I know this sounds unpatriotic and provocative, but given the many complaints about how FTs don't have to serve NS, this seems like one option. If you give up SG citizenship, you will become stateless (unless you have another citizenship elsewhere). Government can't make you serve NS if you are no longer a citizen. Then you apply for SG PR, and as a 'first generation PR', you don't have to serve NS! If there is a more direct process for you to 'downgrade' to a PR, it's even better! :D
good qns!
but u no passport
true true...
Ya, being stateless is very troublesome...
u tink they are so dumb to let u drop singapore citizenship and be PR ?
and u tink there is no track record?
Originally posted by Panache1976:I know this sounds unpatriotic and provocative, but given the many complaints about how FTs don't have to serve NS, this seems like one option. If you give up SG citizenship, you will become stateless (unless you have another citizenship elsewhere). Government can't make you serve NS if you are no longer a citizen. Then you apply for SG PR, and as a 'first generation PR', you don't have to serve NS! If there is a more direct process for you to 'downgrade' to a PR, it's even better! :D
there is so many things you can get trashed for by even posting what you post. cute idea but to put it mildly, not smart.
i rather you give up your citizenship and migrate.
if u are a PR, u still need to serve NS.
if u are stateless, very troublesome one leh.
u receive no protection from any countries.
Can..... do go ahead and just do it...... please. ![]()
for the sake of no NS you wanna give up so much??????
mannnnn.........><
actually there is another option.
keep your singapore passport
leave singapore
dont do NS
dont go back to singapore
not sure if your other family members will be affected or not.
if you want, move them all out with you. if you stay in certain countries long enough, you should be able to become a citizen.
Originally posted by Panache1976:I know this sounds unpatriotic and provocative, but given the many complaints about how FTs don't have to serve NS, this seems like one option. If you give up SG citizenship, you will become stateless (unless you have another citizenship elsewhere). Government can't make you serve NS if you are no longer a citizen. Then you apply for SG PR, and as a 'first generation PR', you don't have to serve NS! If there is a more direct process for you to 'downgrade' to a PR, it's even better! :D
for ur info.... my platoon mate... his own family already migrated... he also stay overseas since young young... but.. he die die have to come back sg served his NS......ORD already then can go back his new country and take up the citizenship there.... all that so he can still come back sg as a tourist when he wan to visit his other relative or frens.... i will never see him in ICT...dunno why the fcuk they have to force him to waste 2 yrs.....
As gunner notes, there is a track record, and the children who run the show have a "dun want to play with you oredi" mindset. Go off, come back and apply for a PR and you'll be refused. I've seen it happen.
govt is exceptional harsh toward singaporean males. when u surrender your citizenship, they wont grant u singapore PR.
the govt seems to depise us singaporean males. just see how they treat the foreigners, machiam they are like nobles.
Don't you all find it ironic that an FT with no ties whatsoever to SG is welcomed as PR, but not a former SG citizen? ![]()
Actually, did a search and found this excerpt on immigration website:
"Male ex-Singapore Citizens and ex-Singapore Permanent Residents who are granted Singapore PR status are liable to be called up for NS regardless of the type of PR status they are granted."
Link is here:
http://app.ica.gov.sg/serv_pr/per_res/app_for_pr.asp
Lol, seems that SAF has got the loophole covered lah...
for singapore citizens that emigrated elsewhere, surrendered their citizenship previously and took out their CPF, but wish to reinstate their SG citizenship now, he/she has to pay back every single penny of his/her CPF funds back to the CPF. but that still can't guarantee that u will be able to get back your citizenship.
but this is different for FTs. they can come and go as they wish, and withdraw their CPFs easily with no repurcussion.
Originally posted by fishbuff:for singapore citizens that emigrated elsewhere, surrendered their citizenship previously and took out their CPF, but wish to reinstate their SG citizenship now, he/she has to pay back every single penny of his/her CPF funds back to the CPF. but that still can't guarantee that u will be able to get back your citizenship.
but this is different for FTs. they can come and go as they wish, and withdraw their CPFs easily with no repurcussion.
i understand that if a FT withdraws the CPF, he cannot set-foot to work in Singapore anymore.
i not not sure if it is enforced though.
erm nowadays FT dun get CPF liao....
Originally posted by redDUST:i understand that if a FT withdraws the CPF, he cannot set-foot to work in Singapore anymore.
i not not sure if it is enforced though.
a couple of my indian FT colleagues did that..
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):
for ur info.... my platoon mate... his own family already migrated... he also stay overseas since young young... but.. he die die have to come back sg served his NS......ORD already then can go back his new country and take up the citizenship there.... all that so he can still come back sg as a tourist when he wan to visit his other relative or frens.... i will never see him in ICT...dunno why the fcuk they have to force him to waste 2 yrs.....
cheap underpaid labour mah
heck, I earned more from giving tuition during my army days then the army pay itself...
Originally posted by udontknowme:for the sake of no NS you wanna give up so much??????
mannnnn.........><
By udonknowme:
for the sake of no NS you wanna give up so much??????
mannnnn.........><
u served ns b4?
Accept it. It's an irreversible process. LOL.
Originally posted by fishbuff:a couple of my indian FT colleagues did that..
My indian colleague was an indian national.
he did not like living here or the lifestyle or work atmosphere.
I asked him why he dropped his citizenship for this.
he said, he was given the offer.
i cannot say if what he said is true or slightly less than true.
but i am telling what he told me.
he said he asked his wife to no need convert. just continue with the pr. his son before reaching enlistment, gave up his PR and is now back home studying in great ole india.
his money is now in cpf. quite a bit i reckon based on his kind of skillset and years of work here and overseas.
anyway, he said he owns a flat and may sell it and even withdraw all his cpf at time of retirement. hey, his wife and son are all in india.
I have no objection to his thinking. Afterall, its a free world. He can legally do that. its allowed. just like he is allowed to work here , then get PR then get citizen.
very easy for him.
he will see how good or bad the future lies here. but already, he is contemplating. no wind no fire.
Originally posted by Panache1976:Ya, being stateless is very troublesome...
plan. plan, my friend. one needs to plan.
it takes a few years like 5 years to get a citizenship i guess. thus, its not like when you really want to quit the INC then you quit. There is lead time required. Its not like you need to use your cpf then you quit the INC. you need some lead time.
having said that, which are my personal opines, i am not saying that i encourage emigration. For my safety, i cannot say so right?
emigration is a personal choice free to choose by all living in the free world with some kind of human rights.
our forefudders, migrated here, right.
our FTs migrating here right.
so...
Not anyone can qualify to migrate.
It takes EQ, IQ and some time.
I forgot where I saw it, there is some site that says a citizen can withdraw all his cpf when he 'resigns' from the INC. But it followed with some statement that seems to say that provided you do not want to come back to work....... not conform sure. need to be cork sure.