why is it that other countries not having GRCC system leh ? I so idiot, i no no leh.
Originally posted by balance_else_complacent:why is it that other countries not having GRCC system leh ? I so idiot, i no no leh.
Then again one day when you wear a red dress to redress maybe you'll know.
???
Questions we should be asking:
a) Is the source of our unhappiness structural or internal?
b) Are Singaporeans depressed because of the oppressive and uncaring policies implemented by the PAP or simply a state of mind?
By the way, 'unhappy' is a generic term and covers a broad spectrum of emotions ranging from 'aww... I am unhappy because mommy did not get me a pony for Christmas'
to
'I lost my job to a 'FT', now I can't pay the mortgage for my HDB flat and my wife just left me. I think I will go kill myself'.
Instead of asking Singaporeans if they are 'happy', a more accurate question would be: Are Singaporeans throwing themselves in front of incoming trains because they live under an oppressive regime and see no possibility of change?
'Happy'! Hah! Trust the PAP to trivialise the lives of Singaporeans with one word. They are truly the masters of disinfo!
Crew
Originally posted by hloc:
If it wasn't for our English Education System..... I doubt S'porean would have a much better life than Citizens from other surrounding countries.....
And non of us would be writing this now..... would we
on the contrary, there are heaps of PRCs here in australia that cant speak english but are daring enough to set foot here and establish a perm lifestyle.
it amazes me on just how resilient and garang these people are.
and set me wondering, given their lacks in both english and profession, but still they can make it out well here, why cant the singapoeans, having both english language capability and professional skillset, are really hesitant to move overseas?
Originally posted by fishbuff:on the contrary, there are heaps of PRCs here in australia that cant speak english but are daring enough to set foot here and establish a perm lifestyle.
and set me wondering, given their lacks in both english and profession, but still they can make it out well here, why cant the singapoeans, having both english language capability and professional skillset, are really hesitant to move overseas?
That's because there is strength in numbers.
Unlike the China people.. Singaporeans overseas are scattered all over the country.
While other Asian transplants tends to gravitate to their own kind.
You heard of Little China.. little India.. Little Vietnam... little whatever.. but NEVER Little Singapore.. in the lands of the West.
Originally posted by jojobeach:That's because there is strength in numbers.
Unlike the China people.. Singaporeans overseas are scattered all over the country.
While other Asian transplants tends to gravitate to their own kind.
You heard of Little China.. little India.. Little Vietnam... little whatever.. but NEVER Little Singapore.. in the lands of the West.
... that's a good observation there...
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Dear fellow Singaporeans, are you happy living under the iron fist rule of the PAP regime?
Do you want your children to live the sort of life that you are living now?
Well, I can do whatever I want but not whatever you want under the "IRON FIST RULE" of the PAP regime. So, I guess I should be happy.
For the second question, well, I do not know what my children want in their life. But I certainly hope that they can have a simple life as what I have now.
Originally posted by fishbuff:on the contrary, there are heaps of PRCs here in australia that cant speak english but are daring enough to set foot here and establish a perm lifestyle.
And I'm sure the local white, English Speaking only community must be 'loving' all these ppl...... or do those PRCs just stay within their own little areas in Chinatown and hardly mix with the rest of Avg White Aust ![]()
Lookin at how much unhappiness local S'pore of all race have with local PRCs not knowing even simple English...... I wouldn't be surpise sooner or later, One Nation Party might make a come back in Aust if these PRCs number increase.... and they still don't 'learn' English.
Originally posted by hloc:
And I'm sure the local white, English Speaking only community must be 'loving' all these ppl...... or do those PRCs just stay within their own little areas in Chinatown and hardly mix with the rest of Avg White Aust
Lookin at how much unhappiness local S'pore of all race have with local PRCs not knowing even simple English...... I wouldn't be surpise sooner or later, One Nation Party might make a come back in Aust if these PRCs number increase.... and they still don't 'learn' English.
ya, the local aussies are pretty pissed about immigrants that cant speak english, regardless of race.
they wont dare to relaunch the one nation party to push for racial immigration profiling coz china is throwing heaps of money at Australia to buy up its coal and iron ores. Oz just increase the selling prices of these commodities THREE FOLDS..now rio tinto and bhp bilington are laughing all the way to the banks.
Oz's economic future is tied closely to china, even the PM speak mandarin liao. but the immigration here should put in the requirement that immigrant should at least speak some decent english.
Originally posted by fishbuff:ya, the local aussies are pretty pissed about immigrants that cant speak english, regardless of race.
they wont dare to relaunch the one nation party to push for racial immigration profiling coz china is throwing heaps of money at Australia to buy up its coal and iron ores. Oz just increase the selling prices of these commodities THREE FOLDS..now rio tinto and bhp bilington are laughing all the way to the banks.
Oz's economic future is tied closely to china, even the PM speak mandarin liao. but the immigration here should put in the requirement that immigrant should at least speak some decent english.
Which is why when forumrunner here 'complaint' about PAP being too close to China, they always miss out this point...... even the mighty US of A no longer dare to complaint too loudly against China's Human Rights condition.....
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:So far only one person has come out and say that he is happy under the rule of PAP regime.
What happened to the followers of PAP?
This is revealing indeed of life under the PAP regime.
I will never support the PAP regime.
I know that under its rule, Singaporeans will never be happy.
If I have children in the future, I want them to be happy.
That is why the hegemony of PAP rule in this country must be destroyed.
There is no other way.
Unless you want to live unhappily.
Relac a bit lah. Life goes on right? What can you do even if you really not happy sia. Suay suay your area walk-over you also lan-lan tio bo? Relac a bit lah.
For me, I don't plan to have children lah. So stressful one, that day Wanbao says what Pri 1 also doing algebra. I think it's crazy.
Originally posted by yamizi:Relac a bit lah. Life goes on right? What can you do even if you really not happy sia. Suay suay your area walk-over you also lan-lan tio bo? Relac a bit lah.
For me, I don't plan to have children lah. So stressful one, that day Wanbao says what Pri 1 also doing algebra. I think it's crazy.
Y, relac is for the faint-hearted. Poh AP wants to maintain the intensity of his deep dissatisfaction so he can harness the right energy to launch his `web campaign' against his acronym namesake when election comes. i guess there is no stopping him here...
Originally posted by redDUST:Y, relac is for the faint-hearted. Poh AP wants to maintain the intensity of his deep dissatisfaction so he can harness the right energy to launch his `web campaign' against his acronym namesake when election comes. i guess there is no stopping him here...
I ask him to relac, not retreat.
A mind that is filled with anger and hatred cannot accomplish big thing one.
Relac =)
The fact facing you is not as important as your attitude toward it, for that determines your success or failure. The way you think about the fact may defeat you before you ever do anything about it.
Empty pockets never held anyone back. Only empty heads and empty hearts can do that
Resentment or grudges do no harm to the person against whom you hold these feelings but every day and every night of your life, they are eating at you
Our happiness depends on the habit of mind we cultivate. So practice happy thinking every day. Cultivate the merry heart, develop the happiness habit, and life will become a continual feast.”
Originally posted by Master Q:The fact facing you is not as important as your attitude toward it, for that determines your success or failure. The way you think about the fact may defeat you before you ever do anything about it.
Empty pockets never held anyone back. Only empty heads and empty hearts can do that
Resentment or grudges do no harm to the person against whom you hold these feelings but every day and every night of your life, they are eating at you
Our happiness depends on the habit of mind we cultivate. So practice happy thinking every day. Cultivate the merry heart, develop the happiness habit, and life will become a continual feast.”
good advice... but I wonder how many in this forum will listen to this
[You cannot blame the politician for discarding your tradition, can you?]
I put the blame squarely on Lee Kuan Yew.
My greatest hatred towards him is in this area.
The main reason why there is a weakening of cultural traditions lies in our english oriented education system.
This bastard.
So if we all were to speak Chinese/Malay/Tamil right now, do you think we will be able to enjoy the present standard of living that we have? Being able to speak English is a key factor for any small country that wants to do international business.
Taiwan for example is modern and developed but internationally it has a lower profile than Singapore. And by this I am referring to economic factors only, not its political situation.
Besides its not like Singaporeans' standard of Chinese is any good.
Do you know the reason why? ![]()
Originally posted by FireIce:happiness is a state of mind
your life is how u choose to live it
whether in singapore, zimbabwe or mars.
Yeah i agreed.
Most of us live a relatively peaceful life, even though the standard of living is high.
Originally posted by yamizi:I ask him to relac, not retreat.
Relac =)
no offens but just like to reply based on what u said .
assuming hypothetically, someone caused the lives of all you luved ones unneccessarily.
Would you be able to accomplish big things? that is, would you have anger and hatred? No ?
Count ourselves lucky that we doont need to go thru that.
Must not be complacent.
Originally posted by yamizi:I ask him to relac, not retreat.
Relac =)
no offens but just like to reply based on what u said .
assuming hypothetically, someone caused the lives of all you luved ones unneccessarily.
Would you be able to accomplish big things? that is, would you have anger and hatred? No ?
Count ourselves lucky that we doont need to go thru that.
Must not be complacent.
To the TS,
allow me to comment.
I think even if someone is generally happy living here does not mean they are happy with all the things. We must not be confused about being happy (eg. due to being rich) does not mean you as human being should ignore the plight of other humans. To do what is right and humane. To uphold justice.
Being happy is circumstantial and individuals have different levels of EQ and life experiences to handle life.
Even if one is happy, it does not mean letting INJUSTICE get away with DISHONESTY. I mean this in a general way , not accusing anyone specifically.
Even if happy, one should put in effort to make things better:
1. balance what needs to be balanced.
2. demand excellence as the minimal requirement - no free lunch world.
3. CEOs must perform or else get the f-off! CEOs are not indispensable and like you and me, are employees getting money from a INC. No one owes CEOs a living. This has to be clear 1st and foremost. Else end of discussion.
4. You want Honey$ you better show me the money$!
5. Learn to lead by example and not double standards.
6. Take up responsibility as democratic citizens, if we agree that democracy is what we want. Else, why have it?
7. Against communism , marcism, cronism and smuto'ism.
8. We need to ensure the PRESS is neutral . Not that there is not one existing. This includes all writers and editors and interviewers and news reporters, radio DJs and columnists. This will be an eternal effort. Always need to ensure this is maintained if not someone is controlling your minds. Must not encourage the practise of providing 1 side of the story and not providing at all or providing a weak argument of the other side of the story, as long as one exist. Not that something like this has ever happened.
9. Where there is proposition, there has to be an equally strong and competent opposition to ensure balance. This part I dare say it is lacking and yet feel safe in saying so. (must learn how to play this 'game' right ;) )
Am i happy under PAP rule?My answer is simple:Fuk PAP!!!!
Depends what your happiness stems to i guess and your resources.
Cash rich .... SG is pwetty good.
Top 5% .... SG is still pwetty good.
95% with very little savings.... SG is not so good in this dept.
All this is taking into consideration that your happiness is weighted heavily to material comforts
i am happy when i buy the latest game.
i am sad when my wife want to go shopping.
i am happy when i go ICT.
i am sad when i go back to work.
i am happy when i bought a new computer.
i am sad when my wife insist on a new refrigerator.
i am happy when i eat at macdonalds.
i am sad when my wife insist on restaurant food.
i am happy when my boss promote me.
i am sad when my boss give me more work.