copied from a source in sbf......
Source: 3412.0 - Migration, Australia, 2006-07
http://www.abs.gov.au/AUSSTATS/abs@.nsf/DetailsPage/3412.02006-07?OpenDocument
According to ABS, on 20 Jun 2007, there are 50, 323 Singaporeans living in Australia (Migrants) ------------- Fig 6.6
Median age:
Male: 32.9
Female: 35.1
86.9 males for every 100 females (Of course we know that there are Singapore female with Aussie partners)
2006-2007 Fig 5.2 There are 4,100 people left Australia permanently (> 1 year) to Singapore, out of which, 2,500 are Australian-born (Foreign-talent) and and 1,600# are Singapore-born returning to Singapore.
Singapore-born migrants in Australia
1997 ------ 33,406
2002 ------ 37,227
2005 ------ 43,579
2006 ------ 46,385 *
2007 ------ 50,323 *
So, if 3,938 arrived between 2006* and 2007* and 1,600 return, the returnee figure is 40.63%. If 3,938 arrival in Australia and a total 4,100 left for Singapore, we know that Singapore is still an attractive destination.
But do bear in mind that a number of these returnees are graduated students who took PR due to peer pressure and return to SG due to parental/family/partner pressures.
Also noticed that the rate of Singapore-born arrivals are increasing over the years.
3,821 over 5 years (1997-2001)
6,352 over the next 3 years (2002-2004)
2,806 (2005-2006)
3,938 (2006-2007) ......... everyday, 10 people quit Singapore for Australia. Why?
everyday, 10 people quit Singapore for Australia. Why?
I think there are many factors involved in this situation.
We can mention some of the possible reasons here.
Factors that causes Singaporeans to leave Singapore:
- stressful pace of life
- lack of freedom and rights
- rising costs of living
- weakening of cultural and national identity
Factors that causes Singaporeans to choose Australia as a target to migrate:
- slower and less stressful pace of life
- more freedom and rights
- increased purchasing power
- nearer to Singapore
- English speaking country
fishbuff, what about you? You are also an ex-Singaporean now in Australia.
seems like the information on how many poreans quit the INC and went for greener pastures with their bags full of CPF money is more than the reported 1000.00 a year?
I am glad this migrant figure is available in Australia.
Seems like not difficult to access this info.
I wonder, Australia alone, there are so many poreans who 'resigned' from the INC, how many more are now residing in other 1st worlds, or developing worlds ? Can it be Zero ? ha ha ... I wonder how does it feel holding the CPF in their hands, sleeping on it on their bed, keeping it in their banks , investing it in bigger private freehold bungalows, yatchs, roadsters, Beemers, Mercs, Stocks and shares, children overseas education, travel the world, retire early, own properties .
if you're so fucking enthusiastic about aus, why not YOU go there?
you can really save bandwidth space this way
According to lionnoisy these people must like the high tax rate, high unemployment rate and high mortgage rate.
These new immigrants to Australia must be the dumb of Singapore to choose emigration to Australia, unlike lionnoisy the smart of Singapore.
If anyone finds that the topic is disinteresting, you can always neglect it. Instead of forcing your will on others. Isn't this a free country?
I find the topic interesting.
The smart sillyporeans know they cant get back their CPF when retire, so better 'chao tak fai, hoe say kai' ( cantonese saying ), withdraw all cpf and leave this bloodypore
and 100 FT come to replace them ![]()
Originally posted by ctstalin:and 100 FT come to replace them
to pay even more CPF ![]()
Australia is a very nice place to live in...quality of life there is much higher...even we are considering to migrate there...well...if there are job possibilities over there for us...
maybe we should put this debate about migration to rest once and for all. the whole world is a village and people move to where the hell they like, for different reasons.
personally, i find all the argument and counter argument to be increasingly flaky and pointless.
If Singaporeans are 'stupid' to take the CPF and flee to Australia, the foreign talents that replace them must be 'too smart' to accept the permanent residency and help contribute to fatten the CPF.
Let's see if they are talents or cuckoos. ![]()
Originally posted by redDUST:..... the whole world is a village and people move to where the hell they like, for different reasons....
We should learn from our FTs. That you need not belong to the country you are born in. That you are welcomed in other countries. That citizenship can be given up and replaced by another, as long you like it.
This actually leads to a very interesting topic in my mind: What is Loyalty? Who are you loyal to ? If country A is gotten lousy and not up to your satisfaction, and you are a FT calibre, and you found a nice country, and you are welcome there, why would anyone want to fight for a country in this case?
To be safe, I must say I am not saying I am like this. I am talking about a logical question. I will say that I will fight and sacrifice my life for the country i respect and like. Like this I think I make myself safe.
Btw, a FT friend of mine is a citizen now. He says, he does not like pore life. His family is back home in his original country. He says he can consider to give up his citizenship and go back to his original home one day once he think decided its time to stop earning money here. for example when he gets old or better opportunites arise overseas. And he taught me that CPF money can be taken out entirely once you are citizen of another country.
He is living prove that citizenship is a piece of paper where your alegience to a country can be mobile based on how you feel. Meaning, if you like to live in one place you apply for citizenship. You need not retire there. You go there to spend your working life in a place where you can earn much more. And some more you are regarded like a FT and given all the priviledges. nothing to stop you.
What is Loyalty? Who are you loyal to ? If country A is gotten lousy and not up to your satisfaction, and you are a FT calibre, and you found a nice country, and you are welcome there, why would anyone want to fight for a country in this case?
This question arises when there is a weakening of cultural and national identity.
If your cultural and national identity is strongly bound to the land, you won't be asking such questions.
Sadly the education policy of the PAP regime tends to weaken the cultural identity of the people.
I really despise the PAP regime for that.
Fuck off PAP.
there was a time when chinese dare not use chinese in office when speaking to another local chinese because somehow there is a mentality that it makes you look bad when you show people you can speak chinese. Its still existing. This problem but lessened a bit. case in point, a chinese who had scored distinction in his Air Level chinese always avoid replying in chinese when spoken to. And even tries to give excuse that he no-chinese-speaky.
there is definitely something going on there.
here was a time when chinese dare not use chinese in office when speaking to another local chinese because somehow there is a mentality that it makes you look bad when you show people you can speak chinese.
Ludicrous.
Chinese ashamed of speaking chinese to chinese.
Only under the PAP regime's rule can this type of drivel happen.
I despise them.
They can fuck off.
Don't worry... the gahmen will call in more FT...![]()
Chinese people talking about chinese ashamed of speaking chinese to chinese using english language in a english forum?
50k plus ppl in Aust. Thats around 1% of the entire sg population. The other 99% care for fark?
Who cares about loyalty. If you want loyalty, get a dog.
We live for ourselves and our loved ones. If we fight, we're fighting for ourselves and our loved ones. At the same time, can put it as fight for your country. Same effort, double credit, why not?
As a human, we're not supposed to be 'herded' by a 'farmer'. We should live free and die free. That is the way life should be.
Thank you all for reading. :)
Originally posted by ctstalin:and 100 FT come to replace them
Later,after they earn enough money in Singapore,the same 100 FT will leave Singapore this fuk up place as well.![]()
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:Don't worry... the gahmen will call in more FT...
And later,the more FT whom the government invited will leave Singapore as well^^
Originally posted by �白脸:50k plus ppl in Aust. Thats around 1% of the entire sg population. The other 99% care for fark?
Cause Singapore is becoming more expensive?
Cause Singapore seem to be in the business of importing foreigners?
Cause majority own 99 year leases?(...legally all you own is a paper)
Cause there is no opposition to bring up issues in paliarment?
Cause newspapers "never" telecast opposition unless they get jailed or do something stupid
?
Cause people don't give a hoot who to vote for so long they get immediate/fast gains?
Cause medical costs are rising?
Cause if your kid wants to be a blue collar worker he is as good as farked?
Cause SG parents deem you a failure if you don't end up a professional?
Cause the government is rich and the people poor?
Cause you can't say no in SG without feeling fear of repercussions?
......senseless dribbling..... I'm sorry rofl
Singapore I Luv you :)
because Australia is a relatively cheap place to retire to. and its near to SG. dame people.... th4ey should go somewhere else but Australia - they dun welcome singaporeans there ![]()
Whatever lah.....
Less S'porean here..... more 'Space' to go around.... less complaint too.