I found out the following HDB loophole for those who wanna get a flat.
As most of us know, to get a HDB flat before the age of 35 you must register under 2 names, either siblings or as ROMed couple. Recently I got to know a few unROMed couples who manage to get a HDB flat without showing their ROM certifcates. As the proccess goes, after collecting the keys to your flat, you must produce a ROM cert to the HDB within 6 months. Many people do not do this but are left in peace to live their lives in the new flat. I have know couples who broke up after applying for a flat but they still get the unit and one of the family are living there. Then there are those who did not register their marriage and still live there. These people have been living there for years and HDB do not even know that they are living there without documentation.
This is a loophole which i believe many exploit and HDB are ignoring it or not doing their job. These people causes many people who really needs housing to wait for many years to get one. HDB should start checking on all the documents and get these people to produce their documents or else its not fair to others.
This is a serious allegation.
Why don't you alert HDB? Give them the names and addresses of such people.
If you want to embarrass HDB (and the Govt.) then write to the newspapers. If your allegations are true, I think the newpapers will publish.
If not true, maybe kena sued ? I dunno.
Originally posted by 4GlassWall:I found out the following HDB loophole for those who wanna get a flat.
As most of us know, to get a HDB flat before the age of 35 you must register under 2 names, either siblings or as ROMed couple. Recently I got to know a few unROMed couples who manage to get a HDB flat without showing their ROM certifcates. As the proccess goes, after collecting the keys to your flat, you must produce a ROM cert to the HDB within 6 months. Many people do not do this but are left in peace to live their lives in the new flat. I have know couples who broke up after applying for a flat but they still get the unit and one of the family are living there. Then there are those who did not register their marriage and still live there. These people have been living there for years and HDB do not even know that they are living there without documentation.
This is a loophole which i believe many exploit and HDB are ignoring it or not doing their job. These people causes many people who really needs housing to wait for many years to get one. HDB should start checking on all the documents and get these people to produce their documents or else its not fair to others.
didn't mm warned us that there is such a thing as complacency in his 1st world country?
The money for the flat is being collected.
So, why the poodle want to bother about it ?
It is not that some one try to cheat the poodle.
They are too busy rounding up red and black shirt local that are holding their feedback loudly.
Let's move on and close rank cos it is a honest mistake.
Originally posted by 4GlassWall:I found out the following HDB loophole for those who wanna get a flat.
In my view, I don't really think its a loophole per say. I can imagine genuine cases whereby couples fell in love, registered and paid for the HDB, but somewhere in the middle, the relationship sours. If the govt steps in and add in the HDB legislation ontop of the relationship woes, I can imagine the stress increased upon the couple.
In addition, by ignoring this grey area, the existence of the flat could probably persuade the bickering couples to set their differences aside and attempt to preserve their marraige instead of rushing of to the divorce courts.
Just my 2cts.
u r dam kpo
Originally posted by onlooker123:This is a serious allegation.
Why don't you alert HDB? Give them the names and addresses of such people.
If you want to embarrass HDB (and the Govt.) then write to the newspapers. If your allegations are true, I think the newpapers will publish.
If not true, maybe kena sued ? I dunno.
Totally. Very good points.
Yah the $8K combined income thingy is at the point of application. This is quite a crude measure. If they wanted to be strict, they should be asking to see your total income for the last year, eg. using tax returns or CPF information. This is very easy to do and is already being done for say the new means-testing for hospital subsidies.
So why doesn't HDB adopt a more accurate measure? Don't know. Maybe if somebody is very free can go ask HDB.
So under existing rules, at the point you apply for new flat, you could technically be unemployed for one day and resume employment the next day ... if your employer is willing to do the paperwork for you.
Newspaper say they cannot publish my writings cos it concerns garment's agency. And how do i know they are not dong their job in checking? because my bloody toublesome neighbour complain that his roof is leaking then HDB go check my records only to find that they do not have my ROM cert. Which my wife, my dad, my mom and I clearly remembered that we did.
so if my neighbour did not make the complain then they would never know. and i have been staying in the flat for 3 years already