the Lee's have successfully pushed Singapore forward from a tiny, resourceless island to an economic powerhouse in SE Asia, haven't they?
Take away that and there is nothing much to boast about.
The period of rapid economic expansion is also over.
Originally posted by xiaoxui:When Is the next election? 2010?
2010 to 2011... It is about the end of the term.
In addition, by 2010, we will have the 2 casinos, the circle line in place, the last payment of GST offset credits, the youth olympics, and in this year, the F1 race. In addition, by end 2010, the world economy will have recovered quite a bit from the expected global crash in 2008-2009 which is already happening.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Take away that and there is nothing much to boast about.
The period of rapid economic expansion is also over.
I think more economic expansion is on the way. Might be heavily dependent on the 2 casinos in the future... But somehow, I don't forsee a very bright long-term future with the casinos in place... Have a premonition that 20+ years down the road, Singapore might degenerate...
Originally posted by eagle:I think more economic expansion is on the way. Might be heavily dependent on the 2 casinos in the future... But somehow, I don't forsee a very bright long-term future with the casinos in place... Have a premonition that 20+ years down the road, Singapore might degenerate...
casino will not offer much to singapore, imo. everyone is getting into the fray, including thailand and the philippines. the competitive advantage is lost. there is no real differentiation. MICE positioning? anyone can offer the same. the las vegas of the east is macau. if anyone wants happening scene, macau is 3 hours flight away from most cities in asia pacific.
my take is, the casino scene in singapore will degenerate into the scene not uncommon in australia, lacklustre other than a couple of other popular ones. there is no real sense of excitement in the casinos i go to in perth and melbourne. having said that, i am no c-buff.
What country or territory is the most popular destination for SG talents? Can you enlighten me?
Australia
Malaysia
United States
Mainland China
Hong Kong
Taiwan
Canada
I have heard that the US-SG FTA allows Singaporeans to find employment in the US more easily than most nationalities. And that causes the outflow. Is that true?
Singaporeans should also accept the fact that because of nepotism, a cancer patient can be the best candidate for prime minister!
...is it any wonder that the cancer partient can tell you that the government needs money (raise GST) to help the poor, raise their own salary by more millions with public money and report that there is a surplus of 6 billion....
...must be all the chemo has destroyed too many brain cells...
Originally posted by redDUST:casino will not offer much to singapore, imo. everyone is getting into the fray, including thailand and the philippines. the competitive advantage is lost. there is no real differentiation. MICE positioning? anyone can offer the same. the las vegas of the east is macau. if anyone wants happening scene, macau is 3 hours flight away from most cities in asia pacific.
my take is, the casino scene in singapore will degenerate into the scene not uncommon in australia, lacklustre other than a couple of other popular ones. there is no real sense of excitement in the casinos i go to in perth and melbourne. having said that, i am no c-buff.
Let's review this again in the mid year of 2011. I'm talking about the short-term profit gain within the first year.
Originally posted by tai gok nang:I resent Thailand being pro-US too.
But it appears to most Thais that, despite arrogant and restrictive, the Lee's have successfully pushed Singapore forward from a tiny, resourceless island to an economic powerhouse in SE Asia, haven't they?
We arent in the preinternet are we? LKY was the leader when Singapore boomed. But he knows next to nothing about economic development.Goh Keng Swee was responsible for the economic development
But bottom line, what does Lim really think of his old mate, Lee Kuan Yew? Some whisper that Lim, like other "old guard" leaders Toh Chin Chye, Ong Pang Boon, Jek Yeun Thong and Devan Nair, is sour toward Lee for the way he always insisted on being No. 1. The talk goes that Lee was lucky to catapult straight into the premiership since it suited his talent for oratory, vision, and strategic thinking. Had he needed to deal with the nuts and bolts of running a specific ministry, he might have come a cropper. If Lim shares this view, he keeps it to himself. Publicly, he says that without Lee's leadership, Singapore "would probably be like a third-world country now."
Cropper = Failure
Source:From Our Correspondent: Singapore's Other Founding Father
Lim Kim San - the masterbuilder and media czar
http://www.pathfinder.com/asiaweek/foc/2000/12/05/
Originally posted by tai gok nang:What country or territory is the most popular destination for SG talents? Can you enlighten me?
Australia
Malaysia
United States
Mainland China
Hong Kong
Taiwan
CanadaI have heard that the US-SG FTA allows Singaporeans to find employment in the US more easily than most nationalities. And that causes the outflow. Is that true?
am i right to say not many ppl migrate ke malaysia ?
someone correct me if wrong.
can migrate to HK wan meh? republic of china?
can migrate to TW meh?
curious to know how easy is it for porean to migrate to china.
as for USA, the gold rush is long gone and currency is so weak, many FT IT choose to stay here than go USA I suspect. ho say liao lor. I think USA is a gonner already.
the place to go is Europe or UK.
Canada is one of the most beautiful place in the world.
You forgot NZ.
Australia, the usual suspect. Always on my mind. and everyone else.
Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely. What a simple yet effective way to look at our problems and go to the root cause to solve our problem.
Evidences of power corruption can be seen in the following devillish wrong doings:-
(1) Keep increasing taxes, GST, profiteering through farming out essential government services to GLCs to charge full market rates while hoarding our tax payers' monies for their own self-glory and other selfish agendas.
(2) Keep denying problems with excuses using the media to carry good news while playing down bad news and pushing problems to the people.
(3) Legalistic passing of all sorts of laws to undermine democracy e.g. GRC and approving their own million-dollar self rewards while avoiding answering to mistakes like Mas Selamat or Shin Corp.
(4) Putting up good shows and falsehoods but failing to address the root causes of problems.
If we have a government running the country with the above-stated happenings do we still have a good government one governing with compassion, honesty and integrity to serve the people.
With this kind of records of serving its own selfish interests and agendas can we now believe that the opening of flood gates to let oreign workers in to practically take over almost every and any jobs (except top civil servants' and ministers' jobs) is like stated by Minister Ng Eng Hen going to create more jobs or good for the country or its people any more.
It is clear that when a government through power corruption is no longer able to differentiate between simple good and evil even in making their own connected elites answer for simple acts of incompetence like Selamat, NKF, Shin Corp, Global Crossing or UBS it is way beyond redemption and reasoning. It is power corruption where the power is fighting to preserve its own interests and not that of the people.
We need only simple wisdom to guide us the people. "Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely" is the wisdom we have to subscribe to.
We need to go back to basic to realize and correct the root causes of problems.
We need to have many civic-minded people who could make a good society to uphold high morality and honesty (without all the hypocrisy like calling people complacent for their own incompetence) like the good old days.
Stop disputing among ourselves the citizens over petty issues and go for root causes of problems before we could make change and have high standard of governance for once after 40 plus years of hypocrisy.
There is no other solutions or shortcuts.
Originally posted by kilua:But it appears to most Thais that, despite arrogant and restrictive, the Lee's have successfully pushed Singapore forward from a tiny, resourceless island to an economic powerhouse in SE Asia, haven't they?
We arent in the preinternet are we? LKY was the leader when Singapore boomed. But he knows next to nothing about economic development.Goh Keng Swee was responsible for the economic development
But bottom line, what does Lim really think of his old mate, Lee Kuan Yew? Some whisper that Lim, like other "old guard" leaders Toh Chin Chye, Ong Pang Boon, Jek Yeun Thong and Devan Nair, is sour toward Lee for the way he always insisted on being No. 1. The talk goes that Lee was lucky to catapult straight into the premiership since it suited his talent for oratory, vision, and strategic thinking. Had he needed to deal with the nuts and bolts of running a specific ministry, he might have come a cropper. If Lim shares this view, he keeps it to himself. Publicly, he says that without Lee's leadership, Singapore "would probably be like a third-world country now."
Cropper = Failure
Source:From Our Correspondent: Singapore's Other Founding Father
Lim Kim San - the masterbuilder and media czar
http://www.pathfinder.com/asiaweek/foc/2000/12/05/
Classic story of Microsoft and Bill gates and wat happens next Microsoft is accused of monopoly when they push the game too far
I think more talented local will migrate to other countries.
Originally posted by will4:I think more talented local will migrate to other countries.
talents? i consider sgporean that are working as brick layers, plumbers, electrician, rennovators, carpenters etc as talents too.
we asians had been too steep in our own snobbish and elitistic way of behavior to segregate all the blue collar workers out as crude work tar-kong-chais.
in the west, they are considered talents too, regardless of their educational background.
It depends on the quality of work they produce. Does bringing in FT improve their quality and efficiency? Maybe and maybe not.
I dont mind paying more for quality - local or not. Some of them are very good and fast at what they do and go the extra mile in the finish.
What I am trying to say is that people should take pride in their work and the free market should reward them for their efforts. I doubt that any PAP propogandist can say that.
... well, it's time he accepts this:
....................../´¯/)
....................,/¯../
.................../..../
............./´¯/'...'/´¯¯`·¸
........../'/.../..../......./¨¯\
........('(...´...´.... ¯~/'...')
.........\.................'...../
..........''...\.......... _.·´
............\..............(
..............\.............\...
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:It depends on the quality of work they produce. Does bringing in FT improve their quality and efficiency? Maybe and maybe not.
I dont mind paying more for quality - local or not. Some of them are very good and fast at what they do and go the extra mile in the finish.
What I am trying to say is that people should take pride in their work and the free market should reward them for their efforts. I doubt that any PAP propogandist can say that.
even my bro-in-law said that the construction/rennovation business in sg is extremely cut-throat; previously he was earning around $1000/mth as a tiler. then came the penang kia that could replace him at $900/mth. and now with the PRC that can do it at $500-600mth, even the penang kia got displaced.
Originally posted by fishbuff:even my bro-in-law said that the construction/rennovation business in sg is extremely cut-throat; previously he was earning around $1000/mth as a tiler. then came the penang kia that could replace him at $900/mth. and now with the PRC that can do it at $500-600mth, even the penang kia got displaced.
Realistically, we don't need a gahmen who allows foreigners to take away the jobs of our fellowmen. vote PAP out. It is dead end for singaporeans and stupid for people of sg to continue to vote them to allow them to take away their rice bowls and make life more and more difficult when the scumbags greedy pap are enjoying their super high salary in the whole world
the reason why singaporean migrate is wide.
not just depends on currency exchange rate as someone mention.
a better life, political freedom, bigger spacious environment, good social benefits( dispite paying higher taxes), education system, govt policies and better working opportunities.
The problems with current crop of ministers is that they had lost touch with the heartlanders and often their explainations of govt polices cant connect with the heartlanders. brief and often lack depth and sincerity.
If FTs continue to influx, the trend of more singaporean migrating with increase as well. as ppl like ourselves cannot the recognise the land we are born in anymore.
Originally posted by reyes:the reason why singaporean migrate is wide.
not just depends on currency exchange rate as someone mention.
a better life, political freedom, bigger spacious environment, good social benefits( dispite paying higher taxes), education system, govt policies and better working opportunities.
The problems with current crop of ministers is that they had lost touch with the heartlanders and often their explainations of govt polices cant connect with the heartlanders. brief and often lack depth and sincerity.
If FTs continue to influx, the trend of more singaporean migrating with increase as well. as ppl like ourselves cannot the recognise the land we are born in anymore.
... the thing about these ministers, is that they FAIL to see the complexities of peoples plight further worsened by their policies, dismissing them with simplicity all likely because they are INSTRUCTED to uphold their policies...
... and as if we all don't know, all the government cared about is their own bottom line, money...
... sure they make the economy tick, but tick for whom? ... themselves of course...
... as for the people? They are advised to eat cheaply, live frugally, and work till they drop dead so as not to upset their governmental coffers...
... very discriptive, very classic, very defined....