I was wondering and seriously pondering, to what an extent are our local universities biased towards foreigners.
Yesterday, while walking along a sheltered connector towards the canteen, I encountered a huge jam of human flow in the front. It was later that I found out that a group of PRC students are holding a signature petition rally for the Beijing 2008. There was this China student parading abt waving a full sized PRC flag, while the other student was holding a large plank card with writings, of support Beijing 2008 and stop western media from demonising PRC. Some other of their compatroits are manning the signature books........
I was wondering, why did the university allow such events to be held? Last time, when the student union wanted to conduct similar signature gathering on banner, to protest against the increase in tution fees, the school step in immediately and stop the union from doing so. Emails were also sent to threaten the students of the consequences of participating. The sch used the execuse that such event may cause public nuisance, and may cause public disorder. So the PRC students waving the flag, blocking the walk way is not a nuisance? Besides, considering the sch have quite a number of western nation students, what if a scuffle broke out between them and the PRC students? Isn't such things a cause of concern? Lastly, if a student is to hold a "Pro-Tibet" rally, will the sch approve of this?...........
Are you even sure the School had given their Ok for those PRCs students ![]()
We have been taught to be law abiding (especially at home) where these foreigners law of their country is far away
Originally posted by hloc:Are you even sure the School had given their Ok for those PRCs students
does it really matters? what action had been taken if no OKs were given.
Originally posted by SevenEleven:
does it really matters? what action had been taken if no OKs were given.
we dont know because TS only post first half of the full story. And Hloc is asking for the 2rd half.
For that I am not sure....... But look at it this way, the campus security was having his meal in the canteen and has the full view of the entire event, he did not go and stop them. They were still having the rally, when I came out of the library 4 hrs later. Considering how fast the sch clamp down on students from criticisng the sch with regards to tution fees, no price for guessing whether they got a permit. Besides, all events are govern by the student union headed by lecturers as adviser. So the only way for them to hold such events without being shoo-ed away, is to get a permit......
Originally posted by hloc:Are you even sure the School had given their Ok for those PRCs students
PRC - do first, and stops when authority intervene.
SG - ask authority for permission before doing anything.
nothing wrong. different mindset mah.
Originally posted by fishbuff:PRC - do first, and stops when authority intervene.
That's what I'm try to said......
If the School OK-ed the PRCs students..... then indeed it is a case of double standard. If they did not even knows about it..... then it could be a case of slow action.
As for the part that " The campus security was having his meal in the canteen"...... I'm not too sure how well the campus security is being paid..... but I'm sure I wouldn't want to waste my own break time unless my Boss demand that I break-up the gathering.....
Its a simple case of "worker bee" thinking.....
1) I break-up the gathering on my own -
Pro - Nothing happens.... the PRCs go away, I make a report, my Boss file the report.... lifes goes on.
Con - PRCs students decided to make a bigger protest.... even pull in the Chinese Embassy into the matter.... my Boss need someone's head to drop..... guess who's Head will that be
..... Ohh.... and I miss my meal break. ![]()
2) Pretend I didn't see anything......
Pro - Still get the same pay without doing extra job.....
Con - If my Boss wants me to break-up the gathering..... Have to do extra..... But at least the Boss will answer to his Boss..... my lifes goes on.....
If any here thinks this is no possible...... THINK AGAIN..... this is how 85-90% of low paid worker behave at work...... which include ME..... if my Boss pretend to paid me.... do you think I would want to work extra
PRC students protest about issues that does not concern the school. They can protest al they want but it does not impact the school's profits. The student unions intends to protest against higher fees. This obviously impacts the school's profits. So its only logical being a profit entity, what the school's actions will be regarding "protest"
Originally posted by mistyblue:PRC students protest about issues that does not concern the school. They can protest al they want but it does not impact the school's profits. The student unions intends to protest against higher fees. This obviously impacts the school's profits. So its only logical being a profit entity, what the school's actions will be regarding "protest"
If we follow your line of thought...... then it would be 'Ok' to have a gathering showing support for the anti-Islam film - Finta - ..... since it has nothing to do with the School's profit..... But how likely would you think the School would allow it ![]()
Finta will cross onto the country's policy of racial harmony. The school do not want to start the govt looking into it so this is also one that will be clamp down.
Originally posted by hloc:
If any here thinks this is no possible...... THINK AGAIN..... this is how 85-90% of low paid worker behave at work...... which include ME..... if my Boss pretend to paid me.... do you think I would want to work extra
dun pull our legs yeah....smrt profits is to the brim. M sure you get your fair share here.
Originally posted by redDUST:dun pull our legs yeah....smrt profits is to the brim. M sure you get your fair share here.
Bro.... let me guess.... you haven't start working life yet right
either that or only work for a short numbers of years......
Rule Number 1 -
You are only a Worker.... NOT Shares Holder.... Therefore All & Any Profits largely belongs to the Boss/Company/Shares Holder.... and not the workers.... which is paid every month.
Rule Number 2 -
Not happy with Rule Number 1...... as my HR like to said - The Door Is Always Open - aka go look for a new job.... bye.....
A newly enlisted Train Officer...... aka Train Driver.... is paid a basic pay of $890 to $1300.....
depending on your level of education.....
You work 7 type of shift - Early Morning ($14 allowance), Normal Morning (No Allowance), Normal Afternoon ($8), Post Midnight ($10), Mid-Shift ($8), Split Shift ($10 max) and Nightshift ($14).....
You work the follow rota - 7 days work - 2 days off - 7 days work - 2 days off - 7 days work - 2 days off - 5 days work - 3 days off.... and start from the begining again......
You have an avg pay rise of $30-$60 a year..... if your Boss likes you.....
You get to do Over Time...... if your Boss like you.... and after working 7days + 1 day OT..... you'll only have 1 day rest..... follows by 7 more days of work......
So tell me - redDust - how many S'porean you know like to work shift
And we are talking about 7 types of shift..... you work most weekends and Public Holidays..... and if you get along with your Boss.... gets $30-$60 pay rise a year.....
So, does it seems that SMRT (The Company) making loads of $$$$$ means anything to me.... ![]()
You witnessed what you saw and nobody is stopping the PRC students because PAP, lky very pro China chinese.
To speak against increase in fees does not benefit PAP so it is not allowed.
Originally posted by mistyblue:Finta will cross onto the country's policy of racial harmony. The school do not want to start the govt looking into it so this is also one that will be clamp down.
Most correct....
Therefore it is safe to said that if any Pro-Beijing 2008 gathering is not stopped..... Anti-Beijing 2008 gathering could start as well..... destorying the harmony of all international students in the School.....
And if like you said earlier.... Profit is that important.... wouldn't NOT stopping the Pro-Beijing 2008 gathering bring dis-harmony to the School and therefore.... hits their Profit ![]()
Originally posted by hloc:
Bro.... let me guess.... you haven't start working life yet right
either that or only work for a short numbers of years......
Rule Number 1 -
You are only a Worker.... NOT Shares Holder.... Therefore All & Any Profits largely belongs to the Boss/Company/Shares Holder.... and not the workers.... which is paid every month.
Rule Number 2 -
Not happy with Rule Number 1...... as my HR like to said - The Door Is Always Open - aka go look for a new job.... bye.....
A newly enlisted Train Officer...... aka Train Driver.... is paid a basic pay of $890 to $1300.....
depending on your level of education.....
You work 7 type of shift - Early Morning ($14 allowance), Normal Morning (No Allowance), Normal Afternoon ($8), Post Midnight ($10), Mid-Shift ($8), Split Shift ($10 max) and Nightshift ($14).....
You work the follow rota - 7 days work - 2 days off - 7 days work - 2 days off - 7 days work - 2 days off - 5 days work - 3 days off.... and start from the begining again......
You have an avg pay rise of $30-$60 a year..... if your Boss likes you.....
You get to do Over Time...... if your Boss like you.... and after working 7days + 1 day OT..... you'll only have 1 day rest..... follows by 7 more days of work......
So tell me - redDust - how many S'porean you know like to work shift
And we are talking about 7 types of shift..... you work most weekends and Public Holidays..... and if you get along with your Boss.... gets $30-$60 pay rise a year.....
So, does it seems that SMRT (The Company) making loads of $$$$$ means anything to me....
gee....thanks for the lengthy clarification. now i know why smrt is so profitable.
are there no nda when you sign on your employment contract that disallow you to reveal all of the above? or these are public info?
i am only jesting you in my earlier post. you seem perturbed by it. my bad. it's harmless. btw, i left school many years ago. so, i am not as `green' as you imply.
Originally posted by qlqq9:You witnessed what you saw and nobody is stopping the PRC students because PAP, lky very pro China chinese.
To speak against increase in fees does not benefit PAP so it is not allowed.
don't say anything nobody would say you are dumb. You think the security having his meal cares if they are PRC students or Singaporean students? who else you think would stop the protest? if you were there would you?
Originally posted by fishbuff:PRC - do first, and stops when authority intervene.
Fully agree. Singaporean youths are apathetic to anything like that. Afterall, their family can afford hike in school fees, they are only interested in graduating and get a good job....if things don't go well, then they either come to this forum and kpkb or migrate to australia.
Originally posted by fornax84:I was wondering and seriously pondering, to what an extent are our local universities biased towards foreigners.
Yesterday, while walking along a sheltered connector towards the canteen, I encountered a huge jam of human flow in the front. It was later that I found out that a group of PRC students are holding a signature petition rally for the Beijing 2008. There was this China student parading abt waving a full sized PRC flag, while the other student was holding a large plank card with writings, of support Beijing 2008 and stop western media from demonising PRC. Some other of their compatroits are manning the signature books........
I was wondering, why did the university allow such events to be held? Last time, when the student union wanted to conduct similar signature gathering on banner, to protest against the increase in tution fees, the school step in immediately and stop the union from doing so. Emails were also sent to threaten the students of the consequences of participating. The sch used the execuse that such event may cause public nuisance, and may cause public disorder. So the PRC students waving the flag, blocking the walk way is not a nuisance? Besides, considering the sch have quite a number of western nation students, what if a scuffle broke out between them and the PRC students? Isn't such things a cause of concern? Lastly, if a student is to hold a "Pro-Tibet" rally, will the sch approve of this?...........
in an ang moh country these students would be called fifth columnists .....
in Singapore they are called foreign talents ..... I bet some of them were even on scholarships here ...
so, of course no action was taken .....
if a few Singaporeans go wave placards on the other hands .... look out for the ang chia ....
Originally posted by Fatum:in an ang moh country these students would be called fifth columnists .....
in Singapore they are called foreign talents ..... I bet some of them were even on scholarships here ...
so, of course no action was taken .....
if a few Singaporeans go wave placards on the other hands .... look out for the ang chia ....
The PRC students know about the ang chia, their senior faced tanks in their own country in 1986. if they are on scholarship then they take the risk of being sent back to where they came from.
Singaporean students don't have to give the excuse that the PRC students have any kind of privileges. I believe the PRC students are behaving like the fifth columnists in any country, just the singaporean students do now behave like the local students of the angmoh country.
There was this China student parading abt waving a full sized PRC flag ...
haha, they were doing that ? .... *giggles ...
reminds me of my time in Canada ... one year during canada day (their national day, 1st of July), where there are traditional fireworks at many cities, people sing "O Canada" etc ...... some chap managed to get the Chinese Natinonal Anthem played as part of the fireworks performance in downtown vancouver .....
the legions of chinese PRs there stood up and started singing of course ....
needless to say, the ang mohs were not very amused ... it's THEIR national day after all ....
I pulled my hat low and scrunched my head down ....
sensitivity ? ... I think it should work both ways ....
well, are u so affected?
i think most Singaporean student wouldnt care abt it.
If the SAO or OSA allowed the pro-Beijing 2008 rally, then it is only fair to have the Other represented. :lol:
wave singapore flag back at them and tell them to stop demonising singapore with their shitty accents..
Originally posted by sgdiehard:The PRC students know about the ang chia, their senior faced tanks in their own country in 1986. if they are on scholarship then they take the risk of being sent back to where they came from.
Singaporean students don't have to give the excuse that the PRC students have any kind of privileges. I believe the PRC students are behaving like the fifth columnists in any country, just the singaporean students do now behave like the local students of the angmoh country.
It's 1989, not 1986. And from my experience and what I had read about, many PRCs' from the younger generation (below 30) are clueless or knew very little about it. I remember sitting in front of the TV watching events unfold then , especially the scene where a man stood in front of a column of tanks, blocking their path.