ST Forum, Wed Mar 19, 2008.
One reader by the name of Mr Chong proposed to government to scrap the 3/4 fuel tank rule so that we can go across the causeway to pump cheaper petrol to lessen our cost. This is indeed a good idea. The government can help the people in time of inflation by changing the rule. Give us some relief, we are not asking for "hong bao"
Very simple logic. People have the freedom of choice in the way they spend their monies as stated in the constitution. If they like they can spend on gambling and lose them all without breaking the law.
So government should govern the country constitutionally and not interfere with such constitutional right.
The Law Society is currently talking updating the public laws so as to be fairer to the citizens. Let the Law Society be tasked with looking into such fundamental issues concerning rights of citizens and rule of law which the government obviously is not interested in obeying.
Therefore it is long overdue that government should stop passing any more laws which prevent the citizens from spending their own monies in the way they like - freely of their own choice.
If government really must do something to prevent people from going across the border to shop for cheaper goods in the first place it should not jack up the prices of such goods unreasonably beyond their means.
So by abolishing the petrol tax it can easily solve such problems or reduce the motorist queue to buy petrol after the causeway.
Second point: Petrol tax was originally introduced to discourage car ownership. However, since then additional taxes have been imposed on vehicle ownership and travel e.g. vehicle excise duty, COE, ERP. Thus petrol tax is now a double taxation on the same item.
Double taxation is being abolished all over the world as such taxation is inhibiting free trades and causing inflation and unemployment.
Third reason: if government is to control people's spending of their own monies, it had better ensured that when people do not have monies to spend it will provide for them like lowering the rising costs of living or looking after their medical needs or retirements. Until this reciprocality is established the government has no moral or legal right or reason to interfere with people's freedom of choice.
The high cost of petrol is also to control number of cars, polution, etc
Aren't you glad you can leave your house to go for a walk without choking till you bleed
g
You must ask yourself how that will benefit the dishonorable despots, their cronies and families... and since they can take so many millions in public money, they won't bother saving a few dollars to go to JB and ergo, you can just kiss this idea goodbye....
...and when people like Dr Chee Soon Juan try to protest high costs against the despots, he gets arrested for walking around carrying a placard...
The government can anyhow pass a law which is not to the favour of the people at large to their advantage, because they have 2/3 rd majority in parliament. Why not pass the law where residents must eat half the stomach full before crossing the causeway so as to spend less in other country.
brainless CHEE
dress like Mat selamat, ISA detainee uniform, slipper, walk around, u think home team can do any thing?
our northern bangs have already banned us from buying their sugar and commodities ....
what's stopping them from imposing the 3/4 tank rule from their side if we scrape it, since their fuel is also subsidized by their goverment ? ... ![]()
To be a good government, one has to give and take, but this pap government only take but dont give..
The problem lies with malaysia or singapore or both?
There is a law that says that a government tends to murder its people who offer the least resistance.
Every time the government says something like its needs to increase taxes on petrol with people naively agreeing that is to control car population such people believing in such propaganda at the end are the people which invite the government to do worse and tax more and try to give false propaganda to suppress people.
No wonder the government raised GST to 7% in 2007 even though it knows full well that its land sale profits of $6 billions from SLA and HDB were not disclosed amounting to deceiving the people.
So to people like winnierthepooh, please do take note that if you are too naive you will not have a better government to serve you.
Do grow up and help all to prevent falsehood and wrong doings by the government.
...and don't forget that when people protested the GST increase, they insist that they need the money...
...that was their excuse... and they report they have a surplus of S$6 billion, giving all those that believed them a tight slap on their Silliporean faces...
...just like now they say the 3/4 rule is to control car population... and as if anyone can believe their dishonorable despotic words...
Originally posted by t_a_s:To be a good government, one has to give and take, but this pap government only take but dont give..
Wrong. The pap government does give and and take.
Just that they take more than they give.
ride motorcycle. 125cc ... full tank only $10 and u can ride from AMK to Jurong for 5 full days.
why drive cars??
We dont want their GST rebate,so-called singapore shares, progress package....what the hell this is to distract people. They increased GST to help the poor? That is what LHL said, but GST brought in inflation and price hike. Without GST, the government still has surplus? Why they want so much money for the coffer, it is the ppl who suffer, not them. Imagine NEP in Malaysia serve the UMNO cronies, and EP in Singapore serve the pap elite
1st world country, all the people ride motorcycles, if like this, look like in Vietnam! mm lee no face leh, if motor bike more than cars.
The three-quarter tank rule is for you to reach the other side. ![]()
You scrap
up north going to kpkb... saying ppl smuggle petrol out
and actually the 'cheap' petrol in Malaysia is costing the govt money... which is partly why corp tax there is 28% and needless to say wanting to implement GST next year
furthermore, prone to shortage like diesel during CNY years back cos of quota.
... by their restrictions, our northern neighbour is telling us; "you bear with what you have chosen as government... our goods are for our own people only..."
u blame our gov for not allowing you to STEAL from the malaysians?
is mr chong plain stupid or what? :lol:
Originally posted by robertteh:There is a law that says that a government tends to murder its people who offer the least resistance.
Every time the government says something like its needs to increase taxes on petrol with people naively agreeing that is to control car population such people believing in such propaganda at the end are the people which invite the government to do worse and tax more and try to give false propaganda to suppress people.
No wonder the government raised GST to 7% in 2007 even though it knows full well that its land sale profits of $6 billions from SLA and HDB were not disclosed amounting to deceiving the people.
So to people like winnierthepooh, please do take note that if you are too naive you will not have a better government to serve you.
Do grow up and help all to prevent falsehood and wrong doings by the government.
Robert, u think the ruling party is worried about what happened in the Malaysian election could also happened to this country?
please state that law
Is it a law like the laws of thermodynamics, or a joke law like murphy's law?
Originally posted by deathbait: please state that law
Is it a law like the laws of thermodynamics, or a joke law like murphy's law?
Rummel's Law states that the less freedom a people have, the more likely their rulers are to murder them.
American columnist Arnold Beichman named the "law" after American historian and sociologist R. J. Rummel. Beichman says that Rummel's research:
Examples include genocide in:
To explain the differential in petroleum pricing, I think there is a match with the nation cost of living by the petroleum giants.
However, whether the decision to allow Singapore cars to enter into Malaysia remains a controversy issue between the two nation's government.