Better give them a try like Malaysia. If ok good keep. No good kick.
Originally posted by kramnave:Actually, most commodity merchants and traders will not have that kind of foresight as well.
commodity traders today trade to make money, they don't take possession of the actual goods. Just like oils, prices went up because US$ went down, really don't reflect the full picture of supplies and demands.
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:"if they can provide you with a solution like cheaper brand rice, genetically modified rice etc can you accept it as a solution?"
actually yes i can. Me not a problem.
"not everything is within their control"
then ask them to stop trying to control everything.
"there is such a thing call commodities trading or tading of futures. not necessary for you to keep a cow for milk"
but does NTUC or Temasek do this? or had the foresight.
what makes you think the don't? and commodities are short term trading like 6 months only.All you have seen are the losses they made and the failed investment they made. What about the gain the make?
I'm in no way supporting them. afterall, did they share or returned what they make to the society or to just the few selected one.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Rice once landed in Singapore will be fumigated with Methyl Bromide and that will last at most 3 months before wevils start appearing again. A second fumigation is never recommended so far, not sure if it is effective and not sure if there is any health impact.
Strategically I know it is mandatory for Singapore rice importers to keep a minimum of 3 months stock, which means all rice we eat now are at least 5 months old, from harvest, to shipping, to storage, to packaging, then to the shelves, then to your house, and another 2 weeks, until you cook the last grain.
What other food can you keep for long? if you want to buy processed food, there are plenty, from instant noodle to cereal.
Combat ration is a priviledge only for soldiers. It would be stupid to store processed food like combat ration to fight a world wide food shortage.
these are constructive suggestion although it may not work
Originally posted by sgdiehard:commodity traders today trade to make money, they don't take possession of the actual goods. Just like oils, prices went up because US$ went down, really don't reflect the full picture of supplies and demands.
yes, they don't. but more or less they have fixed that price of that stock with that trade.
"what makes you think they don't?"
Is this under the purview of the Official Secrets Act. They would be publishing in Straits Times if they did and announce to reassure the public. Do you also know there are not more TT Durais who are undiscovered yet? I dont.
Million dollar salary says it all. Its not sharing - its returning what they make from the people.
"Combat ration is a priviledge only for soldiers."
An army marches on its stomach. Its not a privilege, son.
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:then ask them to stop trying to control everything.
The government better have control over strategic commodities like oil, rice, flour... Leave it to the traders then you have to look at the commodities market before you decide if you should eat half one bowl of rice or sweet potato poridge. Leave it to the merchants you may eat rice that have been stored for 2 years old in Thailand or Vietnam.
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:"what makes you think they don't?"
Is this under the purview of the Official Secrets Act. They would be publishing in Straits Times if they did and announce to reassure the public. Do you also know there are not more TT Durais who are undiscovered yet? I dont.
Million dollar salary says it all. Its not sharing - its returning what they make from the people.
. you will have to take their words for it. Afterall we are free for illegal corruptions
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:"Combat ration is a priviledge only for soldiers."
An army marches on its stomach. Its not a privilege, son.
Those who don't do the marching don't even think about it.
Originally posted by 淋雨:these are constructive suggestion although it may not work
What suggestions??
Originally posted by sgdiehard:What suggestions??
doggie biscuits
Originally posted by sgdiehard:commodity traders today trade to make money, they don't take possession of the actual goods. Just like oils, prices went up because US$ went down, really don't reflect the full picture of supplies and demands.
Traders as in traders who buy from farmers and sell to their clients and utilise the derivatives market for risk management and to a certain extent, speculation...Not talking about people who purely speculate in the commodity markets.
You are very shrewd.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:You are very shrewd.
this is how the world market works
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Those who don't do the marching don't even think about it.
A months worth of ammo but a weeks worth of food max. General Sgdiehard's calculations. Civilians also have to eat what. Or can abolish the wayang altogether.
"Strategically I know it is mandatory for Singapore rice importers to keep a minimum of 3 months stock"
Source please?
You think PAP people as smart as Fernandez the AirAsia boss meh? Good foresight in predicting oil increase and make good forward contract.
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:
A months worth of ammo but a weeks worth of food max. General Sgdiehard's calculations. Civilians also have to eat what. Or can abolish the wayang altogether.
What is "a months worth of ammo"? in active combat, you can fire as long as you are alive. And as long as you are alive, you jolly well save your food ration to stay alive longer. You eat to die tomorrow?
Civilian unless on the run away from home, don't need to eat combat ration that is packed for easy carry. Civilian can still be issued with packs of rice to cook and share. Combat ration packed for individual consumption, sharing at most between two person.
If you want to think like a soldier, then listen to your General.![]()
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:"Strategically I know it is mandatory for Singapore rice importers to keep a minimum of 3 months stock"
Source please?
I used to sell Methyl Bromide and learn this from the rice merchant, otherwise they would not want to keep stock in Singapore where warehousing is a lot more expensive than in Thailand or Indonesia. You don't have to believe.
Packs of rice which brings back to the point of logistics of food. You think what Israel 7 day war. I think the reverse will occur instead in 7 days.
If a guy is dead, he doesnt need his ammo as well. Mass casualities means no need for war anymore - time to surrender.
I don't have to believe anything coming from you. When I am free I will go find out on my own.
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:Packs of rice which brings back to the point of logistics of food. You think what Israel 7 day war. I think the reverse will occur instead in 7 days.
If a guy is dead, he doesnt need his ammo as well. Mass casualities means no need for war anymore - time to surrender.
It appears to me that you bring 10kg of rice to battle field, and before you start you are prepared to die, or surrender.
But one person dead is not mass casualities leh..
one day, singapore will decide to make use of the top of every HDB to plant rice by some new technology.
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:I don't have to believe anything coming from you. When I am free I will go find out on my own.
You don't have to believe me, and it is good to find out on your own, just don't start stockpiling rice under your bed. hehehe