Any careful and astute observer of Singapore's political scene will notice that Singaporeans still lack maturity with regards to political issues and need to be carefully guided in their thinking.
Our restless generation, especially the youth, seem to be clamouring for more freedom of speech and expression in all areas of life, including the political front. They like to cite these as part of so-called "civil liberties". But with freedom comes grave responsibility. That is what the youth of today are lacking in.
The PAP government (may the PAP progress!) has created a nation of peace, prosperity, economic progress, and racial and religious harmony. This has not come easy. Anyone who is in government knows that the process of nation building is a slow, tedious process that is incredibly hard. We are where we are today because of the tireless and selfless dedication of the men and women in office, many of whom have made monumental sacrifices to take the lead and bear the immense burden of public office. To these men and women we should be sincerely grateful.
However many of the present generation are unaware of how we got to be where we are, and the kind of work and sacrifice it takes to keep our nation running. Many folk like to view events and government policies in isolation, randomly criticizing them, without reflecting upon the bigger picture. People today only seem to just want more and more -- more money, more handouts, less taxes, less obligations, more free space, more free speech -- without taking into account the needs of tomorrow. This is truly irresponsible.
The present day generation, especially our youth, must learn to appreciate the soundness of our government's policies, and recognize the fact that the government is not afraid to enact policies for the long term good of our nation, and not pander to the short term whims of the electorate. Mindless criticism of the government and its policies without considering the long term good of our nation is only going to be counterproductive. The government devotes all its resources and capabilities, and deploys the best brains we have towards researching the best policies for our nation, policies that will serve all Singaporeans through thick and thin. Singaporeans would do well to recognize this.
While cyberspace and the internet serves as a medium for Singaporeans to express their views and thoughts freely, Singaporeans should be mindful that with free speech comes responsibility -- responsibility to their nation, to their community, and to themselves ultimately. Singaporeans must learn to use their freedoms on the internet wisely, and not abuse them, like so many people are wantonly doing these days. The internet, unfortunately, has frequently become a hodge-podge of thoughtless and irresponsible anti-government propaganda. This is indeed regrettable. It is my sincere hope that Singaporeans can recognize the grave mistake they are committing. Their thoughtless and mindless anti-government propaganda is only going to sabotage the efforts of the government in the long run in building a better and freer Singapore.
The PAP (may the PAP progress!) is still today the best possible party to lead our nation further into the 21st century. Their ranks are filled with capable men and women of honour and integrity, and their leadership renewal is in progress. Instead of mindlessly bickering about being affected by inevitable circumstances such as rising prices or the need to plan and save for a longer retirement, let us instead close ranks and support the one party in Singapore that will lead our nation from strength to strength, and serve the interests of all Singaporeans to the fullest. Let us support the PAP.
Majulah PAP! Majulah Singapura!
Goh Bock Seng
why they get so much money?
You are very wise GohBockSeng to support PAP regime.
Long live PAP!
Long live Lee Kuan Yew!
Lee Kuan Yew is a wise man.
PAP rule is the best for Singapore!
Only fools will want to vote for opposition.
Wise and clever people will vote PAP.
This is clear.
GohBockSeng, you support PAP, this shows that you are wise, politically astute and mature.
I support you and agree with you GohBockSeng.
Such a wise ruling party PAP.
I hope that PAP will rule Singapore for the next 50 years.
All the best PAP.
PAP Singapore! PAP Singapore! PAP Singapore!
I love PAP, I love Lee Kuan Yew.
I hope Lee Kuan Yew can keep on mentoring Singapore for another 20 years.
Singapore will prosper under his wise leadership.
Such a wise man.
Long live Lee Kuan Yew!
its like worse than all of the anti-PAP shit i read in Speaker's Corner added up and exponentially grown..
i'm voting for the opposition.
You should vote PAP.
You are quite unwise and immature to vote for opposition.
Wise people will vote PAP.
today is the first of april
long live GohBockSeng
today is the first of april
True. Let us sing the praises of PAP and Lee Kuan Yew for today.
Tired of criticising PAP regime and Lee Kuan Yew.
Today, I will sing praises for PAP and Lee Kuan Yew.
PAP is the best party!
Long live Lee Kuan Yew!
I love PAP!
I love Lee Kuan Yew!
Their ranks are filled with capable men and women of honour and integrity
mas selamat gleefully disagrees
Lee Kuan Yew is a wise man.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Lee Kuan Yew is a wise man.
Yes, I agree.. He is a very wise man.
But his son and dotter in law... not very wise leh.
PAP filled with bootlickers, spineless yes-men bureaucrats who can't think independently much less express their views.
Mr Goh,
We are not as greedy as you think.
We are asking for more transparency, so that we can start trusting them again.
We are asking our leaders to not close their ears and eyes to the plight of the people.
We are asking for more accountability from the gahmen to fellow Singaporeans.
Is that too much to ask ? Isn't that what a good gahmen should be doing anyway ?
You think our hearts don't bleed for the poor and struggling middle income families ?
You think our hearts don't bleed for the many who fall through the gaping holes within our welfare webing ?
You think our hearts don't bleed for the old and disease striken who cannot find themselves a job because our gahmen couldn't come up with some policies to protect them against discrimination ? Do they have to become beggars because of their plight ? NO !
There are so much they could have done.. but instead of addressing the issues, they simply chuck us aside. Bigger picture ? They couldn't even paint a nice smaller picture.. what bigger picture ? Yah lah.. a LOUSY bigger picture lor.
Do they have to strip the people of their pride and dignity before help can be offered to them ?
Yes yes.. we must all try to see far far.. see ahead lah. But don't you know it's the nearest stone that's gonna trip you over ? Can don't be so mindless anot ?
How can we not gripe about it ?
You know how to solve a problem ? By sweeping them under the carpet ? I hope not.
Stop telling our grandfather stories.. we're not living in their era.
Yes.. Mahjula Singapura. My beloved country. What has become of her ?
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:PAP filled with bootlickers, spineless yes-men bureaucrats who can't think independently much less express their views.
100% agree with your statement.
Originally posted by whiskers:today is the first of april
hmmm
april fools joke?
applauding with both hands and legs .... ![]()
why TS post le then run away
Originally posted by eagle:why TS post le then run away
that's the correct way to spread propaganda mah.. hit-and-run guerilla tactics..
Hey Goh, wipe your nose - there's some brown stuff on it.
It is April the First - and this must be the joke of the month from an April Fool.
Clone, Clone, Clone......
5 post and forever will remain 5 post.....
"The PAP government (may the PAP progress!) has created a nation of peace, prosperity, economic progress, and racial and religious harmony. This has not come easy. Anyone who is in government knows that the process of nation building is a slow, tedious process that is incredibly hard. We are where we are today because of the tireless and selfless dedication of the men and women in office, many of whom have made monumental sacrifices to take the lead and bear the immense burden of public office. To these men and women we should be sincerely grateful."
So has UMNO in Malaysia.
As long as PAP rules Singapore, Singaporeans will have a bright future.
The claim of success is only a hypocrisy !!!
Just read the following Little Red Dot to see the truth !!!
Judge the worth of our ministers in areas like good corporate governance, ability to restructure to a value-adding economy or connectivity to the people etc. to tell whether they were of such standards for yourself.
Don't just hide the many problems caused by wrongful selfish governing system which caused extensive suffering with many families driven to homelessness and bankruptcy. We could have done much better if not for hypocrisy and bigotry.
Let the people know the stark truths. Let them know what is true talent and who are worth the millions and who are not. Let the people know who are lacking for the many fiascos like NKF Shin Corp or Mas Selamat.
THE LITTLE RED DOT STORY
In the east beckons a little red dot,
A one-man-one-vote democracy,
People once told to elect good leaders,
To fight against injustice and inequity,
And serve people with humility,
Alas nonentity once given opportunity,
Became arrogant with own ability,
What they did was tweak the laws,
Called mandate and became kocky
Iron Rice Bowlers became talents,
Took for themselves the highest salaries,
Surpassed that of president of United States,
Citizens told of horror stories,
Like the welfare and free lunch bankruptcy,
So governing was tax and hoard monies,
Only to be spent on Shin Corp and Micropolis,
To tweak the law and stay in power,
Painted fear of citizens wasting votes,
So twisted laws to fair voting process,
Abolished voting in single constituency,
So no citizens could vote their MPs,
Except in groups of 3 to 6 MPs called GRC,
So election time turned into mockery,
Claiming to provide racial harmony,
Actually design of power that be,
Was to stop any one from election,
Opposition who told of unpleasant truths,
Were sued for bankruptcy without mercy,
Till walkover in every constituency,
People bought over with goodies,
Once no-contest pantomime was over,
GST and fees doubly increased,
Low-cost housing sold for double profit,
Less cheeky discount called subsidy,
Forever taxing and hoarding of monies,
To be spent on shin corp for self-glory
Blamed would be put on honest mistake,
Election goodies took care of unhappy memories,
Fiasco in value-adding to new economy,
Resorted to IR over the dead body,
Mass educated unemployed and dropping wages,
Avoided by pointing fingers at worse countries,
Forgotten solemn promises of talents,
Just blamed on long suffering people,
Calling them quitters and grousers,
Thus was the story of the little red dot,
Told by such leaders as forever success,
Sadly but a story of bigotry and hypocrisy.
It is because of constant selfish agendas to serve the government own purposes that we have had too much problems with the people ranging from greed to over-protective policies to succeed in building surpluses at the expense of the people.
We need new people uninfluenced by such past selfish policies to move forward.
If we can find another Lim Kim San or Dr. Goh Keng Swee and people with passions and practical abilities to restructure and remake the governing of the nation to be more proactive and pro-people to bring about change to past selfish policies of the current government we should always try to give such people the chance to assume higher position of responsibility.
Such people of ability are often more reserved, modest but willing to work passionately for the people with little or no pay. I for one hope we can spot such people and welcome such practical talents who like Bill Gates or Sim Wong Hoo are often excluded due to over-emphasis on academic ability or positions or status.
I have known of ordinary MCST and unsung heros which brought about major progress and great benefits to their respective organizations by lowering costs and the high management fees from $1.00 per share pm to $0.20 per share pm during recessions despite the government ministers constantly refusing to lower taxes and costs in every service and ministry even as it is increasing yet again all taxes to hoard more monies for its own selfish purpose.