Originally posted by ultranova3:We are given the opportunity but few are willing to explore further in SMEs because of the high risk. It is common fact but we also need to realize that we can't depend too much on MNCs - MNCs can just choose to leave anytime and leave all of us jobsless.
You can't always jump to 'openning big company' unless you have capital. you should start small and expand slowly. Probably the job advertisement is for SME but at least if the company expands and you perform well, you will be rewarded (either bonus or promotion)
Its the attitude of the Singapore bosses (or Asian bosses for the matter)
I am now working in a US MNC, and I have very flexible hours and usually go home on time coz this company believes in you having a balanced life, which will in turn result in an increase in productivity. And I was in the top 20% of the performers last year
I know many of my friends in SMEs (or even local MNCs), that work super long hours and are squeezed till they are dry because the mentality of our Singapore bosses is that all workers should be milked dry in order to get as much $ value out of the worker as possible.
If you can finish a piece of work by Wed and NOT Fri as they expect you to do, they will make sure you are overloaded with other work from Thu to Fri so that they can milk you dry.
That's a very poor attitude of Singapore bosses. And so long as this poor attitude of blaming and milking the workers continue, our businesses cannot grow as we cannot attract really good talent who expect that Life is NOT JUST work.
I know many of my friends in SMEs (or even local MNCs), that work super long hours and are squeezed till they are dry because the mentality of our Singapore bosses is that all workers should be milked dry in order to get as much $ value out of the worker as possible.
I think PAP regime also have the typical mentality.
They won't rest until you have been sucked dry.
Work until die, cannot retire, cannot relax.
Thanks to that old fucker.
ERP also the same, must squeeze you to the last drop.
I don't want PAP to suck me dry, I want PAP to suck my cock.
Originally posted by soul_rage:I fully believe that the PAP has gone atrociously arrogant, and that they should have a big and painful fall like Taiwanese KMT or Malaysia's BN, so that they wake up their freaking idea, and learn how to treat their citizens properly.
I cannot believe words from Goh Chok Tong who said that raising the GST is unpopular policy, but its ok, because Singaporeans will just forget and vote for the PAP come next election.
I can tell you, come next election, if the stupid PAP-supporters or cheapo Singaporeans (who get bought over coz of some stupid hundred dollar payout) vote for the PAP and let them win big again, the first thing they will do after that is to increase the GST to 10%.
With regards to the foreign professional, they need to earn $1800 which will qualify them with an employment pass. As far as for the locals, MM Lee expressed concern that 1000 local have migrated to other countries.
These 1000 are the top local professionals. PM Lee also said 100 local students went abroad too study but only half came back to here to work. As for those foreign professional, what is the figure of them taking local citizenship?
Originally posted by Lolarlolar:Thought we should help own singaporean citizen first, and RPC or others later after we takecare of our own singaporean or pink ic holder. It seem the govt is not doing it and far from doing it!!
1) Why job created so many go to foreigners when so many singaporeans are jobbless and cant get jobs. (mean foreigners 100% employed, pink ic holder many unemployed..no figure how many.)
2) Homes go to foreigners, singaporean waiting long long and expensively for theirs.
3) Comcare, CDC should do a professionally social way of handling then giving impedence in term of the long question forms and 40 mins ".interview"...But if a foreigners get strangled in the street immediately they are entertain without fuss..
Obviously a clone, just like EROPAGNIS
"I read already want to laugh.
Our Singapore Scholars.. only look at numbers.. but forget about the human part.
I'm no Economic expert lah.. but .....
If I run a country with 100% employment.. all working in my sweat shop. Earning meagre pay and just enough for hand to mouth everyday, if you are sick you are screwed, if you are old. too bad for you..... is that a good country to live in ?
So does numbers really reflect the real life scenario of the people ?
Since we do not have a minimum wage law, with the influx of FT..isnt it true that it will only depress wages?
So, cost of living increasing and wage going down.. the situation in Singapore will only get worst, yes ?"
If statistics were used to justify their actions ignoring real problems because real problems were somewhat subjective that is still okay. People may learn to accept certain truths as unchangeable or fact of life.
What people are worried about and that is the worse worry of any people is a government which is working on the dark side doing things to serve its own purposes at the expense of its own people's survival and real interests like raising costs of living to kill our economic competitiveness and when people are suffering from loss of jobs or retrenchment it conveniently just open the door wide to invite the cheaper foreigners not necessarily more talented to come in and take over people's jobs do that the government survives and people die.
Such devilish side of a government needs to be exposed for whatever it is worth as even if government is efficient it is still a bad government who does not keep the ultimate interest of its own people at heart.
Yet despite all such devilish bad karma leaders have the cheek to call people ungrateful or quitters.
Therefore people must grow up and mature to see this side of government who deliberately work to make itself successful at the expense of the people with propaganda and hypocrisy like "no real lunch" when the leaders themselves are getting all the fat meal free.
The worse government is one which bites the fingers that feed it all the food. Dare to call people ungrateful.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:
I think PAP regime also have the typical mentality.
They won't rest until you have been sucked dry.
Work until die, cannot retire, cannot relax.
Thanks to that old fucker.
ERP also the same, must squeeze you to the last drop.
I don't want PAP to suck me dry, I want PAP to suck my cock.
to a certain extent i agree with you that they are out to suck us dry. but if we throw PAP out of the game who can guarentee the stable economic that we are having now?
who can blame sgrean including me worshipping PAP like god when they use legalise vote buying methol by giing $ during election? the couple of hundred is worth alot for some families.
Edit: just saying how i feel. no pun intented.
Originally posted by soul_rage:Its the attitude of the Singapore bosses (or Asian bosses for the matter)
I am now working in a US MNC, and I have very flexible hours and usually go home on time coz this company believes in you having a balanced life, which will in turn result in an increase in productivity. And I was in the top 20% of the performers last year
If you can finish a piece of work by Wed and NOT Fri as they expect you to do, they will make sure you are overloaded with other work from Thu to Fri so that they can milk you dry.
That's a very poor attitude of Singapore bosses. And so long as this poor attitude of blaming and milking the workers continue, our businesses cannot grow as we cannot attract really good talent who expect that Life is NOT JUST work.
i work in MNC before & curently in SMEs & i agree with u.. bosses are out to milk us worker dry & make sure is worth the pathetic salary they are paying.
For them to survive the competition in this cruel world thye are not given much choice. Its a vicious cycle, gov/ mnc force sg sme to a corner without much choice so the pressure is pass on to us poor employee.
sorry for the quote. No pun intented. just wanted to say out how i feel.
hi,guys..sorries back from pub and drinking, not tat i want but mine motive of starting this thread is , from my soul and for seek of my own breeds n prevsevserve identity of singaporeans ..but i was bombarded left and rigtht by someone...grate that now i see some supporters..been a novice in this forum..but my heart is never a novice...say again i jsut wish to help the needy n our own pple ...and there are more areas which the govt shoud help her own citizens...like..places/susidies for universicitiy /polyestitudents...hostpitalision.., sorries i wnt zzzz liao...
Originally posted by Lolarlolar:hi,guys..sorries back from pub and drinking, not tat i want but mine motive of starting this thread is , from my soul and for seek of my own breeds n prevsevserve identity of singaporeans ..but i was bombarded left and rigtht by someone...grate that now i see some supporters..been a novice in this forum..but my heart is never a novice...say again i just wish to help the needy n our own pple ...and there are more areas which the govt shoud help her own citizens...like..places/susidies for universicitiy /polyestitudents...hostpitalision.., sorries i wnt zzzz liao...
Let's not bother about the things that you said and cannot prove to us.
Care to share what steps, no matter big or small, on how have you helped our own people?
Originally posted by me_a_clone:
to a certain extent i agree with you that they are out to suck us dry. but if we throw PAP out of the game who can guarentee the stable economic that we are having now?who can blame sgrean including me worshipping PAP like god when they use legalise vote buying methol by giing $ during election? the couple of hundred is worth alot for some families.
You are simply falling into the trap of the PAP. LKY keeps saying that if you vote for the opposition the country will go into disarray because the opposition cannot govern as well as the PAP.
Whoever said that you should be voting PAP out? We are only saying that DO NOT give them the majority of the seats. Make them lose 1/3 or more of the parliament, and they will WAKE UP their idea.
If they don't wake up their idea, make them lose some more. And more. By that time, your so-called weak opposition would have built enough experience and know-how to be able to govern this country well (or maybe even better than the PAP).
If you guys, because of a miserable few hundred $$$, do not even give the opposition a chance to grow and keep this arrogant bunch of elitists in check, then don't blame anyone for your own plight, because you chose your own route to suffer continously by voting for the PAP because of that miserable $$$.
Originally posted by Lolarlolar:hi,guys..sorries back from pub and drinking, not tat i want but mine motive of starting this thread is , from my soul and for seek of my own breeds n prevsevserve identity of singaporeans ..but i was bombarded left and rigtht by someone...grate that now i see some supporters..been a novice in this forum..but my heart is never a novice...say again i jsut wish to help the needy n our own pple ...and there are more areas which the govt shoud help her own citizens...like..places/susidies for universicitiy /polyestitudents...hostpitalision.., sorries i wnt zzzz liao...
I believe eagle sees things very objectively. He is neither not supporting, nor supporting you because your claims do not stand up to scrutiny. So I hope you understand that. I myself also see things objectively.
I do not hate the government. I just cannot tolerate their behavior because
I can see many things that they are doing for their own good at the expense of the people.
And I feel frustrated to see stupid countrymen selling their souls to the PAP becoz of a few hundred $$$, which the PAP will claim back anyway each time they raise the GST AFTER the elections.
But do not hate, because hatred blinds you and you are not able to convince nor persuade others to see your point of view because it becomes too personal. And then, you are not able to help influence others into changing their
mindset of always voting for the arrogant PAP NOT BECAUSE they support them, but because they think they have no choice
Originally posted by soul_rage:You are simply falling into the trap of the PAP. LKY keeps saying that if you vote for the opposition the country will go into disarray because the opposition cannot govern as well as the PAP.
Whoever said that you should be voting PAP out? We are only saying that DO NOT give them the majority of the seats. Make them lose 1/3 or more of the parliament, and they will WAKE UP their idea.
If they don't wake up their idea, make them lose some more. And more. By that time, your so-called weak opposition would have built enough experience and know-how to be able to govern this country well (or maybe even better than the PAP).
If you guys, because of a miserable few hundred $$$, do not even give the opposition a chance to grow and keep this arrogant bunch of elitists in check, then don't blame anyone for your own plight, because you chose your own route to suffer continously by voting for the PAP because of that miserable $$$.
That few hundred dollars might be a lot to most of the 66.6% you know ![]()
PAP is definitely cultivating this inherent thought in people that if they loses the majority, along goes the money distribution. They have already shown their muscle in the potong pasir constituency; no win, no lift upgrade. Dangling a carrot only to that constituency during election, a carrot that will be funded by taxes from everyone of us... Wow...
Fact:
Let's see.
1991 Election
1994 GST 3%
1997 Election -- probably testing citizens' reactions
2001 Election
2003 GST raise to 4%
2004 GST raise to 5%
2006 Election
2007 GST raised to 7%
Source:
http://www.elections.gov.sg/past_parliamentary.htm
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Goods_and_Services_Tax_(Singapore)
Originally posted by eagle:That few hundred dollars might be a lot to most of the 66.6% you know
PAP is definitely cultivating this inherent thought in people that if they loses the majority, along goes the money distribution. They have already shown their muscle in the potong pasir constituency; no win, no lift upgrade. Dangling a carrot only to that constituency during election, a carrot that will be funded by taxes from everyone of us... Wow...
I like to question this portion of giving $$$ during elections.
Or lift upgrade etc.
I question whether this is ONLY happening in Singapore, where taxpayers money are used to 'bribe' taxpayers themselves. It is so ridiculous to be using taxpayers monies to threaten the people into voting for PAP.
Why? BECAUSE PAP is NOT the Govt. In other countries, the parties have to raise their own funds for elections.
So are our Singaporeans who vote for PAP coz of those $$$, which are actually the people's $$$, downright stupid?
Originally posted by eagle:Fact:
Let's see.
1991 Election
1994 GST 3%
2001 Election
2003 GST raise to 4%
2004 GST raise to 5%
2006 Election
2007 GST raised to 7%Source:
http://www.elections.gov.sg/past_parliamentary.htmhttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Goods_and_Services_Tax_(Singapore)
By the way, in case people haven't forgotten, PAP mentioned that their target GST is 10%. So if the people continue to be stupid, we will see GST raised to 10% AFTER the next election.
There are recent things I hear going around, that the PAP is secretly preparing to raise the GST final target further to 15%. Think about it, when its 15%. I think all of us will die under the suffocating cost of living.
The 'FT's? Save up $$$ and go home. Only Singaporeans will suffer.
To those who vote PAP coz of $$$ given out by the PAP. You have probably ONLY TWO elections left to change your stupid mindset before you are leeched dry.
Originally posted by eagle:Fact:
Let's see.
1991 Election
1994 GST 3%
2001 Election
2003 GST raise to 4%
2004 GST raise to 5%
2006 Election
2007 GST raised to 7%Source:
http://www.elections.gov.sg/past_parliamentary.htmhttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Goods_and_Services_Tax_(Singapore)
thanks for the reminder.
many have forgotten.
Originally posted by balance_else_complacent:thanks for the reminder.
many have forgotten.
yeah, I realised...
most around my age may not even have bothered
The 66.6% voted the PAP and now PAP, with 40 years of experience in shepherding sheep, has been so "successful" that PAP has become complacent. That's why Mas Selamat was able to escape.![]()
Originally posted by soul_rage:I think we both disagree with the implementation of the policy, NOT the policy itself.
This is a globalization era. We cannot shut ourselves in (coz we ultimately will suffer), BUT we should filter what comes in so that they are beneficial to the country and are NOT parasitic.
I know of many "FT"s that come here just to grab $$$ and go home. They have no gratitude to this country, and will leave at the 1st instance of trouble.
I think we should get rid of PAP.
They will have some time to reflect.
Originally posted by googoomuck:The 66.6% voted the PAP and now PAP, with 40 years of experience in shepherding sheep, has been so "successful" that PAP has become complacent. That's why Mas Selamat was able to escape.
But I was told the People have become complacent.
Then I asked myself,
Who is not a People of the pore?
get wtf i mean? ha ha....
Originally posted by googoomuck:The 66.6% voted the PAP and now PAP, with 40 years of experience in shepherding sheep, has been so "successful" that PAP has become complacent. That's why Mas Selamat was able to escape.
But I was told the People have become complacent.
Then I asked myself,
Who is not a People of the pore?
get wtf i mean? ha ha....
Originally posted by soul_rage:You are simply falling into the trap of the PAP. LKY keeps saying that if you vote for the opposition the country will go into disarray because the opposition cannot govern as well as the PAP.
i disagree to the fact that we ARE falling into a trap. Well who will say no to free $? Never did i mention that the country will fall into disarray if it falls into opposition hand. But can we have assurance that country economics will remain as it is & not go down? Its hard not to think this way when the csj is doing all the wrong thing for the right idea.
Frankly speaking i love this idea. BUT is's the sad fact that u & me or the rest of us cant deny! Current gov is making things impossible for opposition to have ground to stand on.
They will not wake up the idea & never will. They are just sucking us dry. Thats where my saying of few hundred dollars is alot to some families. I am still able to struggle by with some pathetic OT's but not some old & alone people. We can try our best to vote for opposition but who can guarantee these old people welfare? At least now we know PAP will try to buy their heart with those pathetic few hundreds every now & then.
No. Me personally dont blame anyone for this & that. But look things from different point of view will bring you back to one point. No one can guarantee anything or might be worst if opposition comes into place. Until now, opposition is lagging too far behind. All the so call elitists are rushing to hold PAP balls while ensuring they have a metal bowl. We or rather i did not choose this route, but wasnt given any choice! My area i live in got only ONE chance to elect, i choose the opposition but was squash which wasnt surprising to me.