Just took a holiday back to Singapore and I must say I was very impressed with Clarke Quay ... however I found that the majority of the crowd were Ang Mohs and malay girls (think they are there cause of the Ang Mohs).
The drinks were pricey which could be reason why the crowd consisted of mostly foreigners and the well heeled Singaporeans.
Sad thing is that when i went over the river to get smokes VOILA! there were my fellow Singaporeans ..... all huddled in groups along the river drinking alcohol bought from convenience stores (7-11 ... ?) and looking on at the party happening before their eyes.
I might be mistaken but is the SG govt doing anything to make entertainment/drinks more affordable for the youth in SG.
Is there a more affordable (meybe not so classy) nitespot for Singaporeans in SG?
Whilst it is a good way to create revenue from foreigners (Clarke Quay) .... there should also be a cheaper alternative for locals instead of having to sit across the river looking at others party themselves silly.
I have the feeling the govt is catering to the needs of foreigners ( more $ ) and neglecting our youth.
*I made this post from what I feel .... and in no way went out of my way to attain facts.... but what I saw and what I felt is portrayed in this post ... feel free to comment.
U do know that Clarke Quay is mainly to draw in the Tourist Dollors right..... ![]()
If you are willing to forkout the cash..... are the drinking holes stopping you from entering
If you are un-willing to forkout the cash, same as me..... then go to some less costly spot lor.
I might be mistaken but is the SG govt doing anything to make entertainment/drinks more affordable for the youth in SG.
As for the above..... I don't support the idea of making 'Drinks' affordable for the 'youth'... aka underage drinker - S'porean.....
Originally posted by hloc:U do know that Clarke Quay is mainly to draw in the Tourist Dollors right.....
If you are willing to forkout the cash..... are the drinking holes stopping you from entering
If you are un-willing to forkout the cash, same as me..... then go to some less costly spot lor.
As for the above..... I don't support the idea of making 'Drinks' affordable for the 'youth'... aka underage drinker - S'porean.....
Hiya bud ..... is there a less costly spot available for youths? And I don't mean for underage drinkers.
I also visited Boat Quay and its empty ..... which used to be one of the places I used to visit for cheap drinks.
And those people huddled in groups across the river... they don't look underage.... some with motorcycle helmets and I don't think convenience stores sell alcohol to people unless they are of the right age.
But maybe I'm overreacting cause it comes across to me that they can't afford the entertainment there which is why they chose that option (huddling in groups across the river with alcohol from 7-11) ![]()
and thats disgraceful!! Setup a damn place to cater for their needs at affordable prices.
Well.... local all over the World will know of some spot away from their own countrie's ''Tourist Spot'' to get affordable entertainment or drinks.....
Come to think of it..... I don't see much local Thai around the Go Go Bars I visited when I'm at Phuket.... also all foreginer..... too expensive for the locals. ![]()
There are plenty of places with cheaper beer
It could be that the people like to high out there and didn't think it's worth paying the price at the pubs too
to be fair ... you know that many of those sort of joints in Thailand are "foreigners only" eh ? some places are "japanese only", "Koreans only".. or even "whites only".... something that'll never fly in Singapore, but perfectly fine in Thailand, and nobody kicks up a fuss ... ... ![]()
of course ... what kind of clientele the businesses want to draw in is their own business ....
how come nobody asks if the pubs at golden mile's for Singaporeans or not ? .... or orchard towers ? .....
just go find some place else to party, what's wrong ? ....
Originally posted by Genie99a:Just took a holiday back to Singapore and I must say I was very impressed with Clarke Quay ... however I found that the majority of the crowd were Ang Mohs and malay girls (think they are there cause of the Ang Mohs).
The drinks were pricey which could be reason why the crowd consisted of mostly foreigners and the well heeled Singaporeans.
Sad thing is that when i went over the river to get smokes VOILA! there were my fellow Singaporeans ..... all huddled in groups along the river drinking alcohol bought from convenience stores (7-11 ... ?) and looking on at the party happening before their eyes.
Is there a more affordable (meybe not so classy) nitespot for Singaporeans in SG?
Whilst it is a good way to create revenue from foreigners (Clarke Quay) .... there should also be a cheaper alternative for locals instead of having to sit across the river looking at others party themselves silly.
I have the feeling the govt is catering to the needs of foreigners ( more $ ) and neglecting our youth.
*I made this post from what I feel .... and in no way went out of my way to attain facts.... but what I saw and what I felt is portrayed in this post ... feel free to comment.
incite....![]()
I think TS have been away from Singapore too long thats why he/she is blur like a tourist.
Welcome to Singapore. Selamat Datang, Huan Ying
Originally posted by Genie99a:Just took a holiday back to Singapore and I must say I was very impressed with Clarke Quay ... however I found that the majority of the crowd were Ang Mohs and malay girls (think they are there cause of the Ang Mohs).
Power lah you.....
So it's the gahmen's fault that Clarke Quay is too expensive for our youths? So it's the gahmen's fault that they don't know how to go elsewhere for their nicotine and booze?
Best lah..... every little thing also want to blame the gahmen.....
haha, where's pah ah pak? got one shoot-govt thread, and he's not involved? ![]()
i agree that drinks are expensive.. so don't do it often lor. clarke quay draws in the tourists which is cool. but clarke quay also draws in the gangs.. i keep hearing fights over there recently.
Originally posted by fudgester:Power lah you.....
So it's the gahmen's fault that Clarke Quay is too expensive for our youths? So it's the gahmen's fault that they don't know how to go elsewhere for their nicotine and booze?
Best lah..... every little thing also want to blame the gahmen.....
Don't get me wrong .... If they are happy doing it go ahead. In which case I feel that the government has not done the wrong thing since its what you want ![]()
It's just that I feel that if the foreigners can enjoy that kind of luxury I'll want it for fellow locals too.
But that's ok. The rich will go to Clarke Quay and I'll find the rest of you across the river ....hey saves $ you know ![]()
Originally posted by Genie99a:
Don't get me wrong .... If they are happy doing it go ahead. In which case I feel that the government has not done the wrong thing since its what you want
It's just that I feel that if the foreigners can enjoy that kind of luxury I'll want it for fellow locals too.
But that's ok. The rich will go to Clarke Quay and I'll find the rest of you across the river ....hey saves $ you know
Pls la the locals who can afford it dun go to Clarke Quay to drink also
If they cannot afford it why is Zouk, St James, IndoChines etc filled to the brime every week and locals go to those places too
Pls la the locals who can afford it dun go to Clarke Quay to drink alsoIf they cannot afford it why is Zouk, St James, IndoChines etc filled to the brime every week and locals go to those places too
Are those places cheap?
I frequented Zouk and MOS when i was back there.
I'd say that alot of rich kids go to Zouk/MOS .... saw a whole row of Ferraris when i was at velvet.
Nvr tried St James, IndoChimes.
If you think its affordable then no complaints my point is invalid to begin. So long as you're happy. It doesn't bother me.
Maybe you're right they are there just because they want to breathe in the air from Singapore River.
Don't get me wrong .... If they are happy doing it go ahead. In which case I feel that the government has not done the wrong thing since its what you want
But that's ok. The rich will go to Clarke Quay and I'll find the rest of you across the river ....hey saves $ you know
So, following your reasoning, I can say the following:
If rich foreigners can afford Lamborghinis, us locals must be able to afford them too because that's what the government must ensure....
If rich foreigners can afford caviar and champagne, us locals must be able to afford them too because that's what the government must ensure....
Freak lah.... if you want expensive luxuries like pubbing at Clarke Quay, then you should go out and work and earn enough money to be able to afford them. Why the heck do you have to bring the government into this?
Originally posted by fudgester:So, following your reasoning, I can say the following:
If rich foreigners can afford Lamborghinis, us locals must be able to afford them too because that's what the government must ensure....
If rich foreigners can afford caviar and champagne, us locals must be able to afford them too because that's what the government must ensure....
Freak lah.... if you want expensive luxuries like pubbing at Clarke Quay, then you should go out and work and earn enough money to be able to afford them. Why the heck do you have to bring the government into this?
sour grape?
Originally posted by TCH05:
sour grape?
me or you?
I am earning ang moh salary. I don't see why i would be sour lol
"If rich foreigners can afford Lamborghinis, us locals must be able to afford them too because that's what the government must ensure...."
First Class Nation right? Always talk about your GDP right? Temasek sibei solid right?
Then similar luxuries right or wrong? Or you think bcos they are foreigners "Ang Moh" means you sure will earn less? Asian very inferior to "Ang Moh" meh? Or is it just your mindset.
hmm. i agree.. we do need to have abit of the mindset. if ang mo can earn big bucks, why can't we? are we any inferior to them? this mindset is good to motivate us and remind us that we're all equal..
but of course this mindset must be coupled with humility and contentment, or else you'll get sucked into the never ending cycle of money making, and you won't enjoy life
Hi TS.
A flawed argument.
me or you?
I am earning ang moh salary. I don't see why i would be sour lol
"If rich foreigners can afford Lamborghinis, us locals must be able to afford them too because that's what the government must ensure...."
First Class Nation right? Always talk about your GDP right? Temasek sibei solid right?
Then similar luxuries right or wrong? Or you think bcos they are foreigners "Ang Moh" means you sure will earn less? Asian very inferior to "Ang Moh" meh? Or is it just your mindset.
You totally missed my point. Where did I say anything about Asians being inferior to Ang Mohs or anything like that? All I'm saying is that if you want luxuries like pubbing at Clarke Quay, then you have to work for it. Please lah.... even rich FTs have to work for their luxuries. There is no free lunch.
Why the heck are you asking the government for things which you want but you don't need? So.... as a First Class Nation, you feel that it's the government's job to make sure that luxuries are affordable to all locals?
Dang..... what an 'interesting' viewpoint you have. ![]()
Ang moh enjoying themselves, local ...sad? This is not only happening to SG, this thing happen every where. Anything new? go across MY and Thailand, U see the sme thing happening. Why leh?
"So.... as a First Class Nation"
For first class citizens. Second class citizens need not apply. Why dont Singaporeans understand thing like Free Market?
No leh, Malaysia not so many Ang Moh. Go and take a look.
Question should be is Singapore for Singaporeans or for FT?
Not malays, but some phillippines , Thailand or something
clarke quay's like Ibiza. frickin tourist trap.
Zouk is like Fabric London. clubbing democracy.
no money go kopitiam to drink loh!
not say don't have people do that.
can order duck head and duck feet to chew on also.. drink on tiger beer
and got sexy auntie to pour the beer for u
don't even need to charge service charge!
can order duck head and duck feet to chew on also.. drink on tiger beer
mmm....nice....yummy.....