"The pollution, political stability and safety in singapore is probably unbeatable compared with other countries"
Can only agree with A because there is not much industries in Singapore itself that can pollute. Apart from Co2.
Political stability exists only when there is 1 party. And Safety in Singapore is decreasing over time and crime increases and due to increase because of casino. No such as no poverty.
"They also come out with system such as temasek which had brought additional income to the country (contrary to popular belief in forums)"
So has Government of UAE etc. Thing is long run I believe other countries will reject sovereign funds except for the poorest countries.
Its called discussion, not shooting people down like PAP...
here is a list you have to think carefully for your choice country.Give your subjectively assessment.Objectively assessment is BS.
if u like democracy so much ,u can allocate say 70%,the rest attaract the balance 30% etc.
The main point is ,can u get any jobs u like in the adopted country!
Ur English very good leh. Please explain properly. Well at least PAP are giving people like lionnoisy jobs.
Can merge a few ministries actually. especially for a 600 sqkm island. Downsizing the government is a big no no, otherwise even more complaints!
Just a question huh Uncle Ver SG,
Do u really think singapore is so lousy, so terrible, so cruel and have nothing good to mention at all ? Do u really think the Gov of singapore r actually inept, stupid, greedy despots tat do not churn out any good idea or any good policies and sit around loafing and collecting million dollar pay ?
I just have tis idea tat a lot of people here have tis mentality ![]()
When they win youth olympics, they complain it is nothing and waste of money. When they come out with any policy they say it is the world's most stupid policy and will surely lose money. When they get voted to be a good place to stay they try to find ways and means to say it is kelong and singapore is the worst place to stay. When they have something to be proud of, they say it is all gov propaganda. When MSK escape, they say singapore gov is useless and they should have a mass resignation and tell the whole world about it.
I really feel tat singaporean have no pride being singaporean... They felt tat tis is probably one of the worst place to live in and all the achievements etc r overrated.
"Do u really think the Gov of singapore r actually inept, stupid, greedy despots tat do not churn out any good idea or any good policies and sit around loafing and collecting million dollar pay ?"
Yes. Their "good ideas and policies" are not unique. And they impose unnessary burdens to the citizens.
"Do u really think singapore is so lousy, so terrible, so cruel with nothing good to mention at all ?"
Well theres the food, the PAP propogandists to keep myself entertained with, the high pay not matching the level of competence across the board. These are the good things. PAP also employ a lot of people that would not be employed in private sector that is good too, like Mediacorp shows that ONLY the islanders can watch. As to how cruel Singapore can be, ask Van Tuong Nguyen's family (remember him?) and Francis Seow.
"When they get voted to be a good place to stay they try to find ways and means to say it is kelong and singapore is the worst place to stay."
Well if Singaporeans are NOT included in the survey.
"When they win youth olympics, they complain it is nothing and waste of money. When they come out with any policy they say it is the world's most stupid policy and will surely lose money"
It is up to the GOVERNMENT in any part of the world to prove that any policy will NOT lose money. IF they lose money, who is willing to take the responsibility.
Youth Olympics is another money-spinning exercise for the Olympics so I wont call it nothing. Just that a lot of people won't watch it. However thats the IOC's problem not Singapore's, unlike F1 night race which has cost, safety and environmental issues.
I do approve of the casinos though. Thats the MOST astute move made by the Government I am willing to admit.
"When MSK escape, they say singapore gov is useless and they should have a mass resignation and tell the whole world about it."
Please dont exaggerate only the minister in charge WKS. Let me also ask the question: are you happy that MSK escaped and the boss in charge of security is also scot free?
"They felt tat tis is probably one of the worst place to live in and all the achievements etc r overrated."
Its not the worst place to live in. In another survey, Changi Airport came in third whereas KL airport came in second kelong right?
To each his own.
A lot of countries have public gyms: US, Europe, other countries. If not YMCA gyms etc. I cant tell you how much they cost but definitely much cheaper (and less facilities etc) than private gym. Why do you think only swizterland have public gyms? You a investment banker ah?
R u sure ? I have been to Italy for 6 months and in Europe there is no such thing as public gym. I heard from an Italian friend tat there r public gym in switzerland so I brought it up.
Please scientifically produce the proof that all the bright ideas originated from them and not some Ang Moh think tank they paid.
Why suddenly lumped in Ang Mo think tank into the picture ? Off hand I think CPF, ERP, COE, HDB, library IT and many other ideas tat r unique. Even if they r not unique, they r implemented successfully and r shown to be a good model to follow. But of course u will discredit everything
Can only agree with A because there is not much industries in Singapore itself that can pollute. Apart from Co2.
I think the planting of the many trees have some credit ba...
Political stability exists only when there is 1 party. And Safety in Singapore is decreasing over time and crime increases and due to increase because of casino. No such as no poverty.
First point I agree with u, but nevertheless it is indeed politically stable.
Safety in singapore is high, and whether is it decreasing with time can only be said when things happened.
So has Government of UAE etc. Thing is long run I believe other countries will reject sovereign funds except for the poorest countries.
Singapore have it earlier than UAE though. Other country will reject sovereign fund because singapore is doing it and singapore always make wrong policy right ?
Yes. Their "good ideas and policies" are not unique. And they impose unnessary burdens to the citizens.
I just care if the idea is good and workable or not. I don't care whether it is unique or not. And if they impose unnecessary burden, then I wonder why other countries r doing it too (since u claim they r not unique)
Well theres the food, the PAP propogandists to keep myself entertained with, the high pay not matching the level of competence across the board. These are the good things. PAP also employ a lot of people that would not be employed in private sector that is good too, like Mediacorp shows that ONLY the islanders can watch. As to how cruel Singapore can be, ask Van Tuong Nguyen's family (remember him?) and Francis Seow.
I think their performance as ministers r not tat bad because I can see continuous improvement in each sector
Mediacorp may be performing badly recently :( However Raintree production r trying to produce shows for international audiences... trying la
Van Tuong Nguyen, the drug trafficker ? He deserve to die
Well if Singaporeans are NOT included in the survey
R u sure ?
It is up to the GOVERNMENT in any part of the world to prove that any policy will NOT lose money. IF they lose money, who is willing to take the responsibility.
True. But it seems a lot of people just condemn all policies as losing money when it in fact has made money
Please dont exaggerate only the minister in charge WKS. Let me also ask the question: are you happy that MSK escaped and the boss in charge of security is also scot free?
Actually, I am not happy myself. I think somebody's head have to roll and the answer to why he escaped have to be released soon
Its not the worst place to live in. In another survey, Changi Airport came in third whereas KL airport came in second kelong right?
wat survey is tat ?
Australia have public gyms, a lot of countries have them http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2003/05/12/852351.htm
"I think the planting of the many trees have some credit ba..."
Compared to the Co2 produced by Singapore, it is insignificant. And breeds mosquitoes.
"Safety in singapore is high,"
I dunno about crime rate exactly, it is increasing now. + future estimated increase. Sorry about the grammar.
"Van Tuong Nguyen, the drug trafficker ? He deserve to die"
Compassion? Zero. Actually he is the stupid noble guy helping his idiot brother.
"I think their performance as ministers r not tat bad because I can see continuous improvement in each sector"
Subjective.
"I just care if the idea is good and workable or not. I don't care whether it is unique or not"
What I am trying to say is that not ONLY these people can come with good ideas. Btw only ERP and COE (aforementioned revenue making burden to the people) is unique.
Singapore is not perfect, so is every country on this planet. No lah, dont get me wrong its a great place to stay if you are a foreigner. Same like Singaporeans in other countries. Whats your impression of Italy?
Survey is world's best airport service, google it.
Australia have public gyms, a lot of countries have them http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2003/05/12/852351.htm
I don't know man but public gym does not mean government sponsored gym. I find from here and it seems tat a lot of these gyms cost money in australia
http://petermartin.blogspot.com/2007/04/sunday-dollarssense-paying-not-to-go-to.html
I checked out the nearest gym and the cost was $448(australian) for 5months, which as a poor uni student i just cannot afford so i will have to make do with my 1 dumbell and machines.
http://www.fightingarts.com/ubbthreads/showflat.php?Cat=0&Number=15986477&an=0&page=0
Compared to the Co2 produced by Singapore, it is insignificant. And breeds mosquitoes.
The trees do improve the air quality isn't it ? If according to wat u say, then should we remove all the trees ?
dunno about crime rate exactly, it is increasing now. + future estimated increase. Sorry about the grammar.
it had reduced in 2007. And future estimated increase is just guessing
http://www.spf.gov.sg/stats/stats2007_overview.htm
Compassion? Zero. Actually he is the stupid noble guy helping his idiot brother
How about the many more lives which had been ruined by drug trafficking ?
What I am trying to say is that not ONLY these people can come with good ideas. Btw only ERP and COE (aforementioned revenue making burden to the people) is unique.
I find tat as a good way to tax the people and control car population. It solved problems
Singapore is not perfect, so is every country on this planet. No lah, dont get me wrong its a great place to stay if you are a foreigner. Same like Singaporeans in other countries. Whats your impression of Italy?
I don't think italy is a good place to stay if u r a foreigner. I prefer to stay in singapore... honest...
Survey is world's best airport service, google it
I exactly use "world's best airport service" paste it in google and get the below
http://www.worldairportawards.com/
Singapore get second ya... I did not see KL...
Survey:
http://au.news.yahoo.com/080402/3/16c6h.html
"SHANGHAI, April 2 Asia Pulse - The Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) has won the World's Best Airport award in the 15-25 million-passenger per annum category for the Airport Council International (ACI) 2007 Airport Service Quality Awards (ASQ).
KLIA was also ranked first in "Best Airport Worldwide" and second in "Best Airport in Asia-Pacific" categories."
"The trees do improve the air quality isn't it ? If according to wat u say, then should we remove all the trees ?"
Not by much. Maybe 1%. Not remove all the trees. Reduce the number of trees especially with the leaves that encourage mosquito breeding.
"How about the many more lives which had been ruined by drug trafficking ?"
No one force addict to take drugs. If I can decide policy, I will introduce harsh penalties for drug addicts (not death penalty). In my opinion, drug addict is as bad as drug trafficker, if not worse. But must see case by case unlike PAP (people get addicted to drugs because of some kind of illness).
"find tat as a good way to tax the people and control car population. It solved problems"
oh boy u dont drive car right? ERP still jam. Pay to get stuck. Doesnt solve all problems.
"I don't think italy is a good place to stay if u r a foreigner. I prefer to stay in singapore... honest..."
For the public gyms? Gym is not THAT expensive. Italy scenary, beaches, cuisine, women, Ferrari. To each his own as I said. Its only whether can afford or not.
Not by much. Maybe 1%. Not remove all the trees. Reduce the number of trees especially with the leaves that encourage mosquito breeding.
I don't know how u come out with the 1% difference but the trees make the whole environment look much better and cleaner. Maybe u like to see concrete all around u but the trees r a pleasant sight
No one force addict to take drugs. If I can decide policy, I will introduce harsh penalties for drug addicts (not death penalty). In my opinion, drug addict is as bad as drug trafficker, if not worse. But must see case by case unlike PAP (people get addicted to drugs because of some kind of illness).
it is always the policy of the law maker to catch the people who had established/supply the crime and not the people who get drawn by these crimes. The illegal gambling operator is worse than the gamblers, the person selling vcds is worse than the buyers, the person selling contraband cigerrettes is worse than the smokers, the prostitude get it worse than the customers. Similarly for drug abuse, it is the drug trafficker tat should get the heavier punishment and not the drug addict. If u remove the supply, the system collapse. As long as there is supply, there will always be demand
IMO, drug addict r the victims and drug trafficker distribute poison to society for profit. Furthermore if u punish drug addict, then how to convince them to come to the authorities for help with the addict ? If u talk about morphine addicition for certain sickness such as terminal cancer, then they can get their hand on the drug through legal means.
oh boy u dont drive car right? ERP still jam. Pay to get stuck. Doesnt solve all problems
It is not as stuck as before and it is a good and fair revenue for tax. Tax the richer person who make use of the lesser resources more intensively
For the public gyms? Gym is not THAT expensive. Italy scenary, beaches, cuisine, women, Ferrari. To each his own as I said. Its only whether can afford or not
few hundred for a few months is incredibly expensive compared with 70 dollars for half a year here. Perhaps it is 10 times the difference in price
Italy scenary is indeed beautiful and their women r really pretty. Their healthcare is pretty good too but it takes up a large chunk of their budget. However they only have italy cuisine (they don't have much of other food unlike singapore... and u can get italian food here as well), u can get ferarri in singapore too and the beaches r so so and available only in summer. Their crime rate is notorious too and I met 3 pickpockets within 6 months there. Yeah... and napoli have a infamous mafia reputation as well as gabbage problems. They have regular strikes too and u can get a few days without anyone cleaning or public transport.
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Italy scenary is indeed beautiful and their women r really pretty. Their healthcare is pretty good too but it takes up a large chunk of their budget. However they only have italy cuisine (they don't have much of other food unlike singapore... and u can get italian food here as well), u can get ferarri in singapore too and the beaches r so so and available only in summer. Their crime rate is notorious too and I met 3 pickpockets within 6 months there. Yeah... and napoli have a infamous mafia reputation as well as gabbage problems. They have regular strikes too and u can get a few days without anyone cleaning or public transport.
Seems like in all aspects, Germany win Italy hands down. Not much surprise... Comparing Germany to Italy is akin to comparing Singapore to Indonesia... (hope no one gets offended, just trying to make a point)
"IMO, drug addict r the victims and drug trafficker distribute poison to society for profit. Furthermore if u punish drug addict, then how to convince them to come to the authorities for help with the addict ?"
Nonsense. Do you take drugs? Drug addicts take drugs on their own free will and get themselves trapped. A long jail term will help rehabilitate them as well as starving the demand, thus also decreasing the supply. Drug addicts dont come foward to the authorities, its usually the relatives or friends that stage intervention.
"few hundred for a few months"
Pay more for BETTER facilities. Ever heard of free market? Someone can also open budget gym also what. I pay $50 per month for gym so 6 months $300.
Plant too many trees and you get increase in dengue fever etc. 1% is based on Singapore's electricity consumption and thus Co2 produced is much more than the trees can handle. Did Singapore sign the Kyoto Protocol?
"It is not as stuck as before "
LOL. 99% of motorists will disagree with you. Dont believe me run a poll.
Nonsense. Do you take drugs? Drug addicts take drugs on their own free will and get themselves trapped. A long jail term will help rehabilitate them as well as starving the demand, thus also decreasing the supply. Drug addicts dont come foward to the authorities, its usually the relatives or friends that stage intervention
if the supply is there, they will easily convince other people to try drugs. Teenagers or troubled youth r vulnerable and peer pressure can easily make them go for drugs. Own freewill does not apply to these vulnerable people.
If u just go for the addicts, then u will find more and more people taking drugs which will cause serious society problems. If u go for the supply, then drugs will remain underground and rare and society have lesser problems with it. If u look at singapore and those countries tat have a strong penalty for drugtraffickers, u will find their society have a lower drug dependency problem
Pay more for BETTER facilities. Ever heard of free market? Someone can also open budget gym also what. I pay $50 per month for gym so 6 months $300.
Most of the time gym r localised to a certain region and they have a near monopoly there. They do not have to open a budget gym. Furthermore the equipment and instructors r expensive and they r not subsidised by the gov.
Plant too many trees and you get increase in dengue fever etc. 1% is based on Singapore's electricity consumption and thus Co2 produced is much more than the trees can handle. Did Singapore sign the Kyoto Protocol?
Pollution is not about CO2 or electricity consumption. It is removing the smog and smoke from the air. Where do u based your 1% on again ? Singapore, I believe, do support protecting the environmental and is pretty vocal
LOL. 99% of motorists will disagree with you. Dont believe me run a poll.
Tis is an obvious economic phenomenon. If u increase the price, the demand drops. The ERP more or less reduce the jam on the road. If suddenly ERP is removed, do u think there will be a surge in user on tat road ?
"If u just go for the addicts, then u will find more and more people taking drugs which will cause serious society problems"
Going after the addicts will DECREASE the number of addicts. You think trees remove smog and smoke from the air, where do you come up with that fact.
You know what is Co2 by the way - the thing contributing to global warming and strange weather. Dont want to argue with you - based on your arguments one can see why PAP win elections.
Going after the addicts will DECREASE the number of addicts.
If the supply is there and promoting their drugs, then they will create lots of addicts. It is already shown catching drugs traffickers reduce drug abuse problems. Almost the whole world punish traffickers than addicts
You think trees remove smog and smoke from the air, where do you come up with that fact.
http://www.treesaregood.com/treecare/tree_benefits.aspx
Air quality can be improved through the use of trees, shrubs, and turf. Leaves filter the air we breathe by removing dust and other particulates. Rain then washes the pollutants to the ground. Leaves absorb carbon dioxide from the air to form carbohydrates that are used in the plant’s structure and function. In this process, leaves also absorb other air pollutants—such as ozone, carbon monoxide, and sulfur dioxide—and give off oxygen.
You know what is Co2 by the way - the thing contributing to global warming and strange weather.
Sorry man, I am talking about pollution, not global warming. Global warming reduction have to be implmented by the whole world, not singapore alone
"Sorry man, I am talking about pollution, not global warming. Global warming reduction have to be implmented by the whole world, not singapore alone"
Australia and Europe + Japan + Malaysia sign Kyoto Protocol. They done their part. As to trees removing smog, I want a SCIENTIFIC explanation.
"It is already shown catching drugs traffickers reduce drug abuse problems. Almost the whole world punish traffickers than addicts"
Not by death penalty. Why is everything so binary in your thinking - did I mention the trafficker DON'T get punished. Just not by death penalty. I dont take drugs, almost everyone I know dont take drugs, why are you so worried that the miscreant drug addict facing responsibility for his own actions. Unless...
Also the cheap public gym - are you referring to community centre or SAFRA. Dont tell me Singapore government subsidize personal trainer. I would also like to know the condition of their equipment and the kind of machines they have.
Australia and Europe + Japan + Malaysia sign Kyoto Protocol. They done their part. As to trees removing smog, I want a SCIENTIFIC explanation.
Singapore in in the kyoto protocol
http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v3/news_lite.php?id=191431
Trees do improve air quality. The explanation is already given. It is a scientific explanation.
Air quality can be improved through the use of trees, shrubs, and turf. Leaves filter the air we breathe by removing dust and other particulates. Rain then washes the pollutants to the ground. Leaves absorb carbon dioxide from the air to form carbohydrates that are used in the plant’s structure and function. In this process, leaves also absorb other air pollutants—such as ozone, carbon monoxide, and sulfur dioxide—and give off oxygen.
Not by death penalty. Why is everything so binary in your thinking - did I mention the trafficker DON'T get punished. Just not by death penalty. I dont take drugs, almost everyone I know dont take drugs, why are you so worried that the miscreant drug addict facing responsibility for his own actions. Unless...
Why not ? Tis create a big social problem and the law should deter people from trafficking. Do u agree drugs can create a big social ill if left uncontrolled ?
Using your own logic, why r u so worried about drug trafficking ? R u a drug trafficker ? Otherwise why r u worried about them ?
Also the cheap public gym - are you referring to community centre or SAFRA. Dont tell me Singapore government subsidize personal trainer. I would also like to know the condition of their equipment and the kind of machines they have.
I am talking about the community center one. True, there is little or not personal trainer there but u can use the machine. Can u use the gym machine freely and cheaply in other countries ?
"Using your own logic, why r u so worried about drug trafficking ? R u a drug trafficker ? Otherwise why r u worried about them ?"
Same thing why are you so worried about drug addicts. Drug traffickers hang and drug addicts go free. Justice? They are part of same demand and supply equation. The laws should deter people from taking drugs. Or are you pro drugs? If drunk drivers can be prosecuted just by driving and NOT by causing accidents then drug addicts should be convicted as well.
My mistake Singapore signed the Kyoto Protocol and when there is NO emmissions target to be met as a DEVELOPING country. I tot PAP like boast that Singapore is already a developed country.
Under the Protocol, countries listed under Annex I are required to reduce the emissions of six greenhouse gases on average by 5.2 per cent below the 1990 levels during the first commitment period from 2008 to 2012.
There are no emission-reduction targets for non-Annex I countries such as Singapore. However, the CDM of the Kyoto Protocol allows industrialised countries to achieve part of their emission reduction commitments by conducting emission-reduction projects in non-Annex I countries.
"Can u use the gym machine freely and cheaply in other countries ?"
What is your obssesion with public gyms? Next I ask a foreigner if they have cheap public gyms I already quoted Australia. If not public then YMCA etc.
Same thing why are you so worried about drug addicts. Drug traffickers hang and drug addicts go free. Justice? They are part of same demand and supply equation. The laws should deter people from taking drugs. Or are you pro drugs? If drunk drivers can be prosecuted just by driving and NOT by causing accidents then drug addicts should be convicted as well.
Drug addicts do go to jail if they r repeat offenders
Does tat make u happy now ? I think u r more pro drug ba... u wanted to go easy on drug traffickers
My mistake Singapore signed the Kyoto Protocol and when there is NO emmissions target to be met as a DEVELOPING country. I tot PAP like boast that Singapore is already a developed country.
Com'on la... the year it is signed, it is a developing country. If u boast at the wrong thing, u have to pay a price. U have too much money to burn ? Then tat is the real stupidity.
What is your obssesion with public gyms? Next I ask a foreigner if they have cheap public gyms I already quoted Australia. If not public then YMCA etc.
I think u r the one giving problems by claiming wat I had said is wrong about gyms
U go and ask the other people lor. I never went to YMCA australia before but I suspect they either do not have a lot of gym equipment or they r not free. Furthermore, they seemed to promote christianity which may not be tat attarctive to people of other faith
the heaven is in your heart.u are decision maker.
do thorough home works.Just do it.

Originally posted by lionnoisy:the heaven is in your heart.u are decision maker.
do thorough home works.Just do it.
Thanks for posting the article. Can only read half of it anyway.
Yes, Singapore is almost a heaven.
So, really.. we should just stop improving already.. time to rest on her laurels.
Since we also export all our trash. We should also export the poor and needy, sick and handicapped, the ones screwing and the ones getting screwed.... somewhere else.
That.. will help.
They say.. take the good with the bad.
I agree.. let's just close our eyes to the bad,... out of sight out of mind .. OK ? Good.
Like men.. they complain we don't appreciate the good stuff.. only know how to complain about the bad stuff.
Like men.. they don't like to be told how to do it.
Well.. guess what..most of them are men.. anyway.
If by "going easy" on traffickers means not KILLING them by hanging, then yes. Especially in the case of Nyugen, who can be rehabilitated. I am anti drugs; I am not even anti death penalty.
I am pro justice to the extent that if anyone found with drugs in their blood, they should be prosecuted. Why should the state commit MURDER on the supply side while allow the demand side go free? Who's softer on the WAR on drugs if the state lets one side of equation go free?
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:If by "going easy" on traffickers means not KILLING them by hanging, then yes. Especially in the case of Nyugen, who can be rehabilitated. I am anti drugs; I am not even anti death penalty.
I am pro justice to the extent that if anyone found with drugs in their blood, they should be prosecuted. Why should the state commit MURDER on the supply side while allow the demand side go free? Who's softer on the WAR on drugs if the state lets one side of equation go free?
Drug traffickers should be hanged and drug addicts should be jailed and caned.
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Drug traffickers should be hanged and drug addicts should be jailed and caned.
Yes, we know, but Uncle Ver SG is asking why should it be like that.
If by "going easy" on traffickers means not KILLING them by hanging, then yes. Especially in the case of Nyugen, who can be rehabilitated. I am anti drugs; I am not even anti death penalty.
Lets settle the drug addicts first. The drug addicts r punished in singapore. They get to be jailed and caned if they r repeat offenders. If u think tat is not harsh enough, then do u advocate them to be hanged ?
Now comes to drug trafficker. If u ask me, they deserve the death penalty. Why ? Because it is too lucrative. If someone manage to bring in a large amount over, they have enough money not to work forever. If it meant a simple 1-2 years jail, I myself will start drug trafficking and gamble by drug trafficking. If I manage to bring over once, then I can retire. Logically, it is not a stupid choice.The deterent is not enough to deter people
Secondly, drug caused a lot of social problems. U can see drug addicts can become so desperate they become prostitute or commit serious crime such as robbery or murder. In fact, drugs really redefine the word "desperate". People do anything when they r desperate, even killing their family. Just because we want to be kind to traffickers who don't care about others, we r ruining innocent people life. Who do u want to protect ?