need money for medical, of course you will use all your money for mother right?
Well but still there are really good people in this world who will help regardless of nationality, race, language or religion. I only can say i truly respect these kind of people, these people may not even be rich, their mindset is to save a life and thats all they are thinking. At least they are far better than those who are truly rich, yet NEVER make any donation to help the local needy people, and still talk so much crap.
80k already .... perhaps it's time the money goes to someone else .... there are plenty of options for the next 80k ....
go on, flame me for thinking so, but I think it'd be a blardy shame if the chap can come out of this with a big nest egg besides while someone here dies a pauper because his medisave was depleted ......
Originally posted by Fatum:that's right .....
at least some's seeing part of my point ....
before people get on their moral high horse about universal compassion and giving blindly, stop to think of the multitudes of people, in our very own society, in equally dire straits, also facing life and death .... who goes through their struggle alone, without the publicity, without the media attention, and thus ... without the help ? ....
I'm asking, why him ? .... because some enterprising student started this on his behalf ? .....
it's easy to feel a two minutes glory about flipping out a $2 note from your wallet ..... but think more about the options for your money to go to .... and ask why you didn't think of the others before ...
Not many people actually bother to suss out every case there is. They're more likely to help whatever comes to their attention first, and it's usually because of publicity or proximity. How is it possible to say whether that is right or wrong?
We don't have enough money to help every single person in need in our society and in our world, but as long as it's a genuine, sincere case, why do you need to justify helping another human being over another? Even if you don't divide up your contributions, you may not be able to save the one person whom you choose to help, but does it matter if you know you tried anyway? But to justify it using racial and national lines is just cynical. One could be even more cynical, and say that helping any human will only do the environment more harm, but I shaln't go there.
Let's not judge him based on the likelihood that he's a bad apple. If someone knows him personally and can vouch that he's been anything other than an honest student, fine. However by letting this fuss go public and grow out of proportion, I think we've only done our collective image more harm than good. I hope the media can cover at least once how much he's received thus far.