Remember sometime back the Complaints Choir Project sung by PR was deemed as interfering with local politics?
Well these people could have averted the crisis if they knew how to carry balls and sing praises like this PR
"Count your blessings Singapore" Choir Project anyone?
http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Story/STIStory_225197.html
Count your blessings, Singapore SINGAPORE plans to pump in more than $1 billion into innovation and entrepreneurship. This may not mean much to most Singaporeans but I see this as another example of the Government's foresight. I cannot but say to Singaporeans: 'You are really blessed.'
Chinese Prime Minister Wen Jiabao wants to learn from Singapore's housing experience after visiting Toa Payoh. Mr Ma Ying-jeou, after winning the recent Taiwanese presidential election, says his country must learn from Singapore's clean and efficient Government. Several Arab countries also want to learn from Singapore's success.
Singaporeans should feel proud of these compliments.
Singapore's prosperity and racial harmony are the result of the hard work of Singaporeans. Singapore has achieved such impressive results today because of the leadership of a far-sighted and hardworking Government.
Just as the Chinese had the good fortune to have Deng Xiaoping, Singaporeans are blessed to have Lee Kuan Yew. Singaporeans should be moved by their veteran leaders' relentless efforts for the sake of the country.
Singaporeans do not have to worry about volatile prices as they have NTUC FairPrice supermarkets to stabilise prices. They do not have to worry about having a roof over their heads as the Government provides affordable housing. They do not have to worry about crowded transport as the Government has planned for current and future transport needs.
Their hearts can also be at ease over the issue of employment as the Government is looking into future job opportunities. There are no worries about basic necessities.
Good traditions and experiences should be passed down to the next generations, and the Singapore Government has been doing so.
I hope Singaporeans can pass on the pioneering spirit of their forefathers together with the material wealth to successive generations.
Liu Zhen Chou
Forum note: The writer, a Chinese citizen, holds a Singapore permanent residency.
i dun mind we outsource to them.
everything oso outsourced these days mah.
govt shd follow this trend.
Intresting.......
If an Ang Moh was to say bad things about S'pore (human rights, freedom of speech.... etc)..... I'm sure many here would blindly agree to whatever he/she said.....
But if someone/anyone said good things about S'pore..... then it is "Interfering With Singapore Politics"
Mmm.... what word should I use..... Double Standard or Hypocrite....
If an Ang Moh was to say bad things about S'pore (human rights, freedom of speech.... etc)..... I'm sure many here would blindly agree to whatever he/she said.....
But if someone/anyone said good things about S'pore..... then it is "Interfering With Singapore Politics"
Depends on who said.
If Mahathir criticises Singapore, we have grounds to be wary, since he is known to be biased and likes to bash Singapore.
Straits Times is controlled by the state and we know it carries mostly state propaganda, so if there is a report that praises Singapore, we are also cautious.
So sweet, I wish someone can sing for me too:
Count your blessings, Singapore SINGAPORE plans to pump in more than $1 billion into innovation and entrepreneurship.
This may not mean much to most Singaporeans but I see this as another example of the Government's foresight. I cannot but say to Singaporeans: 'You are really blessed.'
Chinese Prime Minister Wen Jiabao wants to learn from Singapore's housing experience after visiting Toa Payoh. Mr Ma Ying-jeou, after winning the recent Taiwanese presidential election, says his country must learn from Singapore's clean and efficient Government. Several Arab countries also want to learn from Singapore's success.
Singaporeans should feel proud of these compliments.
Singapore's prosperity and racial harmony are the result of the hard work of Singaporeans. Singapore has achieved such impressive results today because of the leadership of a far-sighted and hardworking Government.
Just as the Chinese had the good fortune to have Deng Xiaoping, Singaporeans are blessed to have Lee Kuan Yew. Singaporeans should be moved by their veteran leaders' relentless efforts for the sake of the country.
Singaporeans do not have to worry about volatile prices as they have NTUC FairPrice supermarkets to stabilise prices. They do not have to worry about having a roof over their heads as the Government provides affordable housing. They do not have to worry about crowded transport as the Government has planned for current and future transport needs.
Their hearts can also be at ease over the issue of employment as the Government is looking into future job opportunities. There are no worries about basic necessities.
Good traditions and experiences should be passed down to the next generations, and the Singapore Government has been doing so.
I hope Singaporeans can pass on the pioneering spirit of their forefathers together with the material wealth to successive generations.
Does this looks like interfering with politcs?
I guess our million dollar minister prefer to live in their "make believe world" and hear nothing but good news and praises from our states times.
We get fined for almost anything
Drivers won't give chance when you want to change lane
The indoors are cold, the outdoors are hot;
And the humid air, it wrecks my hair
Those answering machines always make you hold
Only to hang up on you
When a pregnant lady gets on the train
Everyone pretends to be asleep
I'm stuck with my parents till I'm 35
Cause I can't apply for HDB
We don't recycle any plastic bags
But we purify our pee
*chorus:
What's wrong with Singapore?
Losing always makes me feel so sore
Cause if you're not the best
Then you're just one of the rest
My oh my Singapore
What exactly are we voting for?
What's not expressly permitted
is prohibited
"Ooh"
When I'm hungry at the food court, I see
People chope seats with their tissue paper
To the auntie staying upstairs:
Your laundry's dripping on my bed sheets
Please don't squat on the toilet seats
And don't clip your nails on MRT
Stray cats get into noisy affairs
At night my neighbor makes weird animal sounds
People put on fake accents to sound posh
And queue up 3 hours for donuts
Will I ever live till eighty five
to collect CPF?
*chorus
Singaporeans too kiasu! (so scared to lose)
Singaporeans too kiasi! (so scared to die)
Singaporeans too kiabor! (scared of their wives)
Maybe we’re just too stressed out! (even the kids)
"Ooh"
Old National Library was replaced by an ugly tunnel
Singaporean men can’t take independent women
People blow their nose into the swimming pool (and pee too)
And fall asleep on my shoulder in the train
Singapore’s national bird is the crane (the one with yellow steel girders)
Real estate agents’ leaflets clogging up my mailbox (en bloc, en bloc, en bloc, en bloc)
Why can’t we be buried when we die?
No one wants to climb Bukit Timah with me
*chorus
There are not enough public holidays
My neighbor sings KTV all night
Wedding dinners never start on time
My hair is always cut shorter than I want
Channel 5 commercials are way too long
Why do men turn bald?
At first it was to speak more mandarin
Then it was to speak proper English
What’s wrong with my powderful Singlish?
People sit down during rock concerts
We have to pay for tap water at restaurants
ERP gantries are everywhere
But I can still see traffic jams on the road
All the bus stops have tilted benches
Cannot access playboy.com
*chorus
Tis is not interfering lah.
Comparing his home country to Singapore, ofcors Singapore is nicer lah. Nothing wrong with him singing some praise.
I've been to China.. given a choice.. wouldn't want to live there now, perhaps.. 20 more years later.. might change my mind.
Singapore has achieved such impressive results today because of the leadership of a far-sighted and hardworking Government.
... far-sighted... my foot they're far-sighted...!
... far-sighted until now people are forced into a Compulsory Annuity scam...!
... better step down, and let those who are less Self-serving to do the job...!
knn...
Originally posted by kilua:Does this looks like interfering with politcs?
I guess our million dollar minister prefer to live in their "make believe world" and hear nothing but good news and praises from our states times.
We get fined for almost anything
Drivers won't give chance when you want to change lane
The indoors are cold, the outdoors are hot;
And the humid air, it wrecks my hair
Those answering machines always make you hold
Only to hang up on youWhen a pregnant lady gets on the train
Everyone pretends to be asleep
I'm stuck with my parents till I'm 35
Cause I can't apply for HDB
We don't recycle any plastic bags
But we purify our pee*chorus:
What's wrong with Singapore?
Losing always makes me feel so sore
Cause if you're not the best
Then you're just one of the restMy oh my Singapore
What exactly are we voting for?
What's not expressly permitted
is prohibited"Ooh"
When I'm hungry at the food court, I see
People chope seats with their tissue paper
To the auntie staying upstairs:
Your laundry's dripping on my bed sheets
Please don't squat on the toilet seats
And don't clip your nails on MRTStray cats get into noisy affairs
At night my neighbor makes weird animal sounds
People put on fake accents to sound posh
And queue up 3 hours for donuts
Will I ever live till eighty five
to collect CPF?*chorus
Singaporeans too kiasu! (so scared to lose)
Singaporeans too kiasi! (so scared to die)
Singaporeans too kiabor! (scared of their wives)
Maybe we’re just too stressed out! (even the kids)"Ooh"
Old National Library was replaced by an ugly tunnel
Singaporean men can’t take independent women
People blow their nose into the swimming pool (and pee too)
And fall asleep on my shoulder in the trainSingapore’s national bird is the crane (the one with yellow steel girders)
Real estate agents’ leaflets clogging up my mailbox (en bloc, en bloc, en bloc, en bloc)
Why can’t we be buried when we die?
No one wants to climb Bukit Timah with me*chorus
There are not enough public holidays
My neighbor sings KTV all night
Wedding dinners never start on time
My hair is always cut shorter than I want
Channel 5 commercials are way too long
Why do men turn bald?At first it was to speak more mandarin
Then it was to speak proper English
What’s wrong with my powderful Singlish?People sit down during rock concerts
We have to pay for tap water at restaurants
ERP gantries are everywhere
But I can still see traffic jams on the road
All the bus stops have tilted benches
Cannot access playboy.com*chorus
this is nice. lol.
next time anybody say anything good about australia would be interfering with the Australian politics...
just heard from the news, the Australian prime minister actually went to PRC to speak to them in Mandarin leh...wao lao, put many singaporean chinese to shame....some more he recognised PRC's sovereignty over Tibet...if not for his accent, I would have thought it was a PRC minister speaking....ooops I interfering into australian politics.![]()
everytime I travel with my collegues from India, Malaysia, they have to apply for visas for almost every country before they can book flights, make appointment....I just raise my little red book and fly where I want, Singapore Wan Sui! HEHEHE
Originally posted by sgdiehard:everytime I travel with my collegues from India, Malaysia, they have to apply for visas for almost every country before they can book flights, make appointment....I just raise my little red book and fly where I want, Singapore Wan Sui! HEHEHE
indian yes, i agree/believe,....but malaysian passport, your `almost every country' is somewhat misleading.
in asia, other than china and japan, which other asian countries require a malaysian to get a visa? in europe, i think no need as well.
in north america, usa, ok. need. but that hardly qualifies as almost every country.
your `little red book' choice of words is telling, however.
Originally posted by redDUST:indian yes, i agree/believe,....but malaysian passport, your `almost every country' is somewhat misleading.
in asia, other than china and japan, which other asian countries require a malaysian to get a visa? in europe, i think no need as well.
in north america, usa, ok. need. but that hardly qualifies as almost every country.
your `little red book' choice of words is telling, however.
sorry lah, that is the impression I get from my malaysian colleague, or may be I should not put india and malaysia together, anyway, I just borrow the word "little red book" from the holygoh.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:sorry lah, that is the impression I get from my malaysian colleague, or may be I should not put india and malaysia together, anyway, I just borrow the word "little red book" from the holygoh.
no worries.![]()
i am just conscious of the feelings of our bros up north.
"ust heard from the news, the Australian prime minister actually went to PRC to speak to them in Mandarin leh...wao lao, put many singaporean chinese to shame...."
Including your dearly beloved leaders LHL and LKY. I doubt the two Perankan guys can hold a fluent conversation in Mandarin with Kevin Rudd. So f...ed up that a CHINESE PM cannot converse fluently in Mandarin and can only recite Mandarin from prepared speeches. No wonder PRC look down on Singapore. I would much rather have Kevin Rudd as PM. At least he have balls to criticize PRC.
http://www.theage.com.au/news/national/red-carpet-and-a-rebuke-for-rudd/2008/04/10/1207420591291.html
it just have to influence public opinon to alter decision.
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:"ust heard from the news, the Australian prime minister actually went to PRC to speak to them in Mandarin leh...wao lao, put many singaporean chinese to shame...."
Including your dearly beloved leaders LHL and LKY. I doubt the two Perankan guys can hold a fluent conversation in Mandarin with Kevin Rudd. So f...ed up that a CHINESE PM cannot converse fluently in Mandarin and can only recite Mandarin from prepared speeches. No wonder PRC look down on Singapore. I would much rather have Kevin Rudd as PM. At least he have balls to criticize PRC.
http://www.theage.com.au/news/national/red-carpet-and-a-rebuke-for-rudd/2008/04/10/1207420591291.html
you want to criticize them, make sure you know a little bit about them. Don't know about LKY, but LHL cannot converse fluently in Mandarin? check out where he studied.
LKY with his team got Singapore independent from the Brit in 1967, Australia ended any British role in the government of the Australian States, and judicial appeals to the UK Privy Council on in 1986. GCT canned the yankee's backside against the direct appeal from the president of the USA, Clinton; LHL visited Taiwan resulted in the cancellation of many official visits from PRC. Talk about having balls, you haven't seen one yet. hehehe
LKY with his team got Singapore independent from the Brit in 1967
See Said Zahari's interpretation:
Zahari's 17 Years
http://video.google.com/videosearch?q=martyn+see+singapore&sitesearch=
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:See Said Zahari's interpretation:
Zahari's 17 Years
http://video.google.com/videosearch?q=martyn+see+singapore&sitesearch=
please don't ask me to listen to martyn, just give a summary of what Zahari said. Was it Zahari who kicked out the Brit, but LKY started a coup and kick out Zahari and get credit for the independence of Singapore from the Brit?
Hi.... saw on todays paper.... "Bush praises S'pore for firm stance against extremists"
OMG...... US President George W Bush is "Interfering With Singapore Politics"
Personally i think its alright to praise Singapore, but i think the censors should be more open in accepting criticism from foreigners. The Complain Choir Project is quite harmless but the govt had to ban them.
We dont want to live in a "make believe world" where we hear praises and good news everyday right? We also dont want biased politlcal coverage of our neighbours to make ourselves look better do we?
For those who think The Complain Choir project are "intefering" with Singapore politics should agree that "praises" by foreigners are interferring too.
You are very wise kilua.
I agree with you.
Talk about buttering up your resume when you apply for citizenship. ![]()
yeah so much PRC propaganda in this site.