Happy cos got friends? No........ I have made a few 2-3 new good friends.
What about the Singapore community there?
fishbuff says there are at least 50,000 Singaporeans in Australia. Can start a "little Singapore".
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:What about the Singapore community there?
fishbuff says there are at least 50,000 Singaporeans in Australia. Can start a "little Singapore".
How I wish I am one of them. Sigh.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:What about the Singapore community there?
So far i meet Malaysians, China chinese one big load, Indians another big load (alot of them doing IT helpdesk lol), HK another big load, Singaporeans? So far none :P
At least not in Melb. ( dun count students lar)
too bad fishbuff in Brisbane.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:too bad fishbuff in Brisbane.
If he in Melb i early private email him go lim kopi lor. He seems the easygoing type.
Singaporeans in Australia should stay in the same city and not scatter around.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Singaporeans in Australia should stay in the same city and not scatter around.
I wonder the immigration figure of local to Canada? Today paper reported that PM Lee is voicing concern about the bran drain going out of Spore.
If a country is governed with tolerance,
the people
are comfortable and honest.
If a country is governed with
repression,
the people are depressed and crafty.
When the will
to power is in charge,
the higher the ideals, the lower the
results.
Try to make people happy,
and you lay the groundwork for
misery.
Try to make people moral,
and you lay the groundwork for
vice.
Thus the Master is content
to serve as an example
and
not to impose her will.
She is pointed, but doesn't
pierce.
Straightforward, but supple.
Radiant, but easy on the
eyes.
- Tao
http://www.marxists.org/reference/archive/lao-tzu/works/tao-te-ching/te.htm
Originally posted by will4:
I wonder the immigration figure of local to Canada? Today paper reported that PM Lee is voicing concern about the bran drain going out of Spore.
As if he is concerned! Actually, he is concerned that people going out of Singapore so less $$ for them. The sicko can never be that concerned about singaporeans, if he is our life will not turn worse ever since he took over as PM.
It's ok.
In another 10 years time, you might find that 7 out of every 10 Singaporeans who migrate are new citizens who just got their pink ICs only a few years back. ![]()
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Singaporeans in Australia should stay in the same city and not scatter around.
I beg to differ. Former Singaporeans in Australia should mix around freely with their fellow citizens and be a proud australian.
Better still, spend more time in Australian forums and tell them how happy they are to be in Australia.
a mini singapore in Australia? ha, that is not very healthy for the Australian society. imagine australia making up of singaporean community, malaysian community, vietnamese community, mainland chinese community, middle east community, eastern europe community, HK community.......and do all speak english, or australian? not very good for the future man.
saw this on TV news yesterday that almost 3/4 of the PRC migrants to SYD cant speak english or dont bother to learn, some citing that there are so many PRCs around that they are very comfortable speaking in their own native tongue.
i reflect on the state of what sporeans are; we speak english as our 1st language and we are skilled professionals. how come we are so kiasi of emgrating to western countries like australia whereas these PRCs are so bold that they can do it without the ability of languages and skills?
we really need to learn from these PRCs about their bravery and gungho attitude.
Originally posted by kramnave:I beg to differ. Former Singaporeans in Australia should mix around freely with their fellow citizens and be a proud australian.
Better still, spend more time in Australian forums and tell them how happy they are to be in Australia.
i mix around with whoever that are willing to be friends, regardless of their nationalities and race. i have heard of how other singaporeans exploit their own fellow countrymen.
in fact, i would be alot more cautious when i meet singaporeans here in oz.
Originally posted by fishbuff:i mix around with whoever that are willing to be friends, regardless of their nationalities and race. i have heard of how other singaporeans exploit their own fellow countrymen.
in fact, i would be alot more cautious when i meet singaporeans here in oz.
i see you brought your kiasu/kiasi mentality to australia....![]()
Originally posted by fishbuff:saw this on TV news yesterday that almost 3/4 of the PRC migrants to SYD cant speak english or dont bother to learn, some citing that there are so many PRCs around that they are very comfortable speaking in their own native tongue.
i reflect on the state of what sporeans are; we speak english as our 1st language and we are skilled professionals. how come we are so kiasi of emgrating to western countries like australia whereas these PRCs are so bold that they can do it without the ability of languages and skills?
we really need to learn from these PRCs about their bravery and gungho attitude.
ever talk to a greek or an italian in Australia? don't be surprised they may be in the country for 20 years but don't speak a word of australian. Greek and Italian are just the two I know of, there are HK who only speak cantonese, and other races from the middle east and eastern europe. their bravery and gungho attitude will allow them to stay and remain separated from the main society.
wonder how the australian immigration authorities allow those without the ability of languages and skilles entry and settlement in the country. how they guage their bravery and gungho attitude?
Originally posted by sgdiehard:ever talk to a greek or an italian in Australia? don't be surprised they may be in the country for 20 years but don't speak a word of australian. Greek and Italian are just the two I know of, there are HK who only speak cantonese, and other races from the middle east and eastern europe. their bravery and gungho attitude will allow them to stay and remain separated from the main society.
wonder how the australian immigration authorities allow those without the ability of languages and skilles entry and settlement in the country. how they guage their bravery and gungho attitude?
before 1 is allowed in, it is mandatory to take an english test, typically at british council, where 1 is tested on written, oral and conversation english. you need to clear this hurdle. hence, it is not a question of they cannot speak english. they are just comfort creatures prefering their native languages. and birds of the same feathers do tend to flock together there.
Originally posted by redDUST:before 1 is allowed in, it is mandatory to take an english test, typically at british council, where 1 is tested on written, oral and conversation english. you need to clear this hurdle. hence, it is not a question of they cannot speak english. they are just comfort creatures prefering their native languages. and birds of the same feathers do tend to flock together there.
I believe there are other types of immigrants. Those who invest a certain amount of money will get their PR. But I think members of the family are also allowed in as PR or citizens, so you have one young man who pass the test, then his mother, sisters and the extended family can all come in, not sure if they have to pass the mandatory english test. correct me if I am wrong. I do come across an italian, their family have to speak to me through his interpretation. They all long time in australia, their community is big.
Information on emigrating to Canada. It is much easier than you think, especially if you are educated, speak english and have work experience. Problem is finding a job here once you get here. But if you are determined, nothing can stop you!
http://www.canadavisa.com/canadian-skilled-worker-immigration.html
Btw, this 'emigrant' is returning home soon, coz Singapore taxes lower =P
Originally posted by Panache1976:Btw, this 'emigrant' is returning home soon, coz Singapore taxes lower =P
the main thing is u tried.
so are u looking forward to the SG weather, flats, working lifestyle and overcrowding places?
Originally posted by fishbuff:the main thing is u tried.
so are u looking forward to the SG weather, flats, working lifestyle and overcrowding places?
Definitely not looking forward to the SG weather. But I haven't put down any roots in Canada either, so I guess I should be a filial son and return to SG to be with my parents for a while. Beside, it is quite easy to move back to Canada if I ever want to again.
I heard there was a propaganda campaign by Singapore to encourage Singaporeans living overseas to return to Singapore.
Did you come into contact with this campaign?
Originally posted by Panache1976:
Definitely not looking forward to the SG weather. But I haven't put down any roots in Canada either, so I guess I should be a filial son and return to SG to be with my parents for a while. Beside, it is quite easy to move back to Canada if I ever want to again.
oh, so u have obtained your canadian citizenship. wise move.
any time when the SG situation starts to cock up, we will have avenues to run road back to canada or australia. good to plan in advance.
LOL! lionnoisy's topic got locked!
Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:LOL! lionnoisy's topic got locked!
TCH's one in Cars forum also got locked