http://afp.google.com/article/ALeqM5gL3MVX2hlENQZf6Kg5VWP-QPcnBg
Longer queues for free food in wealthy Singapore: charities
19 minutes ago
SINGAPORE (AFP) — Rising food prices are driving more people in Singapore, the wealthiest economy in Southeast Asia, to join the queue for free meals, charities said Monday.
Thirty percent more people are turning up daily to fill their stomachs at the Singapore Buddhist Lodge, which serves free vegetarian meals, the temple's president Lee Bock Guan said.
During weekends the figures are even higher, when about 5,000 people arrive for the free food compared to 3,000 three months ago, he told AFP.
"Food prices have gone up and for them, their wages have not gone up as much," he said, adding the needy are coming from all walks of life.
"Their income is not enough to cope with the higher food prices."
Lee said donations from some of the temple's wealthiest members are still strong, allowing it to handle the rising demand.
The Care Corner Seniors Activity Centre, which serves free breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea, said inflation has led 10 percent more elderly citizens to turn up for meals, compared with two months ago.
Some of them have started to take more food at lunch and bring the extra home for their dinner, said a centre worker who declined to be named.
The Young Women's Christian Association, which cooks meals and delivers them to the needy, said it is operating at peak capacity serving 200 people each day -- despite a drop in rice donations.
"One of the possible reasons could be the increasing price of rice," programme executive Han Shin Hui said, adding donations of other food items such as biscuits have increased.
She said the organisation has had to use its own funds to cover the drop in rice donations.
Singapore is an island state that imports virtually all its food needs.
Consumer price index inflation reached 6.6 percent in January-February, up from 0.8 percent in the first half of last year, the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) said last week.
MAS announced it had tightened monetary policy in a bid to address the price rises.
... Wealthy Singapore???
.... noooo... that's a wrong construction of sentence...
Correction: Wealthy Singapore Government
Digress a bit...
The Myths of Vegetarianism
with 137 references
fishbuff, I think you read this before right?
Originally posted by eagle:Digress a bit...
The Myths of Vegetarianism
with 137 referencesfishbuff, I think you read this before right?
nope. but i tried going on a diet of vegs ...only lasted for a day coz the legs went jelly and i couldnt even lift half of my normal weights.
fishbuff, is australia so boring a country that you dont have anything better to do than to constantly visit sgforums to post nonsense about singapore?
Honestly I am not very sure what are you trying to say here? Are you saying that Singapore is the only developed country with poor and lazy people? Or are you sore that you cant find Singaporeans dying of hunger on the street?
I htink you shou stop trying to reassure yourself by talking down Singapore, it only make you look like a wanker.
Go get yourself a life lah..and start using your brain instead of your muscles.
Originally posted by Mauriziosuckdick:fishbuff, is australia so boring a country that you dont have anything better to do than to constantly visit sgforums to post nonsense about singapore?
Honestly I am not very sure what are you trying to say here? Are you saying that Singapore is the only developed country with poor and lazy people? Or are you sore that you cant find Singaporeans dying of hunger on the street?
I htink you shou stop trying to reassure yourself by talking down Singapore, it only make you look like a wanker.
Go get yourself a life lah..and start using your brain instead of your muscles.
you might wanna check on a certain lion and a parasitic mushroom...before you start bashing on people... besides its all informative...right from AFP... you dun get to read this on the local papers do you??
Originally posted by 4getmenot:you might wanna check on a certain lion and a parasitic mushroom...before you start bashing on people... besides its all informative...right from AFP... you dun get to read this on the local papers do you??
You havent been reading local papers have you?
i think irregardless, there will still be alot of "cheese-cakes" around.
I believe these people who are whole-heartedly doing charity aren't targetting about "cheese-cakes" but just asking for more donations so as to feed more. Awesome people..
btw, these "cheese-cakes" aren't poor in their pockets, but poor in their mind..
Originally posted by fishbuff:nope. but i tried and i couldnt even lift half of my normal weights.
gawd, u have problem lifting yourself up?
no offense, but i find your constant referrel to your weighlifting and bench press prowess a turn-off.
Originally posted by redDUST:gawd, u have problem lifting yourself up?
no offense, but i find your constant referrel to your weighlifting and bench press prowess a turn-off.
that was my bad... I posted that digression part... He was replying to me only...
This is Singapore... whether u are poor or not does not make a difference when there is something free....
If can get free lunch why not. U eat at coffee shop 1 lunch cost about $5 nowadays. rice $3.5 drinks $1.5
you eat at raffles place, cai png for 2 or 2.5 dollars only.. drinks can go back office pantry drink ![]()
Originally posted by t_a_s:If can get free lunch why not. U eat at coffee shop 1 lunch cost about $5 nowadays. rice $3.5 drinks $1.5
you are complaining about inflation and yet you still can afford to buy drinks at coffee shop? ![]()
I am just saying drink costs abt $1.5, I normally drink plain water to keep cost down. I eat rice, I choose 1 meat 1 veg. cost $2.5. at home I eat frozen pork and eat house brand rice, see how I so obedient to the gahment,
Originally posted by redDUST:gawd, u have problem lifting yourself up?
i was a singapore strongman contestant for year 2005 and 2006.
able to deadlift and squat 500lb and press 100kg above head.
what can u do?...
Originally posted by fishbuff:i was a singapore strongman contestant for year 2005 and 2006.
able to deadlift and squat 500lb and press 100kg above head.
what can u do?...
i can only talk............
what good is able to press 100kg above head (whatever the fcuk that is) that will set you apart from me, that is, other than able to press 100kg above head (whatever the fcuk that is).
and what is the functional use of doing that? i hope not to kill flies.
ok, ok, in my other post, i wrote that i can solve the rubik cube. so, i can talk and solve the rubik cube at the same time. can you press 100kg above head (whatever the fcuk that is) and solve the rubik cube at the same time?
LOL.. why jia jey become muscle talk..? lol.. anw, if they look outside the Lodge, sure can find mercedes park there one. lol..
Originally posted by t_a_s:I am just saying drink costs abt $1.5, I normally drink plain water to keep cost down. I eat rice, I choose 1 meat 1 veg. cost $2.5. at home I eat frozen pork and eat house brand rice, see how I so obedient to the gahment,
u kanna cheated lah.. i eat 3 meat 1 veg, also $2.50 only...
Originally posted by pigsticker:u kanna cheated lah.. i eat 3 meat 1 veg, also $2.50 only...
wah where? ai seh man.. got ho liao must gai siao..
Originally posted by purpledragon84:wah where? ai seh man.. got ho liao must gai siao..
golden shoe lunch time... everybirdie noes lei...
Originally posted by pigsticker:golden shoe lunch time... everybirdie noes lei...
aiya.. i buya hiao mah... see, i learnt something useful 2day again=)
golden bridge i noe.. the chicken rice uncle calls everybody lengzai and lenglui.. lol..
Originally posted by redDUST:i can only talk............
what good is able to press 100kg above head (whatever the fcuk that is) that will set you apart from me, that is, other than able to press 100kg above head (whatever the fcuk that is).
and what is the functional use of doing that? i hope not to kill flies.
ok, ok, in my other post, i wrote that i can solve the rubik cube. so, i can talk and solve the rubik cube at the same time. can you press 100kg above head (whatever the fcuk that is) and solve the rubik cube at the same time?
meaning i can kick anyone's butt that try to be funny with me. im a strongman, not some sg teenage emo ah qua teen.
Originally posted by fishbuff:meaning i can kick anyone's butt that try to be funny with me. im a strongman, not some sg teenage emo ah qua teen.
haha, tell me when you are here in SGP next time, I make sure I head the other way to australia so you don't have to kick `some sg teenage emo ah qua teen (whatever the fcuk that is).
done your deadlift this morning?
Originally posted by fishbuff:meaning i can kick anyone's butt that try to be funny with me. im a strongman, not some sg teenage emo ah qua teen.
what is your BMI?