Originally posted by maurizio13:
Shouldn't you know better?What's the point of me explaining to you?
When I know very well that you will not accept my explanation.
You being such an authority in correlations and statistics.
And you need me to explain S.D., variances and covariances to you?
If you have impromtu knowledge, go google it.
Is it?
Ever heard the adage, "great minds think alike".
Please dont avoid my question. I am asking you how much do you know about negative covariance in the context of our discussion, just to make sure you know what exactly you are talking about.
Originally posted by TCH05:
Please dont avoid my question. I am asking you how much do you know about negative covariance in the context of our discussion, just to make sure you know what exactly you are talking about.
Wikipedia is your friend. ![]()
Wiki is more than a friend to you, it is your tool and excuses for not answering my question.
Shouldn't you know better?What's the point of me explaining to you?
When I know very well that you will not accept my explanation.
You being such an authority in correlations and statistics.
And you need me to explain S.D., variances and covariances to you?
If you have impromtu knowledge, go google it.
Is it?
Ever heard the adage, "great minds think alike".
I just cannot stop myself, when I see the quote "great minds think alike", to say "and fools seldom differ".
Did some research on fuel cell. Interesting applications and bright future for this new technology, Some interesting applications were found in this article at http://futuristicstechnology.blogspot.com/2008/03/fuel-cell-applications.html
The P4P government is so efficient and good at maintaining our budget that we have $6 billions in surplus.
Increase GST and you'll get more surplus, then the operating surplus will go to the reserves.
The P4P government is so efficient that Temasek is making so much money from our local investments.
Increase electricity tariffs and transport fares and you'll make more money from local investments.
Perhaps we should raise the President, MM, SM, PM, salary to $10 million and the other Ministers to $5 million.
Any body second this proposal? ![]()
Maybe 2010. To keep up with inflation.
"we have $6 billions in surplus."
Really Singapore government $6 billion in surplus 2008? Whats the total revenue and total expenditure btw?
2007 lah
With stronger than expected economic growth in 2007, the projected Budget outturn improved significantly. We expect the Overall Budget Balance to be a surplus of $6.4 billion for Financial Year (FY) 2007, compared to the deficit of $0.7 billion that was originally projected.
Never mention government outlay.
i just want to give some clarification,having worked in this line a number of years:
the price of electricy in Singapore is primarily determined by the gas agreements we've signed with Indonesia
(almost all our electricity is now gas fired) some years back. The pricing mechanism is pegged directly to
the price of oil in the spot market. very much like the A+B (oil price) formula quoted above. there are some other
factors that go into the A and B parts, including US Fx rates, but the run up in oil is the overwhelming factor in the
huge increase in rates we've seen the past year or so.
for eg, USD has fallen about 20% (from ~1.6 to 1.35) compared to a year ago. however oil now is almost 60% higher ($106 compared to ~$65 for the period used to determine the oil price when deciding the rates) in the same period. so you can roughly expect rates to be about ~ 0.8*1.6 =30 % higher compared to a year ago. its not exact but roughly speaking if you want to know your rates in the future, just keep track of the USD and NYMEX crude oil prices to get a ball park figure for rate increases (or decrease if the oil price goes down0.
whether the pricing mechanism was a good deal or not, the contract was signed a long time back, and is open for discussion but do remember how difficult it will be to renegotiate contracts especially when energy prices now are so high.
... same farking trend all these so called 'good years'...
... whatever NSS, ERS, GST Rebates they give you, they take it all back through all these increases..
... and WIS is a farking joke...
They give impression that gahmen is helping the ppl. in actual fact, they are sucking ur money
Originally posted by t_a_s:They give impression that gahmen is helping the ppl. in actual fact, they are sucking ur money
... this is precisely their talent! They merely SKIRT issues people face by implementing half-assed solutions or reliefs which is akin to giving you a glass of water to put out a forest fire...!
.. just look at Medisave; they recently allow people to use it to pay for common chronic ailments, but gives you $400 to last you one whole year! Isn't that half-assed and a cup of water for your forest fire???
... people in SIngapore are too busy trying to survive to make any noise in public over the way government does things, not just because of strict laws in place on demonstrations..
... as such, the government now has a lot of rope to do what comes naturally - and I need not say what...
what we can do within our means is to reduce usage of electricity.
eg. watch premier league, dont watch la liga.
buy smaller size TV.
charge handphone in office.
other than that we cant do much.
Originally posted by reyes:what we can do within our means is to reduce usage of electricity.
eg. watch premier league, dont watch la liga.
buy smaller size TV.
charge handphone in office.
other than that we cant do much.
... no, there's MUCH we can all do come next GE...
... now till then, we can only count & fortify our reasons for voting them out...
... they keep sticking to their lame excuse of keeping the economy going...
... but keeping it going for who's benefits? The People?
... We are the PEOPLE in ACTION all the time, while they PARTY all the way...
nothing ever comes down in singapore, except CPF rates
Originally posted by Focors:nothing ever comes down in singapore, except CPF rates
... well, if nothing ever goes down in SIngapore, then one day they will be the only thing that will go down - in history that is...
ha! ha!, they are trying to cushion the rise by asking the people to enter the save energy contest. You get to win a car if you are lucky
singapore is pretty awesome at raising everything, expect people's salary...
Hong Kongs Charges 0.96HKD Per Kwh (0.167SGD) (link) and Hong Kong Power companies makes about 10% Returns on Equity
Singapore Power charges 23.88kwh and makes 20% Returns on Equity
If a family consumes 300KWH/ month, they would pay $188 more per year due to overcharging.
Growth dividend is only given once a year, but the additional $188 is paid every year.
Singaporeans would be better off with no growth dividends but more opposition to check on the Govt., or better still, take the money and still vote for opposition
Oil price is dropping recently.
You have to see wherther you can vote. Your constituency is contested then you can vote or else they win by default.
rising electricity bills is almost an world phenomenon.
it only depends how much each govt is willing to subsidies it. how well we can change to alternative energy.
singapore should allow singapore cars to use CNG, LPG years ago and not just start recently for private cars.
with this govt you know what u will get!
when things go wrong, they blame the world.
when things go well , it their credit!
... do you people recall Sentosa when it was new & entry charges were so high? Well now it is so dirt cheap to go to Sentosa...
... I believe one day, Singapore will become like Sentosa when almost all locals have migrated and even foreigners hardly want to set foot here...
... by then, our ALL WISE so called government, will be advertising for people to populate this "So-Expensive-And-Nothing-To-See-Anyway" island...